How to Ask For New HTPC Build Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 46 Old 02-18-2011, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Approximate Purchase Date: (e.g.: this week (the closer the better))

Level of Expertise at building and configuring a HTPC: (Complete newbie, beginner, average, or advanced user)

Budget Range: (e.g.: 600-800) Before / After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: (e.g.: watching 1080p/720p, Netflix, view streaming media other than Netflix/Pandora, Recording OTA signals or cable, encoding HD files, network required (wired vs wireless), gaming, surfing the internet, other programs such as photoshop, autocad, etc)

Size of HTPC case: (any, "component size", or small form factor. Also doesn't hurt to list your maximum dimensions including anything that may limit case size (such as the shelf it is going on is only 14" deep, for example))

Case Make and Model: (Is there a particular style or manufacturer that you prefer? Or do you not have a preference?)

Optical Drive Needed: (if yes do you need a DVD reader/burner, Bluray reader, or Bluray reader/burner?)

Parts Not Required to buy: (e.g.: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS) **Include Power Supply Make & Model, Case Make/Model, etc if Re-using**

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: (e.g.: newegg.com, ncix.com -- to show us selection & pricing)

Country of Origin: (e.g.: Grand Fenwick)

Parts Preferences: by brand or type (e.g.: I would like to use an AMD CPU & ASUS mobo with a 100" Peojection screen and full tower case. Also provide your rationale behind why you prefer a particular brand or platform)

Data Storage: (Are you going to be storing your data/movies on this PC or at another location to be accessed over your network?)

Home Theater Setup: (Receiver, HDTV, etc)

Additional Comments: (e.g.: Need to have a window and lots of bling, I would like a quiet PC)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement