Assassin's Simple/Beginner HTPC Buying Guide - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ru4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Sorry.

I think you need the new Sandy Bridge to take full advantage of SATA III 6GB/sec.

So I would use either one in your HTPC. Either one will be awesome.

Yes, I'm building a new multi-use PC. The i5-2500K is patiently waiting for the Asus P8P67-M Pro to be delivered today. I'll post a build thread soon.

My Sandy Bridge Gaming/HTPC Build

Cyrix PR166+ → AMD K6 200 → Intel Celeron 266 → AMD Athlon 1GHz → AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ → Intel i5-2500K
ru4real is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4real View Post

Yes, I'm building a new multi-use PC. The i5-2500K is patiently waiting for the Asus P8P67-M Pro to be delivered today. I'll post a build thread soon.

Sweet. I would love to see it.
assassin is offline  
post #453 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 12:45 PM
Member
 
davhamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MicroCenter has their own brand for about that price. Its the newest style also... Forgot what that certification is called.
davhamm is offline  
post #454 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:06 PM
Member
 
jjdurrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by davhamm View Post

Is that from Newegg? Whats the Discount for AutoAdd?

Yeah.. no idea what the auto add discount is about but I will take it
jjdurrant is offline  
post #455 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:07 PM
Member
 
jjdurrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I think there are 2 options that are fairly easy, free and look good.

WMC + Mediabrowser + Shark007 is what I use. Its totally customizable and a snap to setup.

WMC + MB install I did last weekend on a 71" HDTV:


XBMC is the other option and there are a lot of people on here that really like it. I have tried it and although it is faster and looks a little better it just isn't as easily customizable as is mediabrowser, imo.

You can install both at the same time and try them out and then decide which one you like better.

How did you get the sweet thumbnails and background?
jjdurrant is offline  
post #456 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:08 PM
Member
 
jjdurrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any of you guys streaming Hulu Plus on your HTPC? Like it?
jjdurrant is offline  
post #457 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbraden32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cicleville, OH
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how many 2TB hard drives could you fit in a normal compent case . (assuming I use the recommended hardware) without running out of room and adding a NAS?

tbraden32 is offline  
post #458 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbraden32 View Post

how many 2TB hard drives could you fit in a normal compent case . (assuming I use the recommended hardware) without running out of room and adding a NAS?

The mid tower case I posted can fit 4 natively and 2 more with adapters.
assassin is offline  
post #459 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdurrant View Post

How did you get the sweet thumbnails and background?

That's coverflow in pearl. I use cover art to get the bluray covers.
assassin is offline  
post #460 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdurrant View Post

How did you get the sweet thumbnails and background?

There are various "theme" plugins for Media Browser and you have tons of customization you can do for each theme to get it to look just how you like it.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #461 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdurrant View Post

Any of you guys streaming Hulu Plus on your HTPC? Like it?

Been using Hulu since day 1 and it works great. Just install Hulu Desktop and there is a plugin if you want it integrated with WMC.

Hulu "Plus" however is a big joke as far as I'm concerned since you don't actually get anything for that money other then some back catalog episodes and the ability to stream in HD, very few shows actually have this. The other bit sale of Plus is the ability to stream to iPhones, etc. but the studios actually block most content from that so what's the point?

Basically a waste of money in my book, free Hulu has everything I need.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #462 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
ru4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I think there are 2 options that are fairly easy, free and look good.

WMC + Mediabrowser + Shark007 is what I use. Its totally customizable and a snap to setup.

WMC + MB install I did last weekend on a 71" HDTV:


XBMC is the other option and there are a lot of people on here that really like it. I have tried it and although it is faster and looks a little better it just isn't as easily customizable as is mediabrowser, imo.

You can install both at the same time and try them out and then decide which one you like better.

I've been using Vista Media Center for three years solely as a DVR. I'll use WMC7 with MB on the new build. Are there any significant differences in set-up, or does it basically behave the same?

6°C? That reminds me of my years in Boston. It's 24°C here.

My Sandy Bridge Gaming/HTPC Build

Cyrix PR166+ → AMD K6 200 → Intel Celeron 266 → AMD Athlon 1GHz → AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ → Intel i5-2500K
ru4real is offline  
post #463 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbraden32 View Post

how many 2TB hard drives could you fit in a normal compent case . (assuming I use the recommended hardware) without running out of room and adding a NAS?

If you're talking about HTPC-style cases, there are a few nMediaPC and Silverstone cases will take 6 x 3.5" HDDs. The nMediaPC 2000B is a nice one. I have the 1000B which is the micro-ATX version. The Silverstone LC10B-E will take 7 x 3.5" HDDs.

If you want to go something more cube-like, Lian-Li makes a couple of cases, one mini-ITX (PC-Q08) that takes 6 x 3.5" HDDs and one micro-ATX (PC-V354) that'll take 7 x 3.5" HDDs.

Of course there are tower and server cases that'll hold many many more.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #464 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4real View Post

6°C? That reminds me of my years in Boston. It's 24°C here.

Oh, we'd be dancing in the streets in shorts and t-shirt if it was 6°C in Boston. We haven't seen 0°C in a long while. It's been snowing like crazy and nights have been -17°C.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #465 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbraden32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cicleville, OH
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

If you're talking about HTPC-style cases, there are a few nMediaPC and Silverstone cases will take 6 x 3.5" HDDs. The nMediaPC 2000B is a nice one. I have the 1000B which is the micro-ATX version. The Silverstone LC10B-E will take 7 x 3.5" HDDs.

If you want to go something more cube-like, Lian-Li makes a couple of cases, one mini-ITX (PC-Q08) that takes 6 x 3.5" HDDs and one micro-ATX (PC-V354) that'll take 7 x 3.5" HDDs.

Of course there are tower and server cases that'll hold many many more.

thanks for the info. I was thinking the HTCP style case to try to match my other components until I am able to give them a dedicated unseen space.

4-6 should last me awhile i am assuming.

tbraden32 is offline  
post #466 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 04:47 PM
Member
 
velillen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbraden32 View Post

thanks for the info. I was thinking the HTCP style case to try to match my other components until I am able to give them a dedicated unseen space.

4-6 should last me awhile i am assuming.

Even the nmedia linked for thi sbuild can hold 4 easily. Kind of annoying installing them but for permanant install you'd be fine. You could actually mount the 4 drives to the "bay" and then just have two sitting on the case below them if you didnt mind that. Theres room for 2-3 hard drives to fit under the drive attachment, they would just be "loose" and not attached to anything (without DIY attachments)

PSN- Velillen
velillen is offline  
post #467 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by velillen View Post

Theres room for 2-3 hard drives to fit under the drive attachment, they would just be "loose" and not attached to anything (without DIY attachments)

assassin is offline  
post #468 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbraden32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cicleville, OH
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2000B and the 5000B recommended, any real difference. I couldn't see any.

tbraden32 is offline  
post #469 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbraden32 View Post

2000B and the 5000B recommended, any real difference. I couldn't see any.

The 2000B is a nice case. It looks like it can hold 7 internal hard drives whereas the 5000B can hold 4 internal hard drives.

The 2000B is also about an inch taller. It also can hold a full sized ATX motherboard. It has larger case fans which typically are quieter than smaller fans.

Both are nice cases. One is larger, holds more hard drives but is a little more expensive.

If 4 hard drives is enough then I would just pick the one you like the best as long as it fits your home theater rack/center. If you are on a strict budget then go with the cheaper of the 2.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-204-035-02%23
assassin is offline  
post #470 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post


The 2000B is a nice case. It looks like it can hold 7 internal hard drives whereas the 5000B can hold 4 internal hard drives.

The 2000B is also about an inch taller. It also can hold a full sized ATX motherboard. It has larger case fans which typically are quieter than smaller fans.

Both are nice cases. One is larger, holds more hard drives but is a little more expensive.

If 4 hard drives is enough then I would just pick the one you like the best as long as it fits your home theater rack/center. If you are on a strict budget then go with the cheaper of the 2.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-204-035-02%23

I like the 6000b over the 2000, it holds 6 HDD's also.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-037-_-Product

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #471 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydrunk View Post
I like the 6000b over the 2000, it holds 6 HDD's also.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-037-_-Product
Another nice case.
assassin is offline  
post #472 of 15951 Old 01-27-2011, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I am still not sure if the crappy nMediaPC LCD was worth it but at least when my cable box goes away something will have the time on it. I am on the fence recommending it as an add-on. It's just "ok".

BTW, the shade of black of the 1000B/2000B is a perfect match to an Onkyo receiver, like the 605 which I just discovered has a bug in the DTS-HD MA firmware and that's why I get these pops and crack and booms in certain movies. PITA.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #473 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 08:16 AM
Member
 
jjdurrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

That's coverflow in pearl. I use cover art to get the bluray covers.


Ok.. yeah a few of my thumbs auto show up by default, but not all. Where di you save the cover art?
jjdurrant is offline  
post #474 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjdurrant View Post

Ok.. yeah a few of my thumbs auto show up by default, but not all. Where di you save the cover art?

A couple thoughts.

First (and this is EXTREMELY important) you need to have all of your movies named EXACTLY like they are on the internet movie data base.

www.imdb.com

This is what MB uses to download the movie information and cover art.

Second, have you refreshed your library after adding all of your movies? Try that.

Third, you can manually clear your cache and force MB to re-load all the images. To do this find the mediabrowser icon in the bottom right of the Win7 tool bar (at the bottom of the screen near the clock) and open it. There should be an option to clear the cache. Relaunch MB to see if that does the trick.
assassin is offline  
post #475 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
For Media Center native, use The Open Movie Database, and including the year in parenthesis really helps although not always necessary. This is where Media center pulls it's info and art from.

http://www.themoviedb.org/

That makes really nice thumbnails too.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #476 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Actually, IMDB is incorrect. It's The Open Movie Database you need to copy, and including the year in parenthesis really helps although not always necessary.

http://www.themoviedb.org/

Huh. That's good to know.

I have always used imdb and it has worked fine. I'll use this from now on.

Thanks for the heads up.
assassin is offline  
post #477 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Best thing to do is use MCM (Media Center Master) to get the metadata and cover art for your movies and turn off Media Browsers Internet providers option to get it on it's own.

MCM is *waaaaaaaaayyyyyy* better.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #478 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 11:08 AM
Member
 
BahamutZer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another option I use is Stark Covers

it will create the covers based on the folder.jpg file that is downloaded along with the meta data with Media Center Master and it is 100% free

example cover it made (there are like 100 options) - see attached
LL
BahamutZer0 is offline  
post #479 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Huh. That's good to know.

I have always used imdb and it has worked fine. I'll use this from now on.

Thanks for the heads up.

Note that I edited it. I don't know which one your app uses, but Media Browser's native lookup is The Open Movie Database. I was banging my head on some obscure movies, had them all entered right, then someone here pointed me the right direction.

I don't ever have any issues with the standard MC cover art now that I have started using TMDb when I have a question about the correct way to label my file or folder.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #480 of 15951 Old 01-28-2011, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Digital_Brain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
asassin,

As we have seen the new Sandy Bridge version of the i3 processors will be released next month.

So the biggest question has to be: is it worth waiting for?
Are there really any significant feature(s) to be aware of, that would make it worth waiting for the new i3 or will the Clarkdale i3 be fully adequate to replace my AT&T-Uverse?

In my particular case, I'm just trying to recreate what we already have.
- I capture the live tv through my OTA $76 Antennacraft HBU44 (I'm 38 miles east of the big Los Angeles antennas on Mt. Wilson and get 90+ channels)
- I feed the signal to a dual tuner $99 Silicondust Homerun which puts the TV signal on my network through it's ethernet port.
- I will then run Windows 7 Home Premium and Windows Media Center to see a TV Guide and set up programs and favorite series shows to be recorded and timeshifted for later viewing.
- Finally my HTPC with a mini-ITX Gigabyte motherboard and an Intel i3 processor will handle the watching, recording and playback of of all this.

I'm ready to pull the trigger on the motherboard and the CPU but I can wait if there will be any real benefit, but if the difference is only nuance then I might as well go Clarkdale.

Maybe it is this brand new case staring at me that has me wondering at this point.
Digital_Brain is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Rosewill Windows Vista Certified Media Center Infrared Remote Control Rrc 126 , New Logitech Harmony One Keypad Touch Screen Advanced Universal Remote Control Infrared Display Lcd

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off