Assassin's Simple/Beginner HTPC Buying Guide - Page 175 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5221 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

Ok I have a question. I am planning on buying the ATI 6570 card for my HTPC. Since it can bitstream, do I have to connect a separate wire from the motherboard to the card for audio or just the 6570 is enough?

No. HDMI from the card carries HD Audio and Video to your AV Receiver.
assassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5222 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
cheezit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sent the pm thx assassin
cheezit73 is offline  
post #5223 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

No. HDMI from the card carries HD Audio and Video to your AV Receiver.

So that means the card has on-board audio?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #5224 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

So that means the card has on-board audio?

Yes. The card will send both HD audio and video together over the HDMI. You just need one HDMI cable from the back of the HTPC to the receiver. And another HDMI cable from the receiver to the HDTV (which you probably already have).
assassin is offline  
post #5225 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrowdy View Post

That would explain why I couldn't find it: I was looking on your website.

As a suggestion, you might want to put it there too.

Thanks for this suggestion.

I have added it on the log-in section...

http://assassinhtpcblog.com/?page_id=136
assassin is offline  
post #5226 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjg100 View Post

Isn't that more than you ever use with an HTPC?

This is probably the best discussion we have had at AVS regarding the 32 vs 64 bit decision.

Pros and cons for each.

Read and decide for yourself.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post19942625
assassin is offline  
post #5227 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:30 PM
Member
 
ff.fahimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Assassin I'm reading through and have not gotten to it yet maybe but do you go more in depth on tv tuner cards and making your own dvr later in this thread or just the info in the original post?

Also, sad to see the z68 Asus mobos so expensive!
ff.fahimi is offline  
post #5228 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by ff.fahimi View Post

Assassin I'm reading through and have not gotten to it yet maybe but do you go more in depth on tv tuner cards and making your own dvr later in this thread or just the info in the original post?

Also, sad to see the z68 Asus hard drives so expensive!

That is many threads of information and gets discussed here at AVS on a routine basis. There are a ton of good discussions on all the different options.

To try to discuss it here would be a mess. Its a HUGE topic and discussion.
assassin is offline  
post #5229 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
itchyeyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just a built a new machine with an ASRock H67-MITX motherboard and I'm having a lot of trouble with my network connection. I've got a Linksys AE1000 802.11n adapter hooked up via USB to the machine. I can connect to the network, but speeds are abysmally low (speedtest.net showed less than 200kbps). By comparison, my laptop hooked up to the same network tested at 15Mbps. The Linksys adapter was also working fine in my old desktop machine two days ago, so my inkling is that the problem probably has to do with the USB on the new motherboard. Has anyone else run into similar problems with this motherboard? Thanks.
itchyeyes is offline  
post #5230 of 15959 Old 05-26-2011, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
SCFFVariable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at converting my desktop over to HTPC duties since I got a new laptop. Not sure if it will work though. Its a Gateway 550GR 3.2 P4 with xp on it. If it will work I need to know what video card will give me HDMI with 7.1 audio if possible. just want to run XBMC for movies/music. Oh my card slot is a PCI i believe.

Thanks..
SCFFVariable is offline  
post #5231 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 04:40 AM
Member
 
CarpeD1em500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

What are you wanting to do other than drive 3 monitors? Game? Or just HTPC duties?

Game, Photoshop, and HTPC.
CarpeD1em500 is offline  
post #5232 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpeD1em500 View Post

Game, Photoshop, and HTPC.

For gaming I would probably go with with the 6xxx series card.

For the 3 monitors though I honestly don't know as I have never setup 3 monitors (I have only done 2).
assassin is offline  
post #5233 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 05:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCFFVariable View Post

Looking at converting my desktop over to HTPC duties since I got a new laptop. Not sure if it will work though. Its a Gateway 550GR 3.2 P4 with xp on it. If it will work I need to know what video card will give me HDMI with 7.1 audio if possible. just want to run XBMC for movies/music. Oh my card slot is a PCI i believe.

Thanks..

You need to find out exactly what kind of slot you have.

That is a pretty anemic system. I would try to get a ATI 5450 fanless card for about $30 and see if your PC can keep up. If it doesn't then you are only out $30.

The 5450 will bitstream HD Audio/Video in 7.1. Any of the 5xxx cards can. The only thing it can't do is 3D which your PC couldn't do anyway.

BTW I still use a 5450 and like it.
assassin is offline  
post #5234 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCFFVariable View Post

Looking at converting my desktop over to HTPC duties since I got a new laptop. Not sure if it will work though. Its a Gateway 550GR 3.2 P4 with xp on it. If it will work I need to know what video card will give me HDMI with 7.1 audio if possible. just want to run XBMC for movies/music. Oh my card slot is a PCI i believe.

Thanks..

That P4 is not enough to do HD, 1080p or Bluray. Even with a better vid card it'll be choppy at best. At least that was my experience with my wife's old P4 PC. Also most likely it only has AGP slot for video (assuming it has any slot, you never know with Gateway and other brand name PCs) which will really limit what you can buy today since AGP is a dead video technology.

Now if by some miracle it has a PCI-E slot then you might be able to get somewhere with a 6xxx card, but even then that CPU is very underpowered. You really need a dual core bare minimum.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #5235 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 07:32 AM
Member
 
davemathews68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$59.99 for the Samsung SH-B123L Shipped.
davemathews68 is offline  
post #5236 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by davemathews68 View Post

$59.99 for the Samsung SH-B123L Shipped.

Great drive. I have used it twice in the past week.

Eject button is a little funky (very very minor complaint). It looks slick though with the mirrored/glossy door.

I have a build on my blog where I used it with pictures.
assassin is offline  
post #5237 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
SCFFVariable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input, looks like I am just going to build a new setup instead.
SCFFVariable is offline  
post #5238 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Mudokon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HTPC parts are arriving today, building this weekend, just wanted to ask, if when my build is done, and i'm not happy with the speeds, what suggestions would you recommend, if i end up swapping out the mobo/cpu ONLY?

Case: Antec Mini-ITX Case for Motherboards ISK 300-150
Mobo: ASROCK E350M1 E350 A50M
Optical: LG BLU-RAY COMBO Slim Drive
HDD: Western Digital 5000BEVT Slim Drive
Mem: G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D 4GB
OS: Win 7 64bit

My concern is basically the case, so if anyone could suggest "alt mobo/cpu" that would still fit well into the case, that'd be great.

Just wanna make sure I got a plan B if the speeds of the CPU aren't what I need them to be.

Thanks!


p.s. - would need to run netflix hd, blu ray discs, dvd's, mkv's, avi's
Mudokon is offline  
post #5239 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netfilx HD will give you some problems with the E350 until Silverlight gets HA enabled.

For a plan B, I would suggest an i3-2100T and H67 ITX board.

Are you getting the ISK with the 65W picoPSU or the one with a 150W PSU?

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
post #5240 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Mudokon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwpritchett View Post

Netfilx HD will give you some problems with the E350 until Silverlight gets HA enabled.

For a plan B, I would suggest an i3-2100T and H67 ITX board.

Are you getting the ISK with the 65W picoPSU or the one with a 150W PSU?

150W PSU, thanks for the suggestions!
Mudokon is offline  
post #5241 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 10:10 AM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

This is probably the best discussion we have had at AVS regarding the 32 vs 64 bit decision.

Pros and cons for each.

Read and decide for yourself.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post19942625

Thanks for the link. I will switch over to 64 bit.
mjg100 is offline  
post #5242 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK guys, getting ready to place my order. Here's my parts list. Anything you would change?

SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / 0.8mm SECC Grandia Series GD05B

Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC064MAG-1G1 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

SAMSUNG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model SH-B123L

Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache 3MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I32100

GIGABYTE GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3 LGA 1155 Intel H67 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL

Antec NEO ECO 400C 400W Continuous Power ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARS 2TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Already have a copy of Windows 7 Ultimate X64. Will later add the Ceton Infinitv4 tuner card.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #5243 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^You might as well get the newer Crucial M4 drive instead of the older C300. Little bit faster for $5 more.

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
post #5244 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwpritchett View Post

^You might as well get the newer Crucial M4 drive instead of the older C300. Little bit faster for $5 more.

Will do.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #5245 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 12:13 PM
Member
 
ff.fahimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddUGA View Post


Will do.

Do you live near a microcenter? 2100 I believe is ninety nine dollars there
ff.fahimi is offline  
post #5246 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ff.fahimi View Post

Do you live near a microcenter? 2100 I believe is ninety nine dollars there

Afraid not. Nearest one is three hours away.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #5247 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 01:16 PM
Member
 
CarpeD1em500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

For gaming I would probably go with with the 6xxx series card.

For the 3 monitors though I honestly don't know as I have never setup 3 monitors (I have only done 2).

Thanks, I ended up going with this guy: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0047ZH7GE

$167ish

Figure when I (if I ever) need more firepower, I can add a second in xfire for a nice boost. Plus by then they'll be like $75-100 bucks anyways.
CarpeD1em500 is offline  
post #5248 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
car421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really stinks when all the parts for my second HTPC will be here soon with the exception of the case which won't be here till Tuesday.
car421 is offline  
post #5249 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Soap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay guys I think I am just about ready to pull the trigger on an HTPC build and wanted to let everyone look it over to make sure there will be no issues with fitment and see if my SSD choice is the best for the price point. I welcome all feedback as I want to make sure I am purchasing what is needed. This will be for my bedroom currently and only used for movies but it may find it's way into our media room depending on how far down the road it is before I purchase speaker/projector etc. I omited a dvd or bluray player as I just don't think the need is there right now. I went with the case below as I am limited to just over 5.5 inches in height for the location of this.

hec Black Case
GIGABYTE GA-H67MA-UD2H-B3
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D
Intel Core i3-2100
OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB)
SAMSUNG Spinpoint F4 HD204UI 2TB
Soap is offline  
post #5250 of 15959 Old 05-27-2011, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^The case you linked comes with a power supply (TFX size I thinK?). Anyway, the full-size earthwatts PSU will not fit in that case and may not be needed since the case has a PSU bundled.

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Rosewill Windows Vista Certified Media Center Infrared Remote Control Rrc 126 , New Logitech Harmony One Keypad Touch Screen Advanced Universal Remote Control Infrared Display Lcd

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off