Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 109 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3264 Old 12-04-2014, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
doesn't have any effect. because it is never used with madVR.



see this guide at:

MadVR Config
I got this sample, in 4K


its total slideshow, 100% cpu usage, why is that? format is MPEG-TS..48 megabits...
dazed81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3264 Old 12-04-2014, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Are you sure? Recently I played a "re encoded" HEVC movie (granted 1080p) utilizing MPC-HC and it didn't even bother my i7. Why would UHD make that much of a difference?
you can play a astra UHD 50 FPS 18 mbit stream with a i7 but thanks to the 64 bit version this is not possible or at least a lot harder with the 32 bit version we are using here in this thread.

so it's not that simple. but 18 mbit is a lot less than a blu ray uses for 1080p right now.
high quality UHD will run at atleast 25-50 mbit and i'm pretty sure my i7 is not up to that task.

of cause a i7 can play a UHD HEVC clip with 8 or lower mbit with no problem what so ever.
I said a i7 can't play high quality UHD HEVC. let's change this to: an i7 can't play a high quality UHD HEVC video with more than ~25 mbit. I'm not even sure the 32 bit version of lavfilter can do 15 mbit UHD HEVC. and lavfilter is pretty fast in HEVC decoding.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3243 of 3264 Old 12-04-2014, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazed81 View Post
I got this sample, in 4K

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Na9F4UbrVc

its total slideshow, 100% cpu usage, why is that? format is MPEG-TS..48 megabits...
the linked youtube file is a maximum 1080p AVC file at about 4.3 mbit nothing special.

the MPEG.TS is a container usually used for TV transportstreams (TS) you can add easily HEVC to the m2ts version of this container not sure about the normal TS version playing 48 mbit HEVC is an most likely not possible with current hardware. the 48 mbit could be everything from HEVC to mpeg2. the version of youtube is not 48 mbit.
dazed81 likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3244 of 3264 Old 12-04-2014, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you can play a astra UHD 50 FPS 18 mbit stream with a i7 but thanks to the 64 bit version this is not possible or at least a lot harder with the 32 bit version we are using here in this thread.

so it's not that simple. but 18 mbit is a lot less than a blu ray uses for 1080p right now.
high quality UHD will run at atleast 25-50 mbit and i'm pretty sure my i7 is not up to that task.

of cause a i7 can play a UHD HEVC clip with 8 or lower mbit with no problem what so ever.
I said a i7 can't play high quality UHD HEVC. let's change this to: an i7 can't play a high quality UHD HEVC video with more than ~25 mbit. I'm not even sure the 32 bit version of lavfilter can do 15 mbit UHD HEVC. and lavfilter is pretty fast in HEVC decoding.
I'm sorry mightyhuhn but I'm having a hard time understanding what you are saying.

Your first sentence contradicts itself (maybe edit your response).

Your second sentence says that an i7 (which I'm assuming your talking about Haswell) cannot handle 25-50 Mbps?

In the last second I cannot discern anything you are saying (maybe really edit this response). Sorry

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3245 of 3264 Old 12-05-2014, 02:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the linked youtube file is a maximum 1080p AVC file at about 4.3 mbit nothing special.

the MPEG.TS is a container usually used for TV transportstreams (TS) you can add easily HEVC to the m2ts version of this container not sure about the normal TS version playing 48 mbit HEVC is an most likely not possible with current hardware. the 48 mbit could be everything from HEVC to mpeg2. the version of youtube is not 48 mbit.
I posted that video just to show what it is....i got 4K version of it in the format i stated on my pc, is it possible with some tweak to play it without total lag?
dazed81 is offline  
post #3246 of 3264 Old 12-05-2014, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazed81 View Post
I posted that video just to show what it is....i got 4K version of it in the format i stated on my pc, is it possible with some tweak to play it without total lag?
MPEG-TS didn't say what codec is used. if it is HEVC forget with your CPU. it it is AVC it should work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm sorry mightyhuhn but I'm having a hard time understanding what you are saying.

Your first sentence contradicts itself (maybe edit your response).

Your second sentence says that an i7 (which I'm assuming your talking about Haswell) cannot handle 25-50 Mbps?

In the last second I cannot discern anything you are saying (maybe really edit this response). Sorry
I just make it totally simple. it's not a good idea that I try to write something complicated.

a 3830x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 100 mbit is a huge problem for a CPU.
a 3840x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 2 mbit is easy to decode.


there could be a simple to decode 80 mbit file to because encoding settings play a big rule too.

in the future 20 mbit and a lot more will be used for TV broadcast and for the new 4K BD. and that's still a problem for a high end CPU's.

you can read this thread to get an idea.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171219
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3247 of 3264 Old 12-05-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
MPEG-TS didn't say what codec is used. if it is HEVC forget with your CPU. it it is AVC it should work.


I just make it totally simple. it's not a good idea that I try to write something complicated.

a 3830x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 100 mbit is a huge problem for a CPU.
a 3840x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 2 mbit is easy to decode.


there could be a simple to decode 80 mbit file to because encoding settings play a big rule too.

in the future 20 mbit and a lot more will be used for TV broadcast and for the new 4K BD. and that's still a problem for a high end CPU's.

you can read this thread to get an idea.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171219

Hmm ok. Still hard to understand. I'll take a look at that thread.

So far, HEVC seems to be promising. Playback of a re-encoded blu ray movie via MPC-HC is rock solid. HEVC allows for a drastically smaller file size over H.264 which is great for storage on a nimble external hard drive. I am wondering how much more efficient transcoding will be with HEVC. I'm tempted to experiment around with it, however, my i5 (server) does a fine job at transcoding on the fly.

Living room theater set-up:  
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1124-K.
Speakers/Sub: (4) NHT Classic Two and an NHT TwoC center + PSA-XV15 subwoofer.
HTPC: z97 mobo, 16GB mem, i5-4440, SSD+HD, LG BD drive, Win 8.1 pro w/WMC + MB3.
Content sources: OTA Winegard HD7698P, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Netflix etc.
HDTV: Sharp LC-60SQ15U (ehhh).
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3248 of 3264 Old 12-05-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
MPEG-TS didn't say what codec is used. if it is HEVC forget with your CPU. it it is AVC it should work.


I just make it totally simple. it's not a good idea that I try to write something complicated.

a 3830x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 100 mbit is a huge problem for a CPU.
a 3840x2160 HEVC 24 FPS file with 2 mbit is easy to decode.


there could be a simple to decode 80 mbit file to because encoding settings play a big rule too.


Can't be offloaded to the GPU?
dazed81 is offline  
post #3249 of 3264 Old 12-06-2014, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Moritzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I adjust embedded PGS subtitles to make them smaller? None of the settings seems to affect playback in either M2TS or MKV files. Specifically, I want to make them smaller and lower in the frame or full screen mode.

If not, can I scale an external SUP file?

I am aware how to convert them, but I want to save time because I am not saving the files after viewing.

Last edited by Moritzio; 12-06-2014 at 08:27 PM.
Moritzio is offline  
post #3250 of 3264 Old 12-06-2014, 08:58 PM
thu
Newbie
 
thu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put in a new R9-270 today with a fresh of install of Windows 7 so I could try out Mindbomb's guide with all the upper settings in MPC-HC and MadVR.

It it mostly working, but I think I've run into a problem with MadVR and auto refresh rate switching.

The videos that are 23.976 switch the tv to 23.976 and there are no dropped frames.

Some of the videos I play says "movie 29.970 fps" but MadVR switches the tv to "display 23.976". Then these videos drop frames like crazy.

And the weird thing is I saw at least one or two "movie 29.970 fps" were switched to "display 59.93 and those played with no dropped frames.

My tv's available resolutions and the MadVR switching settings I'm using are attached along with some examples.

So everything seems to be fine except the cases of 29.97 movie rate running at 23.96 display rate. How do I get MadVR to swith to 59.93 for those?

Is there an option somewhere in MPC or MadVR that I may have missed that would cause this?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	example 2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	186.7 KB
ID:	406306   Click image for larger version

Name:	display res.PNG
Views:	29
Size:	6.4 KB
ID:	406314   Click image for larger version

Name:	madvr settings.PNG
Views:	29
Size:	4.8 KB
ID:	406322  
thu is offline  
post #3251 of 3264 Old 12-06-2014, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by thu View Post
I put in a new R9-270 today with a fresh of install of Windows 7 so I could try out Mindbomb's guide with all the upper settings in MPC-HC and MadVR.

It it mostly working, but I think I've run into a problem with MadVR and auto refresh rate switching.

The videos that are 23.976 switch the tv to 23.976 and there are no dropped frames.

Some of the videos I play says "movie 29.970 fps" but MadVR switches the tv to "display 23.976". Then these videos drop frames like crazy.

And the weird thing is I saw at least one or two "movie 29.970 fps" were switched to "display 59.93 and those played with no dropped frames.

My tv's available resolutions and the MadVR switching settings I'm using are attached along with some examples.

So everything seems to be fine except the cases of 29.97 movie rate running at 23.96 display rate. How do I get MadVR to swith to 59.93 for those?

Is there an option somewhere in MPC or MadVR that I may have missed that would cause this?


don't use interlaced mode for display mode. to get this working properly you need to disable deinterlacing not a good idea.

you use madVR force film mode on a file that is not 3:2 (film in interlaced) this simple doesn't work.
@dazed81
there is no real 100% hardware HEVC DXVA so no chance.
dazed81 likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3252 of 3264 Old 12-07-2014, 01:47 AM
thu
Newbie
 
thu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks mightyhuhn. I think you fixed it.

I UNchecked "disable automatic source type detection" "force film mode" and then replayed the same files as in the examples I posted. They both now show "movie 29.97" and "display 59.97" with no dropped frames.

So it looks like it was that setting that was messing everything up. The guide said to check that setting because it wasn't working right when the guide was made. Maybe it is working now? Hard to say for sure with only a couple of test files. But so far so good.
thu is offline  
post #3253 of 3264 Old 12-10-2014, 04:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a problem with the settings listed here in "Display Modes" (about refresh rate).
I've configured everything properly, but when I play a video on my Samsung tv (1920x1080 @60) the refresh changes like it should and the resolution doesn't, but actually the image on the screen goes a little out of the tv, and closing MPC put everything back to normal.
What can I do?

Last edited by a8213711; 12-10-2014 at 08:59 AM.
a8213711 is offline  
post #3254 of 3264 Old 12-10-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
first of all you should never change the resolution. all current display device have a native resolution and this resolution should be use.
there is a problem with your TV.
for some reason the over scan from your TV actives.
if you use PC mode you can easily get in huge problem with samsung. most samsung only support PC mode with 60 hz leaving 60 Hz can create a bunch of problems.
a8213711 likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3255 of 3264 Old 12-10-2014, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
first of all you should never change the resolution. all current display device have a native resolution and this resolution should be use.
there is a problem with your TV.
for some reason the over scan from your TV actives.
if you use PC mode you can easily get in huge problem with samsung. most samsung only support PC mode with 60 hz leaving 60 Hz can create a bunch of problems.
I don't want to change the resolution, neither the tv report it different than when MPC is closed, still there is this annoyance!
What is this 'PC mode' and how can I disable it?
Thank you.


EDIT:
Ok, I found out that I have renamed my HDMI to PC and that enabled it, but I also read that disable it takes some downside (I don't remember why I enabled it in the first place), so the question is how should I set my pc/tv? (I never play games on it, if that helps, also I wouldn't want to rely too much on 'Smooth Motion' since I have a low budget laptop)

Last edited by a8213711; 12-10-2014 at 11:57 AM.
a8213711 is offline  
post #3256 of 3264 Old 12-10-2014, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
sorry no way to really help you all settings depends on how your TV behavior, your GPU and what you like to achieve.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3257 of 3264 Old 12-10-2014, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
I have a problem with the settings listed here in "Display Modes" (about refresh rate).
I've configured everything properly, but when I play a video on my Samsung tv (1920x1080 @60) the refresh changes like it should and the resolution doesn't, but actually the image on the screen goes a little out of the tv, and closing MPC put everything back to normal.
What can I do?
Adjust the overscan while switched to the refresh rate that is problematic (e.g. change the refresh rate to 24 Hz, fix the overscan, change back to 60 Hz). The overscan setting should be retained next time it auto swithes to 24 Hz.
a8213711 likes this.
Roussi is offline  
post #3258 of 3264 Old 12-11-2014, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you, I think I solved!
There is "Screen Fit" on picture option on my Samsung which seems to be remembered, and it solves the problem. (although I still haven't tried with more refresh than 60 and 24)
a8213711 is offline  
post #3259 of 3264 Old 12-12-2014, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Actually I have another problem: my tv doesn't set the appropriate refresh rate (25Hz) even if supports it (from
Spoiler!
).
I tried 2 files with 25fps (as seen in tag 'says source filter' in MPC) and:
- the first put the tag Display on 59.94, infact the tv goes on 59Hz
- the second shows Display on 50, tv on 50Hz.
In MadVR I wrote 1080p25, then why the refresh isn't set at 25?
a8213711 is offline  
post #3260 of 3264 Old 12-12-2014, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
MattAlex151's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I'm having some crackling / lipsync issues with MPC-HC/madVR/Reclock and was hoping to get a few more eyes on my thread. Thanks!
avsforum.com/forum/26-home-theater-computers/1803322-lip-sync-crackling-w-mpc-hc-madvr-reclock.html
MattAlex151 is offline  
post #3261 of 3264 Old 12-13-2014, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
Actually I have another problem: my tv doesn't set the appropriate refresh rate (25Hz) even if supports it (from
Spoiler!
).
I tried 2 files with 25fps (as seen in tag 'says source filter' in MPC) and:
- the first put the tag Display on 59.94, infact the tv goes on 59Hz
- the second shows Display on 50, tv on 50Hz.
In MadVR I wrote 1080p25, then why the refresh isn't set at 25?
is there any 25 hz source out there? isn't everything 50i with pal? or with other words if the source is interlaced it is 50 fps after deinterlacing.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3262 of 3264 Old Yesterday, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry mightyhuhn, I can't understand what you're saying.
I have in MadVR
Spoiler!

and I tryied with 2 different files (disabled smooth motion meanwhile, but before doing it, it was still the same):
Spoiler!

Spoiler!

in control panel there are:
Spoiler!

Spoiler!

The last 2 pictures don't say respectively that my TV and my GPU are capable of 25Hz?

Last edited by a8213711; Yesterday at 05:07 AM.
a8213711 is offline  
post #3263 of 3264 Old Yesterday, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 124
in this post 50 hz was not listed:
Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide

you have tried 2 file one is 25i (better know as 50i) and one is 25p. the 25i file should switch 60 hz because your Tv didn't reported 50p in this screen.

but with the new screens it should work....
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3264 of 3264 Old Today, 05:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
in this post 50 hz was not listed:
Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide

you have tried 2 file one is 25i (better know as 50i) and one is 25p. the 25i file should switch 60 hz because your Tv didn't reported 50p in this screen.

but with the new screens it should work....
In that post the image is taken from OP; in the later post the 2 images are from my pc, so you say it should work at 25, but it doesn't..any tips?
Also how do you see if they are at 25p or 25i?
a8213711 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off