Best Graphics Card For Video Editing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-19-2011, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hello again AVS,

I'm currently in the market for a new graphics card. The card will mainly be used for play back of HD movies. Video edits and rendering using Sony Vegas. Primary use is use with Sony Vegas.

I recently purchased a RADEON 4350 hoping it would do the trick. It's great because of it's low power consumption. Saving me money on a new power supply. Anyway. It works ok. Movies play back great. Screen saver no longer lags after being displayed for a long period of time. Problem with it is it still lags when I'm editing videos and loading transitions and what not into the video. I'd like to be able to view the transitions when I place them in the footage. Idk if this matters but the video being used is from my Canon 7D.

In short. I need a card that can handle video editing of hd video. Gaming doesn't matter to me. Video editing will be it's main use. Hoping for low power so I don't have to buy a new power supply. If I end up needing one then that's ok to. Looking to buy today. Thanks in advanced.

Juke
JukeBox360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-19-2011, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Did I post in the wrong section lol?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-19-2011, 02:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quad core + 8GB RAM + GeForce GTX 460 or higher (for GPU acceleration).
renethx is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-19-2011, 02:17 PM
Member
 
GBLentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which Vegas? At least up through version 9, Vegas was all CPU, meaning you would see little if any benefit from a high-end graphics card.

This link might help (search the page for Vegas): http://www.videoguys.com/Guide/E/Vid...ce243a6c6.aspx

Naturally, gaming would see a benefit though.
GBLentz is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-19-2011, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
Quad core + 8GB RAM + GeForce GTX 460 or higher (for GPU acceleration).
I don't need those because I already have those. Just need a decent card. Could you explain why you had chosen that card?
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBLentz View Post
Which version? At least up through Vegas 9 was all CPU, meaning you would see little if any benefit from a high-end graphics card.

This link might help (search the page for Vegas):

http://www.videoguys.com/Guide/E/Vid...ce243a6c6.aspx
Vegas Pro 9.0c(Build 895) 64-bit
Is there a better version of Vegas that getting a card would work well with it?
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-20-2011, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I now have Vegas 10. Still need a better card though.
JukeBox360 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-20-2011, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Love it when people ask about what hardware they need to run $600 software packages that they have "aquired."

Paid $600 for some software and not even know what hardware is needed to run it properly...

Anyway, to keep this from being a completely throw away post, try asking in this forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...sprune=7&f=161

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-20-2011, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
JukeBox360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 6,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Love it when people ask about what hardware they need to run $600 software packages that they have "aquired."

Paid $600 for some software and not even know what hardware is needed to run it properly...

Anyway, to keep this from being a completely throw away post, try asking in this forum:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum...sprune=7&f=161

-Suntan

I've been using Vegas for years. I know how to use it. Ever since I've moved up in the hd world. I've needed something better. My PC has ran everything fine until now. Only thing missing is a decent card.

Also. Who said anything about not knowing what kinda or hardware I need? Clearly I knew something since I knew it was a video card needed. Not a new PC. Top it off. I came here to find the best yet cheapest alternative. I could easily go to the store and buy this bad boy.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/XFX+-+AT...&skuId=2292648

But I find it a bit overkill. I don't game so I'd be wasting money.
JukeBox360 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off