Unofficial mini-ITX case thread - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 668 Old 03-03-2011, 10:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,003
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner888 View Post

Thanks Rene for this single slot bracket beauty.

Will it fit in Lian Li PC-Q07?

Well, there is a 3.5" drive bay beneath the expansion slot. Look at this picture. If you remove it and use a 2.5" HDD, maybe you can attach a 2-slot card (with a 1-slot bracket).
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 668 Old 03-04-2011, 12:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjterry62 View Post

Flexible risers are just that....flexible! You can bend / twist them all over the place and an 1x is really small and comes in several different lengths.

BT

Good to know, the only problem left is the 60w supply. I envision, one slot being used for Hauppauge Colossus and using flex adapter with a HD5670 for a bit more than casual gaming @720p.

Current draw would likely be north of 100w, so I could still use provided brick but need to put a DC to DC supply inside the case, if that's possible?

These types of cases are rare right now, but the black version looks like it would natural next to a D*TV H24.

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #123 of 668 Old 03-04-2011, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Well, there is a 3.5" drive bay beneath the expansion slot. Look at this picture. If you remove it and use a 2.5" HDD, maybe you can attach a 2-slot card (with a 1-slot bracket).

One of my big complaints about the PC-Q07 is the lack of ventilation. It relies on the PSU to vent the case. I had a i3-540 in the case with a EA-380D and the CPU fan was always running high because it had nowhere to go. It was less of an issue with an e3300 and Seasonic SS-350ET which has a large 120mm fan. I can't imagine also sticking a discrete GPU in that case and a PSU large enough for it. IMHO and from my experience in practice, it's really not a case that's good for anything high-powered that generates a lot of heat. Removing that EA-380D, putting in a picoPSU and fashioning that custom plate with the 80mm fan made all the difference in the world -- from noisy and hot running to quiet and cool running.

The PC-Q11 seems to address those issues but it's $40 more. To me, that'd be worth it to have for-real double slots and a 120mm case fan if I was going to use a GPU. I haven't tried the PC-Q11 yet but from everything I read it's really just the PC-Q07 with all my issues addressed (well, except for the 12 tiny screws thing -- PITA).

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #124 of 668 Old 03-05-2011, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
ceaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about putting together a Zacate system with an Antec ISK 300-65. This system would have no optical drive, but I want to put a normal 3.5" desktop HD into the thing.

Does anyone know if its possible to fit a standard desktop hard drive into this thing's optical bay with adapter rails? This case looks just about perfect, aside from not supporting desktop HDs.
ceaton is offline  
post #125 of 668 Old 03-05-2011, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post
This case caught my eye when it was first released. I figured it would be my de facto nettop case until I read all the Newegg reviews. I am still thinking of giving it a try however.

Antec ISK 100
http://store.antec.com/Product/enclo...5-15170-2.aspx



2 x 2.5" internal drive bays
No expansion slots
Side 100 mm two speed fan with switch controls
Front ports
- 4 x USB 2.0
- HDA/AC'97-compatible audio in/out
Motherboard compatibility: Mini-ITX only
Includes 90 watt internal adapter
- Energy Star Level 5 qualified
- 80 watt DC-to-ATX PCB mounted directly inside case - up to 92% efficient
- Universal Input - works on any 100V - 240V electrical grid
Unit Dimension
- 248 mm (H) x 108 mm (W) x 212 mm (D)
- 9.8" (H) x 4.3" (W) x 8.3" (D)
Here's one used as a desktop with Gigabyte AMD Zacate board -

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2144118

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #126 of 668 Old 03-06-2011, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Well, there is a 3.5" drive bay beneath the expansion slot. Look at this picture. If you remove it and use a 2.5" HDD, maybe you can attach a 2-slot card (with a 1-slot bracket).

A picture speaks a thousand words. Thanks Rene.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

One of my big complaints about the PC-Q07 is the lack of ventilation. It relies on the PSU to vent the case. I had a i3-540 in the case with a EA-380D and the CPU fan was always running high because it had nowhere to go. It was less of an issue with an e3300 and Seasonic SS-350ET which has a large 120mm fan. I can't imagine also sticking a discrete GPU in that case and a PSU large enough for it. IMHO and from my experience in practice, it's really not a case that's good for anything high-powered that generates a lot of heat. Removing that EA-380D, putting in a picoPSU and fashioning that custom plate with the 80mm fan made all the difference in the world -- from noisy and hot running to quiet and cool running.

The PC-Q11 seems to address those issues but it's $40 more. To me, that'd be worth it to have for-real double slots and a 120mm case fan if I was going to use a GPU. I haven't tried the PC-Q11 yet but from everything I read it's really just the PC-Q07 with all my issues addressed (well, except for the 12 tiny screws thing -- PITA).

Thanks StardogChampion for the detailed feedback. Will check out the PC-Q11.
mariner888 is offline  
post #127 of 668 Old 03-07-2011, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ru4real's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceaton View Post

I'm thinking about putting together a Zacate system with an Antec ISK 300-65. This system would have no optical drive, but I want to put a normal 3.5" desktop HD into the thing.

Does anyone know if its possible to fit a standard desktop hard drive into this thing's optical bay with adapter rails? This case looks just about perfect, aside from not supporting desktop HDs.

I would say no, not with any off-the-shelf rails. This case requires a slim optical drive, and it has a bracket for two 2.5" drives above the optical drive. It looks like one 3.5" drive could fit in place of the optical drive if you remove the 2.5" bracket, but you would need to secure it with something other than the standard mounting screws.

See this Antec ISK 300-65 review.

If you choose a different mini-ITX case that fits a standard optical drive, then you can use a 3.5" to 5.25" adapter to mount a 3.5" drive in the 5.25" bay. Adapters are available from many case manufacturers, such as Antec, Lian Li, Silverstone, and Cooler Master. The Silverstone FP55 lets you mount one 3.5" and two 2.5" into one 5.25" bay!

My Sandy Bridge Gaming/HTPC Build

Cyrix PR166+ → AMD K6 200 → Intel Celeron 266 → AMD Athlon 1GHz → AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ → Intel i5-2500K
ru4real is offline  
post #128 of 668 Old 03-08-2011, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
bjterry62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England USA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj4monie View Post
Good to know, the only problem left is the 60w supply. I envision, one slot being used for Hauppauge Colossus and using flex adapter with a HD5670 for a bit more than casual gaming @720p.

Current draw would likely be north of 100w, so I could still use provided brick but need to put a DC to DC supply inside the case, if that's possible?

These types of cases are rare right now, but the black version looks like it would natural next to a D*TV H24.
Yeah, 60w is not gonna get it. You best bet is a Pico 160XT with a 150W brick. Not sure how much the 5670 uses when loaded, but you may still be cutting it close!

BT

Just remember, to the MPAA "We're all guilty until..............."
bjterry62 is offline  
post #129 of 668 Old 03-08-2011, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
bjterry62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New England USA
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceaton View Post
I'm thinking about putting together a Zacate system with an Antec ISK 300-65. This system would have no optical drive, but I want to put a normal 3.5" desktop HD into the thing.

Does anyone know if its possible to fit a standard desktop hard drive into this thing's optical bay with adapter rails? This case looks just about perfect, aside from not supporting desktop HDs.
I've done some work with the ISKs and it will be a job fitting a 3.5" HDD in there. The HDD tray rests on top of the ODD tray and both are suspended above the MB. There is room between the front of the case and the motherboard, but the stock PSU is there. If you replace the stock PSU with a Pico then you can put the 3.5" HDD there. You'll still need to make a custom mount with something. Seems like a lot of work when you can get 2.5" HDDs pretty cheap!

BT

Just remember, to the MPAA "We're all guilty until..............."
bjterry62 is offline  
post #130 of 668 Old 03-09-2011, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Sorry I still haven't gotten to the PC-Q09 review. I started a new job last week and I've had little time for anything. I am sure with the prices at $140 now vs. the $70 a couple of weeks ago you're all chomping at the bit to read what I have to say anyway

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #131 of 668 Old 03-14-2011, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I did another build this weekend with this case. It's definitely my go-to case for a low-budget build. This is by far the easiest case to work with. It took maybe 20min to put it all together. This one is for my daughter's preschool.



Intel BOXD525MW Atom dual-core 1.8GHz motherboard
Kingston 2GB SO-DIMM DDR3 800 RAM
WD 320GB AVVS Green A/V SATAII HDD
Lite-On ODD
Windows 7 x86

This PC will be used solely for kids' educational games -- it's not even going to have internet access -- so this is more than enough horsepower. $350 with monitor, keyboard and mouse and all of the above (budget was king).

I love this case.

WEI results are not too shabby (See attachment).
LL

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #132 of 668 Old 03-14-2011, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
ceaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjterry62 View Post

I've done some work with the ISKs and it will be a job fitting a 3.5" HDD in there. The HDD tray rests on top of the ODD tray and both are suspended above the MB. There is room between the front of the case and the motherboard, but the stock PSU is there. If you replace the stock PSU with a Pico then you can put the 3.5" HDD there. You'll still need to make a custom mount with something. Seems like a lot of work when you can get 2.5" HDDs pretty cheap!

BT

Thanks for all the tips, guys. I didn't feel like turning this build into a metal shop project, so I bough myself a APEX MI-008 case, and swapped the included PSU for a Pico PSU.

The the Apex isn't as small as the Antech, but it let me re-use my HVR1250 PCIe tuner, it looks pretty nice, and is VERY quiet when cooled with a low speed 100mm case fan.
ceaton is offline  
post #133 of 668 Old 03-18-2011, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I have pictures of two recent mini-ITX builds: one with the Lian-Li PC-Q09FA and the other with the Rosewill RC-CIX-01 on my blog. The link is in my signature.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #134 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If someone is considering using the Habey 800B with a Sandybridge MB/CPU - reconsider

I tried it this weekend and although after drilling an extra hole in the drive holder and mounting a 2.5" drive behind the BD slim drive (as opposed to underneath), I still can't quite close the lid as the drive holder is resting on top of the stock i3-2100 cooler.

Running some stress test using the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility for like 1/2h I had temps on one of the cores over 80C (82C max). this was a 5010 fan installed, albeit a fairly low cfm one. With a slightly more efficient fan (but louder), core temps maxed out around 80C.

I'm thinking I'll get a Wesena case (once the logo issue is resolved) instead as I know Andy @ missing remote has tried it with sandybridge and it fit.

/Anders
LL
LL
andersa is offline  
post #135 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post

If someone is considering using the Habey 800B with a Sandybridge MB/CPU - reconsider

I tried it this weekend and although after drilling an extra hole in the drive holder and mounting a 2.5" drive behind the BD slim drive (as opposed to underneath), I still can't quite close the lid as the drive holder is resting on top of the stock i3-2100 cooler.

Running some stress test using the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility for like 1/2h I had temps on one of the cores over 80C (82C max). this was a 5010 fan installed, albeit a fairly low cfm one. With a slightly more efficient fan (but louder), core temps maxed out around 80C.

I'm thinking I'll get a Wesena case (once the logo issue is resolved) instead as I know Andy @ missing remote has tried it with sandybridge and it fit.

/Anders

Thanks for reporting your findings! I had this very same question this past week.
genro is offline  
post #136 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 12:37 PM
Member
 
Emerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would any of the Zacate boards fit no problem with the 2.5 and slim DVD?
Emerlin is offline  
post #137 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 12:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerlin View Post

Would any of the Zacate boards fit no problem with the 2.5 and slim DVD?

In what case?
assassin is offline  
post #138 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Emerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

In what case?

HA - sorry the Habey 800B.

I do like the look of the case, but not the price of slim BD drivess...
Emerlin is offline  
post #139 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerlin View Post

HA - sorry the Habey 800B.

I do like the look of the case, but not the price of slim BD drivess...

I don't have a zacate board so I can't say for sure. It is cramped in there as the case is only 3" tall.

/Anders
andersa is offline  
post #140 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post

I don't have a zacate board so I can't say for sure. It is cramped in there as the case is only 3" tall.

/Anders

If you don't use a BD/DVD drive and only have a 2.5" HD, would a Sandybridge fit in the Habey? Thanks
genro is offline  
post #141 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

If you don't use a BD/DVD drive and only have a 2.5" HD, would a Sandybridge fit in the Habey? Thanks

You might be able to.

The bracket that holds the BD drive and the HD comes in two pieces. The bottom piece holds the BD drive and rests against the i3's cooler which angles the bracket and thus won't let me close the lid.

If you got rid of the bottom piece of the bracket and mounted the drive to the top bracket as I did I'm pretty sure the lid will close. You might even be able to use the pre-drilled holes (I drilled a new one so I could put the HD behind the BD drive).

You'll end up with hole in the front where the BD drive goes though. No blank cover provided (only a ugly piece of white plastic was provided).

There's also the Habey 600 series w/o the slot, but it'd probably be an either bigger challenge to squeeze a Sandybridge + HD into it as it is only 2.25" tall.
andersa is offline  
post #142 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post

You might be able to.

The bracket that holds the BD drive and the HD comes in two pieces. The bottom piece holds the BD drive and rests against the i3's cooler which angles the bracket and thus won't let me close the lid.

If you got rid of the bottom piece of the bracket and mounted the drive to the top bracket as I did I'm pretty sure the lid will close. You might even be able to use the pre-drilled holes (I drilled a new one so I could put the HD behind the BD drive).

You'll end up with hole in the front where the BD drive goes though. No blank cover provided (only a ugly piece of white plastic was provided).

There's also the Habey 600 series w/o the slot, but it'd probably be an either bigger challenge to squeeze a Sandybridge + HD into it as it is only 2.25" tall.

Thanks for the info!

Too bad about the Habey, as I think it's one of the better looking ITX cases for a reasonable price. I'm wary of doing a zacate HTPC because I prefer running ffdshow (via CPU not dxva) to be able to get subtitles and such working easily, so i was hoping an i3/sandybridge would be feasible for this case.
genro is offline  
post #143 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro View Post

Thanks for the info!

Too bad about the Habey, as I think it's one of the better looking ITX cases for a reasonable price. I'm wary of doing a zacate HTPC because I prefer running ffdshow (via CPU not dxva) to be able to get subtitles and such working easily, so i was hoping an i3/sandybridge would be feasible for this case.

Agreed, had it just been another 3/4" - 1" or so taller it would have been perfect!

/Anders
andersa is offline  
post #144 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by genro

Thanks for the info!

Too bad about the Habey, as I think it's one of the better looking ITX cases for a reasonable price. I'm wary of doing a zacate HTPC because I prefer running ffdshow (via CPU not dxva) to be able to get subtitles and such working easily, so i was hoping an i3/sandybridge would be feasible for this case.
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa

Agreed, had it just been another 3/4" - 1" or so taller it would have been perfect!

/Anders
Yea, thanks for the info as well. I really liked that case a bedroom HTPC. I was also thinking of using one for a SB build but I guess not. The search continues.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #145 of 668 Old 04-04-2011, 08:00 PM
Member
 
mfarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Athenatech A1089xx.150 (aka Rosewill RC-CIX-01, aka CFI A8989), anyone have any idea where I can find one? They seem to be out of stock everywhere at the moment.
mfarlow is offline  
post #146 of 668 Old 04-05-2011, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
technoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw one with a black bezel listed on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002DUEFNS/...SIN=B002DUEFNS

However, it says "Only 1 left in stock--order soon (more on the way)"

I also saw the same case with glossy black, red and white front panels:
http://www.amazon.com/Mini-Itx-Tower...034070&sr=1-13
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B002DW97Q6
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B002DW97H0

I have used these cases on 3 builds so far, they are inexpensive, rugged and good quality. It's the only one I found with the power supply in front, leaving plenty of overhead for the stock Intel cooler.

My build is at: http://technocatsblog.blogspot.com/
technoHD is offline  
post #147 of 668 Old 04-05-2011, 01:52 PM
Member
 
mfarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoHD View Post

I saw one with a black bezel listed on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002DUEFNS/...SIN=B002DUEFNS

However, it says "Only 1 left in stock--order soon (more on the way)"

I also saw the same case with glossy black, red and white front panels:
http://www.amazon.com/Mini-Itx-Tower...034070&sr=1-13
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B002DW97Q6
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B002DW97H0

I have used these cases on 3 builds so far, they are inexpensive, rugged and good quality. It's the only one I found with the power supply in front, leaving plenty of overhead for the stock Intel cooler.

My build is at: http://technocatsblog.blogspot.com/

Thanks, I was able to the glossy black one. When I checked yesterday afternoon it was listed as OOS. I appreciate the help.
mfarlow is offline  
post #148 of 668 Old 04-05-2011, 04:15 PM
Member
 
chewietobbacca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that. Debating on waiting on one of these, or getting a Lian Li PC-Q07 and using my 3 year old (rarely used) Antec Earthwatts 380W PSU
chewietobbacca is offline  
post #149 of 668 Old 04-06-2011, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewietobbacca View Post

Thanks for that. Debating on waiting on one of these, or getting a Lian Li PC-Q07 and using my 3 year old (rarely used) Antec Earthwatts 380W PSU

I've used the EA-380D in the Lian-Li PC-Q07 and it's not a good combination. First, there's just too much cabling on the EA-380D. You have to really jam the cabling against the front of the PC-Q07. Second, there's no fan in the PC-Q07 case so what they don't tell you is they rely on the PSU to exhaust the case. The EA-380D does a very poor job of that. It's really better suited to a PSU that has a large open fan on the side. So, what you get (I had a i3-540 in mine) is your CPU fan racing all the time trying to keep cool, especially since it's inches from the side of the EA-380D making airflow even worse. Once I got a picoPSU in it, temps went way down, the CPU fan stopped racing and it was basically silent.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #150 of 668 Old 04-07-2011, 05:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post
I did another build this weekend with this case. It's definitely my go-to case for a low-budget build. This is by far the easiest case to work with. It took maybe 20min to put it all together.



I love this case.
This case has been discontinued which is a HUGE problem and leaves a huge void in the ITX HTPC case options.

I agree that this case is by far the best budget ITX out there.

I see the Athena options but those are already deactivated at Newegg as well.

So what's going to be the new go-to ITX case once these models are completely gone???
assassin is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off