New HTPC Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-17-2011, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jiminybillybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys.

Been looking out for a HTPC for quite some time now, and I've finally found a setup that looks quite appealing.

Asus F1A75-I Deluxe

AMD A8-3850 Llano

Antec ISK 300-150

Then getting 4-8gb of ram, probably start out with xbmc live from a USB flashdrive and then getting a small SSD and setting up win7+xbmc ontop of that.

How do you guys think this would handle playing 1080p material(streamed from another pc) and very light gaming(emulators, old school LAN games etc)?
Should I go for an i3 sandy bridge setup instead?
I'm very much digging the remote that comes with the motherboard.. looks to be the absolute best mb for a htpc atm.

So.. Any thoughts?
Jiminybillybob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-17-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiminybillybob View Post

Hi guys.

Been looking out for a HTPC for quite some time now, and I've finally found a setup that looks quite appealing.

Asus F1A75-I Deluxe

AMD A8-3850 Llano

Antec ISK 300-150

Then getting 4-8gb of ram, probably start out with xbmc live from a USB flashdrive and then getting a small SSD and setting up win7+xbmc ontop of that.

How do you guys think this would handle playing 1080p material(streamed from another pc) and very light gaming(emulators, old school LAN games etc)?
Should I go for an i3 sandy bridge setup instead?
I'm very much digging the remote that comes with the motherboard.. looks to be the absolute best mb for a htpc atm.

So.. Any thoughts?

Depends what you mean by light gaming. Llano should do an excellent job for your HTPC tasks, but for gaming core i3 with something like a gts450 would obliterate it. You really need to look at what game and at what resolution you are going to run it to know if its playable. My guess is that any game older than 2 years will play or if setting are turned way down modern games should play fine.
jeffkro is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-18-2011, 01:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jiminybillybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In gaming I'm talking about emulators(nes, gameboy, n64) and playing older games like diablo 2, Unreal tournament, warcraft 3 etc..
Jiminybillybob is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-18-2011, 03:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I think you would be fine with that system
jeffkro is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off