Unofficial mini-ITX case thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 01:44 PM
Member
 
dankev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SG05 looks nice, but it has a bigger footprint than the others. Space on the desk is a big consideration. I'd probably rather go with the Lian Li Q11 if I end up with one of those 'bigger' cases.
dankev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankev View Post

The SG05 looks nice, but it has a bigger footprint than the others. Space on the desk is a big consideration. I'd probably rather go with the Lian Li Q11 if I end up with one of those 'bigger' cases.

You're right, it's much shorter, but the footprint is about 2cm larger in each direction.

The Antec ISK 300-150 is obviously a lot smaller, but I don't know if it will fit everything you want to put in it. If I was building in a ISK 300-150 I'd use an SSD and a laptop hard drive. It's a nice case though.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #543 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 02:02 PM
Member
 
dankev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty stuck on having space for a 3.5, since I already have a spare 1.5 tb drive sitting around, unused. Apart from that, the Antec would have been on my list, too.
dankev is offline  
post #544 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I've built a few PC with the PC-Q07 (previous version of PC-Q11) are they are really nice cases. They are even nicer if you don't get a standard PSU for them.

The CPU HSF fights with an ATX PSU in these cases for breathing room. The standard Intel HSF comes pretty close to the back of the PSU and it gets hot and noisy. I would look at getting a picoPSU for the PC-Q07/Q11. You can get a plate for mounting a 80mm fan and the picoPSU power jack in the PC-Q07. If you're not into that, this is a great PSU for the PC-Q07/Q11/Q08 cases: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104075. It comes with an adapter plate to fit it into the ATX PSU opening. It takes up a lot less room than an ATX power supply. FSP makes good power supplies. I have the 80+ Bronze version of this in my PC-Q08 home server.

PC-Q07/Q11 + picoPSU makes a great very quiet small footprint desktop PC that can take full-size components.

Here are some picture of the PC-Q07 with the picoPSU: http://outsidethestb.blogspot.com/20...prototype.html

Here's a recent thread about running SandyBridge w/ picoPSU: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1409510

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #545 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
dankev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a pretty tricky mod for the picoPSU with a fan attachment. I had considered the pico, but if I go with the Q11, I had been leaning toward that FSP you linked.
dankev is offline  
post #546 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankev View Post

That's a pretty tricky mod for the picoPSU with a fan attachment. I had considered the pico, but if I go with the Q11, I had been leaning toward that FSP you linked.

Luckily, it's a mod you can just buy. It makes a dramatic change in the case as far as heat and noise.

A SFX12V (like that FSP) works well too. Seasonic makes an SFX12V too but I don't know how it fits in the PC-Q07/Q11/Q08 with the fan bump out. The SFX-to-ATX adapter plate can be bought too if the PSU doesn't come with one.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #547 of 668 Old 05-08-2012, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I also have that Lian Li PC-Q07 case and standard ATX PSU does fight the HSF for air. There are several options to solve this:

1. One option is to mount the PSU with fan facing out. The Lian Li PSU adapter plate allows reverse mounting. But then the PSU fan doesn't contribute to internal cooling.
2. Use a Dynatron K666 HSF which blows sideways. K650 is a higher airflow version but louder. These HSF should be mounted to blow upwards so hot air comes out the top.
3. The FSP GHS series SFX PSU is a good option to free up space inside the PC-Q07. This PSU has very nice thermal fan control. At low power consumption the fan would be off. It is available as low as 300W.
4. picoPSU is a good option but I would go for wide input voltage type and use 72W-120W, 19V-21V notebook adapters. These are much more efficient than no name adapters.

I am using the Dynatron K666 HSF and a Mad Dog ATX PSU with modular cabling and thermal controlled fan inside the Lian Li PC-Q07 at the moment. I may try the FSP GHS PSU later. The computer is a 65W i5-2500S on Zotac H67ITX MB.
dksc318 is offline  
post #548 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by dksc318 View Post

4. picoPSU is a good option but I would go for wide input voltage type and use 72W-120W, 19V-21V notebook adapters. These are much more efficient than no name adapters.

I actually saved money and recycled using this approach. My company was getting rid of a bunch of old IBM T30 laptops. They let me take a few of the 16V-4.5A-72W adapters which have the 2.5mm*5.5mm tip needed for the picoPSU. They were going to toss them along with the T30s. The WI picoPSUs are more expensive but I got the AC adapter for free so it came out better.

With all the old T20s/T30s out there in the corporate world there must be quite the surplus of old 16V-4.5A-72W 2.5mm*5.5mm adapters. I'd love to get my hands on more.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #549 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
sliddjur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I actually saved money and recycled using this approach. My company was getting rid of a bunch of old IBM T30 laptops. They let me take a few of the 16V-4.5A-72W adapters which have the 2.5mm*5.5mm tip needed for the picoPSU. They were going to toss them along with the T30s. The WI picoPSUs are more expensive but I got the AC adapter for free so it came out better.

With all the old T20s/T30s out there in the corporate world there must be quite the surplus of old 16V-4.5A-72W 2.5mm*5.5mm adapters. I'd love to get my hands on more.

Ive got some T60 at my job that we're throwing away. do u know if they would work too with pico psu? i could take a picture tomorrow maybe..

My bad its a Lenovo Thinkpad T60
sliddjur is offline  
post #550 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
sliddjur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah, saw IBM/Lenovo are basicly the same.
Anyways, a question.

Does the voltage matter? I saw on most pico PSU they are 12v? If I get an old laptop chargerbrick with 19v, won't it burn my pico PSU cords and perhaps mobo??
sliddjur is offline  
post #551 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sliddjur View Post

Ah, saw IBM/Lenovo are basicly the same.
Anyways, a question.

Does the voltage matter? I saw on most pico PSU they are 12v? If I get an old laptop chargerbrick with 19v, won't it burn my pico PSU cords and perhaps mobo??

There are two versions of picoPSU - 12V and "wide input" which can take 12V-25V. If you use a 19V AC adapter, you need the "WI" picoPSU such as the 120-WI-25.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #552 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sliddjur View Post

Ive got some T60 at my job that we're throwing away. do u know if they would work too with pico psu? i could take a picture tomorrow maybe..

My bad its a Lenovo Thinkpad T60

To fit the picoPSU barrel jack, the tip needs to be 2.5mm*5.5mm. The T60 is a different size. I believe T30, T40 and T41 have the correct size.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #553 of 668 Old 05-09-2012, 10:36 PM
Newbie
 
sliddjur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

To fit the picoPSU barrel jack, the tip needs to be 2.5mm*5.5mm. The T60 is a different size. I believe T30, T40 and T41 have the correct size.

Can you post a picture of it?
sliddjur is offline  
post #554 of 668 Old 05-10-2012, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I actually saved money and recycled using this approach. My company was getting rid of a bunch of old IBM T30 laptops. They let me take a few of the 16V-4.5A-72W adapters which have the 2.5mm*5.5mm tip needed for the picoPSU. They were going to toss them along with the T30s. The WI picoPSUs are more expensive but I got the AC adapter for free so it came out better.

With all the old T20s/T30s out there in the corporate world there must be quite the surplus of old 16V-4.5A-72W 2.5mm*5.5mm adapters. I'd love to get my hands on more.

Before getting back into desktops, the whole family was on Thinkpads. We moved to newer 21V type so still have many 16V AC adapters left. They are pretty efficient also. It just that the 120W types use that funky 4 pin DIN type plug that no one else use.
dksc318 is offline  
post #555 of 668 Old 05-10-2012, 12:50 AM
Senior Member
 
dksc318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

To fit the picoPSU barrel jack, the tip needs to be 2.5mm*5.5mm. The T60 is a different size. I believe T30, T40 and T41 have the correct size.

To solve this problem, I used a 21V Thinkpad power input jack with pigtail and re-crimp the connector on the pigtail.
dksc318 is offline  
post #556 of 668 Old 05-10-2012, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by sliddjur View Post

Can you post a picture of it?

The tip would like like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Power-Tip-DC...-/190642148984

Could also be a black tip.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #557 of 668 Old 05-11-2012, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I ordered one of these from China (the black one). If I ever get it I'll post some pictures. I have my doubts if it will ever show but it's a good experiment and all it takes to get my money back is to open a dispute with PayPal so at least I am protected there.



I was attracted to the case purely on looks. We'll see what happens. I just wish there were a US distributor of these cases (and lots of other cases I've seen on Asian websites).

This is from post #16 of this thread in Feb 2011.

I finally have these cases on the way . They'll be delivered Monday.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #558 of 668 Old 05-13-2012, 12:14 AM
Newbie
 
weilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

This is from post #16 of this thread in Feb 2011.

I finally have these cases on the way . They'll be delivered Monday.

price?
weilian is offline  
post #559 of 668 Old 05-13-2012, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

This is from post #16 of this thread in Feb 2011.

I finally have these cases on the way . They'll be delivered Monday.

Any explanation as to why it took so long or did you just accidentally order them from a source using a Chinese calendar?
LexInVA is offline  
post #560 of 668 Old 05-13-2012, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by weilian View Post

price?

I haven't set the price yet (and likely isn't something ok to talk about here). It will come with the IR receiver/remote but no power supply. It's meant to fit the picoPSU. Once I get them in I'll test them for fit/temp/etc. and post pictures/etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post

Any explanation as to why it took so long or did you just accidentally order them from a source using a Chinese calendar?

The first order last year never arrived. I didn't renew interest in getting them until recently. Meanwhile, it took a long time too to find a reliable source, establish a relationship, etc.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #561 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Hmmm, can anyone tell me what's wrong with this picture?




 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #562 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Did you strip the screws? Or is there something pushing up from within?
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #563 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Got nothing to add StardogChampion except nice site and blog

At some point I may get antsy to build another mini-ITX HTPC, will definitely keep EcoSmartPC in mind.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #564 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

Did you strip the screws? Or is there something pushing up from within?

Nope, that's not it. Hint: look at the ODD and the opening. It's pretty tragic actually, considering I have a whole carton of them all with the same issue...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Got nothing to add StardogChampion except nice site and blog

At some point I may get antsy to build another mini-ITX HTPC, will definitely keep EcoSmartPC in mind.

Thanks! I appreciate it!

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #565 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 11:02 AM
drb
Senior Member
 
drb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Hmmm, can anyone tell me what's wrong with this picture?

Should be slot load

DRB

I WANT MY HDTV
drb is offline  
post #566 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ru4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Nope, that's not it. Hint: look at the ODD and the opening. It's pretty tragic actually, considering I have a whole carton of them all with the same issue...



Thanks! I appreciate it!

The tray hits the filleted corners? Nice.

My Sandy Bridge Gaming/HTPC Build

Cyrix PR166+ → AMD K6 200 → Intel Celeron 266 → AMD Athlon 1GHz → AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ → Intel i5-2500K
ru4real is offline  
post #567 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4real View Post

The tray hits the filleted corners? Nice.

Close enough.

The answer is: it doesn't fit at all. When the slot for the tray-load was cut by the manufacturer they made it tall/wide enough for the body of the ODD -- forgetting about the bezel.

So, they're junk.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #568 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 12:12 PM
Member
 
DeanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You would think they had planned to replace the tray bezel with one which matched the case??
DeanM is offline  
post #569 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Close enough.

The answer is: it doesn't fit at all. When the slot for the tray-load was cut by the manufacturer they made it tall/wide enough for the body of the ODD -- forgetting about the bezel.

So, they're junk.

Man that sucks!

I wonder what in the hell they were thinking....
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #570 of 668 Old 05-16-2012, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
It'll be interesting to hear what they have to say. They have two different versions: tray or slot load. They were out of stock on the tray so they did a product run. I guess someone forgot to measure twice cut once. I though tray load would be easier to find. Besides that the case is really cool and even smaller than the E-I5!

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off