HTPC/PVR Questions from a complete idiot - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-21-2011, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bros.811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I am thinking of building a PVR.

I have Verizon FiOS in NJ.

I want to be able to record any channel I have while watching another channel at the same time and play netflix movies.

I assume I would need to get a cablecard for the tuner, so the tuner could record stuff while the STB watches live TV.

After setting up the HTPC/PVR, how would I set things up? I have a coax coming from the wall going into the STB. Would I get a coax splitter or something?

Here are the parts I am thinking of:
Case - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147112
Graphics Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102882
Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371033
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231190
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157238
Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116399
Tuner: http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-WinT.../dp/B005FPT38A
Remote: http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Contro...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt

Anything missing/incompatible?

Thanks.
bros.811 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-21-2011, 03:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Assuming you are adding that cablecard tuner to an already rented/purchased Verizon Fios tuner I would think you will need to split the cable before the tuners so that each has its own feed.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-21-2011, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
lovemyram4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're getting a cablecard tuner what's the point of keeping the rented STB? It just makes thing more complicated and waste money on rental fees.

lovemyram4x4 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-22-2011, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 161
All cablecard tuners currently available, with the exception of the discontinued ATI tuner, have at least two integrated tuners so there's no need for a set-top box to watch TV. You can easily record one channel while watching another on your PC.
captain_video is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off