JRiver Media Center Owner's Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1151 Old 01-09-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Eagle784's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post

It's too soon to say. We'll know more in a couple of weeks.

Curious if there's any update on this, or CableCard support in general. Thanks.
Eagle784 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1151 Old 01-09-2012, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gaw2 View Post

Thanks for the reply. Have tried both ASIO and WASAPI and still get the message that the computer won't acept 88 or 176 thruogh its sound controller either out through SPDIF or HDMI to my pre-pro even though the pre-pro will accept thos sampling rates.. Also, ASIO won't accept multi-channel.
MC 17 gives me the option to change to 48 kHz, or 44 if I set that in DSP.
On the other hand if I ourtput through SPDIF or USB to my 2 channle M2TECH USB DAC which has its own drivers, the sopund controller does show 88 and 176 kHz. and the M2Tech DAC will then dec ode them in 2 channel
I have several 24/88 and 176 7.1 recordings that I would like to output through HDMI to the pre-pro. Can MC17 cohnterol the sound controller to do this or do the drivers have to come from Windoews or the motherboards bios?

Do you have an Nvidia GPU?
I've read in other threads on this board that Nvidia GPUs can be finicky in what sample rates they support. With my Intel based systems (one Clarkdale, the other Sandy Bridge), I have no problem passing 44, 48, 88, 96 or 192 (I don't recall having any recordings @ 176, so I don't think I have tried that).

/Anders
andersa is online now  
post #543 of 1151 Old 01-09-2012, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle784 View Post

Curious if there's any update on this, or CableCard support in general. Thanks.


Not yet. Sorry.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #544 of 1151 Old 01-09-2012, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Bill,
Try Control Panel > Sounds. If you can't get it there, try updating drivers.

I had a similar problem a while age:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=65165.0

Jim

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #545 of 1151 Old 01-18-2012, 10:31 AM
Member
 
HD-Laserdisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to use Dolby Pro-Logic IIx/z with MC? My card's drivers support IIx but since the card's control panel takes over audio after MC does (at least I think it does - X-Meridian), I won't be able to use most of MC's niceties (Room correction etc.). Also, is there an update on DVB-S? Amazing software, btw.
HD-Laserdisc is offline  
post #546 of 1151 Old 01-18-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Laserdisc View Post

Is there a way to use Dolby Pro-Logic IIx/z with MC? My card's drivers support IIx but since the card's control panel takes over audio after MC does (at least I think it does - X-Meridian), I won't be able to use most of MC's niceties (Room correction etc.). Also, is there an update on DVB-S? Amazing software, btw.

A popular method is to use JRSS to upmix to 7 channels instead of Dolby IIx. From all accounts it works as well as, or better than ProLogic IIx. Of course, if you have a 7.1 AVR, instead of just an amplifier, it might be able to apply IIx/IIz to the incoming, unadulterated, signal as another workaround.

Personally, I don't do any DSPs or room correction in JRiver MC, rather bitstreaming and letting my high end receiver apply IIx and then Audyssey DSX for a 9.2 output.
fitbrit is offline  
post #547 of 1151 Old 01-18-2012, 11:35 AM
Member
 
HD-Laserdisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks fitbrit, I know about JRSS and will try it soon, although IIx too would be nice. My amp is old with no HDMI, I'm using its 7.1 analog inputs.

Another problem is my 6.1 speaker setup (single surround back). Most configurations (including jRMC's) offer only 5.1/7.1, so I'm not sure how JRSS will behave if I set it to 7.1.
HD-Laserdisc is offline  
post #548 of 1151 Old 01-18-2012, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
There was a thread on Interact recently about using JRSS in a 6.1 configuration. Check it out - it may be useful for you.
fitbrit is offline  
post #549 of 1151 Old 01-19-2012, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Our latest version (17.0) is now considered stable. Here's the newsletter we're sending:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=69282.0

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #550 of 1151 Old 01-19-2012, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post

Our latest version (17.0) is now considered stable. Here's the newsletter we're sending:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=69282.0

Congratulations.
fitbrit is offline  
post #551 of 1151 Old 01-22-2012, 06:09 AM
Member
 
HD-Laserdisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitbrit View Post

There was a thread on Interact recently about using JRSS in a 6.1 configuration. Check it out - it may be useful for you.

Are you referring to this? I couldn't find another one. I think it's about what happens when the source is 6.1 but not about a desired 6.1 output. Also, Windows itself doesn't seem to support 6.1 output, only the usual 5.1/7.1. Maybe it's up to the audio card drivers, too.

update: Best solution I can think of, is to use the Parametric Equalizer to add the rear right to the rear left, so that the rear left will act as rear mono.
HD-Laserdisc is offline  
post #552 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
17.0.82 is on the Download page at jriver.com now. It has a couple of new 3D animated list styles. Here's "Flow":



More pictures

It also has automated lookup of "Movie and TV Info" on import.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #553 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Does anyone else have extremely poor performance in JRiver over their network? I started a post at the Jriver forums here, but the issue still hasn't been resolved. I noticed that when I'm trying to stream a blu-ray, my computer says I'm downloading at less than 1 Mb/s over the network, which is clearly not good enough to stream a blu-ray. The same files copy over my network at 800 Mb/s, and they also playback perfectly over my network using Plex.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #554 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Does anyone else have extremely poor performance in JRiver over their network? I started a post at the Jriver forums here, but the issue still hasn't been resolved. I noticed that when I'm trying to stream a blu-ray, my computer says I'm downloading at less than 1 Mb/s over the network, which is clearly not good enough to stream a blu-ray. The same files copy over my network at 800 Mb/s, and they also playback perfectly over my network using Plex.

Would it be possible to start a new thread on this? I don't think it's an issue with JRiver Media Center.

Or continue with the thread you started on our forum. You had some pretty good help there.

A virus checker could explain the problem.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #555 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post

Would it be possible to start a new thread on this? I don't think it's an issue with JRiver Media Center.

Or continue with the thread you started on our forum. You had some pretty good help there.

A virus checker could explain the problem.

I was just trying to get some more insight on this forum. I should have updated my original post though (I have now). Anti-virus software is not the problem.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #556 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

I was just trying to get some more insight on this forum. I should have updated my original post though (I have now). Anti-virus software is not the problem.

Sorry Jriver, I think you were right after all. Uninstalling Windows Security Essentials seemed to have worked (see my post on the Jriver forums). Thanks for the help!
lockdown571 is online now  
post #557 of 1151 Old 02-06-2012, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good news. Thanks for reporting the solution.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #558 of 1151 Old 02-09-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
QAM support is available for cable TV now. It's in MC17.0.85, just released here:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=69917.0

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #559 of 1151 Old 02-09-2012, 07:35 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,374
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post

QAM support is available for cable TV now. It's in MC17.0.85, just released here:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=69917.0

Am I correct in assuming this means you still don't have support for the Ceton InfiniTV 4 tuner, even for copy freely channels? Assuming that's the case, are you still looking into adding support for the Ceton (and other) CableCard tuners?
gsr is offline  
post #560 of 1151 Old 02-09-2012, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No cablecard support yet.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #561 of 1151 Old 02-15-2012, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I just downloaded JRiver v17 and the first thing I noticed was the cover art for my movies.

It appears that there's no way for JRiver to match the cover art to the actual disc that I have. For example, in MyMovies I can select Blu-ray or DVD version when I add the movie to the collection and it will automatically grab the correct cover.

Because JRiver automatically adds media to the library, I don't have the option to select the correct cover art. Or am I missing this somewhere?

Thanks.
sebberry is offline  
post #562 of 1151 Old 02-15-2012, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You can choose your cover if you right click on a single movie, then use "Get Movie & TV Info". On import or when you select multiples, it is automatic.

In the Theater View mode called "Flow", the BD & DVD discs are distinguished by the logos at the bottom of the screen.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #563 of 1151 Old 02-15-2012, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
perpetual98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebberry View Post

Because JRiver automatically adds media to the library, I don't have the option to select the correct cover art. Or am I missing this somewhere?

For the most part, JRiver MC snags information correctly. The best software that I used for grabbing metadata/covers (not MC compatible) was MetaBrowser, but when they went from Free to Paid it lost a lot of the functionality that I liked, go figure.

As jriver mentioned, you can search individual movies manually.

You can still manually download folder.jpg files into the individual folders and then right-click on the movies and there's something under Cover Art to search for the folder.jpg files. I had hundreds of folder.jpg files from when I used to run MediaBrowser, but all of those files (folder.jpg, backdrop.jpg, backdrop1.jpg, etc) were all one level above the VIDEO_TS folder which MC didn't recognize. I think they've changed that in a recent build. I'm not sure where MC is grabbing backdrop files from, perhaps it streams them to a database on use. I don't think it's using my local ones that I had previously.
perpetual98 is offline  
post #564 of 1151 Old 02-16-2012, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
News we emailed today:
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=70105.0

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #565 of 1151 Old 03-02-2012, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Gaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Kensington, NH,USA
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know if there is a videocard with HDMI output whose drivers will definately pass 24/88 and 176 kHz multichannel audio. My motherboard HDMI output will allow 16/88 and 176 multichannel but not 24 bit and my Geforce GTS450 video card will only asllow pasthrough of 44,48,96 and 192 kHz signals.
Am reviewer and need to b e able to play 24/88 and 172 kHz files bit perfect.

Bill Gaw
Bill Gaw2 is offline  
post #566 of 1151 Old 03-02-2012, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Mnoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gaw2 View Post

Anybody know if there is a videocard with HDMI output whose drivers will definately pass 24/88 and 176 kHz multichannel audio. My motherboard HDMI output will allow 16/88 and 176 multichannel but not 24 bit and my Geforce GTS450 video card will only asllow pasthrough of 44,48,96 and 192 kHz signals.
Am reviewer and need to b e able to play 24/88 and 172 kHz files bit perfect.

Bill Gaw

I have an HD6570 that does both fine with jRiver in WASAPI Excl output HDMI to an Onkyo TX-NR906.
Mnoe is offline  
post #567 of 1151 Old 03-06-2012, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Gaw2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Kensington, NH,USA
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you MNOE
Bill Gaw2 is offline  
post #568 of 1151 Old 03-06-2012, 06:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,576
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I am about to install it and give it a try... wish me luck

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #569 of 1151 Old 03-07-2012, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I am about to install it and give it a try... wish me luck

Good luck - hope you won't need it. If you get stuck, it really is worth asking the questions of the Interac forum. Try to keep the same user name there so we can identify you and say hi.
fitbrit is offline  
post #570 of 1151 Old 03-07-2012, 07:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
For those of you who use my guides I now have started to provide JRiver guides (created by GreenEyez here at AVS). The first 5 are posted. I now have 98 guides in total to hopefully get just about everyone and anyone into HTPC.

I am also going to post some audiophile guides that were created for me by an audiophile partner of mine a few months ago. Those will take time to get just right as they are very dense and very wordy.

Enjoy.

Link
assassin is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off