JRiver Media Center Owner's Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 109Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1453 Old 10-18-2014, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge540 View Post
Hi,
So i just finished building an Asrock Q1900-ITX with the intention of running it as a client with Jriver installed. I've run into a problem of Theater View not working. It gives the error of "Error starting Direct3D engine - adapter 0 not capable of windowed mode". i see a few others have had this error and they are told to update the graphics driver.
I am running Jriver 19.0.163 and all the latest Asrock/Intel drivers/utilities. I have Win7 64bit.
any ideas? or will this not work?
I'm not sure if this is related to your problem or not - but when I was installing new graphic drives I ran into a similar (if not the same) error message. I had JRiver set to start automatically on boot up, and when I installed new graphic/video card drivers, the system did the auto restart to finish driver installation, but it started JRiver program before the driver install finished. That brought up the error. I had to boot into safe mode to be able to stop JRiver program from loading in order to let graphic drivers finish installing. Once the driver update finished I did not have any other problems.
IgorZep likes this.
CountryBumkin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1453 Old 10-18-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I inadvertently unloaded my library( Music, picture, and movies) trying to add some movies from a few of my hard drives, are they're completely lost?

Also I think I successfully changed the Drive where my music where originally being ripped to ( Local C drive),Went to options File Locator, I see it says the M Music drive ( I named it that) I've assigned it to. Would that be correct? I guess best thing is to test this, but I have to format the Music drive correctly before for transferring any music to it. Something about it being Dynamic or something similar.

Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #1443 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Did you try restoring a backup? MC makes them automatically.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #1444 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 187
No, I was trying to add movies from my hhd, I never been able to. I doubt I have space to back them up, I wouldn't try that.


Djoel
Djoel is offline  
post #1445 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 07:42 AM
Newbie
 
sheriff1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Cascading dither

If you cascade multiple dither levels don't you increase the RMS noise bt 6dB each time?

I am not sure that adding a dither plugin would fix a modulating noise floor either hence the request to enable or disable the dither in JRiver and add a single dither level via a user selectable dither plugin.
sheriff1972 is offline  
post #1446 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Edge540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post
I'm not sure if this is related to your problem or not - but when I was installing new graphic drives I ran into a similar (if not the same) error message. I had JRiver set to start automatically on boot up, and when I installed new graphic/video card drivers, the system did the auto restart to finish driver installation, but it started JRiver program before the driver install finished. That brought up the error. I had to boot into safe mode to be able to stop JRiver program from loading in order to let graphic drivers finish installing. Once the driver update finished I did not have any other problems.
ive tried updating the Intel HD Graphics drivers but it says my hardware is not sufficient. Is it even possible this board does not have the Intel HD graphics installed somehow? It only lists the standard VGA graphics adapter. im sorry for not keeping with the jriver theme here but id like to use this program on this client, if it works.
thanks
eric
Edge540 is offline  
post #1447 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge540 View Post
ive tried updating the Intel HD Graphics drivers but it says my hardware is not sufficient. Is it even possible this board does not have the Intel HD graphics installed somehow? It only lists the standard VGA graphics adapter. im sorry for not keeping with the jriver theme here but id like to use this program on this client, if it works.
thanks
eric
That sounds like your problem. Can you go to Control Panel >Device Manager> Display Adapters and see what it shows. If not what you should have, try updating drivers from there - (although downloading the correct drivers from the Asus website is usually the best method).
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #1448 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Edge540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post
I'm not sure if this is related to your problem or not - but when I was installing new graphic drives I ran into a similar (if not the same) error message. I had JRiver set to start automatically on boot up, and when I installed new graphic/video card drivers, the system did the auto restart to finish driver installation, but it started JRiver program before the driver install finished. That brought up the error. I had to boot into safe mode to be able to stop JRiver program from loading in order to let graphic drivers finish installing. Once the driver update finished I did not have any other problems.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post
That sounds like your problem. Can you go to Control Panel >Device Manager> Display Adapters and see what it shows. If not what you should have, try updating drivers from there - (although downloading the correct drivers from the Asus website is usually the best method).
attached is a screen shot of the device mngr. obviously this must be the problem. im guessing the only recourse is returning this board and getting a new one? I do not find a graphics driver on the asrock website.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	89.0 KB
ID:	319714  
Edge540 is offline  
post #1449 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge540 View Post
attached is a screen shot of the device mngr. obviously this must be the problem. im guessing the only recourse is returning this board and getting a new one? I do not find a graphics driver on the asrock website.
Right click on it, and try "update driver software". Or go to Asus site and get the (VGA) driver for your board http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Q1900...load&os=Win764
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #1450 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Edge540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post
Right click on it, and try "update driver software". Or go to Asus site and get the (VGA) driver for your board http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Q1900...load&os=Win764
I swear i did the VGA driver update but evidently i did not. I did it, and everything works great now. Thanks huge! looks like this will work after all.
Thanks CountryBumkin!
Edge540 is offline  
post #1451 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks, CountryBumkin.


Edge540, thanks for your patience and perseverance.



Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #1452 of 1453 Old 10-19-2014, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
IgorZep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheriff1972 View Post
If you cascade multiple dither levels don't you increase the RMS noise bt 6dB each time?
No
IgorZep is online now  
post #1453 of 1453 Old Today, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 32
JRiver Media Center can now act as a sound device driver. This lets you route any Windows sounds through MC so you can take advantage of MC's DSP. Requires version 20.0.27 or higher, now at the top of the MC20 board.

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=92593.msg637430#msg637430

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off