Looking for internal IR reciever for Asrock MB (For MCE) - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #31 of 43 Old 11-14-2011, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
soapisclean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sydlexius View Post

I successfully contacted ASRock sales support, and they sold me the SmartRemote receiver for $10 shipped. I've rigged this up inside of my Silverstone LC16M, with a bit of case and USB bracket modding.

sydlexius how do you find the range and reception of ASRocks IR receiver. One user in the XBMC forums reported very poor range when compared to some other USB solutions as well as this CIR receiver from Inteset h**p://shop.inteset.com/Products/13-ir-receiver-wcable-and-mounting-bracket-for-cir-mb-with-mce-backlit-remote.aspx
soapisclean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 43 Old 01-27-2013, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
erlewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I built an HTPC with ASRock H77M mb, SilverStone SST-ML03B case.

I ordered the ASROCK Smart CIR Remote USB Receiver $8 ffrom ASRock America, Attn: Sales Dept., 13848 Magnolia Ave. Chino, CA 91710

I ordered a StarTech Panel Mount USB A to Motherboard Header (USBPNLAFHD1) from Amazon for $6.50. I installed the bracket in the unused serial socket opening on the back of the case with the single USB pinout plug installed as specified in the owner's manual.

I ordered a USB 2.0 A Male to A Female Extension $2.47 from Amazon.

The CIR receiver is attached with black electrical tape to the top of the case aiming to the front.

I purchased a Rosewill RHRC-11001RT remote control from NewEgg for $13.99.

I tried all this out but it did not work. The BIOS did not provide any option to enable the CIR device. (The BIOS did provide the option for the IR reciever pinouts on the motherboad but don't be confused, those IR pins are not the same as the CIR Receiver pinouts.

Understand that the reciever uses standard USB cables and motherboard pinouts but it is NOT actual USB.

I obtained an RMA from ASRock fo rthe motherboard due to the BIOS not recognizing the CIR receiver.

But I didn't act on it because otherwise everything worked perfectly and I was too busy to rip my machine apart at that moment..

Then three months later I upgraded to Windows 8 and also upgraded the BIOS to 1.03.

Eureka! now the BIOS recongnizes the CIR receiver when it is plugged into its special USB port.

Not only that but the CIR receiver accepts all the commands from my Rosewill WMC remote. It just works.

The only limitation to this now is the Rosewill remote does not have an off button. It does have a sleep button and that works. The ASRock CIR receiver and the ASRock remote does have an off button feature and this is why the CIR Reciever is desirable. The standard USB IR receiver that came with the Rosewill remot works fine.

Now I ask the forum members to add the following information:

What is involved with programming a Logitech remote to implement the power off feature? I thought I saw a thread on some forum several months ago with that information but now I cannot track it down.

Eric Lewis
erlewis is offline  
post #33 of 43 Old 02-11-2013, 05:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 26,379
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 1361
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Every latest ASRock mb comes with a CIR 4-pin connector. Just connect it to a front USB port of the case, connect ASRock SmartRemote receiver to the front USB port, and install Winbond CIR receiver driver. That's it. It works with any MCE remote. It has nothing to do with USB, the front USB port of the case is used just to connect the CIR connector and the receiver.


I was wondering why ASRock does not sell it (receiver only or receiver + remote) at retail stores. SmartRemote (receiver + remote) is bundled only with a couple of ASRock mb.

So you need to run the USB port to the header on the motherboard right ???

You can not just use the USB stick in a normal USB port ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #34 of 43 Old 02-12-2013, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
erlewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ASRock IR receiver device looks like a USB device and plugs into a USB socket but it is not a USB device. The USB socket should be plugged onto the special CIR pins on the ASRock motherboard. The CIR pins have one fewer pin than USB mb pins.

So the device looks like a USB device, it plugs into a socket that looks like a USB socket but the socket is plugged onto pins that are the CIR pins, not USB pins.
erlewis is offline  
post #35 of 43 Old 02-12-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 26,379
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 1361
and the remote is IR ? Or RF ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #36 of 43 Old 02-12-2013, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Standard RC6 IR.
vladd is offline  
post #37 of 43 Old Yesterday, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello. I also have an asrock g41mh witch has an IR header(Infrared Module Header) .

a)Do you know where can I buy this header?
b) Can I do this ---> I want change the channels of my sattelite box set and schedule recordings when I am away from home (I will connect to the pc with teamviewer)

Also infrared and IR is the same think? I have an infrared usb module can I use it to change channels with some kind of program?

Thank you

Last edited by DJman230; Yesterday at 11:29 AM.
DJman230 is online now  
post #38 of 43 Old Yesterday, 11:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,048
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJman230 View Post
Hello. I also have an asrock g41mh witch has an IR header(Infrared Module Header) .

a)Do you know where can I buy this header?
b) Can I do this ---> I want change the channels of my sattelite box set and schedule recordings when I am away from home (I will connect to the pc with teamviewer)

Also infrared and IR is the same think? I have an infrared usb module can I use it to change channels with some kind of program?

Thank you
b) The header is for a receiver, not a transmitter, so won't change channels on another box.

IR stands for InfraRed. But there are different protocols (IRDA, CIR, etc.). You need CIR, preferably MCE (RC6) for the receiver side, and whatever your satellite remote uses for the transmitter side.

Most USB IR modules are only receivers. If the description says transmitter or transceiver, then it would be theoretically possible to control another box.

Have you considered just getting a DVR from your satellite provider? That would be much easier.
mdavej is offline  
post #39 of 43 Old Yesterday, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
b) The header is for a receiver, not a transmitter, so won't change channels on another box.

IR stands for InfraRed. But there are different protocols (IRDA, CIR, etc.). You need CIR, preferably MCE (RC6) for the receiver side, and whatever your satellite remote uses for the transmitter side.

Most USB IR modules are only receivers. If the description says transmitter or transceiver, then it would be theoretically possible to control another box.

Have you considered just getting a DVR from your satellite provider? That would be much easier.
Thank you very much for this quick response. I should have mentioned that I already have a DVR and when I am about to leave home for a week I am programming the recordings, but there are times that I leave home for 15 days and my DVR doesn't provide tv program information after 7 days.

Can you please guide me for a solution? Maybe a usb infrared module with a program that sends the dvr control signals.
DJman230 is online now  
post #40 of 43 Old Yesterday, 04:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,048
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 564
mdavej is offline  
post #41 of 43 Old Yesterday, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Slingbox
I know about slingbox but am looking for a cheaper solution. Slingbox also streams and I don't need this
DJman230 is online now  
post #42 of 43 Old Yesterday, 06:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,048
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJman230 View Post
I know about slingbox but am looking for a cheaper solution. Slingbox also streams and I don't need this
Satellite providers in the US have web sites for remotely managing your DVR schedule. Does your provider have anything like that?
mdavej is offline  
post #43 of 43 Unread Today, 04:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Satellite providers in the US have web sites for remotely managing your DVR schedule. Does your provider have anything like that?
No, unfortunately. There must be a program for this job but I cant find it :P
DJman230 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off