Harmony Remote + Xbox360 as extender... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-15-2011, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ngsm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I was having trouble using a cheap MCE remote to control my Xbox 360 as an extender. It seemed like it was interfering with my TV IR, as the IR receiver on the TV would flash while pressing buttons, and it would take multiple button presses to register any command on the 360 (and sometimes not work at all).

Being a Harmony One owner, I wanted to buy a Harmony remote for the bedroom, but didn't want to spend a ton of money. So I picked up a cheap Harmony 300, hoping this would solve the problem and allow me to control both TV and 360 on the same remote.

Well, with the Harmony 300, I seem to have similar problems... though they are less pronounced, it seems as if the interference is still there. I have the Harmony 300 mapped as "Microsoft - Media Center SE" I believe, and my TV is a TCL 40" LCD. It takes multiple button presses to register a command to the 360, and the LED on the TCL occasionally blinks while pressing a command for the 360.

Any thoughts or advice? It is quite annoying, especially when it decides not to function while rw/ff!

Thanks.
ngsm13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-15-2011, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 172
In your XBox settings what do you have your remote type set as?

Also, as a test could you relocate the 360? Just somewhere so that you have a different line-of-sight between the remote and the 360's IR receiver.

LCD screens emit IR noise. The TV's IR indicator shouldn't mean much, just that it is seeing your signal. Grab any other remote and see if that makes the TV's LED blink as well.

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-15-2011, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ngsm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

In your XBox settings what do you have your remote type set as?

Also, as a test could you relocate the 360? Just somewhere so that you have a different line-of-sight between the remote and the 360's IR receiver.

LCD screens emit IR noise. The TV's IR indicator shouldn't mean much, just that it is seeing your signal. Grab any other remote and see if that makes the TV's LED blink as well.

I'll check on the setting.

As far as relocating, this problem happens whether I'm in bed, or sitting 3 feet in front of the 360 pointing directly at it, and yes other remotes make the TV's LED blink as well.
ngsm13 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-15-2011, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,270
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 172
I was talking about relocating the 360, not yourself. Simply turning the Xbox 90 degrees and testing may help determine if you are getting too much IR noise from the LCD.

bryansj is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Logitech Harmony Xbox 360 Remote

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off