Radeon HDMI for audio only? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-16-2011, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Denmark
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I've got myself a JVC DLA-RS 40, and want to use the 3D function. But my receiver Onkyo 876 doesn't support HDMI 1.4. So I use a DVI output to the projector, and the HDMI for sound. (Radeon HD 6570)

But the Catalyst Control finds of course 2 monitors, the JVC and the Onkyo. And I can only combine them to one large desktop, or disable the Onkyo, but then I disable the HDMI sound output too. I only want the JVC desktop to work with.

Is there any way I can disable the Onkyo desktop, and keep the HDMI sound output?

Thanks.
Thor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-16-2011, 02:54 AM
Member
 
Dusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, there isn't. HDMI can't transfer sound without picture. What you can do is either clone the screen (both devices should show up 1080p resolution, so cloning should be viable) or use other means of transferring audio signal, e.g. SPDIF, but then you'll lose high definition audio. Another option is to use an extended desktop, but put your player software in fullscreen just on TV. As far as I know, all players should be able to do that.
Dusan is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-16-2011, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
vddobrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusan View Post

Another option is to use an extended desktop, but put your player software in fullscreen just on TV. As far as I know, all players should be able to do that.

I second this, I have tried it and it works.
vddobrev is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-26-2011, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Denmark
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP!

I have somehow disabled my DVI out so I get no picture on my projector. If I turn off my receiver on the HDMI cable the picture comes back. Can I somehow reset the desktop settings, because I can't enable the DVI out when I can't see the desktop? I have tried uninstall/install CCC, but that didn't help.
Thor is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-26-2011, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
vddobrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor View Post

HELP!

I have somehow disabled my DVI out so I get no picture on my projector. If I turn off my receiver on the HDMI cable the picture comes back. Can I somehow reset the desktop settings, because I can't enable the DVI out when I can't see the desktop? I have tried uninstall/install CCC, but that didn't help.

When you can see the desktop via HDMI, open CCC, and then duplicate the display. Or, click load defaults. Sometimes it messes things up, you can try windows desktop management also in this case.
vddobrev is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-27-2011, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Audunth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make a profile in CCC and assign a hotkey to activate it. If you lose picture when turning on the receiver you should get it back when activating the profile you made by pressing the hotkey.

Regards,
Audun
Audunth is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-27-2011, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
mj-barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thor,

What version of the CCC driver do you have installed? I have a 6850 and have HDMI audio issues with my Samsung LN40B750. Did the default settings trick work for you?
mj-barton is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-27-2011, 03:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor View Post

Hi,

I've got myself a JVC DLA-RS 40, and want to use the 3D function. But my receiver Onkyo 876 doesn't support HDMI 1.4. So I use a DVI output to the projector, and the HDMI for sound. (Radeon HD 6570)

But the Catalyst Control finds of course 2 monitors, the JVC and the Onkyo. And I can only combine them to one large desktop, or disable the Onkyo, but then I disable the HDMI sound output too. I only want the JVC desktop to work with.

Is there any way I can disable the Onkyo desktop, and keep the HDMI sound output?

Thanks.

Use extend mode.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-04-2011, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Denmark
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mj-barton View Post

Thor,

What version of the CCC driver do you have installed? I have a 6850 and have HDMI audio issues with my Samsung LN40B750. Did the default settings trick work for you?

Thanks guys.

I have the newest version of CCC. The default didn't work, so I reinstalled the PC. I have wanted to do that for a while now, so now was a good time to do it.

But I can not use 24p, the video freezes for a split second once or twice a minute. The audio is unaffected. Both when video and audio goes through the receiver, and video direct to the projector. 60 Hz have no problem. Any thoughts on that?
Thor is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off