AMD Llano - THE great HTPC chip? - Page 27 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 880 Old 11-18-2011, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Mesozoic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I've not heard of any situations where the prescribed HD cards didn't work the APU in CFX mode. It's just that websites like Newegg allow you to filter cards based on CFX support yes/no. I've ordered a Sapphire Ultimate HD6670 and looking forward to it. I use the HTPC mainly for watching movies and shows, but occasionally play COD5... the framerate was a bit unsatisfactory with just the APU rendering at 1920x1080.

Adam Audio A7 (front) on pedestals; JVC hifi + speakers on wall mounts (surrounds); JL Audio twin 10" subs in sealed enclosure; Onkyo M282 power amp for subs; Optimus active crossover; Behringer MX 602A mixer - XLR output to fronts; Antec Fusion Remote Max (AMD A8-3870K based HTPC running Windows...
Mesozoic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 880 Old 11-21-2011, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
renethx is offline  
post #783 of 880 Old 11-21-2011, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Mesozoic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

There's always going to be better hardware out there!

Adam Audio A7 (front) on pedestals; JVC hifi + speakers on wall mounts (surrounds); JL Audio twin 10" subs in sealed enclosure; Onkyo M282 power amp for subs; Optimus active crossover; Behringer MX 602A mixer - XLR output to fronts; Antec Fusion Remote Max (AMD A8-3870K based HTPC running Windows...
Mesozoic is offline  
post #784 of 880 Old 11-22-2011, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:

Not to get off subject but with those graphics numbers it might be my next laptop.
jeffkro is offline  
post #785 of 880 Old 11-23-2011, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Mesozoic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Installed the Sapphire HD 6670 Ultimate card in CFX to help out the A6-3500 APU and COD5 is butter smooth with all the highest settings. I think the image quality is better with the Radeon hardware than the nVidia, but maybe I'm not seeing things right. This is definitely a very nice and cost effective setup for an HTPC used for occasional gaming.

Adam Audio A7 (front) on pedestals; JVC hifi + speakers on wall mounts (surrounds); JL Audio twin 10" subs in sealed enclosure; Onkyo M282 power amp for subs; Optimus active crossover; Behringer MX 602A mixer - XLR output to fronts; Antec Fusion Remote Max (AMD A8-3870K based HTPC running Windows...
Mesozoic is offline  
post #786 of 880 Old 11-23-2011, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,174
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 68
A4 for entertainment notebook and A8 for multi-purpose desktop. I'm sold.
LexInVA is online now  
post #787 of 880 Old 11-25-2011, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vkristof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post

A4 for entertainment notebook and A8 for multi-purpose desktop. I'm sold.


I wonder if AMD has any A4 Llano that could fit into something like this new Lenovo "Smallest desktop PC in the world". The TDP of the Atom D2500 is 10W, dunno what a HD 6450A w/512 MB dissipates. VERY cute package, the 1st sheet is the base unit WITH DVD drive attached:

http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/de...tasheet_US.pdf
vkristof is offline  
post #788 of 880 Old 11-26-2011, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
kenyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, PRofMA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm surprised the Llano can handle Battlefield 3 at a decent framerate at low-res:
http://www.jagatreview.com/2011/11/c...battlefield-3/
kenyee is offline  
post #789 of 880 Old 11-26-2011, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vkristof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

What confusion? Every AMD Llano APU supports CFX with every HD 6450/6570/6670 card (unless the card manufacturer did something wrong). The brand does not matter.

I started looking around for an INEXPENSIVE bottom of the line HD5xxx or HD6xxx generation card so that I could add another analog monitor (old $10 CRTs) to a recent AMD system.

I came across NE dumping (I assume) HD6450 for "$19.99 after mail-in rebate card ". $45 initial cost.
It's a Gigabyte card, and I already am hoping that GB will actually send me the $10 Mail-in card that they are processing for the recent MB...

Anyway, $20 end cost for a passively cooled 64-bit DDR3 sounds good to me. The only deficiency I see for my need is lack of DVI-I: you are definitely limited to a single VGA. For the vast majority of users this would be a don't care.
vkristof is offline  
post #790 of 880 Old 11-26-2011, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,174
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkristof View Post

I wonder if AMD has any A4 Llano that could fit into something like this new Lenovo "Smallest desktop PC in the world". The TDP of the Atom D2500 is 10W, dunno what a HD 6450A w/512 MB dissipates. VERY cute package, the 1st sheet is the base unit WITH DVD drive attached:

http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/de...tasheet_US.pdf

I want it in a Mac-Mini style desktop. Heck, if Apple used it, I might actually consider buying one.
LexInVA is online now  
post #791 of 880 Old 11-30-2011, 10:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
x-bit labs - AMD to Start Production of Desktop "Trinity" APU in March - Document

Mass production in March: 65W part of Trinity

- A10-5700
- A8-5500
- A6-5400
- A4-5300

Mass production in May: 100W part of Trinity

- A10-5800
- A8-5600
renethx is offline  
post #792 of 880 Old 12-01-2011, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vkristof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

x-bit labs - AMD to Start Production of Desktop "Trinity" APU in March - Document

Mass production in March: 65W part of Trinity

- A10-5700
- A8-5500
- A6-5400
- A4-5300

Mass production in May: 100W part of Trinity

- A10-5800
- A8-5600

Thanks for that info.

Has there been any updates on the next gen FCH? Dioes it still have RAID5 and EIGHT SATA ports?
vkristof is offline  
post #793 of 880 Old 12-01-2011, 08:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkristof View Post

Has there been any updates on the next gen FCH? Dioes it still have RAID5 and EIGHT SATA ports?

- A75: No
- A85X: Yes

Well, the same as before.
renethx is offline  
post #794 of 880 Old 12-01-2011, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vkristof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

- A75: No
- A85X: Yes

Well, the same as before.

Thanks.

One of the ChipHell Trinity slides mentions "3 dedicated display outputs".

Do we have any information if that means 3 "discrete clock" display outputs, i.e. 3 HDMI and/or DVI-D?

Or does one of them have to be DP (embedded clock)?
vkristof is offline  
post #795 of 880 Old 12-01-2011, 09:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
No explicit information on this, but perhaps it supports HDMI + DVI + DP (not DP++).
renethx is offline  
post #796 of 880 Old 12-05-2011, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Trinity yields are good

http://www.fudzilla.com/processors/i...ields-are-good

Looks like AMD isn't having the production problems with trinity that it did with Llano
jeffkro is offline  
post #797 of 880 Old 12-05-2011, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Q1 2012 is pretty close. Feb/March?
Ruiner is offline  
post #798 of 880 Old 12-06-2011, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
2 new unlocked llanos (A8-3870K and A6-3670K ) coming as well. Placeholders for Trinity?
Ruiner is offline  
post #799 of 880 Old 12-15-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
A8-3870K (3.0GHz, $135) and A6-3670K (2.7GHz, $115) will be released on December 21 (source).
renethx is offline  
post #800 of 880 Old 12-19-2011, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Perhaps there will be downstream price drops.
Ruiner is offline  
post #801 of 880 Old 12-19-2011, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am wondering does a8-3850 do dtshdma & DD-hd through the receiver? cause i try all and i cannot able todo it?
audionewer is offline  
post #802 of 880 Old 12-21-2011, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
http://techreport.com/discussions.x/22197

Llano lineup updates more extensive than previously leaked. Trinity may be delayed.
Ruiner is offline  
post #803 of 880 Old 12-22-2011, 04:22 PM
Member
 
darkfluid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesozoic View Post

This AMD stuff is so cheap it's really not worth holding out for whatever's coming next. I picked up a mobo+CPU+memory for $200. If it lasts me 2 or 3 years, it's a great deal!

This is precisely why I'm looking at cheap llano laptops right now, slim line, built in battery backup, much lower TDP.

People always knock laptops on these threads as "you are stuck with what you get", when was the last time you upgraded a $400 specialty device (the htpc I consider specialty). I have storage on my nas, and I'll be using an Ethernet based HD tv tuner. The only thing I may plug into this will be an IR receiver.

The llano based laptops (even the $300 dollar ones) beat the pants off of what it takes to buy a system with the case, ram, hd..etc. Even beats the super cheap E-350 based boxes and out performs them.

I'm no HTPC expert..but am I missing something here? I guess if you are reusing the same case you save about $100.
darkfluid is offline  
post #804 of 880 Old 12-30-2011, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So I splurged a little and picked up a 6670 to augment the A8's 6550D on my HTPC.

Configured my BIOS' NB configuration to 'Integrated Graphics Multi-Monitor' (ASUS F1A75-V PRO motherboard).

Installed the 6670 and enabled CrossFire, however nothing in the Vision Control Panel refers specifically Dual Graphics.

The Vision Control Center, Under Information -> Hardware, shows the Primary Adapter being the 6550D and the Linked Adapter as the 6670.

Just wondering if Vision should show 'Dual Graphics' and the name of the combined GPUs, such as 6630D2, or will I only see that within AMD System Monitor (which I haven't installed yet, will do that tonite).

Thanks!

Specs:
Asus F1A75-V Pro
A8-3850
8 GB 1866
Diamond 6670 1 GB GDDR5

Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is offline  
post #805 of 880 Old 12-30-2011, 08:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
BTW 6670 is better than 6670+6550D CFX in many cases in video playback (6550D could be the bottleneck in 6670+6550D CFX).
renethx is offline  
post #806 of 880 Old 12-30-2011, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Good info as always renethx !

Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is offline  
post #807 of 880 Old 12-31-2011, 02:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dj4monie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was looking at the A6-3800 but seems that was hard to find inside the US at the usually places anyway.

Now with the recent announcement of the refreshed lineup, I am looking at the A6-3820. But I have read that it might only been shipped as an OEM Desktop APU.

So now I'm considering a cheap upgrade of the HTPC which I really don't have to do, but I do want to reduce energy usage as I might leave the country for a long period of time and will be continuing to record shows, send them to the server.

In any event I can move this to the server later for Trinity.

Anyway I was looking at the triple core A6-3500 and cheap A4 APU's. Is anybody running the A4 and how do you like it? I currently have a 5000+ Black Edition (Brisbane) and while overall number crunching won't increase, I can drop the HD4670 video card and still play some DX9 games in HD + the emulators I have (GameBrowser!).

Just looking for some feedback.

A. Thomas -
GSN: djfourmoney
'03 SRT-4 12.74@106 in the 1/4
PSN - DJFourMoney
dj4monie is offline  
post #808 of 880 Old 01-01-2012, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
elm_sd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Mar,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see passmark has some numbers for the a8 3870. I don't know how accurate passmark is but I have to wonder how it got over 1500 points more then the a8 3850..

This upgrade itch might get me yet!

ELM_SD


Quality TV = C-Band
elm_sd is offline  
post #809 of 880 Old 01-01-2012, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by elm_sd View Post

This upgrade itch might get me yet!

I'm 'itchy' as well: hold on to this Zacate, which works using out-of-the box MPC-HC and TMT or upgrade to play with LAV/MadVR and get better gaming? LLano now or hold out til Trinity?
Or go Blue/Green with a Celeron/Pentium and standalone NV card?
Ruiner is offline  
post #810 of 880 Old 01-01-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
A quick chart:
  E-350 A4-3300 A6-3500 A6-3650 or higher Core i3-2105+Z68+DDR3-2133 G530+GT 430
madVR HQ : SD film (MPEG-2) No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
madVR HQ : SD video (MPEG-2) No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
madVR HQ : HD film (AVC, VC-1, MPEG-2) No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
madVR HQ : HD i-video (AVC, MPEG-2) No No Yes Yes Yes Yes
madVR HQ : HD i-video (VC-1) No No No No Yes Yes
madVR HQ : HD p-video (AVC) No No No Yes Yes Yes
BR 3D MVC decode by GPU No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
2D-3D conversion by CPU No No Yes Yes Yes No
HDMI 1.4a video output (Frame Packing) No Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
HDMI 1.4a video output + HDMI 1.3 AVR No No No No Yes Yes
Actually madVR HQ by Core i3-2105 (or any processor with Intel HD Graphics 3k) is limited to "Lanczos 3 taps" instead of "Lanczos 4 taps" (the default HQ setting).
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off