Unofficial mini-ITX case thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 668 Old 04-20-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Today I received the "Tendraw H125C" case I ordered from the UK via eBay:

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vie...d=120894211991

Paid £89 plus shipping ($143)

Turned out to be near identical to the Origenae M10. Came with a display looking suspiciously like the nMedia Pro I ordered a few days ago. A real VFD, not the fan/temp variety.

Identical to your Iwill HT100 except it has no ports on the front and the power button is black.

Not sure if there is an IR receiver built into the display, the docs don't say. I will see if the nMedia display fits.
I will post some pics when I have started the build. Still waiting for some parts.

Quite a steal compared to the Origen especially if the display turns out to be useful.
politby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 668 Old 04-20-2012, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by anleva View Post

Thanks. So for the E-I5 if you went with a 28mm cooler and a picoPSU you could fit a 3.5" HDD and a 2.5" SSD? Or would you just be better off using a 2.5" HDD and a 2.5" SSD?

You would be much better off with 2 x 2.5" unless you absolutely have to have a 3.5" HDD.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #513 of 668 Old 04-20-2012, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

Today I received the "Tendraw H125C" case I ordered from the UK via eBay:

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vie...d=120894211991

Paid £89 plus shipping ($143)

Turned out to be near identical to the Origenae M10. Came with a display looking suspiciously like the nMedia Pro I ordered a few days ago. A real VFD, not the fan/temp variety.

Identical to your Iwill HT100 except it has no ports on the front and the power button is black.

Not sure if there is an IR receiver built into the display, the docs don't say. I will see if the nMedia display fits.
I will post some pics when I have started the build. Still waiting for some parts.

Quite a steal compared to the Origen especially if the display turns out to be useful.

I've seen the Tendraw cases in my travels around the 'net and they look like the Iwill cases but with some modification. If you order enough cases (a lot), the manufacturer will customize them.

I've seen that LCD display too in my travels around the 'net. Did the display it came with fit? I wish I could remember which one it is. I am going to look again. If it's the same window as the Iwill HT100, the nMediaPC display will not fit -- it's just a hair too tall. But, Tendraw could have customized that as well though so it's hard to say. I don't believe there is an IR receiver. There is an IR receiver available for the HT100 and it is capable of turning the PC on. I have some HT80s like that.

If you compare the insides to the m10, it's identical, even down to where the m10's power board is mounted. The HT100 doesn't mount it there, it's in the front, but the mounting holes are all still there.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #514 of 668 Old 04-20-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The display was packed in the accessories box - haven't tried to mount it but I assume it will fit. The front plastic insert has a center section which is lightly tinted for the display. The surrounding part is very dark with no obvious place for an IR receiver so I am concerned it may not be IR transparent.

I have some internal eHome receivers and I was hoping to fit one.

What is the noise level of the fan that came with the HT100?
politby is offline  
post #515 of 668 Old 04-20-2012, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

The display was packed in the accessories box - haven't tried to mount it but I assume it will fit. The front plastic insert has a center section which is lightly tinted for the display. The surrounding part is very dark with no obvious place for an IR receiver so I am concerned it may not be IR transparent.

I have some internal eHome receivers and I was hoping to fit one.

What is the noise level of the fan that came with the HT100?

In the HT100, there's the center window as you describe and then a small round window for an IR receiver.

I haven't tried the fan. I didn't find it necessary with the eval builds I was doing, even with everything I stuffed in there.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #516 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 12:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post


In the HT100, there's the center window as you describe and then a small round window for an IR receiver.

I haven't tried the fan. I didn't find it necessary with the eval builds I was doing, even with everything I stuffed in there.

I had missed the little round window, found it. Unfortunately its location only leaves room for the IR sensor, not the little circuit board, so I had to do a little soldering to make the sensor wire mounted. Fiddly but it worked out.

The display is an LCD2USB model with white characters on a blue background. I would have preferred a dark background but considering the price of the case I'd have to say it is okay. I plugged it into my desktop just to test it (drivers are unsigned so there is a bit of work to get them to install on 64-bit Win 7) and it works fine with LCDsmartie and the MCE.dll plugin.

In case the nMedia display I have ordered does not fit the case I will use this one. Since it will sit behind smoked glass maybe the blue light will be less intrusive.
LL
LL
LL
politby is offline  
post #517 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Any idea who manufactures the LCD module itself?

[Edit]
Looks like this: http://www.lcdmodkit.com/lcd/U202MB-B1.html

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #518 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Any idea who manufactures the LCD module itself?

[Edit]
Looks like this: http://www.lcdmodkit.com/lcd/U202MB-B1.html

I think that's the one, that is where I got the drivers from.

The board has the www.tendraw.com URL printed on it though.
politby is offline  
post #519 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
So the nMedia/VLsys display arrived in the mail today. And as it turns out is is physically the EXACT same size as the one that came with the Tendraw case. The board has the same dimensions, the VFD module is the same size, and the mounting hole pattern is the same.

The nMedia has a separate Molex power connector (wonder if it is necessary?) and the components are of course different, but physically it will fit perfectly. Stardog, when you said "a hair too tall" did you refer to the physical dimensions of the board or the size of the display matrix?

Looks like the Tendraw does have a different display openingcthan the Iwill after all...
politby is offline  
post #520 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

So the nMedia/VLsys display arrived in the mail today. And as it turns out is is physically the EXACT same size as the one that came with the Tendraw case. The board has the same dimensions, the VFD module is the same size, and the mounting hole pattern is the same.

The nMedia has a separate Molex power connector (wonder if it is necessary?) and the components are of course different, but physically it will fit perfectly. Stardog, when you said "a hair too tall" did you refer to the physical dimensions of the board or the size of the display matrix?

Looks like the Tendraw does have a different display openingcthan the Iwill after all...

The interior of the window is 30H x 117L mm but the display part of the nMediaPC module is 31.6H mm so it doesn't fit in the Iwill. I did however find a different one through LCDModKit that will fit. It doesn't have the same mounting holes but it'll fit in the window. I'll just have to figure out how to mount it.

Of course, if I wanted to order 100+ of the Iwill HT100s, I could get any size window (or none at all) that I want .

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #521 of 668 Old 04-23-2012, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Okay. I'll just have to test them both and see. The nMedia has bright text on a dark background which I like better.

But I understand the nMedia software is buggy and will not display recording information, so I may have to run LCDsmartie instead which makes the 2 displays functionally identical.

[/end hijack]
politby is offline  
post #522 of 668 Old 04-25-2012, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Lian Li PC-Q05B came today. I already installed everything, including modifying the case to fit my Ceton cablecard tuner. Everything fit awesomely!

I cut out a piece of thermal pad that fits the portion of the tuner card that is over the heatsink. Tuner is running < 48°C which is pretty good. I removed the mounting bracket of the Ceton tuner, so the end of the tuner card is flush against the back of the case - it just fits this way between the case and heatsink. Had to expand one of the vent holes to fit the coax connector thing through.





Diverge is offline  
post #523 of 668 Old 04-25-2012, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How quite is the Intel HTS 1155LP ? Was looking at one for a future build.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #524 of 668 Old 04-25-2012, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfett View Post

How quite is the Intel HTS 1155LP ? Was looking at one for a future build.

At boot time it's goes to max RPM and is loud, but once it posts it slows down and you can't hear it at all pretty much.
Diverge is offline  
post #525 of 668 Old 04-25-2012, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
xfett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diverge View Post

At boot time it's goes to max RPM and is loud, but once it posts it slows down and you can't hear it at all pretty much.

Thanks....Oh an nice build BTW.

"Man, I told you we shouldn't have shot Niedermeyer"

xfett is offline  
post #526 of 668 Old 04-25-2012, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
+1. I love these creative little mods to fit tuner cards.

Interesting cooler solution. Does it come with the motherboard?

OT: Not being familiar with U.S. cable TV, the tuner card looks interesting. Does not look like the decryption module (CableCARD?) has a slot for a smart card - are the subscription entitlements programmed directly into the module?

Also looks like a tiny coax connector, almost like the miniature ones used with WiFi antennas?
politby is offline  
post #527 of 668 Old 04-26-2012, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

+1. I love these creative little mods to fit tuner cards.

Interesting cooler solution. Does it come with the motherboard?

Nope, the cooler needs to be purchased separately from the motherboard. It's an Intel HTS 1155LP, and is meant for these thin_mini-itx motherboards. I bought mine for like $20 new on ebay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

OT: Not being familiar with U.S. cable TV, the tuner card looks interesting. Does not look like the decryption module (CableCARD?) has a slot for a smart card - are the subscription entitlements programmed directly into the module?

There's no smartcard, just the cablecard itself (which is sticking out the back of the case). It's a PIA to get cable companies to set them up properly on their end - they usually don't have people that why what they are doing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

Also looks like a tiny coax connector, almost like the miniature ones used with WiFi antennas?

It's sorta like those, but nothing screws in - just snaps in place.
Diverge is offline  
post #528 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
There doesn't seem to be a lot of FM1 mini-ITX boards around these days except at some obscure retailers. What gives?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #529 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Clearing stock in preparation for FM2 perhaps?

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
post #530 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwpritchett View Post

Clearing stock in preparation for FM2 perhaps?

I hope there's an A10-5700 in my near future . And a mini-ITX FM2 Gigabyte motherboard (Gigabyte = no LED blink in S3).

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #531 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
rwpritchett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SLC
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like Asus, but Gigabyte sure has it right with two things: the no blink S3 and allowing CPU fan control with 3-pin fans.

Why oh why can't Asus add a blink/no-blink option in the BIOS???

Anybody try out that new ASRock Z77 ITX board yet?

My ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe + Antec ISK 310-150 HTPC Project: HTPC Nirvana
rwpritchett is offline  
post #532 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
So I completed the system yesterday.

Surprisingly roomy for the size.
  • Intel DH77DF mITX board
  • Core i3-2125
  • Intel 120GB SSD
  • Toshiba 2.5" disk for TV buffer
  • LiteOn slim BD-ROM
  • Digital Devices Cine S2 twin DVB-S2 tuner
  • Black Gold 3620 twin DVB-T2 tuner (mini PCI slot via extender)
  • nMedia PC VFD display

The display works great with LCD Smartie and the MCEdll plugin.

Drilled a 10mm hole through the back wall for the -T2 antenna connector.
LL
LL
LL
politby is offline  
post #533 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
politby, that looks familiar



How do you like the visibility of the LCD display? You aren't using the display that came with it but the nMediaPC VFD? Is that right?

I found the next size smaller of the one that comes with the Tendraw and ordered it for the HT100. It'll be here in a couple of weeks. I cannot wait to try it. I do wish the VFD would fit without mods however.

Are you using the stock Intel cooler?

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #534 of 668 Old 04-27-2012, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

politby, that looks familiar

How do you like the visibility of the LCD display? You aren't using the display that came with it but the nMediaPC VFD? Is that right?

I found the next size smaller of the one that comes with the Tendraw and ordered it for the HT100. It'll be here in a couple of weeks. I cannot wait to try it. I do wish the VFD would fit without mods however.

Are you using the stock Intel cooler?

Visibility is okay. I can just about make out what it reads fom 10' away. Will take some pics and post. It is very bright; the smoked glass on my cabinet doors actually seem to improve contrast.

Yes it is the nMedia display. Fit great in the Tendraw. I just have it showing the 7MC information.

Using Intel cooler. There is room for maybe 3mm more on the height. Problem is most low profile coolers will block the PCIe slot.

The Intel cooler is not the quietest unfortunately...
politby is offline  
post #535 of 668 Old 04-28-2012, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

politby, that looks familiar

Which cooler are you using? I can see it does not block your PCI slot. Asus board, right? Which model?
politby is offline  
post #536 of 668 Old 04-28-2012, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

Which cooler are you using? I can see it does not block your PCI slot. Asus board, right? Which model?

ASUS P8H61-I motherboard
Gelid Slim Silence i-Plus cooler

Also good is the Titan DC-155A915Z/RPW 95mm Z-AXIS CPU Cooler
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835192025

I have a thread on here about 3 coolers I tried, none of which block the PCI slot.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #537 of 668 Old 05-02-2012, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Newegg has several new Lian Li mini itx cases such as the one below, check them out

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112361
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #538 of 668 Old 05-02-2012, 07:01 AM
pbc
AVS Special Member
 
pbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5,333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
... and they now all have USB3.0 on the front, FWIW. Certainly not inexpensive by any stretch though!

 

My DIY Subs ... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1233892

Quote:

J Dunlavy:.. if you stop to think about it, no loudspeaker can sound more accurate than it measures.

 

pbc is offline  
post #539 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 01:23 PM
Member
 
dankev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all. I'm getting ready (and by getting ready, I mean any time between now and a year from now) to build another PC. While this isn't exactly an HTPC, it will be built just like one. My HTPC is in an Apex mi-008, which I am mostly fond of, and this will be a very similar build.

This new build is for my home office. It will be a SFF workstation to sit on my desk. I want to go as small as possible while still being quiet. It needs to house an optical drive, 3.5 inch hard drive and an SSD. I already have a spare HDD, and I have a slim dvd burner from a dead laptop, so slim is ok in this case. I plan to put either an i3 or i5 in it, and I won't need a video card. h67/77, 2x4 ram.

I was initially looking at a Lian Li Q11, but I stared thinking I could go even smaller.

The two cases I have my eye on right now are the InWin BP655 and the HEC ITX200B. I saw somewhere on the site that Assassin has used the InWin, and it looked like a fine build. Not too tight.

For folks who have used narrow cases like this, can they stay cool without making too much noise? I like that the heatsink fan would sit right next to a vent, and I assume the 60/80mm exhaust fan should be replaced with a higher quality fan. But am I living in a fantasy that it can be pretty quiet on a desk? It doesn't need to be silent, just reasonable.

I also have a question about optical drives. I'd probably mount either of these cases vertically. Am I correct in assuming a standard optical drive doesn't work vertically? As I mentioned, I have a laptop drive anyway, but I was curious. If I went with the InWin with a full sized bay, I would get something like this, which would also make another spot for an HDD.

I'd love to hear thoughts anyone has. Thanks.
dankev is offline  
post #540 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
How about a Silverstone SG05?
Zon2020 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off