Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 3190 Old 06-13-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 115
You need to actually enable bitstreaming in ReClock, or it'll fail and fallback to other random components, as happened here.
Its called "Accept Bitstream Formats" in the options.

Note that ReClock cannot do its magic properly if you're bitstreaming, so its not recommended if you actually need/want ReClock to fix the video refresh.
pasiniskanen likes this.
Nevcairiel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 3190 Old 06-14-2014, 10:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fredgido View Post
Hello
Can anyone help me find the cause of my screen tearing?
It happens even with any v-sync but if I enable windows aero it disappears...
http://i.imgur.com/ojw8yAB.jpg
It tears always in the same spot with normal if I use the default V-sync.
I searched a lot but can't find the cause or a solution. My gpu is from the HD 5800 series.
Thanks
it's simple without aero no vsync you can use MadVR fullscreen exclusive mode or d3d fullscreen with EVR(not recommended at all) or aero.

this tearing looks like the normal AMD tearing i get too with my AMD card and no aero. Nvidia works pretty good without aero at least my Nvidia card i got in the past 5 years.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3003 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, after using VLC for years I decided to try MPC-HC, but I'm having some annoying trouble. Basically, when I try to play .flv or HD .mkv files, all I get as video output is a black screen. Sound is fine, I can seek in the file, only there is no video. I tried searching for a solution on the internet, but no luck. Any help will be appreciated!
Anabasis is offline  
post #3004 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
the informations you provide are not enough. we know you get a black screen in mpc-hc that's all that's nothing.

but here i guess:
you use MadVR with a rotated display?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3005 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Right, sorry, I forgot. I get a black screen regardless of which renderer I use, MadVR, Sync, Enhanced, all of them. I reinstalled MPC resetting all settings and I still have the same problem. I'm running Windows 8.1 x64 on E4500 and HD4870 512MB.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3006 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anabasis View Post
Right, sorry, I forgot. I get a black screen regardless of which renderer I use, MadVR, Sync, Enhanced, all of them. I reinstalled MPC resetting all settings and I still have the same problem. I'm running Windows 8.1 x64 on E4500 and HD4870 512MB.
what did the filter list show.
just right click in the darkness -> filter.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3007 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm attaching a screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ssht.JPG
Views:	33
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	118770  
Anabasis is offline  
post #3008 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
what hardware are you using?

disable DVXA in mpc-hc for a test.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3009 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
You mean in the Hardware Acceleration submenu under Video Decoder? Setting it to "none" gives me a video output, but it stutters badly.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3010 of 3190 Old 06-15-2014, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
the problem is your hardware looks like is too old. the dxva decoder in lavfilter is dxva 2 so you may need a dxva 1 decoder with your gpu.
try mpc-be this version still uses the old internal codecs and the dxva decoder supports partial acceleration. if i remember correct it is disabled by default.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3011 of 3190 Old 06-16-2014, 12:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not sure it's about the hardware. MPC-BE gives me exactly the same problems as MPC-HC. VLC uses DXVA2 and plays those videos with no trouble at all.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3012 of 3190 Old 06-16-2014, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
you can report this to nevcairiel in doom 9:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156191
and mpc-be:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=165890

your driver version is needed too.

Last edited by mightyhuhn; 06-16-2014 at 03:46 PM.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3013 of 3190 Old 06-17-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I have a HD4850 for testing (which is even a bit slower than your 4870), and videos play just perfectly on that. It must be something in your setup.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #3014 of 3190 Old 06-17-2014, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If it helps, I'm using the latest legacy drivers, 13.4 Beta.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3015 of 3190 Old 06-18-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Uh, they have 13.9 for the "legacy" cards, I would suggest to go try that instead.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #3016 of 3190 Old 06-18-2014, 12:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, I'm updating. For some reason, AMD's internal search kept pointing me to v13.1/13.4.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3017 of 3190 Old 06-18-2014, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Looks like 13.9 isn't even compatible with Windows 8.1. I'll switch back to 13.1 and see what happens.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3018 of 3190 Old 06-18-2014, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
...and what happens is that I keep getting a black screen. I've had enough, I'm going back to VLC for good.
Anabasis is offline  
post #3019 of 3190 Old 06-22-2014, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
you should be able to software decode most 1080p videos though with that e4500. Maybe a modest overclock is needed for really high bitrate (~35 megabit) videos.

I had a 4870 previously. Idk if it was because it had uvd 2.2, or because I was using pci express x16 v1.1, or because it was an old version of lav, but copyback wasn't fast enough for 1080p. This was before madvr supported native dxva and copyback was the only hardware option. I have the nvidia counterpart as well, the gtx 260, and it worked fine with cuvid.

anyway, as for the black screen, do you think that might be something specific to the video you're testing? Or does it happen with all h264 videos?

Last edited by MlNDBOMB; 06-22-2014 at 01:01 PM.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3020 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quick question. I noticed on some titles the audio is defaulted to DTS-HD 7.1 does it matter that my audio setup is only 5.1 or should I manually change it?
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3021 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
you need to down mix it to 5.1. if you use bitstream your AVR will do it. without bitstreaming you need to down mix it somewhere in your filter chain.
you can do this with Lavfilter
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3022 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you need to down mix it to 5.1. if you use bitstream your AVR will do it. without bitstreaming you need to down mix it somewhere in your filter chain.
you can do this with Lavfilter
Ok so I think I have nothing to worry about then because I believe I have MPC set-up to bitstream.

Another question. I cannot seem to make it so that force subtitles work. For example, I ripped Life of Pi via MakeMKV and I unchecked all subtitles except "english forced subtitles". Anyhow, during playback the forced subtitles do not automatically play unless I manually select english subtitles. Right now, forced subtitiles is selected by default.

This may belong in a different thread but should I adjust the way that I rip using makemkv?

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3023 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Sometimes MakeMKV doesn't set the 'forced' flag properly. Open MKVmerge (part of the MKVtoolnix programme) from there open Header Editor (File/Header Editor) load the file, identify the correct subtitle stream, change/add 'forced' flag and save.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #3024 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
Sometimes MakeMKV doesn't set the 'forced' flag properly. Open MKVmerge (part of the MKVtoolnix programme) from there open Header Editor (File/Header Editor) load the file, identify the correct subtitle stream, change/add 'forced' flag and save.
Ok where do I download MKVtoolnix from?

When I am about to rip the movie using makemkv, do I check only the "Subtitles English (forced only)" check-box or do I check both in their drop down like I have been?

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3025 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 975
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok where do I download MKVtoolnix from?

When I am about to rip the movie using makemkv, do I check only the "Subtitles English (forced only)" check-box or do I check both in their drop down like I have been?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=mkvtoolnix

I just rip all english subs and then set the forced flag as necessary.
jhughy2010 likes this.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #3026 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=mkvtoolnix

I just rip all english subs and then set the forced flag as necessary.
Great advice thank you! It seems to have worked for a few that have been causing me a headache.

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3027 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 08:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok so I think I have nothing to worry about then because I believe I have MPC set-up to bitstream.

Another question. I cannot seem to make it so that force subtitles work. For example, I ripped Life of Pi via MakeMKV and I unchecked all subtitles except "english forced subtitles". Anyhow, during playback the forced subtitles do not automatically play unless I manually select english subtitles. Right now, forced subtitiles is selected by default.

This may belong in a different thread but should I adjust the way that I rip using makemkv?
you can change the way LavSplitter is loading subtitle

or just press S.

there are codecs on bluray you can't bitstream and LPCM is used for this. so you should still enable a mixer.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3028 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Nice tutorial But I am really surprised that this thread does not mention the use of SmoothVideo Project (SVP) running in contrast with MPC-HC

http://www.svp-team.com/

It turns MPC-HC into a Hi-Def player

No matter what setting you apply to MPC-HC, you are not really enjoying your movies unless you have (SVP) running in the background.

Thanx for this thread! I learned a lot

Any chance at posting some tweaks to enjoying my 3D movies with MPC-HC?

One more thing in regards too 3D movies, I've noticed that KMPlayer has a Scene Depth filter for it's player.

But it's a independent filter.

Would you know if there are any Scene Depth filters available for MPC-HC somewhere?
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3029 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you can change the way LavSplitter is loading subtitle

or just press S.

there are codecs on bluray you can't bitstream and LPCM is used for this. so you should still enable a mixer.
I appreciate your response. Could you be a little more specific though?

1. How would I know that the codec on the specific bluray cannot be bitstreamed? All of my BD movies say either DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD on my AVR screen. This leads me to believe that it is properly decoding the audio. If it wasn't bitstreaming properly I would expect to see PCM on the AVR screen. Furthermore, how would I enable a mixer?

2. I have ignorantly played around in the LavSplitter with all its settings and cannot seem to figure it out. What should the settings be?

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3030 of 3190 Old 06-24-2014, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 89
@SABERWOLF357

you can destroy your picture quality as much as you want with SVP but this is not a must have for HI DEF.
steelman1991 and Nevcairiel like this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off