Lav Madvr guide?? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 01:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

Be careful using ReClock with madVR. madVR handles fps directly from source, but Reclock changes fps speed trying to get it 1:1 with display refrash rate. As result picture looks smooth, but you can see a lot of dropped frames in madVR's OSD. I mostly prefer to bitstream packed audio streams to AVR, but for unpacked I use decode>ReClock>WASAPI chain. So I set ReClock to keep original fps source speed to avoid frame drops in madVR.

Thats not true. madVR is fully compatible with ReClock, it even has a display for "clock deviation" in the OSD which shows the amount ReClock adjusted the clock to match the refresh rate.

I use ReClock in its full processing mode with madVR (fixing my 23.9766 to 23.9760), and i never get any frame drops. If i disable it, i do get drops occasionally.

BTW, go by absolute drop numbers after playing the movie for a while, don't trust the "1 frame drop every x minutes" line in the top of the OSD, its just a estimation, and usually not correct when using ReClock.
Nevcairiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 02:00 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Thats not true.

I'm lying?
If I set ReClock to ajust fps speed I got dropped frames (fps and RR are very close to each other). If I set ReClock to keep original speed I got no dropped frames. And "Thats not true", right?
Or madVR's OSD lying? OK, I say that everyone is free to check by himself. Just pay attention to madVR's OSD stats.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #183 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrift View Post


Unless I'm imagining things, it appears so. After firing up an mkv, it seems to play very very smoothly. Like, the 20th Century Fox title intro looked as smooth as glass. I did a side by side with VLC and even the color seems richer looking. Also, when reducing the size of each player I noticed small jaggies in VLC that I didn't see with the MPC setup. I also played some basketball video that someone mentioned in another thread, and it plays almost flawlessly (a couple tiny pauses here and there). Playing that same video in another player produces choppiness and artifacts.

What exactly am I seeing? I have a vague idea that something is happening to the frame rate, but I'm not sure I completely understand?

A few more questions...

Is this the preferred way of viewing bluray content (other than say, PowerDVD and TMT5) or just media files on one's hard drive?

While playing a file I notice that my receiver is set in MCH PCM 5.1 mode, which I assume means that audio processing is being handled by the player rather than the receiver. Is that optimal or is there a way to get the receiver to handle audio?

What exactly is Reclock. I hear a lot people talking about it.

Sorry if these questions are really basic, this just seems pretty awesome and I want to make sure I'm on the same page as everyone else.

Yeah I havn't been using it lately and yesterday I downloaded all the new versions and did comparisons with tmt and Xbmc. Man, it really does look so much better.

Yeah it dosnt sound like you have your lav settings right so your not bitsreaming. Let me know if you need any help. Also you can use reclock to bypass windows for lpcm audio.

If you want to use it with bluray it's not as easy or or nice looking GUI but you'll have a better pq in the end.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #184 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post


Thats not true. madVR is fully compatible with ReClock, it even has a display for "clock deviation" in the OSD which shows the amount ReClock adjusted the clock to match the refresh rate.

I use ReClock in its full processing mode with madVR (fixing my 23.9766 to 23.9760), and i never get any frame drops. If i disable it, i do get drops occasionally.

BTW, go by absolute drop numbers after playing the movie for a while, don't trust the "1 frame drop every x minutes" line in the top of the OSD, its just a estimation, and usually not correct when using ReClock.

I was under impression, from what many people have said that if you use reclock display matching functions you can't bitstream, you can only use it when your player decodes it and you send lpcm.

Also reclock adjusts the fps to match the display and auto frequency adjusts display to match the fps, correct?

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #185 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 110
You can bitstream with reclock, but if the difference between refresh rate and movie frame rate is too high, it'll cause audio glitches. ReClock however has an option to disable the speed adjustment if its bitstreaming, but whats the point in using it then, eh.

AutoFrequency and other tools like that only change your monitor to the movie framerate, however the refresh rate may not be 100% accurate (it usually never is), and thats where ReClock comes in to do the last tiny bits of adjustment to get both to match 100%.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #186 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

You can bitstream with reclock, but if the difference between refresh rate and movie frame rate is too high, it'll cause audio glitches. ReClock however has an option to disable the speed adjustment if its bitstreaming, but whats the point in using it then, eh.

AutoFrequency and other tools like that only change your monitor to the movie framerate, however the refresh rate may not be 100% accurate (it usually never is), and thats where ReClock comes in to do the last tiny bits of adjustment to get both to match 100%.

Right on, besides using it for adjusting refresh rate etc. You cam also use it to pass through lpcm untouched so that's nice

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #187 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

You can bitstream with reclock, but if the difference between refresh rate and movie frame rate is too high, it'll cause audio glitches. ReClock however has an option to disable the speed adjustment if its bitstreaming, but whats the point in using it then, eh.

The original intent is that with TMT3/5 I wanted to be able to passthrough bitstreaming and use WASAPI exclusive mode on 48/16 LPCM tracks which they idiotically don't do. (They natively do WASAPI exclusive mode on 48/24 and above for LPCM, but, not 48/16). So, that's the original intent of the bitstream passthrough. I asked for it.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #188 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I'm having a hell of a time getting subtitles to work now that i'm using madVR. is there some super niche setting im missing?
jbcain is offline  
post #189 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Just make sure you use a recent version of MPC-HC, thats the common point of failure. madVR supports MPC-HCs internal sub renderer just fine otherwise.
Also, select the renderer on the "Output" page, not through the "External Filter List", it shouldn't even be on there.

Get the latest from here: http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/index.php?folder=bXBjLWhj
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #190 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
adrift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydrunk View Post

Yeah it dosnt sound like you have your lav settings right so your not bitsreaming. Let me know if you need any help. Also you can use reclock to bypass windows for lpcm audio.

Yep, that was the issue. I didn't have any of the checkboxes ticked. I've got it bitstreaming now and am also using Reclock (which I'm sort of confused about again based on recent comments).

Quote:


If you want to use it with bluray it's not as easy or or nice looking GUI but you'll have a better pq in the end.

Sweet. I haven't done a side by side with PowerDVD yet, but from what I've seen so far that sounds pretty accurate.
adrift is offline  
post #191 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbcain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 63
ha.. thanks nev. i think i was a little behind with my 1.5.0.xxx build.. ha subs fired right up! thanks again.
jbcain is offline  
post #192 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 01:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I updated both MPC-HC & madVR and everything is working for me now but my list of sharers are now missing. How would I get them back. Exited to start enjoying madVR.

Thank you!
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #193 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 02:06 PM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

I updated both MPC-HC & madVR and everything is working for me now but my list of sharers are now missing. How would I get them back. Exited to start enjoying madVR.

You can't use shaders with madVR anyway. If you want to use shaders with EVR CP ... you better ask author: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=157634

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #194 of 581 Old 06-08-2011, 02:17 PM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

If I set ReClock to ajust fps speed I got dropped frames

OK, tried now with 720p25 source and media speed adaptation enabled in ReClock. No drops. So IMO it depends on... something. I have to confirm that madVR+ReClock combo has no incompatibility.
Matching fps and refresh rate to 1:1 as close as it possible is great thing though. There is no too mach precision here.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #195 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What settings do you have when using madvr & reclock for no drop frames?
Original speed or autobest?
Is the clock green?
Does this work when madvr is set 1080p23
Or do you change manually your gpu @ 23hz
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #196 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 08:57 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_Montana View Post

What settings do you have when using madvr & reclock for no drop frames?
Original speed or autobest?
Is the clock green?
Does this work when madvr is set 1080p23
Or do you change manually your gpu @ 23hz

I use to change RR manually for ages. I prefer to bitstream packed sound streams and only use ReClock for unpacked streams (because of WASAPI). Of course I prefer let ReClock to do it's magic and adjust media speed adaptation (autobest) to get closer to refresh rate. If everything is ok I got green clock, pretty smooth playback, perfect sound and zero drops in madVR's stats. But sometimes something goes wrong, sound is stuttering and drops are occur. No doubts some fine tuning is needed. But I'm in the mood to watch a show/movie and don't dig to deep, right? So I just set ReClock to original speed (no frame drops!) and maybe fix output freq.= 48kHz to get rid of sound drops. Thats it. I can't say "these videos are affected and those aren't". IMO it may depend on different things on different HTPCs.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #197 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Just make sure you use a recent version of MPC-HC, thats the common point of failure. madVR supports MPC-HCs internal sub renderer just fine otherwise.
Also, select the renderer on the "Output" page, not through the "External Filter List", it shouldn't even be on there.

Get the latest from here: http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/index.php?folder=bXBjLWhj

You hit the nail right on the head there...

This was my problem all the while...

As soon as I removed madVR from the external list and selected it in the output, the subtitles worked right away...

Freaking awesome image quality...

Thanks.
balky is offline  
post #198 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
I am working on a LAV + MADVR + MPC-HC +/- CUDA guide.

I will let you know when it is finished...
assassin is offline  
post #199 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Martin Thoresen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I am working on a LAV + MADVR + MPC-HC +/- CUDA guide.

I will let you know when it is finished...

Fantastic, just what I was trying to find.
Martin Thoresen is offline  
post #200 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I am working on a LAV + MADVR + MPC-HC +/- CUDA guide.

I will let you know when it is finished...

are you going to include yCMS instructions, too?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #201 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_Montana View Post

are you going to include yCMS instructions, too?

Maybe eventually. Let me at least get this guide done first.
assassin is offline  
post #202 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
you said +/- cuda
+ means lav cuvid
- means dxva with commercial codecs (Cyberlink/arcsoft) or software accelation
mpc-internal/ffdshow?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #203 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
If you are not using a NVidia card then it will be just MPC-HC + LAV + MADVR

If you are using a NVidia card then it will be MPC-HC + LAV CUVID + MADVR

That's what I meant.

No ffdshow.
assassin is offline  
post #204 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
assasin in your htpc guide you use ati, do you?
madshi recommends that pixel format should be FullRGB even in HDTV
does this make your screen too dark?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #205 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 01:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_Montana View Post

assasin in your htpc guide you use ati, do you?
madshi recommends that pixel format should be FullRGB even in HDTV
does this make your screen too dark?

Thanks for that.

I will try to use settings that will work for most setups and may have to add a few for specific setups later.
assassin is offline  
post #206 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most of us AMD guys and gals set to RGB Full and then set the dynamic range to 0-255. Doing that my TV is calibrated perfectly for all sources. (Cable, PS3, HTPC, etc)
SamuriHL is offline  
post #207 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Tong chia said that lav cuvid, madvr
With proper use of yCMS offers equal PQ like a top standalone bluray player like oppo.

Do you also thing that this is possible?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #208 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My experience has been that madVR has provided an experience quite similar to high end players, yes. I have nVidia on one machine and AMD on the other and if you set things up right, and calibrate your TV properly, you can achieve extremely good results on both.
SamuriHL is offline  
post #209 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When You say both
You mean amd & nvidia using madvr?
Or lav cuvid + madvr on htpc have same results like
A good standalone blu ray player like oppo?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #210 of 581 Old 06-09-2011, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The decoder is mostly irrelevant to the quality aspect. All the decoder (LAV CUVID, in this case) is doing is decoding the video frame and giving it to madVR. madVR is where the magic happens. But yes, I use LAV CUVID on the machine with nVidia, and Cyberlink Video Decoder using HAM mode on my AMD machine. Both give me excellent quality video thanks to madVR.
SamuriHL is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off