AVR-1611-HTPC Setup, video turns on/off - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-26-2011, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmknapp80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
custom built HTPC, i3, 4GB, windows7
nVidia GeForce GT 430
AVerMedia A188c tuner card
Vizio 47" E470LE
Denon AVR-1611 Receiver

When watching tv through Windows Media Center using a tv tuner card, and when watching a channel in HD, everything is perfect. When I try to watch a channel is SD or when the HD channel has SD commercials, the tv screen video will turn on/off (the whole screen goes black). I've spent a few hours searching for an answer, but haven't found anything. Anyone else have this problem and have a solution? I've searched through settings and I'm pretty tech savvy, but what can I do to fix this? Thanks.
jmknapp80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-27-2011, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmknapp80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump.
I noticed that this only occurs for certain channels. For instance I was watching basketball broadcast over the air in HD through an antenna, and this issue was occurring. Later on that night I was watching SNL on a different channel in HD through an antenna, and during the commercials, the video was not blacking out like it was for the other channel. Also note that when the screen goes black, I still get audio, and also note that beyond the video going out, once in a while the tv would report "no signal" and when the commercials were over and back to the game, the video would be fine. Man, this is annoying!
jmknapp80 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-28-2011, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmknapp80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump, no one else ever have this issue?
jmknapp80 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-28-2011, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
What you're experiencing is fairly strange. I have a totally different set up (Intel e4300 cpu, Sapphire Ati 5450 video card, Hauppauge 950 usb tuner, Win7 32 bit) and have never experienced this issue.

Could it be a bad hdmi cable or hdmi handshaking issue between your htpc and receiver?
audit13 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jmknapp80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It only happens during commercials, its like the receiver is trying to compensate for the change in aspect ratio?? or something. As soon as the main show comes back on, everything is perfect. Very odd, but oh well I guess.
jmknapp80 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
mbbransc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when HD content switches to SD, the screen goes black. When the program comes back on, the video begins showing again? It sounds like a handshake issue to me too.
mbbransc is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off