Onboard adapter fried? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-20-2011, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bilbonvidia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Isle of Man http://www.isleofman.com
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The integrated network adapter on my motherboard has stopped working, there are not even any activity lights. It had been working but I knocked the graphics card which feLl on the motherboard. I had to disconnect everything and removed the battery to get it working again but now I appear to have no network card. It is enabled in the BIOS. could I have knocked a jumper or something? Its a P5N7A-VM.

I have tried updating the bios no joy, the adapter will not even show up in device manager. Dya reckon I have fried it?

If so dilemma, a cheap pci - e card to use instead or a new board, if so what board? I dont need onboarg graphics any longer as have a ati 5770.
bilbonvidia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-20-2011, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This happened to me I just went to frys and got a $10 pci card.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-21-2011, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bilbonvidia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Isle of Man http://www.isleofman.com
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I might try a pci-e network card, hopefully nothing else is damaged, although I can see anything on the board, capacitors etc look fine.
bilbonvidia is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-21-2011, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbonvidia View Post

could I have knocked a jumper or something?

Could. Only you can check the manual see if any jumper(s) applicable. I am not going to do it! ^) The NIC is associated with an interrupt pin, typically jumpered.

If u feel like, disassemble everything, take the mobo out, clean it with a combination brush/compress air re-install and see what happens.

Or, NIC cards are dime-a-dozen, if u have free pci slot, or one of them usb dongle (but would use some cpu) is the lazyman's answer.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-23-2011, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bilbonvidia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Isle of Man http://www.isleofman.com
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a cheap gigabit pci-e card. All is now well. I think the graphics card must have landed on the realtex chip which looking at the mobo is infact directly below the bracket of the gfx card.
bilbonvidia is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-23-2011, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jkleslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen this happen several times in my home...onboard Realtek adapters that either stop functioning completely, or get unreliable connectivity at nothing better than 100Mbps (when they are Gb compatible).

I'll just echo what's been said already...Ethernet cards are cheap - get one
jkleslie is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off