Does Windows Media Center 7 Netflix support 5.1? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 05-07-2011, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
byronmhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Moogr.com
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to find any info directly, but does the latest netflix plugin for media center support 5.1 audio? Also, is there any command to show the current playback bitrate/quality while watching a show on netflix?

Just trying to decide if i finish building an HTPC or keep my WD Live Hub.. the live hub does support 5.1 lol.. i've asked elsewhere and the word is only the ps3 apparently supports 5.1, but 3.0 player may have changed that so i'm lost.
byronmhome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 05-07-2011, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not yet as far as I know (but I haven't used the netflix app in ages). I recall it would have to wait until Silverlight 5 is released for it to be possible.
genro is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 05-07-2011, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
right now, only PS3 and AppleTV2
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #4 of 35 Old 05-07-2011, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
byronmhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Moogr.com
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovekeiiy View Post

right now, only PS3 and AppleTV2

And WD Live Hub i guess

That's a shame it doesn't do 5.1 on WMC though. I have SL5 beta installed on my test box and its improved playback performance, just hope we see something official with 5.1 support.. i honestly won't bet on it, MS is so hush hush with media center these days
byronmhome is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 05-07-2011, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,793
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Until it does 1080p with HD Audio I'm not interested in netflix. I've got the speed on my end so what's the deal?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #6 of 35 Old 05-08-2011, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The PS3 Netflix can do 1080p and 5.1DD. It's the best Netflix viewing option currently. Unfortunately, the PC is the worse.

I was not aware of the WD Live, but then I don't have it, nor keep an interest it to follow it's news.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 05-08-2011, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
byronmhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Moogr.com
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try and follow up with netflix and MS, see if/when dd 5.1 may be heading to MCE or Xbox 360.

The WD Live Hub is a pretty cool device, but they may be doing dd 5.1 under the radar or faking something.. wouldn't put it past them
byronmhome is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 05-08-2011, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Carlton Bale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Indianapolis IN, USA
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The newest Panasonic Blu-ray players support 5.1 as well (Panasonic DMP-BDT110, 210, 310); they are the first to do so.
Carlton Bale is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 05-08-2011, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have both the PS3 and WD Live Hub, and after the last WD update it looks exactly the same as the PS3 Netflix app, with 1080P and 5.1 sound where available. Now if I could just get Panasonic to update my DMP-300 to version 3 of Netflix then I would be all set.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 05-09-2011, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
GatoEnFuego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm cool with the 720p HD but the lack of 5.1 audio is a real bummer.
GatoEnFuego is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 05-09-2011, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Frankly, for the stuff I watch on Netflix, I'm not really all that bothered by the lack of video quality or multi-channel audio.

The good stuff, I already own on DVD or buy in Blu-ray which get archived to the unRAID server.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #12 of 35 Old 10-20-2011, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 10-20-2011, 07:54 AM
Member
 
SirMoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the WMC Netflix plugin for my own use but it doesn't off the "Just for Kids" menu option so I've taught my family to use the web browser to stream Netflix.
SirMoby is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 10-20-2011, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but I am looking for something that streams from netflix in 5.1. It seems that the media center netflix plugin does not. You would think that the 360 and media center would have been one of the first to get this given that the new streams are based on silverlight.

So, I guess to get the new streams (adaptive streaming, 1080p, and 5.1) you need one of these:

A PS3, appleTV, Roku 2 or the western digital. I thought I saw that a sony box did this as well. Someone needs to put together a spreadsheet of the devices and compare what they can do and what set of streams they can get from netflix.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 12-04-2011, 09:16 PM
Member
 
SPL15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kind of an old thread, but I had the same question about my HTPC and unfortunately no, Win 7 Media Center does not support 5.1 even in December of 2011...

I did find a work around (sorta) in that my Samsung 55D8000 TV does stream 5.1 audio from Neflix. My Samsung BD5500 Blu-ray player with Netflix as a main selling point does not support 5.1 so go figure... On these types of devices it could be hardware limitations holding out 5.1, but Win7 has more than enough oomph.

I really kind of wonder what the hold up is. It seams like a basic feature, I kind of think it is the manufacturer's of devices holding it up to upsell their higher end stuff, but they don't market it in their higher end products so I really don't know... As for Win7 not supporting it, I would guess that it is netflix themselves dropping the ball as they are the ones who support the app on media center (From info I was told a few months ago when there was a black out of Netflix service on Media center only.) Also, I would guess that most everyday folks simply do not notice even if they have a receiver capable of 5.1. They simply notice that it sounds a little 'different', but don't attribute it to the fact that only 2 channels are even playing anything or they have it ProLogic so they think it is surround sound because they heard something from behind them
SPL15 is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 12-05-2011, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I have gathered since I posted last, it seems that netflix has two sets of streams, the old streams and the newer streams. They aren't going to the trouble of going back and remuxing 5.1 into the old streams, they are concentrating their efforts on the new ones. I think the new streams are based on h.264 (not 100% sure) and the device must be able to decode this stream in order to have access to the newer streams to get the 1080p/5.1/adaptive streaming advantages. This would explain why owners of all of the older roku units are SOL. As far as I know the only boxes that can handle the new streams are the Roku 2, PS3 and the appleTV (western digital?). As far as the Win 7 app, and even the 360, I think it is just pure laziness on the developer's end (microsoft?) in that they don't think the effort to upgrade will be justified by enough money in their pockets.

I would be interested to see what playing it directly off of netflix's website gives you as far as audio channels. I may have to try that one of these days. I am watching to see if I can get a good deal on a Roku2 XS between now and Christmas. We'll see....
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My WD Live Hub works fine on Netflix 1080P Dolby 5.1, looks to be the same interface as my PS3, only easier to use than the PS3.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtallent View Post

My WD Live Hub works fine on Netflix 1080P Dolby 5.1, looks to be the same interface as my PS3, only easier to use than the PS3.

Mike T

Yeah, I thought I had heard that but I could not verify for sure.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellerbrewing View Post

As far as the Win 7 app, and even the 360, I think it is just pure laziness on the developer's end (microsoft?) in that they don't think the effort to upgrade will be justified by enough money in their pockets.

I would be interested to see what playing it directly off of netflix's website gives you as far as audio channels. I may have to try that one of these days.

The Xbox 360 update that's supposed to be happening today will add 5.1 audio.

As far as PC, the best audio it serves up now is 64kbps stereo (half the bitrate of the stereo that CE devices get). It seems they are deliberately limiting the PC capabilities. I don't know whether Silverlight can support 5.1 streaming, but it can certainly support higher quality stereo.
msgohan is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post

The Xbox 360 update that's supposed to be happening today will add 5.1 audio.

Do you have a source for this info? I have been looking and have not seen anything to indicate this is the case.

If it is true, I definitely won't need the roku.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theresa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
As a frequent watcher of Netflix on a pc I can attest to the poor quality of the sound.
Theresa is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is there much 5.1 content anyway?
One article I found claimed finding only 2 titles.
Ruiner is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Is there much 5.1 content anyway?
One article I found claimed finding only 2 titles.

http://www.tvandmoviesnow.com/search.php

I see 1007 results with 5.1 surround.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellerbrewing View Post

http://www.tvandmoviesnow.com/search.php

I see 101 pages of results with 5.1 surround.

Thx.
I'm SOL....PC, TivoHD and Roku 1 all unsupported, and probably indefinitely.
Ruiner is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish netflix would tell you on their website which titles had 5.1 streaming.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 12-06-2011, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Given that the PC Netflix app doesn't support hardware acceleration, 1080p, or 5.1 and has a more limited library, what are most HTPC users doing for Netflix? Sucking it up with Silverlight or using a separate embedded device (Roku, Playstation, etc.)?
Ruiner is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 12-07-2011, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like we got 5.1 streaming with the dashboard update!

Ruiner, I would imagine most people use something else. If you care about 5.1 surround, then I would get one of the devices that support it.
hellerbrewing is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 12-07-2011, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ilovejedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Given that the PC Netflix app doesn't support hardware acceleration, 1080p, or 5.1 and has a more limited library, what are most HTPC users doing for Netflix? Sucking it up with Silverlight or using a separate embedded device (Roku, Playstation, etc.)?

Frankly, the movies/shows we watch on Netflix, we don't care enough to want them in higher quality. The "good" movies, we buy on Blu-ray.
ilovejedd is online now  
post #29 of 35 Old 12-07-2011, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellerbrewing View Post

It looks like we got 5.1 streaming with the dashboard update!

Ruiner, I would imagine most people use something else. If you care about 5.1 surround, then I would get one of the devices that support it.

Was this with the latest 360 update? If so I'm glad that we finally got that. PS3 users have had this for a while now and I felt a bit left out since I only have a 360.
utee05 is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 12-07-2011, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
hellerbrewing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by utee05 View Post

Was this with the latest 360 update? If so I'm glad that we finally got that. PS3 users have had this for a while now and I felt a bit left out since I only have a 360.

Yeah, I was able to confirm it last night. I haven't check on my surround setup yet to see if the channels are actually there but the option is there in the app.
hellerbrewing is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off