JRiver Media Center Owner's Thread - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
One of his posts is now missing.
I see (or rather I don't but you get what I mean )

probably better to edit the post in place rather than just delete, would avoid such misunderstandings. It seems a shame though, from what I've seen it is contributions from the more technical members of the community that have helped produce the feature set jrmc has today.
3ll3d00d is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
IgorZep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
igorzep received multiple answers but didn't like them and became a troublesome distraction.
I know customers can be distractive, but the easiest way to end the distraction is to clarify things. I got multiple answers but those are exclusively contradictory and most of them are not by JRiver personnel and so are speculations and not really answering my questions clearly. It is quite easy to answer if it is 1LSB of 2LSB, everything else is implied. It it is 1LSB TPDF - of course I cannot be satisfied because it is simply incorrect and it is not worth testing if it is declared incorrect already. If it is 2LSB - there is no problem (except minor mis-communication) and that is it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
He has not purchased.
It doesn't mean I can't go to support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
Sorry, Igor. If you want to discuss it, I'm jimh at jriver.
You know I can't do it because all I see when I am accessing anything at yabb.jriver.com is "Sorry igorzep, you are banned from using this forum!".

Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
One of his posts is now missing.
The one I was answering to is also. Agree that I was over-reactive once and answered not so politely. But suggestions not to buy the product and leave... are counterproductive and disrespectful also. But I am sorry I didn't ignored that provocation. Still it deserves a warning, not an immediate ban.
IgorZep is offline  
post #1263 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You can reach me at jimh at jriver if you want to discuss.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jriver is offline  
post #1264 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 10:13 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,488
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriver View Post
You can reach me at jimh at jriver if you want to discuss.
I think Jim means via email.

FWIW, I agree that it was rather heavy handed to ban him from the forum given the info about the situation that's been posted here.
3ll3d00d likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #1265 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 01:52 PM
Member
 
sonofsoren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have JRiver 19 and I am trying to export my playlist to iTunes. I have all my files saved on a NAS drive and they are all FLAC files. I have read that iTunes does not support FLAC files which may be my problem when I have tried to export them. Do I need to convert the files to WAV or AIFF files before I export them to iTunes? Also, my NAS drive shows up in iTunes but it only has a portion of my files listed. I thought it was going to be an easy process - is there a setting I am missing? Thanks!
sonofsoren is offline  
post #1266 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Whats the story with ATMOS support in Jriver?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1267 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
Whats the story with ATMOS support in Jriver?
Certainly not an insider for JRiver but Nyal mentioned at CEDIA that Atmos will never show up on JRiver. Or it would be a very long time. Not sure if that was opinion or he knew something.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlbeck is online now  
post #1268 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dlbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Hoping for an Auro 3D upmixer for JRiver!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlbeck is online now  
post #1269 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbeck View Post
Certainly not an insider for JRiver but Nyal mentioned at CEDIA that Atmos will never show up on JRiver. Or it would be a very long time. Not sure if that was opinion or he knew something.
Sounds like opinion.

I can ask nevcairiel and he probably would know. Hendrik was hired by Jriver last year, (he is the author of LAV filters for HTPC)

I don't follow Jriver too much myself, but if it supported ATMOS that might sway me. I don't play discs. Discs are for noobs.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1270 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbeck View Post
Certainly not an insider for JRiver but Nyal mentioned at CEDIA that Atmos will never show up on JRiver. Or it would be a very long time. Not sure if that was opinion or he knew something.
I don't see why JRiver would have to do anything specific to support Atmos. If you can bitstream TrueHD, you can send an Atmos signal. Sure, you lose the benefits of VideoClock, but it'd be worth it if Atmos is important to you.
Bluescale is offline  
post #1271 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
I don't see why JRiver would have to do anything specific to support Atmos. If you can bitstream TrueHD, you can send an Atmos signal. Sure, you lose the benefits of VideoClock, but it'd be worth it if Atmos is important to you.
That is kind of what I was thinking. I'll rip my ATMOS demo disc from CEDIA and see what I can find.

VideoClock (renamed Reclock for Jriver) does indeed break your bitstreaming, so you'd need to decode locally. Normally I copy paste the dtsdecoder.dll (stolen from demo of TMT) to do that with reclock (again I am not Jriver) but I don't think that method is going to work for ATMOS and local decoding. You'll need to native bitstream the full dolbyTrueHD stream unconverted, so no changing it to something else or encoding. But assuming you rip as ISO or MKV playback bitstreaming should decode the ATMOS (I think).

IDK... I guess I will have to mess around. I don't have an ATMOS receiver yet though

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #1272 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I've been involved in several threads with IgorZep both here and on another forum. While he can be quite blunt, his goal has always been technical accuracy, and I've never found him to use personal attacks. I'd strongly encourage the powers that be to reinstitute his status on the forum, and take advantage of his desire to make the product better. I the long run, it will only help JRiver.
Bluescale is offline  
post #1273 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 09:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
I'll rip my ATMOS demo disc from CEDIA and see what I can find.
What are you using to rip Atmos encoded discs? I was wondering if MakeMKV will work with Atmos.
Bluescale is offline  
post #1274 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Seems like Jriver could benefit by hiring a customer relations czar
mikela is offline  
post #1275 of 1275 Old Yesterday, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
I don't see why JRiver would have to do anything specific to support Atmos. If you can bitstream TrueHD, you can send an Atmos signal. Sure, you lose the benefits of VideoClock, but it'd be worth it if Atmos is important to you.
Fine if you want to bitstream, not if you want to do eq etc on the PC. There is nothing Jriver themselves can do without an atmos decoder for the PC. Dolby's public comment is basically "it is possible but no plans at this time" (from the video on ht geeks). From the thread on interact, it doesn't seem to be something on their radar. I believe his focus is on writing their Linux video engine anyway.
IgorZep likes this.
3ll3d00d is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off