Best IR receiver for harmony / HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 02-28-2011, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

I currently use a Harmony one remote, with the Imon receiver and software which came with my Antec case.

I would like to disconnect the Imon receiver and use something that works better and is update. Soundgraph has terrible support for the software.

I know people have recommended the Microsoft media center remote but it is discontinued and difficult to find.

Any recommendations on a good IR receiver (using windows 7) with native support for Harmony one and most windows functions? Minimal customization in the Harmony software would be great.

thanks for the help

Chuga
chuga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 02-28-2011, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Get the HP Media Center IR Receiver from eBay. Program your Harmony to use the Microsoft / Media Center SE device. Unplug the iMon's USB header and power connection. Some still use the iMon for just power on and the MCE receiver for everything else.

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 02-28-2011, 08:38 PM
Member
 
scottd34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a usb one off a microsoft media center remote
scottd34 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 03-01-2011, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Balforth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any rc6 receiver will do.

I have a dell receiver and prefer it to the HP one because it's all black


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Balforth is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-01-2011, 04:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chuga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks for the replies.

So do you have to use imon for power on? can the other HP/etc receivers also power on the htpc?


thanks
chuga
chuga is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-01-2011, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuga View Post

thanks for the replies.

So do you have to use imon for power on? can the other HP/etc receivers also power on the htpc?


thanks
chuga

The iMon is actually connected to the power header on the motherboard. The others are just USB. The USB MCE receivers can wake the computer, but not power it on from full off.

bryansj is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-01-2011, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Diverge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you're looking for an internal one, that can power on from S5, the HD-Plex's work good. I recently picked up 2 myself.

http://www.hd-plex.com/remote.control.html
Diverge is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-25-2011, 02:44 PM
Member
 
snakyjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the HD-Plex work on a case that doesn't already have an IR receiver?

I assume if I installed an internal IR receiver in the SilverStone GD04, the aluminium case would block the signal.

Are there other suggestions for an external/internal IR receiver for the Harmony...something compact and subtle, and something that would work on a case like the GD04?

Thanks. Jake.
snakyjake is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-25-2011, 03:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beemer533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the HD plex receiver as well and it works great. My case was not made for IR either, but it is really easy to make it work..

All you have to do is drill 2 holes: 1 for the IR (about 3/16") and 1 for a post to mount it (about 1/8 - 3/16") In my situation I use an IR extension system so I just used the existing grating at the back of the case to install the receiver and placed an emitter over it.

I'll see if I took any pictures.

Obviously, if you don't want to drill holes in the case then an internal receiver won't work for you... IR requires line of sight to work and will not work through anything other than glass or IR transparent plastic.

Also for the $23 ($18 + $5 shipping) you get a remote as well as the receiver.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Over.....
Beemer533 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-25-2011, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Beemer533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is an internal shot


And this is a crappy picture from the rear showing the IR emitter


I am also using a Harmony 1 without any issues.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Over.....
Beemer533 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 07-19-2011, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
davidgelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to bump an old thread, but I am not finding much on this topic...

I would like to use an HDPlex IR receiver with the GD05 case I just ordered. I know that in order to use both the IR receiver and front panel power switch, I need a splitter cable wired in parallel.

Does anyone know if a ready made cable is available for this?

Thank you for the help!!

-David
davidgelb is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 07-19-2011, 04:09 PM
Newbie
 
davidgelb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just found this....would this work?




Thanks!
davidgelb is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 07-19-2011, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
ljo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Get the HP Media Center IR Receiver from eBay. Program your Harmony to use the Microsoft / Media Center SE device. Unplug the iMon's USB header and power connection. Some still use the iMon for just power on and the MCE receiver for everything else.

This is exactly what I do. The iMon is nice for startup/shutdown and perhaps launching a few progs but thats it.
ljo000 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 07-25-2011, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Has anyone replaced imon in a Antec Fusion Remote Max case with a HP Media Center remote ir receiver? If so, did you pull the cables which power the front panel or did you simply use Logitech to rename the computer as a Microsoft/media center SE device?
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-09-2011, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
jabroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone recommend an external IR receiver that will work with discrete power on/off codes from my Harmony? I currently have the HP ir receiver, which doesn't seem to support them - they both function as a power toggle. I've looked for a genuine Microsoft one, but they don't seem to be available any longer. Any recommendation of one that does support those codes would be greatly appreciated!
jabroni is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 08-09-2011, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabroni View Post

Can anyone recommend an external IR receiver that will work with discrete power on/off codes from my Harmony? I currently have the HP ir receiver, which doesn't seem to support them - they both function as a power toggle. I've looked for a genuine Microsoft one, but they don't seem to be available any longer. Any recommendation of one that does support those codes would be greatly appreciated!

Anything with 5VSB support should work. Why not just get the HDPlex IR and make an enclosure of some sort.
Nimo is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off