Let's set this straight - No one can do 24p consistently well - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1287 Old 01-03-2012, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

I tried to play 24 videos with 24 > 25 speedup (by ReClock) and 50Hz display. Picture looks much more smooth, but I found sound speedup is noticable in voices and music though.

Can use reclocks Timestretching to avoid the Pitch differences, however it even further degrades audio quality. (And this time, it is potentially noticeable. Timestretching is known to introduce "smearing", blurring the sound)
Nevcairiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1287 Old 01-03-2012, 04:26 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thats why I didn't use it. However I dropped that 24>25 idea anyway.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #363 of 1287 Old 01-03-2012, 08:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For those of you who are trying to restore original audio/video speed (from 23.976fps->24.000fps); make sure you do NOT select the timestretching option in Reclock. If you do, you will end up retaining the wrong audio pitch; and, introduce timestretch smearing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

that makes good sense, i'm thinking of just deleting my custom resolution so I can use straight 24fps and letting reclock sync it. jriver should be able to sync it as well and that will probably work better with xbmc sync as well.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #364 of 1287 Old 01-06-2012, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure if this is the best thread, but I guess it'll do...

I have an Intel i5 (Clarkdale). I'm running the most current drivers. If I set the refresh rate in the Intel control panel to 59 or 60, Reclock reports 60.00 for both for blu ray playback. If I set it to 23 or 24, Reclock reports 24.00. I can't seem to get 59.97 or 23.97whatever. For DVDs, it gets even weirded -- Reclock reports 1426092141.000. This is what my hardware is reporting. The media displays the expected frame rates. What's going on here?

Side note: I can't seem to get Reclock to open when I play DVDs through WMC. I had to launch a disc through TMT3 to get Reclock to open to see the refresh rate.
woody777 is offline  
post #365 of 1287 Old 01-07-2012, 12:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i had issue similar to this all night, reclock was working great last weekend and tonight with it enabled, madvr was reporting frame drop ever 40 seconds, turn off reclock and back to 30 min or so between drops. nvidia gt430 with 23.97542 resolution. finally i went into reclock settings and told it to use direct3d for the hardware interface and then it was reporting refresh rate of 23.975 in reclock instead of 24 and my dropped frames in madvr went back to 1 every 6+ hours.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post

Not sure if this is the best thread, but I guess it'll do...

I have an Intel i5 (Clarkdale). I'm running the most current drivers. If I set the refresh rate in the Intel control panel to 59 or 60, Reclock reports 60.00 for both for blu ray playback. If I set it to 23 or 24, Reclock reports 24.00. I can't seem to get 59.97 or 23.97whatever. For DVDs, it gets even weirded -- Reclock reports 1426092141.000. This is what my hardware is reporting. The media displays the expected frame rates. What's going on here?

Side note: I can't seem to get Reclock to open when I play DVDs through WMC. I had to launch a disc through TMT3 to get Reclock to open to see the refresh rate.

robl45 is offline  
post #366 of 1287 Old 01-07-2012, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robl45 View Post

i had issue similar to this all night, reclock was working great last weekend and tonight with it enabled, madvr was reporting frame drop ever 40 seconds, turn off reclock and back to 30 min or so between drops. nvidia gt430 with 23.97542 resolution. finally i went into reclock settings and told it to use direct3d for the hardware interface and then it was reporting refresh rate of 23.975 in reclock instead of 24 and my dropped frames in madvr went back to 1 every 6+ hours.

Interesting. Something's not right. Hopefully somebody else can chime in. Reclock is also reporting that my 1080p blu rays are playing 1080i.
woody777 is offline  
post #367 of 1287 Old 01-09-2012, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody777 View Post

Interesting. Something's not right. Hopefully somebody else can chime in. Reclock is also reporting that my 1080p blu rays are playing 1080i.

well thats solved it for me for now, reclock is working fine in mpc-hc.
robl45 is offline  
post #368 of 1287 Old 01-20-2012, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post

I do the same for TV as well; using dscaler IVTC mpeg2 decoder to remove 3:2 pulldown in regular HDTV 1080i TV shows and movies to 23.976fps, then take it one step further with reclock to restore it to 24.00fps/24.000hz.

I'm curious... what player/front-end are you using to allow this? Surely this isn't with WMC?
Puwaha is offline  
post #369 of 1287 Old 01-20-2012, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 211
i am really hoping a development is made that will allow video card drivers to recognize the framerate of the video passing through and automagically start spitting that out (if so desired).

my tv now does not accept 24p (panasonic s1) but i am planning a dedicated projector set up and im kind of conflicted as to what source i will have for it.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #370 of 1287 Old 01-20-2012, 02:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
SageTV's builtin player is fully compatible with Dscaler Mpeg2 IVTC mod; as well as reclock; so, I get full OSD graphics from SageTV. I dont launch any external processes or players since I would lose sageTV's OSD, graphics, and internal features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

I'm curious... what player/front-end are you using to allow this? Surely this isn't with WMC?


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #371 of 1287 Old 01-20-2012, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKANET View Post

SageTV's builtin player is fully compatible with Dscaler Mpeg2 IVTC mod; as well as reclock; so, I get full OSD graphics from SageTV. I dont launch any external processes or players since I would lose sageTV's OSD, graphics, and internal features.

Ah... Sage. I've always wanted to give it a serious try, but now thats going to be impossible. I wish the developers would release a free licence since its a dead product now.
Puwaha is offline  
post #372 of 1287 Old 01-20-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The product is definitely not dead; per very recent news on sageTV's forum. On the contrary, the whole developer team has been working on it full force ahead since last year; fully funded with Google resources. It's hard to say when they will release the next version. Google just paid the bill to renew SageTV's premium EPG until at least the end of this year. Unfortunately that doesnt help all the people who want to use the product who don't already own it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

Ah... Sage. I've always wanted to give it a serious try, but now thats going to be impossible. I wish the developers would release a free licence since its a dead product now.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #373 of 1287 Old 01-21-2012, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
cheezit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Just thought I would post some Nvidia custom resolution settings that are working well for me so that others may try.

Using GTS450 with LAVFilters, MadVR, in MPC-HC I have used these same settings through multiple driver re installs and currently on most recent stable driver release with consistent results.

Custom resolution:

Resolution: Use 23 NOT 24

Front Porch: 4

VSync: 5

Vertical Pixels: 1124

Hz: 23.977

For me as reported by using control J in MadVr I get a reported rate that stay steadily between 23.97599 to 23.97601 and a reported frame drop that fluctuates between around 8 hours to in the days range. Bottom line I never see a dropped frame!

I know every ones system as a whole can affect this but just wanted to give people an opportunity to try some settings that I know have the possibility of working!
cheezit73 is offline  
post #374 of 1287 Old 01-21-2012, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezit73 View Post

Just thought I would post some Nvidia custom resolution settings that are working well for me so that others may try.

Using GTS450 with LAVFilters, MadVR, in MPC-HC I have used these same settings through multiple driver re installs and currently on most recent stable driver release with consistent results.

Custom resolution:

Resolution: Use 23 NOT 24

Front Porch: 4

VSync: 5

Vertical Pixels: 1124

Hz: 23.977

For me as reported by using control J in MadVr I get a reported rate that stay steadily between 23.97599 to 23.97601 and a reported frame drop that fluctuates between around 8 hours to in the days range. Bottom line I never see a dropped frame!

I know every ones system as a whole can affect this but just wanted to give people an opportunity to try some settings that I know have the possibility of working!

As far as I can tell, these are the same settings as the ones renethx had posted a while back. I believe I have been using something similar, but I think it's time for me to check and try .
____
Axel

Axel is online now  
post #375 of 1287 Old 01-21-2012, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
cheezit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel View Post


As far as I can tell, these are the same settings as the ones renethx had posted a while back. I believe I have been using something similar, but I think it's time for me to check and try .
____
Axel

Haha yes I guess they are! I have not been keeping up with the day to day changes on a lot of these setting type threads since my system has been working so well. Had to reinstall my drivers and was happy the settings were consistent so just threw them out for any one who might be having trouble. Let me know if you try them how it works out.
cheezit73 is offline  
post #376 of 1287 Old 01-21-2012, 11:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i think it depends on the nvidia video card, i've used those settings and had to set 23.979 just to get 23.97542.
robl45 is offline  
post #377 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Im using a Nvidia GT220m and dang MPC is showing me I get 23.962
Maybe Ill just stick to 60hz lol

Using MadVR CtrlJ says I get a frame drop ever 1.2 mins but using EVR CP It says 41seconds. Any reasons why? Plus even at 23.962 would that still b e better than using normal settings? IE 60 hz w/ 1 frame repeat every 40 seconds?

Which is the lesser of the two evils, repeats or drops?
(sorry new to this stuff)

Edit: using evr cp, the graph with the green and redlines. When those two meet is that when a frame gets dropped?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #378 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
did you use a custom resolution to get that number? or is that the standard resolution? you don't have to suffer if you install reclock. the only thing i suffer from now is bad encodes and finicky home theatre software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Im using a Nvidia GT220m and dang MPC is showing me I get 23.962
Maybe Ill just stick to 60hz lol

Using MadVR CtrlJ says I get a frame drop ever 1.2 mins but using EVR CP It says 41seconds. Any reasons why? Plus even at 23.962 would that still b e better than using normal settings? IE 60 hz w/ 1 frame repeat every 40 seconds?

Which is the lesser of the two evils, repeats or drops?
(sorry new to this stuff)

Edit: using evr cp, the graph with the green and redlines. When those two meet is that when a frame gets dropped?

robl45 is offline  
post #379 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Standard resolution. I read somewhere that reclock can't bitstream ?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #380 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 05:29 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bitstream is not possible during media speed adaptation.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #381 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
robl45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Standard resolution. I read somewhere that reclock can't bitstream ?

you can have bitstreaming or perfect video. up to you, I can't watch imperfect video.

if I was getting a frame drop every minute like you, i'd turn the tv off, I wouldn't be able to watch it. if you setup a custom resolution, you can get it better, but still not what i would call good enough. maybe 1 drop every 20 minutes. still plenty noticable.
robl45 is offline  
post #382 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Agree about using PCM rather than bitstream because Reclock makes the video near perfect. Our eyes are far more sensitive than our ears in detecting change so video should always take priority in a home theatre environment. I cannot understand why people place such an emphasis on "Bitstream" rather than PCM as they both sound the same to my ears. Maybe someone can jump to its defence?
Heuer is offline  
post #383 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 06:17 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heuer View Post

Our eyes are far more sensitive than our ears in detecting change

I wouldn't say so. 16 bit for sound dynamic range and 8 bit only for picture luma range (for chroma components they decided even less). IMO, its just because sound on BDs is sucks anyway.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #384 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I don't think you can compare the bitdepth of two completely different concepts.

It is true however that alot of people would far easier detect repeated or dropped frames, at least in slow-moving scenes (especially pans), then they would manage to hear a high quality resampler.
Maybe its also because such a dropped frames is far more obvious in any screen thats 24p capable, then resampled audio on non-high-end audio gear.

I'm sure there are also alot of people that go the other way, but there are options for both of those, its just hard to have it all.

For me, its smooth video all the way. I don't hear a bit of difference between ReClock or pure untouched output. I do however see dropped frames, and i hate it.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #385 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 06:39 AM
Member
 
theod78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you put the same (nvidia) card in different setups it gives different results.What I mean is that with g210 and rene's custom resolution I get 23.97645, when I install g210 in a different machine with the same driver and the same custom resolution I get 23.97514
theod78 is offline  
post #386 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 06:49 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've spent much more money on sound HW than on TV.
And what?
I prefer perfect picture over sound.
Why?
Because BD's sound is sucks anyway. With those expensive avrs, bi-amped speakers you can hear it even more.
But I agreed that eyes should be very sensitive to movement.
EDIT: on second thought: in most cases picture even worse. But here we can do something...

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #387 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To be clear:

PCM = HTPC decodes (uncompresses) the audio data to linear PCM and sends it to the AV Receiver

Bitstream = HTPC sends the audio data untouched to the AV Receiver which decodes (uncompresses) the audio data to linear PCM

If you have an optical connection you need to use Bitstream as optical does not have the capacity for 5.1 PCM. You can argue the pro's and con's of which device does the 'better' conversion of the various audio formats but I doubt many people could tell you which one was operating. Seems to me Reclock gives you so much improvement to viewing pleasure using a PCM output from the HTPC is a no brainer - a win/win situation. And I talk as someone who is dedicated to high quality vinyl record reproduction via some very high-end equipment.
Heuer is offline  
post #388 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 124
If you only have optical, you won't get Blu-ray HD audio anyway, so imho the whole argument is somewhat mood.

As an alternative, can of course let ReClock do its magic, and then let ReClock compress it to AC3 for your optical link. Not the ideal solution, but it works.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #389 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I just set up reclock and mpc reports I still get a dropped frame ever 1.6 mins. Common? Also how come the AC3 encode isn't the preferred method?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #390 of 1287 Old 01-23-2012, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Heuer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Reclock says dropped frames every few hours although it varies depending on the source and how long Reclock has been running -the clue is in the Reclock logo colour. Yellow is undetermined, red/green means it is calculating and green means it is working its magic.
Heuer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Nvidia

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off