Latest Ceton InfiniTV 4 Info Thread - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Why is my InfinityTV 4 all of the sudden DRVing duplicates of the same show? If its on more than one channel it will DVR it. Also,I set a certain station to record the series. Its on at 9 & 12am. It used to DVR the 9pm show and had no problems,all of the sudden it won't record the 9pm show unless I manually tell it to. It now records the 12am show instead with is driving me nuts. Doesn't anyone know why it does this? Or is this a WMC deal?
LowTech1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
Doesn't anyone know why it does this? Or is this a WMC deal?
It's a WMC deal. The tuner doesn't have any say in what gets recorded, it only tunes what WMC (or other programs) tell it to.

The problem is likely caused by the WMC guide data provider being switched to Rovi.
Ken.F is offline  
post #4923 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
Why is my InfinityTV 4 all of the sudden DRVing duplicates of the same show?
Because it's being told to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1
If its on more than one channel it will DVR it. Also,I set a certain station to record the series. Its on at 9 & 12am. It used to DVR the 9pm show and had no problems,all of the sudden it won't record the 9pm show unless I manually tell it to. It now records the 12am show instead with is driving me nuts. Doesn't anyone know why it does this? Or is this a WMC deal?
Yes, lots of issues since the Rovi changeover. See

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=5&t=8908
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=5&t=9026
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=5&t=8903
smcmillan2 is online now  
post #4924 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 130
What the h*ll is Rovi?
LowTech1 is online now  
post #4925 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 01:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,746
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1399 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
What the h*ll is Rovi?
Bottom link in previous post.

Guide used to come from a company called Zap2It (also provides guide data to Tivo). Now it comes from Rovi (TVGuide) and is screwed up on many levels.
mdavej is offline  
post #4926 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 130
So did Rovi buy zap2it or what is the deal? I was wondering my my guide was messed up and why some shows were dvr twice. Very irritating!
LowTech1 is online now  
post #4927 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
So did Rovi buy zap2it or what is the deal? I was wondering my my guide was messed up and why some shows were dvr twice. Very irritating!
No, MS switched to Rovi

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=windows+media+center+rovi

2nd hit
smcmillan2 is online now  
post #4928 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 03:21 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,336
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 481
The change is driving a lot of us nuts. Until last week, I couldn't get a daily-scheduled program to record. Weeklies were fine. Manual was fine. Daily shows.. nope. Still getting a good number of duplicate recordings, but haven't sat down to discern a pattern.

There's a thread all about it elsewhere in HTPC.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4929 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 05:19 PM
Member
 
talljerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
how can I get ceton infinitv to work on windows 10?
talljerry is offline  
post #4930 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,746
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1399 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by talljerry View Post
how can I get ceton infinitv to work on windows 10?
Just about anything should work, except WMC obviously. I've used VLC and RTP protocol for live TV (not very convenient). Here's a pretty complete list:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compar...tware_packages

I'm curious though, why were you compelled to "upgrade" to Win 10 knowing you'd lose the best DVR software by far? Are the live tiles in the start menu more entertaining than TV?
smcmillan2 likes this.

Last edited by mdavej; 08-18-2015 at 07:04 PM.
mdavej is offline  
post #4931 of 4937 Unread 08-18-2015, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 130
I wonder why Microsoft changed companies? Why fix something that isn't broken..
LowTech1 is online now  
post #4932 of 4937 Unread 08-19-2015, 05:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowTech1 View Post
I wonder why Microsoft changed companies? Why fix something that isn't broken..
Guess we can't blame ballmer for this one, or maybe we can, should have negotiated a longer contract with zap2it.

My guess is cost, they found a lower cost provider, and we see why the cost is lower, wrong tag, wrong images, blah, blah. they have roughly 3 week before the fall season premiers to get it all sorted out, otherwise, I might be in trouble with the wife.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN

Last edited by dbailey75; 08-19-2015 at 05:50 AM.
dbailey75 is offline  
post #4933 of 4937 Unread 08-19-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,746
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1399 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Xbox One uses Rovi. Consolidation.
DrDon and htpcforever like this.
mdavej is offline  
post #4934 of 4937 Unread 08-19-2015, 10:56 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,336
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
Guess we can't blame ballmer for this one, or maybe we can, should have negotiated a longer contract with zap2it.

My guess is cost, they found a lower cost provider, and we see why the cost is lower, wrong tag, wrong images, blah, blah. they have roughly 3 week before the fall season premiers to get it all sorted out, otherwise, I might be in trouble with the wife.
First, it's easy to figure out if it's going to screw up. For a series recording, check the guide before primetime. You'll see the familiar red ball with ghosts if the series recording is going to happen. If you don't see it, go into "scheduled recordings" and look. Odds are, it won't show up there, either. Click on "series" and find the program. Delete the series entry and try setting it up, again. BETTER STILL: Skip the guide and set up a Manual Recording. Time and channel. Those don't fail.

Even if you DO have a successful series recording, I highly recommend editing the Series settings to include new + repeats. Seems the "new" tag doesn't get successfully set, though I've had daily series recordings set for new + repeats still fail.

Best to check on it frequently until this gets sorted out.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4935 of 4937 Unread 08-19-2015, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LowTech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 1,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Another thing I've run across is when it DVR's a show for like 3 mins. Did that last night. Most of my stuff is ok tho.
LowTech1 is online now  
post #4936 of 4937 Unread 08-20-2015, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
First, it's easy to figure out if it's going to screw up. For a series recording, check the guide before primetime. You'll see the familiar red ball with ghosts if the series recording is going to happen. If you don't see it, go into "scheduled recordings" and look. Odds are, it won't show up there, either. Click on "series" and find the program. Delete the series entry and try setting it up, again. BETTER STILL: Skip the guide and set up a Manual Recording. Time and channel. Those don't fail.

Even if you DO have a successful series recording, I highly recommend editing the Series settings to include new + repeats. Seems the "new" tag doesn't get successfully set, though I've had daily series recordings set for new + repeats still fail.

Best to check on it frequently until this gets sorted out.
I did a rebuild after the season finales on my primary recording HTPC, still haven't finished all the tweaks, aka, time sync event etc. Going to set aside some time in the next week or so to make sure all that's done and all the series recordings are loaded back up. I plan to take your advice on including new and repeats.

Figure the divorce layers are going to busy enough with the Ashley Madison leaks, that I'll have to live with a grumpy wife indefinitely if her show's don't get recorded.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is offline  
post #4937 of 4937 Unread Today, 12:52 PM
Member
 
johnstonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have fought this long enough, my wife wanted an easier DVR and I went back to local Cable Co. DVR.

Last edited by DrDon; Today at 01:14 PM.
johnstonk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off