CCD CCTV camera to TV tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-12-2011, 10:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slyderider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
I have been thinking of purchasing a CCD type CCTV camera to monitor my garage activity mainly at night and when I'm away. I was thinking instead of purchasing some highly expensive DVR system for 1 camera that I could just somehow set it up to my PC's TV tuner, and use some sort of DVR software to record its display to the PC hard drive.

Is this possible, or am I thinking something completely different here? I've seen those PCI-E DVR cards selling for reasonably cheap, AFAIK most of these camera use something called a "BNC" port which is obviously a little different from a normal coaxial. I don't want to buy one of those cards if I don't have to, since I really don't ever plan on using more than 1 camera, most of those have like at least 4 channels to support multiple cams

Could I somehow hook 1 camera up to the TV tuner and tune into the camera's channel to record to the hard drive? If I could do this what sorta software should I be looking at (preferably freeware), and how exactly would I make that BNC port connect to my TV tuner?

any info here would help, I know nothing about these AV ports or DVRs. t

thanks for the help!
slyderider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-13-2011, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Which tuner? A lot of them have composite video in and a lot of them can tune NTSC (so you can use a cheap modulator).
olyteddy is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-13-2011, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Derek K. is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-13-2011, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slyderider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Which tuner? A lot of them have composite video in and a lot of them can tune NTSC (so you can use a cheap modulator).

thanks for your reply.

its a Hauppage WinTV HVR-1800. I don't know if it has composite video in but I'm pretty sure it can tune NTSC. what kind of modulator do you mean exactly? I remember using an RF modulator on those on old console gaming systems that did not have the typical AV ports (white, yellow, red) other than that I don't know nothing about them. maybe I could use the modulator to convert the BNC to these typical AV ports or the normal coax port?

Derek K.: thank you, that is exactly the kind of software I was looking for. I will read more of the documentation and see if I can get a test install working later.
slyderider is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-14-2011, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by slyderider View Post

Derek K.: thank you, that is exactly the kind of software I was looking for. I will read more of the documentation and see if I can get a test install working later.

pm me if you need any help with it.
Derek K. is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-14-2011, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hauppauge website View Post

Composite/S-Video and audio inputs, for cable or satellite set top boxes or VCRs.

You only need a BNC to RCA adapter and the WinTV software that came with the card.
olyteddy is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-28-2012, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
critofur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"You only need a BNC to RCA adapter and the WinTV software that came with the card."

Do you know, once you have the BNC to RCA can that be connected to a "Video In" such as the one on a video capture PC adapter device? Or does that have to be sent to a "TV Tuner"?

I ask because I need to conect the "Mon" (BNC) output from a security camera box to a PC. I got a USB Video Capture device, but now I'm thinking that I needed a TV tuner instead?
critofur is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-28-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Derek K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
a tuner won't work. you need a card with a composite input.
Derek K. is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-28-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you have neither a CCTV camera nor a tuner card, why do you consider such a solution? There are systems designed for surveillance such as Foscam cameras. They can be both wired and wireless with great range and even night vision. And you can hook up multiples of them for less than $100 each (recent deal was $69@ for FL8910W) and you can record the footage.
pixelation is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off