Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 104 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3103 Old 07-14-2014, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 52
DXVA runs on a ASIC so the GPU it self is not really working it's a extra chip on it.
but there are some AMD card that lose about 50 % of there power by using DXVA.
for some reason some AMD card stay in medium powerstate when DXVA is used so it a possibility. you can check this with GPU-Z. don't judge playback with open GPU-Z this tool tends to produces dropped frames when running.
DXVA scaling is very bad on AMD and NVIDIA...
mightyhuhn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3103 Old 07-14-2014, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
DXVA runs on a ASIC so the GPU it self is not really working it's a extra chip on it.
but there are some AMD card that lose about 50 % of there power by using DXVA.
for some reason some AMD card stay in medium powerstate when DXVA is used so it a possibility. you can check this with GPU-Z. don't judge playback with open GPU-Z this tool tends to produces dropped frames when running.
DXVA scaling is very bad on AMD and NVIDIA...
Oh good to know. What would you recommend for my card then?
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #3093 of 3103 Old 07-14-2014, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 52
this depends on what type of file you may play.

1440x1080x30i 60f 16/9 TV transportstream is pretty hard and totally normal...

i personally pref spline 3 AR you can try spline without AR and have a look at the rendertimes.
you may think about profiles to make sure 1080p doesn't use bilinear for chroma.
for 30 FPS you need lower rendertiems than: ~33 ms and for 60 fps: ~16 ms
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3094 of 3103 Old 07-15-2014, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SABERWOLF357 View Post
Thanx for the speedy reply

I was just thrown off by the description which it says in the thread heard "run the installer for it" "XySubFilter", which it's a batch download, but it does have a install.bat.

I did what you said... I created a folder in MPC-HC an named it "XySubFilter", ran the XySubFilter.bat, it installed with no problem.

I set XySubFilter too preferred



It looks like it's recognized in MPC-HC



So my question too you is, what is the clear advantage of using this filter? I see no difference between the way subs are loaded by default using MPC-HC compared too this filter?

Unless I am not using it (set it up) right?

Also... how do I disable subs from loading automatically in MPC-HC? I thought it was by unticking this box?



Thanx in advance
You think you can help me here mightyhuhn?

I don't know weather I appied or using it right?

What difference am I suppose to see?
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3095 of 3103 Old 07-15-2014, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 52
try this test sample http://www.file-upload.net/download-...Space.mkv.html with ISR and xy subfilter.
it's a complicated topic about colorspaces and things like that and has to a lot to do how ASS subtitles are created.
xy subfilter is faster anyway.

Last edited by mightyhuhn; 07-15-2014 at 08:21 AM.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3096 of 3103 Old 07-15-2014, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
try this test sample http://www.file-upload.net/download-...Space.mkv.html with ISR and xy subfilter.
it's a complicated topic about colorspaces and things like that and has to a lot to do how ASS subtitles are created.
xy subfilter is faster anyway.
I got it now!

Thanx very much for the example!

very niffty tool! in deed!
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3097 of 3103 Old 07-15-2014, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
this depends on what type of file you may play.

1440x1080x30i 60f 16/9 TV transportstream is pretty hard and totally normal...

i personally pref spline 3 AR you can try spline without AR and have a look at the rendertimes.
you may think about profiles to make sure 1080p doesn't use bilinear for chroma.
for 30 FPS you need lower rendertiems than: ~33 ms and for 60 fps: ~16 ms
I inputed spline 3 AR for chrome and image upscaling.
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #3098 of 3103 Old 07-15-2014, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Pastuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Running Catalyst 14.7 RC I'm getting INSANE dropped frames. Many per second. Doesn't seem to matter what MADVR settings are used. Hell, even the default MPC-HC setup drops frames. It's so bad I've been forced to used VLC for the first time in 5 years.

Anyone had any luck?

R9 290
Windows 8.1
MPC-HC 32bit
clean install of everything.
Uninstalled old copy of lav splitter and cleaned registry.
Pastuch is offline  
post #3099 of 3103 Old 07-16-2014, 01:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastuch View Post
Running Catalyst 14.7 RC I'm getting INSANE dropped frames. Many per second. Doesn't seem to matter what MADVR settings are used. Hell, even the default MPC-HC setup drops frames. It's so bad I've been forced to used VLC for the first time in 5 years.
I don't see any problem. The behavior is close to 14.4 and 14.6 RC2. Did you clean the registry by AMD Clean Uninstall Utility (amdcleanuputility.exe v1.4.0.0)?
renethx is offline  
post #3100 of 3103 Old 07-18-2014, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SABERWOLF357 View Post
Nice tutorial But I am really surprised that this thread does not mention the use of SmoothVideo Project (SVP) running in contrast with MPC-HC

http://www.svp-team.com/

It turns MPC-HC into a Hi-Def player

No matter what setting you apply to MPC-HC, you are not really enjoying your movies unless you have (SVP) running in the background.

Thanx for this thread! I learned a lot

Any chance at posting some tweaks to enjoying my 3D movies with MPC-HC?

One more thing in regards too 3D movies, I've noticed that KMPlayer has a Scene Depth filter for it's player.

But it's a independent filter.

Would you know if there are any Scene Depth filters available for MPC-HC somewhere?
Still wold like to know if there are any 3D scene depth filters available for MPC-HC

Like other players have



If anyone knows plz! re-ply
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3101 of 3103 Old 07-22-2014, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 55
On the first post, under the section "What you need to download", why is LAV filters not listed?
Does that mean the built-in filters are ok?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #3102 of 3103 Old 07-22-2014, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 52
build in filters in mpc-hc is lavfilter so they are ok.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3103 of 3103 Old 07-22-2014, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need Help New on this

Hi

I wanted to check if anyone can help me with my settings.
I've installed CCCP and MDVR.

I run with HTPC Dual core 3.0GHz
Windows XP
Radeon HD6450 1GB DRR3

I have Epson TW 7200
and Yamaha HTR 4065
speaker 5.1

I plugged the HTPC HDMI -> Yamaha -> Epson.

What settings should I have on the MPC and MDVR.
I look only at 1080p movies size of the films around 15GB.

Thanks in advance
Abotiz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off