SmoothVideo Project (SVP)/Frame Interpolation (FI) from Russia - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 197 Old 12-30-2011, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

finally when watching the movie, the detail on the people is amazing, but it looks like a soap opera or something, kind of looks like the people are imposed on a digital background or something, doesn't really look natural. am i just crazy?

You're not crazy, this is a common effect observed by people who aren't used to seeing higher framerates. It happens even when viewing content that was filmed at 60fps (no conversion), so rest assured that you will get used to it.
And since it will be the standard in films in the future (Avatar 2 and The Hobbit are being made with high framerates) it is a good chance to get used to it before they are released
SubJunk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 01:16 AM
Newbie
 
ceth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@robl45, yes, soap efrect is a common "counterpart" of higher framerates.

That's why, imo, and I don't agree with SubJunk on this, it will never become the standard (as "3D" won't).

To me, higher framerates only have value for specific contents. Sport, for example. I exclusively use framerate interpolation when I watch Formula 1 GP, as it gives perfect smoothness and there is no soap effect here.

I've tried it with movies but never liked it due to this soap effect. Though, during specific FX scenes, the effect is amazing.

Same when watching at animations movies. On some scenes the effect if positive and amazing, but on others it is negative.

So maybe a mix of higher and typical framerates could give the best of the 2 worlds. But idk if this is possible, as whether the effect is positive or negative may be heavily subjective.
ceth is offline  
post #93 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 03:23 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

are there any settings that i can use with my low end cpu? i'm not sure what i would change.

try to start with predefined profiles for "Core 2" - they was tuned on Core2 Duo 2 GHz.
Chainik is offline  
post #94 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 04:11 AM
Member
 
rinorho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: italy
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi to All,
Is There a good guide, in english, to configure mpc-hc and ffdshow with SVP to playback DVD and BLU-RAY disc? Is there for madVR, also?

In my rig, Blu-ray is oK, mkv file is ok, but only EVR.
No DVD, non madVR:

Please, help me.

thanks

bye
rinorho is offline  
post #95 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 04:35 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
rinorho
Try to turn off internal madVR decoders
Chainik is offline  
post #96 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 07:05 AM
Member
 
rinorho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: italy
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

rinorho
Try to turn off internal madVR decoders


Thanks,
I''ll try that, but I'm looking for a complete english guide.

bye
rinorho is offline  
post #97 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinorho View Post

Thanks,
I''ll try that, but I'm looking for a complete english guide.
bye

We don't have a complete Russian guide yet
Chainik is offline  
post #98 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

try to start with predefined profiles for "Core 2" - they was tuned on Core2 Duo 2 GHz.

where do I find that? when I go to profiles, I see 3 profiles of different resolutions, thats it.
robl45 is offline  
post #99 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
See Profiles.rar archive in SVP folder and copy files from "1_core_22" folder to %appdata%\\SVP\\ExtIni.

BTW, according to SVPmark results database SD-size video should work with good quality starting from "Athlon 64 X2 3800+" without compatible GPU or on P4-3.0 + GPU.

SD resultion, without GPU support:
----------------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ = 78 fps
Core2 Duo E8400 = 89 fps

With GPU support
----------------------------------
Pentium 4 3.00GHz + GeForce 8800 GTS = 73 fps
Core2 Duo P8400 + GeForce 9600M GS = 147 fps
Chainik is offline  
post #100 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks, tried that, my cpu is athlon 64 x2 2200+ so its way too low. even on dvd movie at 720 x 576 or whatever it is, the cpu is running at 70-80 %, at higher res it can't keep the framerate up. guess I need better hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

See Profiles.rar archive in SVP folder and copy files from "1_core_22" folder to %appdata%\\SVP\\ExtIni.

BTW, according to SVPmark results database SD-size video should work with good quality starting from "Athlon 64 X2 3800+" without compatible GPU or on P4-3.0 + GPU.

SD resultion, without GPU support:
----------------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ = 78 fps
Core2 Duo E8400 = 89 fps

With GPU support
----------------------------------
Pentium 4 3.00GHz + GeForce 8800 GTS = 73 fps
Core2 Duo P8400 + GeForce 9600M GS = 147 fps

robl45 is offline  
post #101 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
what kind of amd cpu would I need to play 1080 sbs at 60fps?
robl45 is offline  
post #102 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

what kind of amd cpu would I need to play 1080 sbs at 60fps?

Select "Vendor"="AMD" and "Frame size"="FHD" in the table above and see column "Real tests" -> "good". If fps >=60 then it'll work.
Chainik is offline  
post #103 of 197 Old 12-31-2011, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

Select "Vendor"="AMD" and "Frame size"="FHD" in the table above and see column "Real tests" -> "good". If fps >=60 then it'll work.

that will work for 1080p or 1080p SBS? SBS is two images together.
robl45 is offline  
post #104 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

that will work for 1080p or 1080p SBS? SBS is two images together.

SVP (and any mvtools-based script) performance is almost linear on image size. So 1920*1080*2 is 2 times slower than 1920*1080*1. And 1920*800*2 is 1.5 slower than 1920*1080.
So you need to search for the records with fps >= 90 (or >=120).
Chainik is offline  
post #105 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

SVP (and any mvtools-based script) performance is almost linear on image size. So 1920*1080*2 is 2 times slower than 1920*1080*1. And 1920*800*2 is 1.5 slower than 1920*1080.
So you need to search for the records with fps >= 90 (or >=120).

so only an I7 and maybe phenom x6 will be able to do the job?
robl45 is offline  
post #106 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I have my 2600k I7 at 4.5ghz and get good results. Wouldn't recommend anything less if quality is what your after.
johnifehr is offline  
post #107 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnifehr View Post

Yes, I have my 2600k I7 at 4.5ghz and get good results. Wouldn't recommend anything less if quality is what your after.

i just want watchable movies on my computer without stutter and jitter, but for the amount i'd be spending to make this work right, i could just buy a 3d bluray player and lots of discs.
robl45 is offline  
post #108 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
johnifehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But still have jitter
johnifehr is offline  
post #109 of 197 Old 01-01-2012, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
greg1292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FORT WAYNE,INDIANA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am using the HIS ICEQ 6570 and AMD BULLDOZER FX4100 at 4.4hz total cost 195.00(Microsoft Bulldozer updates,AMD 12.1A drivers)
and works great for smooth 1980x1080 24 converted to 60fps.

Advanced,Complex 23 Shader,half pixel,24->60 2m 1.5x,16X16,.25 blockframe,normal,off,normal,frame blending checked,to screen resolution checked, EVR, also used with Zoom Player 8.1. Just thought I would share my setup for lower cost systems.
Zero dropped frames and PQ with the AMD setup

Just wanted to add so far the best picture quality has been acheived with Zoom Player 8.1. Thanks Blight if your out there.

With the drivers,software, and cpu patch I have been able to crank up the settings and get better picture quality and smooth 60fps playback. Boooooooooooo ya!



Thanks SVP amazing stuff indeed.

 Specialize in maximizing performance on a beer budget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg1292 is offline  
post #110 of 197 Old 01-02-2012, 02:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I finally got around to trying this out over the holidays, and while it does provide great smooth movement on slow pans, on fast movement there is clear artifacting. I get the same kind of artifacting if i let my TV do the processing, mostly visible on sharp borders like around moving objects/people on a high contrast background.

I tried to configure everything for the highest quality, the testing was on a i7 2600K with a GTX 570. Does the quality depend on CPU vs GPU processing?

Sadly these artifacts are worse then the 24p judder, so i disabled it again.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #111 of 197 Old 01-02-2012, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

while it does provide great smooth movement on slow pans, on fast movement there is clear artifacting

There's no way to interpolate frames without artifacts. But the quality will be much better in upcoming 3.1 version

Quote:


Does the quality depend on CPU vs GPU processing?

Not in 3.0.x.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1292 View Post

Thanks SVP amazing stuff indeed.

Thanks
Chainik is offline  
post #112 of 197 Old 01-02-2012, 04:23 AM
Newbie
 
ceth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it mean you plan to take advantage of the new AMD 79x0 GPUs which are more GPGPU oriented ?
ceth is offline  
post #113 of 197 Old 01-06-2012, 11:08 AM
Member
 
mark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I finally got around to trying this out over the holidays, and while it does provide great smooth movement on slow pans, on fast movement there is clear artifacting. I get the same kind of artifacting if i let my TV do the processing, mostly visible on sharp borders like around moving objects/people on a high contrast background.

I tried to configure everything for the highest quality, the testing was on a i7 2600K with a GTX 570. Does the quality depend on CPU vs GPU processing?

Sadly these artifacts are worse then the 24p judder, so i disabled it again.

While we wait for 3.1 you should try using interframe in high quality mode. As far as I know this is pretty much as high quality as you can get from svp atm. Chainik do you intend updating your svp profiles to do things that interframe do like using dct=5. Looking forward to 3.1
mark007 is offline  
post #114 of 197 Old 03-14-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So, ver. 3.1 is out
Download page

Official changelog:
Quote:
+ Major quality enhancements, the settings list is completely different from SVP 3.0.x;
+ Default settings are depends on actual hardware speed determined by Installer;
+ Stable Ambilight-like black bars lighting that can be adjusted in real-time;
+ More powerful frame crop function;
+ LAV video decoder with HW acceleration is now used by default;
+ Rewritten English translation;
+ Added check for update function;
+ Full version includes SVPtube tool that helps to watch YouTube videos with SVP;
- Tons of small bugs fixed;

This's a first version in new line and it's more "under the hood" than in user interface or something.
The biggest difference is we're not using MVTools2 any more! Motion vectors search is still based on MVTools algorithms but is was deeply refactored with many new features added. I'll write some libraries description shortly.

So we're waiting for any feedback!
Chainik is offline  
post #115 of 197 Old 03-14-2012, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
greg1292's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FORT WAYNE,INDIANA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Will the new version detect and use more video card acceleration?

 Specialize in maximizing performance on a beer budget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

greg1292 is offline  
post #116 of 197 Old 03-14-2012, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Not in this version but it's in our roadmap
Chainik is offline  
post #117 of 197 Old 03-14-2012, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like I said in the private forums, this version has lost me because it depends on a modified avisynth.dll that is based on old, less-stable code.
I use AviSynth for many things other than SVP so it is not possible for me to use it anymore.
SubJunk is offline  
post #118 of 197 Old 03-15-2012, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think I should add more details about this release.

The main goal was quality improvement and artifacts killing. So comparing to SVP 3.0.x (and MVTools libs):
- no need for frame padding, motion vectors are very accurate at frame edges
- new cover/uncover mask => almost ideal frame edges with 21th "SVP shader"
- much more accurate scene changes detection
- much less "window blinds" artifacts
- adaptive rendering mode that uses more source frames in fast/hard scenes
- floating point calculations in gpu mode => the result is better that MVTools with pel=4
- many tweaks/changes in motions vectors search
- blocks comparison by SATD is on by default ("dct=5" in MVTools)

- bicubic vectors and masks interpolation in the next 3.1.1 version

Overall performance at default settings should be the same as in 3.0.6.

Note that in SVP 3.0.x (and MSmoothFps function) resulting pictures in cpu and gpu modes was exactly the same, but in 3.1 gpu mode can (and will) produce a way better picture.

Also "Ambilight" is really cool in some situations

SubJunk
"old, less-stable code" is the latest official Avisynth release and "new and more stable" is in alfa (not even "beta") stage. Also you should know that I've already provided a workaround for 2.6 o_O
Chainik is offline  
post #119 of 197 Old 03-15-2012, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Chainik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Oh I've forgot about SVPtube tool that ships with full version

It's a very simple "bridge" between YouTube and SVP. It gets the direct links to video stream(s) and opens it in video player.
So the most common use case should be like this:
1. copy YouTube link to clipboard
2. watch the video in MPC-HC / PotPlayer / etc with SVP enabled
Chainik is offline  
post #120 of 197 Old 03-15-2012, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
SubJunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

"old, less-stable code" is the latest official Avisynth release and "new and more stable" is in alfa (not even "beta") stage.

I know it is misleading that they call it alpha, but they only call it that because they plan to add more features, not because of stability.
As you can see on the official AviSynth front page it says: "Most of the 2.5.8 issues are fixed in v2.6a3." and in SET's thread it says "[2.6] MT mode stability is way better than Avisynth 2.5.8"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainik View Post

Also you should know that I've already provided a workaround for 2.6 o_O

Cool, I'll try it, thanks
SubJunk is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off