Silverlight 5 & Netflix - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 106 Old 12-14-2011, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
11.1
I'll try the new ones.

edit: Running 12.1
core 1 66%, core 2 100%
Ruiner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 106 Old 12-14-2011, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomper87 View Post

11.10 and 11.11 both have broken accel problems.
Best way to test this?

Lastly ... remember that SL5 only mentions H.264 support and nothing about VC-1.

So even assuming Netflix gets accel working in SL5, it may only be for some titles? Oh well. I was planning on upgrading to Trinity anyway.
Ruiner is offline  
post #93 of 106 Old 12-14-2011, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Pretty sure all of their PC library is H.264 at this point. Don't see any reason they would do a partial migration.
msgohan is offline  
post #94 of 106 Old 12-15-2011, 09:03 AM
Member
 
thh26790's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same results for me while playing HD content w/ SL5 on gigabyte e-350n board (6130 grafx). Blueray, 1080p youtube and other 1080 content is flawless.

CPU cores (2) get pinned when netflix goes from 1750 to HD and though it is better than SL4, still stutter and horrible audio sync issues. disabling hd or limiting to 1750 works.

accel = true/true

think there will be a fix for this, is it on netflix end at this point? Sort of defeats the purpose of building a low power consumption htpc when you have to have beefy cpu's just to run netflix...
thh26790 is offline  
post #95 of 106 Old 12-15-2011, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
chomper87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post

Pretty sure all of their PC library is H.264 at this point. Don't see any reason they would do a partial migration.

Source article?

Their last official statement on this matter stated they use VC-1.

http://blog.netflix.com/2008/11/enco...streaming.html
chomper87 is offline  
post #96 of 106 Old 12-15-2011, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i'm getting about the same CPU/GPU usage whether i am running hd on Netflix or playing a bluray in PDVD 11. Netflix shows about 25%/5% (CPU/GPU) usage and PDVD shows 20%/9%.
mcantu1 is offline  
post #97 of 106 Old 12-15-2011, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomper87 View Post

Source article?

Their last official statement on this matter stated they use VC-1.

http://blog.netflix.com/2008/11/enco...streaming.html

Sorry, no article, this is my own research.

You can demonstrate for yourself that the 3-year-old blog post no longer reflects the encode set used on the PC. Start a stream and hit CTRL+SHIFT+ALT+S. None of the bitrate levels currently used on the PC match what the article states (except 375).

The video encodes now used on the PC match the AVC encodes that the PS3 and other new devices with selectable audio/subtitles receive. Older ones like the Roku 1 still get VC-1.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1365060 (post #4 is the most relevant)
msgohan is offline  
post #98 of 106 Old 12-17-2011, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
winterescape's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could be wrong but it would seem to me the way in which the video is compressed and decompressed on the HTPC if we are going to compare processor utilization we should use the same content and at the same point in that content, IE HD material (movie name, time, etc…)
winterescape is offline  
post #99 of 106 Old 01-12-2012, 03:54 PM
Newbie
 
RMAffeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately SL5 can't accelerate H.264 protected content (PlayReady), so even if Netflix content was entirely H.264 it wouldn't be decoded in hardware (AMD, nVIDIA, or Intel GPUs).

Unprotected (clear) content using SL5 will utilize HW decode via DXVA, but that doesn't help the Netflix scenario...
RMAffeo is offline  
post #100 of 106 Old 01-16-2012, 11:33 PM
Member
 
mmortal03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMAffeo View Post

Unfortunately SL5 can't accelerate H.264 protected content (PlayReady), so even if Netflix content was entirely H.264 it wouldn't be decoded in hardware (AMD, nVIDIA, or Intel GPUs).

Unprotected (clear) content using SL5 will utilize HW decode via DXVA, but that doesn't help the Netflix scenario...

I'm glad I'm on the DVD-only plan, then. ;^|7

I guess this means there will never be a way to reasonably stream Netflix HD on netbook-class processors?
mmortal03 is offline  
post #101 of 106 Old 02-01-2012, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
mcantu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i just noticed a new option in Netflix playback. if you alt+shift>left click on the window there is now an a/v sync compensation option!
mcantu1 is offline  
post #102 of 106 Old 05-05-2012, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
mlm39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrison Twp. MI
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've been playing with Netflix on my 3 PCs for the last 2 weeks, under WMC and Internet Explorer. I have an early Atom netbook, an E-350 HTPC and an Athlon II X4 645 desktop. We all know about the problems with Netflix/Silverlight so I won't go into that other than to say that I have achieved smooth playback at bit rates of 1050 on the Atom, 1750 on the E-350 and 3600 on the Athlon.

One thing I have noticed that I can't find mentioned on the internet is that regardless of the PC I am using, A/V Stats shows on the //HTTP line that when running Netflix under IE, Silverlight 5 is referenced:
(http://movies.netflix.com/layout/sil...2.1358.314.2-2)
while when running under WMC, Silverlight 4 appears
(http://www2.netflix.com/pages/watchn....xap?v=1315207).

I can only assume this proves that the WMC Netflix add-on has not yet been updated to utilize the capabilities of Silverlight 5.

Has anyone else noticed this?
mlm39 is offline  
post #103 of 106 Old 05-05-2012, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Nice pickup. I'll check my system. Any performance/PQ differences between them?
Ruiner is offline  
post #104 of 106 Old 05-07-2012, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
mlm39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrison Twp. MI
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

1050 bit rate - fair on TV screen but nice on netbook.

1750 almost HD on big TV screen.

3600 HD quality on big TV screen (720p) but looses sound sync and drops frames when played by the E-350.

No 5.1 but sounds decent via DolbyProLogic playback

mlm39 is offline  
post #105 of 106 Old 05-08-2012, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I've confirmed this: SL5 in a browser, SL4 with WMC plugin. cpu utilization similar in both; bitrate 64/3600 in both as well.
Ruiner is offline  
post #106 of 106 Old 05-27-2012, 04:56 AM
Member
 
mmortal03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlm39 View Post

I've been playing with Netflix on my 3 PCs for the last 2 weeks, under WMC and Internet Explorer. I have an early Atom netbook, an E-350 HTPC and an Athlon II X4 645 desktop. We all know about the problems with Netflix/Silverlight so I won't go into that other than to say that I have achieved smooth playback at bit rates of 1050 on the Atom, 1750 on the E-350 and 3600 on the Athlon.

One thing I have noticed that I can't find mentioned on the internet is that regardless of the PC I am using, A/V Stats shows on the //HTTP line that when running Netflix under IE, Silverlight 5 is referenced:
(http://movies.netflix.com/layout/sil...2.1358.314.2-2)
while when running under WMC, Silverlight 4 appears
(http://www2.netflix.com/pages/watchn....xap?v=1315207).

I can only assume this proves that the WMC Netflix add-on has not yet been updated to utilize the capabilities of Silverlight 5.

Has anyone else noticed this?

So using Windows Media Center plays it back smoothly at those bit rates? Interestingly, a thread from about a year ago over at hackingnetflix.com discussed the opposite, that there were playback problems when people were using WMC: http://www.hackingnetflix.com/2011/0...ia-center.html

Is this evidence that something has changed on this front?

Edit: Netflix did just recently update their web player app, so could this be something having to do with that?
http://www.hackingnetflix.com/2012/0...ndows-mac.html
mmortal03 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off