CPU Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting ready to put together my first HTPC. I have built countless systems over the past 15 years so have experience in that area. However, I am a bit new to the HTPC arena. I was browsing this forum and fell in love with the whole idea, especially Windows 7 with the media browser plug-in. I have Pioneer Elite receiver, Bluray Player and KURO KRP-600M.

I already have a CPU, RAM & PSU. I am wondering if my CPU is up to the task of playing Bluray ISO, playing a huge library of MKV and some Bluray ripping. I already have a 5TB server in the garage so I will be streaming everything via wireless "N" 5GHz which is another concern of mine. My WD Live stutters with 1080P files over 2.4Ghz "N". I am hoping the move to 5GHz resolves this?

Parts I already have.

CPU - AMD Athlon X2 6000+ / 3.1 GHz
RAM - 4GB of DDR2 - 4 Dimms
PSU - Rosewill 500W

Parts I plan to order this week.

Case - SILVERSTONE - Micro ATX Media Center Model #:ML03B
Mobo - ASRock A790GMH/128M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
GPU - HIS Silence H557HR1G Radeon HD 5570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP
Hardrive - OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Drive - LG Black Blu-ray Disc Combo SATA Model UH10LS20 LightScribe Support - OEM
Network Adapter - Linksys WMP600N PCI Wireless Adapter with Dual-Band
Fans - GELID Solutions FN-SX08-16 80mm Silent Case Fan

I think the parts I am going to order are pretty solid. Again, my CPU is a concern?

Thanks in advance for all your input!

--robert
teknikk7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Calcvictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think your CPU should be ok playing 1080p files, 3.1Ghz is a good clock speed and 2 core should be enough.


In any case the GPU you picked will decode blu-ray and mkv that have been ripped to H264, you could just get a mobo with a slightly better GPU(Radeon 4200)and skip out on a discrete graphics card if all you will do is watch movies.
Calcvictim is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calcvictim View Post

I think your CPU should be ok playing 1080p files, 3.1Ghz is a good clock speed and 2 core should be enough.


In any case the GPU you picked will decode blu-ray and mkv that have been ripped to H264, you could just get a mobo with a slightly better GPU(Radeon 4200)and skip out on a discrete graphics card if all you will do is watch movies.

My biggest concern is a sluggish interface. I hate that my WD Live is so slow. If I have to pay a little more I will do so to avoid that.
teknikk7 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ogormask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
with the ssd and 4gb of ram I highly doubt you will experience a slow interface.
ogormask is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogormask View Post

with the ssd and 4gb of ram I highly doubt you will experience a slow interface.

I got a Scorpio Blue 500GB 2.5" drive. Do you think I could skip the SSD and still have good performance?

Thanks
teknikk7 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-28-2011, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Markolc81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If your main concern is sluggish UI, then do not skip the SSD. I'm about to swap out my 500GB WD Blue drive for a Vertex2. The SSD really makes all the difference.
Markolc81 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My biggest concern is the CPU, I am wondering if my AMD Athlon X2 6000+ / 3.1 GHz has the balls for Windows 7 with Media Browser.

Thanks for the responses.
teknikk7 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 30
CPU should be okay, but there's no reason to load it up these days to decode h.264 etc. when modern cheap GPUs do this no sweat. If you load up the CPU it will just run hotter, draw more power, and cause the fan(s) to ramp up to cool it.

Otherwise as stated that CPU and 4GB with Windows 7, you will not find slow
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 01:58 PM
Member
 
cshaw88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknikk7 View Post

I already have a CPU, RAM & PSU. I am wondering if my CPU is up to the task of playing Bluray ISO, playing a huge library of MKV and some Bluray ripping. I already have a 5TB server in the garage so I will be streaming everything via wireless "N" 5GHz which is another concern of mine. My WD Live stutters with 1080P files over 2.4Ghz "N". I am hoping the move to 5GHz resolves this?

Your biggest concern should be trying to stream HD over any kind of wireless. I've read about many people trying it, but few succeeding.
If you have coaxial cable in each room I would try a MOCA adapter instead. I've been using netgear's mcab1001 for a couple years and have had no problems.
cshaw88 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshaw88 View Post

Your biggest concern should be trying to stream HD over any kind of wireless. I've read about many people trying it, but few succeeding.
If you have coaxial cable in each room I would try a MOCA adapter instead. I've been using netgear's mcab1001 for a couple years and have had no problems.

Agreed! I looked at the MOCA kits and considered the idea. However, since I already have a Netgear WNDR-3700 I am just going to pair it with a Netgear 5GHz Bridge WNHDE111. The spectrum analyzer tells me 5GHz is clear. I should be able to sustain a solid link at 300Mbps or 270Mbps like the MOCA setup. I am only 1 room away from the router and can already stream 720p and some 1080p lite over 2.4GHz @ 150Mbps. If for some reason the link is weak I will attach external antennas or maybe even a directional antenna to hit my target. Again, this is all in theory. I believe at 300Mbps I should have no problems streaming full 1080P? Someone correct me if I am wrong.

If wireless fails I will just run some outdoor Cat5e around my house and drill out the wall. What's another hole in my house....?

Thanks for the feedback! Wireless can be a bitch sometimes.
teknikk7 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
teknikk7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chino Hills, CA 91709
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just came across MAME and the GameEx plugin for Windows Media Center. This just keeps getting better and better. According to the MAME website this program can be very taxing on the CPU. Does anyone run this setup using a Dual Core CPU such as the one I have?

Thanks!


http://www.gameex.net/
teknikk7 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off