*Official* Cyberlink PowerDVD 11 Ultra thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 261 Old 12-26-2011, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I uninstalled both 9 and 11 and then re installed 11 ; same problem
will not play blu-ray and will not play blu-ray or avchd folders from the hard drive either
the only thing I can play is files from the hard drive
will not play blu-ray disc or disc folders
detroit1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 261 Old 12-26-2011, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

Do you mean, PDVD doesn't work with the latest drivers? (I use 11.11.).

No not at all I'm just letting people know what I'm using and the latest update is working on my end on both machines. I run a 64 and 32 machine with different ATi drivers and the update still works on both machines.
Nimo is offline  
post #183 of 261 Old 12-27-2011, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
CzarnBarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had PDVD11 for a few months now and in general it works Ok. On my HTPC I play a lot of 3D content on a Optoma HD3300 projector.

Here is my problem: Playing .MKV 3D content Power DVD 11 Freezes at the same exact points during the video play back, once you pass that point 5-30 seconds, video playback continues. Audio never cuts out though... The same video plays flawlessly in WMP & VLC, although not in 3D, just side by side. This is an isolated issue with PDVD11. I have tried disabling hardware acceleration, updating video drivers & PDVD11 2408 patch, and also reinstalling Flash.

HTPC specs:
i5 2500k
8gb 1600
ATI HD 6970

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
CzarnBarn is offline  
post #184 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
dennlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post


No not at all I'm just letting people know what I'm using and the latest update is working on my end on both machines. I run a 64 and 32 machine with different ATi drivers and the update still works on both machines.

Same here Pdvd 11 works for me as well. I believe going via cyberlink support to probably do a clean uninstall n reinstall should be the way to go for those having issue.
dennlv is offline  
post #185 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
CzarnBarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just uninstalled and reinstalled, same issue still...
CzarnBarn is offline  
post #186 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

I uninstalled both 9 and 11 and then re installed 11 ; same problem
will not play blu-ray and will not play blu-ray or avchd folders from the hard drive either
the only thing I can play is files from the hard drive
will not play blu-ray disc or disc folders

HDMI problem? I think they locked 11 not to play over VGA. If you do not have an HDMI path, then ANYDVDHD may be the only choice - of course it could be something else.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #187 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand how you guess he is using VGA and he doesn't use AnyDVD HD?

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #188 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

I don't understand how you guess he is using VGA and he doesn't use AnyDVD HD?

Guess is purely based on the software behavior - and I admit it may be a wrong guess.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #189 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think I have the DVI-HDMI connected to my Dell Monitor
this is ridiculous; my 9 was working until I installed 11 and now neither work on the BDMV folder; which what blu-ray has and normally the software will play the bdmv folder from the hard drive but it won't do that either now
detroit1 is offline  
post #190 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, we are not talking on details or small bugs here. If some of us says, "it is not working," it means it is not working.

Sorry, I forgot Cyberlink is on holiday.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #191 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't think you could pass BluRay through a HDMI to DVI cable. I just tried it a few days ago when I was demoing an older TV using my laptop and that same cable. PDVD gave me a pop up that my cable wasn't HDCP compliant or something to that effect.
clubwerks is offline  
post #192 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hmmm,
Well, I noticed that 11 would not play copied over DVD folders either (which 9 did fine with). I did un-install 9 after installing 11 - so can't test what happened to 9. I have no problem with physical BR disks however.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #193 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just tested DVD folder playback and it is working. At least they added .mkv support very minimal cpu usage.
Nimo is offline  
post #194 of 261 Old 12-28-2011, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

I think I have the DVI-HDMI connected to my Dell Monitor
this is ridiculous; my 9 was working until I installed 11 and now neither work on the BDMV folder; which what blu-ray has and normally the software will play the bdmv folder from the hard drive but it won't do that either now

If you don't make image backups and you update your HTPC your just walking into a world of hurt. If you can try running system restore it may work for your situation.

My main 64x rig doesn't get MS updates I run no virus sw no front ends etc. But when I do update any sw player I make damn sure I have an image backup before I even attempt to install new updates. It's just to easy to break an HTPC that is working perfect with some silly sw update.
Nimo is offline  
post #195 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 03:17 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
the Cable has Nothing to do with this; I have not changed cables or anything . All I did was install 11 on a desktop and Laptop and now neither will play blu-ray using the Cyberlink Software. I can play blu-ray with the trial of windvd on my computer and My laptop came with HP software and it plays blu-ray
the Only Stupid Software that doesn't play is Cyberlink; the cable has nothing to do with it.
since I installed 11; both 9 and 11 stopped playing blu-ray discs and also stopped playing the bdmv folder from hard drive
detroit1 is offline  
post #196 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 04:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
detroit1

If it were me:

1. Remove all PDVD software in reverse order of install
2. Make sure you reboot after each un-install
3. Run a registry cleaner such as TuneUp Utilities; they have a trial.
4. Search c: drive for all Cyberlink directories and delete them
5. Again run TuneUp
6. Reboot
7 Get your latest stable driver for your graphics card and install
8 Reboot
9 Try installing the version of PDVD that you want to use.

After successful install reboot again and try it with a BD disc and then a iso or what ever.

You have a mix of players which can interact in a negative way with each other.

Rebooting is very important after installing anything, as Windows writes the next start-up sequence as it closes down.

Good Luck
Rew
Rew452 is online now  
post #197 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I also tried anydvd and the pdvd 11 still will not play blu-ray; same thing; the screen turns black;green; flickers but does not play
detroit1 is offline  
post #198 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

I also tried anydvd and the pdvd 11 still will not play blu-ray; same thing; the screen turns black;green; flickers but does not play

If you did like my suggestion, then it sounds like you have a much deeper problem other than PDVD. I assume all software is yours and not bootlegged, no disrespect meant. Anything else can be part of the problem.

Time to backup data and reload your system and start from scratch. I know it's a pain but sometime you must cut the losses and do it.

Best of luck!

Rew
Rew452 is online now  
post #199 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
no the only problem is Pdvd, windvd and arcsoft trial can play blu-ray on my computers
Only after installing Pdvd 11, it screwed up both 9 and 11
I can play DVD on both of them but not blu-ray
detroit1 is offline  
post #200 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

the Cable has Nothing to do with this; I have not changed cables or anything . All I did was install 11 on a desktop and Laptop and now neither will play blu-ray using the Cyberlink Software. I can play blu-ray with the trial of windvd on my computer and My laptop came with HP software and it plays blu-ray
the Only Stupid Software that doesn't play is Cyberlink; the cable has nothing to do with it.
since I installed 11; both 9 and 11 stopped playing blu-ray discs and also stopped playing the bdmv folder from hard drive

OK, whatever. I'm just telling you that five days ago I had somebody come to buy an old Hitachi RPTV that I had in the garage for two years. I tried to show them a picture using my laptop, PDVD11, Surf's Up bluray and a HDMI to DVI cable. PDVD would not pass the signal because DVI is not HDCP compliant. Good luck to you.

Of course that could just be the particular setup I was using. Just offering a suggestion.
clubwerks is offline  
post #201 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
remember my 9 was playing blu-ray fine until AFTER I installed 11; now neither of them work
the cable has nothing to do with it; I'm using the same cable and 9 was playing the blu-ray until I installed 11. PDVD11 is the problem. I have also read another forum where people are complaining about the same thing; they install 11 and the blu-ray doesn't play
detroit1 is offline  
post #202 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rew452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

no the only problem is Pdvd, windvd and arcsoft trial can play blu-ray on my computers
Only after installing Pdvd 11, it screwed up both 9 and 11
I can play DVD on both of them but not blu-ray

I got that. But if you uninstalled and cleaned out all of PDVD's folders and files and cleaned the registry as suggested and then re-installed and no playback the problem is deeper in the system and must be fixed before it will work.

Not sure but if you installed 11 with 9 still installed this could be the real source of you problem. I generally try not to do this as entries for the old (9) may be replaced with 11's and then you have a mess to cleanup.

So if you have not removed 9 before installing 11; remove 11 and then 9 and cleanup and then choose which one you want to use and then install.

Rew

Choice is yours!
Rew452 is online now  
post #203 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I just noticed that after running Ccleaner; my 9 played a blu-ray on my computer; this is a 4 year old blu-ray but when I tried to play it in 11; same problem
I can't find any info that says if you have 2 different versions installed that it won't work
I did uninstall 9 a few days ago and had only 11 on my machine and it still did not work
it is possible that Ccleaner may have helped by deleting some junk files in the cyberlink folder
detroit1 is offline  
post #204 of 261 Old 12-29-2011, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I have 9Ultra and 11Ultra both on my computer. 11Ultra works fine and I no longer use 9 Ultra. (I do not have a 3D monitor and don't use 3D)

I would have uninstalled 9 Ultra but I do not have an uninstall program for 9 and it is not listed in control panel as a program. This happened when I could not get 9 Ultra to work and Cyberlink sent me a program file to install...it must have been the when all else fails program file.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #205 of 261 Old 01-02-2012, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bernd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA USA
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,

I recently purchased a JVC-RS40 (upgrade to my old JVC G15). At the same time a upgraded to the latest version of PDVD (11 Ultra).

Now when I play BD disks, I get really weird coloration. It seems like all of the red's, orange's, and yellow's are brighter and more pronounced than they should be. For example in most movies everyone's lips (even the guys) look like they are wearing red lipstick.

This behavior does not occur when watching HD TV, nor does it occur when watching a regular DVD through my OPPO DVD player - it only occurs when watching a BD through the HTPC which runs PDVD.

Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bernd
Bernd is offline  
post #206 of 261 Old 01-02-2012, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
This might be TrueTheater effects. I use hardware acceleration which helps DVDs a lot. But I do not use True Theater which, for me, gives distorted results.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #207 of 261 Old 01-02-2012, 07:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
--Sclaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Aurora, IL USA
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Just hopped on PDVD11 from 9 and have a question...is there a way to use Cinema Mode without having to be taken to Cyberlink's intermediary menu prior to disc playback? I just want the disc to autoplay.

BTW this is used with Mediaportal, if that helps. Thx for any guidance!

Vizio M801D-A3

JimK

--Sclaws is offline  
post #208 of 261 Old 01-07-2012, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
Taimis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same problem that detroit1.

PDVD11 work fine only without apply any update. After apply 2024 update, HDD BD dont play anymore.

In My case, I have a Full HDMI Patch, and tested on my desktop (nVidia GT460) and my notebook (Intel HD 3000 + nVidia 540). In both cases same issues: Black Screen.

If I tried play directly main m2ts (00000.m2ts) on functional PDVD11 (pre 2024 update), work fine too, but with 2024+ build, m2ts parser dont work fine, movie its played but with errors on seeking or languages changes and so on.

It dont a detroit1 problem, its a Cyberlink issue.
Taimis is offline  
post #209 of 261 Old 01-07-2012, 10:49 PM
Newbie
 
strekship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had an issue with the TrueTheater enhancements not working? I have disabled hardware acceleration in the options menu, and enabled TrueTheater Motion, but when playing the movie none of the options appear to be working. If I go to the effects menu, the video tab is grayed out. The options menu shows that hardware acceleration has been re-enabled and the other boxes are grayed out. I found a section in the Cyberlink FAQ that seems to pertain to my issue, specifically "Scenario 2". It does not seem to offer a lot of help when it comes to solving the issue.

Quote:


Issue:
PowerDVD cannot enable TrueTheater.

Cause:
There are two scenarios for this issue:

Scenario 2:
The TrueTheater function is not available during Blu-ray Disc playback.

For scenario 2:
TrueTheater Technology is not available during Blu-ray Disc playback due to the limitation of platform computing power.

strekship is offline  
post #210 of 261 Old 01-08-2012, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I think there are more people having the same problems with 11 as me
these clowns at Cyberlink have no idea how to fix their own product
totally inexusable; there is something in 11 that causes this
detroit1 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off