Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 112 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3331 of 3399 Old 03-10-2015, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can't cycle through XySubFilter subs with keyboard. Is there even a way?
a8213711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3332 of 3399 Old 03-10-2015, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello to all
I have one question
While i choose at options-->output-->Directshow video-->Madvr when i start play something at right click ,filters dont show me madvr to choose.
Has anybody idea why this happening?
Thanks in advance.
Droper88 is offline  
post #3333 of 3399 Old 03-10-2015, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
I can't cycle through XySubFilter subs with keyboard. Is there even a way?
Yes, "Next Subtitle" should do this. If it doesn't, something is at fault with your LAV Splitter settings or subtitle settings in MPC.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #3334 of 3399 Old 03-11-2015, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Yes, "Next Subtitle" should do this. If it doesn't, something is at fault with your LAV Splitter settings or subtitle settings in MPC.
Are you sure?
"Next subtitle" is the one in Keys with ID=954? Because that doesn't work for me.
I followed the guide so there shouldn't be any problem with my config, also isn't that shortcut for the MPC-HC subs render which I disabled?
a8213711 is offline  
post #3335 of 3399 Old 03-11-2015, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Scott231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time to build another HTPC to tap into my home network and connect to projector. Thought I would simply throw the $4 to ReneTHX for the latest Guide. What do I get? The same edition I used to build my first HTPC back in 2011, Weak!!
Scott231 is offline  
post #3336 of 3399 Old 03-12-2015, 02:59 AM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Guys i want your expertise. Atm i upscaling everything with madvr to 2160p and im on my limit with my 970 so question is if i force madvr to upscale to 50 or 60p will be better as matter the motion? Keep in mind that i am a fan of crisp image and that's why in my 55ub950v i use the truemotion setting.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3337 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 07:02 AM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I tried it and i didn't saw to much difference.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3338 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
how to upscale refreshrates what are you doing?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3339 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
I can't cycle through XySubFilter subs with keyboard. Is there even a way?
works fine for me pressing S using MPC-HC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Droper88 View Post
Hello to all
I have one question
While i choose at options-->output-->Directshow video-->Madvr when i start play something at right click ,filters dont show me madvr to choose.
Has anybody idea why this happening?
Thanks in advance.
what software do you use ?
madVr doesn't work with 64 bit mpc-hc.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3340 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 03:08 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
how to upscale refreshrates what are you doing?
I just set in madvr monitor refresh rates only 2160p50 or 2160p60 and everything that madvr plays is going to this refresh but i dont know if madvr has the ability to create frames so maybe this is useless.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3341 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
I just set in madvr monitor refresh rates only 2160p50 or 2160p60 and everything that madvr plays is going to this refresh but i dont know if madvr has the ability to create frames so maybe this is useless.
it will repeat frame/drop frames to match the output refreshrate and with smoothmotion it will blend them. so it does nothing useful for your TV settings.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3342 of 3399 Old 03-13-2015, 05:52 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thx ... btw if i enable smooth motion i see trails in image... is this normal? I don't like it at all so is off for me.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3343 of 3399 Old 03-14-2015, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
Thx ... btw if i enable smooth motion i see trails in image... is this normal? I don't like it at all so is off for me.
madVR SM and motion interpolation is not a good idea.
you could see all types of issue with your motion interpolation. i highly recommend not to use it together.

the aim of madVR SM is to show the video in it's intended way. so a 24 hz movie on a 60 hz screen still looks like a 24 hz movie.

without motion interpolation the picture may looks a bit more blurry or you may see ghost.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3344 of 3399 Old 03-14-2015, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
I can't cycle through XySubFilter subs with keyboard. Is there even a way?
the S key should do it. If there are a lot of subtitles, it may be easier to just manually pick one then scroll through all of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
madVR SM and motion interpolation is not a good idea.
you could see all types of issue with your motion interpolation. i highly recommend not to use it together.

the aim of madVR SM is to show the video in it's intended way. so a 24 hz movie on a 60 hz screen still looks like a 24 hz movie.

without motion interpolation the picture may looks a bit more blurry or you may see ghost.
i agree with mightyhuhn in that you can't use motion interpolation on your tv with smooth motion in madvr. Let me add that if your tv has these features, then you probably have a 24hz refresh rate available to you as well, so use that. Smooth motion should automatically turn itself off if the frame rate and refresh rate match or if the refresh rate is a multiple of the frame rate.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3345 of 3399 Old 03-14-2015, 12:34 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thx guys i thought when i enabled sm in a 24hz movie and playing it in native 24hz that was something like the truemotion setting that the tv has which is in specific to add intermitiate frames to make the image smoother in fast scene movements but as i see is not the case here so i play everything in its native mode and im happy.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3346 of 3399 Old 03-16-2015, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
When I save a screenshot with the built-in function in MPC-HC it is saved with the resolution of the file and not of the (bigger) output, is this normal? If not, where could be the problem between MPC-HC and madVR (both are updated)?

Also to those saying that pressing S will cycle through XySubFilter subs: are you sure you don't have in playback autoload subtitles checked?
a8213711 is offline  
post #3347 of 3399 Old 03-16-2015, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by a8213711 View Post
When I save a screenshot with the built-in function in MPC-HC it is saved with the resolution of the file and not of the (bigger) output, is this normal? If not, where could be the problem between MPC-HC and madVR (both are updated)?
that's normal
Quote:
Also to those saying that pressing S will cycle through XySubFilter subs: are you sure you don't have in playback autoload subtitles checked?
i don't see an option like this under playback. i'm using mpc-hc 1.7.8.95
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3348 of 3399 Old 03-17-2015, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
evil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry if I'm being slightly off topic;

Do you guys prefer to demux/remux the BDMV/.m2ts into a .mkv, or just watch the .m2ts?

Also, do I lose any quality by performing any of the above?

And finally, do you use LAV splitters to select the audio stream/subs etc. you want for your movies (Filters -> LAV Splitter -> ...), or you remux the full package into a new one , leaving only the audio stream you need? Some people say, MPC-HC can get buggy if you change streams on-the-fly?

Oh and yes, what's the usual audio bitrate a Blu-ray usually offers? ~1509kbps?
evil. is offline  
post #3349 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 05:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil. View Post
Do you guys prefer to demux/remux the BDMV/.m2ts into a .mkv, or just watch the .m2ts?
i personally highly prefer MKV i usually don't care about menus and stuff like this. i always reencode pcm to flac which is 100% lossless.

Quote:
Also, do I lose any quality by performing any of the above?
a simple remux is lossless.

Quote:
And finally, do you use LAV splitters to select the audio stream/subs etc. you want for your movies (Filters -> LAV Splitter -> ...), or you remux the full package into a new one , leaving only the audio stream you need? Some people say, MPC-HC can get buggy if you change streams on-the-fly?
yes I use lavfilter to select the audio and subtitle stream.
i can't remember any problems when switching the audio stream on the fly.
but you have to know what you need and what not.
if you encounter some issue feel free to report them:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166689
Quote:
Oh and yes, what's the usual audio bitrate a Blu-ray usually offers? ~1509kbps?
depends on codec, channel, bit deep and khz.

1536000 bit per (~1500kbit) sec is 16 bit 48 khz stereo LPCM.

dd trueHD and dts hd ma are both lossless codecs and don't have a fixed size.
5.1 24 bit 48khz can easily have over 7000 kbit. LPCM can reach up to 27.648 Mbit/s.
i know that japanese anime BDs usually use 24 bit 2 channel LPCM which is about 2450 kbit.
but i'm sure hollywood movies use more because they are usually 5.1 or 7.1

so there is no general answer to this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3350 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
evil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post

1536000 bit per (~1500kbit) sec is 16 bit 48 khz stereo LPCM.

dd trueHD and dts hd ma are both lossless codecs and don't have a fixed size.
5.1 24 bit 48khz can easily have over 7000 kbit. LPCM can reach up to 27.648 Mbit/s.
i know that japanese anime BDs usually use 24 bit 2 channel LPCM which is about 2450 kbit.
but i'm sure hollywood movies use more because they are usually 5.1 or 7.1

so there is no general answer to this.
That's interesting. I really haven't watched a movie above ~1500kbps. Or do I have to decompress the audio somehow? Or is MediaInfo not reliable/trustworthy?
evil. is offline  
post #3351 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 464 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil. View Post
That's interesting. I really haven't watched a movie above ~1500kbps. Or do I have to decompress the audio somehow? Or is MediaInfo not reliable/trustworthy?
you may need to look more closely. you may have looked at a DTS core not the DTS HD MA stream.
or you may haven't muxed the HD track at all and only the default core AC3 or DTS strack.
and don't forget lavfilter can't decode DTS HD MA on is own yet just look at the guide in this thread.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3352 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil. View Post
Sorry if I'm being slightly off topic;

Do you guys prefer to demux/remux the BDMV/.m2ts into a .mkv, or just watch the .m2ts?

Also, do I lose any quality by performing any of the above?

And finally, do you use LAV splitters to select the audio stream/subs etc. you want for your movies (Filters -> LAV Splitter -> ...), or you remux the full package into a new one , leaving only the audio stream you need? Some people say, MPC-HC can get buggy if you change streams on-the-fly?

Oh and yes, what's the usual audio bitrate a Blu-ray usually offers? ~1509kbps?
I just rip/remux the main title with the preferred audio into a single .m2ts file.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #3353 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
evil.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post
I just rip/remux the main title with the preferred audio into a single .m2ts file.
Why not a .mkv? Or you just don't want the extra steps
evil. is offline  
post #3354 of 3399 Old 03-18-2015, 01:32 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
M2ts are fine for me also no need extra steps ... also my samsung bd player is happy to play 3d m2ts files ripped from original blurays so thats a perfect container for second reason for me.
BlueChris is offline  
post #3355 of 3399 Old 03-19-2015, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil. View Post
Why not a .mkv? Or you just don't want the extra steps
No real reason, sometimes the main film is just a single .m2ts file and I just copy it instead since stripping out an audio channel doesn't really save that much space. I also used to own a Popcorn Hour streaming device that could play an m2ts file just fine but would choke on mkv files, so that's probably part of it, too.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #3356 of 3399 Old 03-23-2015, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Edit - Setup MPC HC as external player but had a problem with it finding my movies. I knew that I had to re-define the "path" to my videos so that MPC HC would know where to look so I guess I've soved the problem I had so nevermind.


-Brian

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 03-23-2015 at 05:57 AM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #3357 of 3399 Old 03-26-2015, 05:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey,

Is dtsdecoderdll.dll necessary if your PC is plugged directly into an amplifier with DTS-HD support? I'll add that there's no soundcard; it goes PC -> amplifier -> amplifier out -> tv all via HDMI cables.
kseniasolo is offline  
post #3358 of 3399 Old 03-26-2015, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Providing your CPU has the ability to pass DTS-HD - then no its not needed.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #3359 of 3399 Old 03-26-2015, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
That is true, but also, the newer lav audio builds can decode dts-hd with no external files now. I'll be updating the guide soon, I think when it makes it's way into the latest stable mpc hc.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3360 of 3399 Old 03-26-2015, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Knew it was being worked on - didn't realise Henrik had been successful brilliant.
steelman1991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off