Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 104 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3184 Old 07-14-2014, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
DXVA runs on a ASIC so the GPU it self is not really working it's a extra chip on it.
but there are some AMD card that lose about 50 % of there power by using DXVA.
for some reason some AMD card stay in medium powerstate when DXVA is used so it a possibility. you can check this with GPU-Z. don't judge playback with open GPU-Z this tool tends to produces dropped frames when running.
DXVA scaling is very bad on AMD and NVIDIA...
mightyhuhn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3184 Old 07-14-2014, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
DXVA runs on a ASIC so the GPU it self is not really working it's a extra chip on it.
but there are some AMD card that lose about 50 % of there power by using DXVA.
for some reason some AMD card stay in medium powerstate when DXVA is used so it a possibility. you can check this with GPU-Z. don't judge playback with open GPU-Z this tool tends to produces dropped frames when running.
DXVA scaling is very bad on AMD and NVIDIA...
Oh good to know. What would you recommend for my card then?
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #3093 of 3184 Old 07-14-2014, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
this depends on what type of file you may play.

1440x1080x30i 60f 16/9 TV transportstream is pretty hard and totally normal...

i personally pref spline 3 AR you can try spline without AR and have a look at the rendertimes.
you may think about profiles to make sure 1080p doesn't use bilinear for chroma.
for 30 FPS you need lower rendertiems than: ~33 ms and for 60 fps: ~16 ms
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3094 of 3184 Old 07-15-2014, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SABERWOLF357 View Post
Thanx for the speedy reply

I was just thrown off by the description which it says in the thread heard "run the installer for it" "XySubFilter", which it's a batch download, but it does have a install.bat.

I did what you said... I created a folder in MPC-HC an named it "XySubFilter", ran the XySubFilter.bat, it installed with no problem.

I set XySubFilter too preferred



It looks like it's recognized in MPC-HC



So my question too you is, what is the clear advantage of using this filter? I see no difference between the way subs are loaded by default using MPC-HC compared too this filter?

Unless I am not using it (set it up) right?

Also... how do I disable subs from loading automatically in MPC-HC? I thought it was by unticking this box?



Thanx in advance
You think you can help me here mightyhuhn?

I don't know weather I appied or using it right?

What difference am I suppose to see?
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3095 of 3184 Old 07-15-2014, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
try this test sample http://www.file-upload.net/download-...Space.mkv.html with ISR and xy subfilter.
it's a complicated topic about colorspaces and things like that and has to a lot to do how ASS subtitles are created.
xy subfilter is faster anyway.

Last edited by mightyhuhn; 07-15-2014 at 08:21 AM.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3096 of 3184 Old 07-15-2014, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
try this test sample http://www.file-upload.net/download-...Space.mkv.html with ISR and xy subfilter.
it's a complicated topic about colorspaces and things like that and has to a lot to do how ASS subtitles are created.
xy subfilter is faster anyway.
I got it now!

Thanx very much for the example!

very niffty tool! in deed!
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3097 of 3184 Old 07-15-2014, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
this depends on what type of file you may play.

1440x1080x30i 60f 16/9 TV transportstream is pretty hard and totally normal...

i personally pref spline 3 AR you can try spline without AR and have a look at the rendertimes.
you may think about profiles to make sure 1080p doesn't use bilinear for chroma.
for 30 FPS you need lower rendertiems than: ~33 ms and for 60 fps: ~16 ms
I inputed spline 3 AR for chrome and image upscaling.
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #3098 of 3184 Old 07-15-2014, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Pastuch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Running Catalyst 14.7 RC I'm getting INSANE dropped frames. Many per second. Doesn't seem to matter what MADVR settings are used. Hell, even the default MPC-HC setup drops frames. It's so bad I've been forced to used VLC for the first time in 5 years.

Anyone had any luck?

R9 290
Windows 8.1
MPC-HC 32bit
clean install of everything.
Uninstalled old copy of lav splitter and cleaned registry.

My Theater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pastuch is offline  
post #3099 of 3184 Old 07-16-2014, 01:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,188
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastuch View Post
Running Catalyst 14.7 RC I'm getting INSANE dropped frames. Many per second. Doesn't seem to matter what MADVR settings are used. Hell, even the default MPC-HC setup drops frames. It's so bad I've been forced to used VLC for the first time in 5 years.
I don't see any problem. The behavior is close to 14.4 and 14.6 RC2. Did you clean the registry by AMD Clean Uninstall Utility (amdcleanuputility.exe v1.4.0.0)?

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #3100 of 3184 Old 07-18-2014, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SABERWOLF357 View Post
Nice tutorial But I am really surprised that this thread does not mention the use of SmoothVideo Project (SVP) running in contrast with MPC-HC

http://www.svp-team.com/

It turns MPC-HC into a Hi-Def player

No matter what setting you apply to MPC-HC, you are not really enjoying your movies unless you have (SVP) running in the background.

Thanx for this thread! I learned a lot

Any chance at posting some tweaks to enjoying my 3D movies with MPC-HC?

One more thing in regards too 3D movies, I've noticed that KMPlayer has a Scene Depth filter for it's player.

But it's a independent filter.

Would you know if there are any Scene Depth filters available for MPC-HC somewhere?
Still wold like to know if there are any 3D scene depth filters available for MPC-HC

Like other players have



If anyone knows plz! re-ply
SABERWOLF357 is offline  
post #3101 of 3184 Old 07-22-2014, 03:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 62
On the first post, under the section "What you need to download", why is LAV filters not listed?
Does that mean the built-in filters are ok?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #3102 of 3184 Old 07-22-2014, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
build in filters in mpc-hc is lavfilter so they are ok.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3103 of 3184 Old 07-22-2014, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need Help New on this

Hi

I wanted to check if anyone can help me with my settings.
I've installed CCCP and MDVR.

I run with HTPC Dual core 3.0GHz
Windows XP
Radeon HD6450 1GB DRR3

I have Epson TW 7200
and Yamaha HTR 4065
speaker 5.1

I plugged the HTPC HDMI -> Yamaha -> Epson.

What settings should I have on the MPC and MDVR.
I look only at 1080p movies size of the films around 15GB.

Thanks in advance
Abotiz is offline  
post #3104 of 3184 Old 07-29-2014, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I'm a noob with MPC-HC & MadVR and I thought I followed this guide pretty well but I'm having some trouble with really low quality DVD files (MKV). Everything I have has been ripped with MakeMKV. Blu-ray movies and most DVD's look great but some of my movies get pixelated really bad (see attached pic). I just don't know where to begin to try and correct this, any help would be appreciated.

System Info:
AsRock Z87M Pro4
Intel Core i5-4570
Asus R9 270
8 GB RAM 1600Mhz

Win 7 Pro 64 bit
MPC-HC 1.7.6
LAV Filters
madVR v0.87.10

I have tried the same files with VLC and they play without a problem (except for the massive tearing that led me to build this machine and try madVR in the first place).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	35
Size:	289.1 KB
ID:	186602  

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3105 of 3184 Old 07-29-2014, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Sorry, double post.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3106 of 3184 Old 07-30-2014, 12:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
disable DXVA and try again looks like a the hardware decoder can't handle the stream.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3107 of 3184 Old 07-31-2014, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
disable DXVA and try again looks like a the hardware decoder can't handle the stream.
Would I find that in the madVR settings, or the video card settings?

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3108 of 3184 Old 07-31-2014, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
look at the "Video Decoding" of this guide.

select none
Dropkick Murphy likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3109 of 3184 Old 07-31-2014, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
look at the "Video Decoding" of this guide.

select none
Thank you very much, that was it.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3110 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 12:28 AM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just upgraded to latest MPHC 1.7.6...and MadVR 0.87.10
I run Windows 7...32bit with Geforce 550Ti

My question is the MPHC external filters appearance I have normal?..ie should they be there in External Filters?
I thought they were internal?

When I do a right click in active MPHC ...the filters dont look right?
What is the File Source(Async)? and why is the LAV Splitter showing low merit?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ExternalFilters.PNG
Views:	29
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	197217   Click image for larger version

Name:	InternalFilters.PNG
Views:	26
Size:	133.0 KB
ID:	197225   Click image for larger version

Name:	MPHCfilters.png
Views:	24
Size:	564.8 KB
ID:	197233  
devoz is offline  
post #3111 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 04:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
[quote=devoz;26301985]My question is the MPHC external filters appearance I have normal?..ie should they be there in External Filters?
I thought they were internal?[quote]

you are using the internal mpc-hc filter in this case. it's working as intended so what external problem are you talking about.

Quote:
When I do a right click in active MPHC ...the filters don't look right?
looks totally normal to me. looks like you have not installed a lavfilter(not needed with newer MPC-HC version) so it uses the internal. just leave the settings at default and everything is fine no need for changes.

Quote:
What is the File Source(Async)?
this is a filter that loads to different file for playback looks like it loads an eternal subtitle file in this case. not sure i don't have your files can be audio or everything else too.
Quote:
and why is the LAV Splitter showing low merit?
you deselected it for most cases so it falls back it. because it is disabled for the source you are playing right now it's shown as low merit.


i recommand you to reset the settings. i don't know about subtitles in your case. looks like you have installed a normal vsfilter not recommended by me. you set the internal lavfilter as external filter for what ever reason and even a avi filter what ever that is. and the filter without name is even more strange.
most of your settings are unneeded and even ignore.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3112 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 07:37 AM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=mightyhuhn;26303409][quote=devoz;26301985]My question is the MPHC external filters appearance I have normal?..ie should they be there in External Filters?
I thought they were internal?
Quote:

you are using the internal mpc-hc filter in this case. it's working as intended so what external problem are you talking about.

looks totally normal to me. looks like you have not installed a lavfilter(not needed with newer MPC-HC version) so it uses the internal. just leave the settings at default and everything is fine no need for changes.

this is a filter that loads to different file for playback looks like it loads an eternal subtitle file in this case. not sure i don't have your files can be audio or everything else too.
you deselected it for most cases so it falls back it. because it is disabled for the source you are playing right now it's shown as low merit.


i recommand you to reset the settings. i don't know about subtitles in your case. looks like you have installed a normal vsfilter not recommended by me. you set the internal lavfilter as external filter for what ever reason and even a avi filter what ever that is. and the filter without name is even more strange.
most of your settings are unneeded and even ignore.
Yes... so I installed MPHC latest version...which includes the LAV filters built in
so as far as the Subtitle filter I have to check and make sure its the correct one
it was setup using only the info provided by this guide.
Subtitles are displaying perfectly ...

So I am asking why if LAV filters are the internal ones ...they are showing up
as External ones...is it possible
I have remnants of old LAV filters left over
(I always uninstalled when using separate LAV Filters..ie before they were incorporated into MPHC)

Its why I included the screen captures of my MPHC setup...so you can see
This is the Subfilter being used when playing Movie(see picture)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VobSubInfo.PNG
Views:	13
Size:	165.0 KB
ID:	197569  

Last edited by devoz; 08-05-2014 at 07:44 AM. Reason: needed information
devoz is offline  
post #3113 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
My question is the MPHC external filters appearance I have normal?..ie should they be there in External Filters?
I thought they were internal?
the external filters are used to force a high merit to be blocked or a low merit filter to be used/set higher.
at the moment you load a lavfilter(most likely the internal) as external filter. i don't know why you did this you have to tell me that.

in the end MPC-HC will use any filter it can use without settings this up.

reset the settings and choice madVR and everything should be fine. about subtitle follow the guide.
devoz likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3114 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think when I installed the new version it has picked up the old settings
which included when I was using Externally installed LAV Filters
(ie version of MPHC before LAV Filters were made internal)
So I took your suggestion removed the External filters from the list
and Reset...MPHC.
Now my filters look better when playing a Movie
see pic below
Still not sure about Subtitles though...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ResetMPHCFilters.png
Views:	18
Size:	322.2 KB
ID:	197593  
devoz is offline  
post #3115 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
for ASS subtitles xy vsfilter or xy subfilter are the most accurate and fastest one but they are buggy with PGS subs from BD sometimes.

the internal subtitle filter from MPC-HC doesn't have problems with dvd/BD subs at all.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3116 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 08:34 AM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MPC was working fine - now will not play dvds from computer's drive and freezes and displays error message for 1/2 of mkv files. Reinstalled player - same thing. Using Gateway 6803-35, 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7-930 processor, ATI radeon HD 5850, 9GB DDR3 RAM. WMP works fine, but I can't seem to get the dts dll file to work with WMP - blu ray files with dts ma play with core audio. Using 32 bit version, computer is 64 bit. Had same problems with 64 bit version. Not using MAD VR. Any help would be greatly appreciated - either to fix problem with mpc or suggestions for another player or how to get the dts file to work with wmp. thank you.
gerall is offline  
post #3117 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
for ASS subtitles xy vsfilter or xy subfilter are the most accurate and fastest one but they are buggy with PGS subs from BD sometimes.

the internal subtitle filter from MPC-HC doesn't have problems with dvd/BD subs at all.
As shown below...and checked with info from first page..this is the one I have installed

So are saying the internal subfilter can be better in some circumstances than the one recommended
on First page...ie xy subfilter...beta??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VobSubInfo.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	165.0 KB
ID:	197641  
devoz is offline  
post #3118 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 88
yes, but it is terrible at ASS subs compared to this one.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3119 of 3184 Old 08-05-2014, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
yes, but it is terrible at ASS subs compared to this one.
Okay ...good ...then I will stick with my current setup then
MPHC etc all seems to be fixed now...Thanks for your help
devoz is offline  
post #3120 of 3184 Old 08-06-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
MPC was working fine - now will not play dvds from computer's drive and freezes and displays error message for 1/2 of mkv files. Reinstalled player - same thing. Using Gateway 6803-35, 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7-930 processor, ATI radeon HD 5850, 9GB DDR3 RAM. WMP works fine, but I can't seem to get the dts dll file to work with WMP - blu ray files with dts ma play with core audio. Using 32 bit version, computer is 64 bit. Had same problems with 64 bit version. Not using MAD VR. Any help would be greatly appreciated - either to fix problem with mpc or suggestions for another player or how to get the dts file to work with wmp. thank you.
Any help would be appreciated. mpc still crashing. can't seem to get dts dll to work with wmp....thanks!
gerall is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off