hulu and wmc - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good afternoon:

I'm thinking about getting hulu plus and putting it on my HTPC. However, I run everything through windows media center (windows 7) and of course would like it integrated into that.

I found a tool that adds the icon to WMC and it launches hulu no problem, but when I quit, WMC doesn't have focus.

Has anyone successfully integrated hulu into WMC?

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Erighan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had all sorts of problems integrating hulu desktop so that it functions as intended. I started by installing hulu Desktop Integration found HERE

This would provide access to hulu through MC, but there were issues when I tried to close hulu. More than 50% of the time, when hulu closed and tried to launch MC, the windows taskbar would stay in the foreground. I just couldn't resolve this issue no matter what settings I messed with: in MC, windows or hulu.

I ended up downloading this mcpriorty program to see if it would fix the issue, and it did.

Hope that helps.
Erighan is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
bighick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln, ne ish
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it doesnt set it to focus why not just hit the green button, menu or guide?
bighick is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-27-2011, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
bob2300NX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think using this is much better than using hulu integration. It just seem more reliable.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1295315
bob2300NX is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-27-2011, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
winterescape's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you get Hulu plus can you play all the content using Hulu desktop? I thought that was a issue, that Hulu plus required using a browser?

We use Hulu desktop for comedy central content and it works great, I have used the linked "Hulu desktop integration" without issues...
winterescape is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-27-2011, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
First off, Hulu Desktop fully supports Hulu Plus and HD. However to be frank Plus is not really worth it since most all the content is available free anyway when using a PC (browser or Hulu Desktop). Very little content actually requires Plus but if it's what you want then sign up. Luckily you can cancel at any time to give it a try for a month and go back to free if it's not worth it.

Integration into WMC is perfect with this simple plugin: http://teknowebworks.com/

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-27-2011, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
HarBlar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aberdeen, SD
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just added an icon for hulu desktop into WMC. Selecting the icon launches Hulu and minimizes WMC. After you exit hulu desktop, just hit the start/green button on your remote. It brings you straight back to WMC. I've been doing it this way with Zero problems for well over a year.

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_
"Serenity Now!!! Insanity later."

-HarBlar
HarBlar is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off