Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 113 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3384 Unread 03-26-2015, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post
That is true, but also, the newer lav audio builds can decode dts-hd with no external files now. I'll be updating the guide soon, I think when it makes it's way into the latest stable mpc hc.
Nice.
JDLIVE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3384 Unread 04-02-2015, 03:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I am having some problems with MPC-HC playing high frame rate 1080p videos and was hoping someone here could help me out.

I followed the guide for setting up MadVR and ReClock. I chose bicubic scaling instead of Jinc. It works perfectly well except when I watch 1080p 60fps video from youtube or twitch.tv (streamed or downloaded to HDD). The video goes out of sync with the audio by several seconds. The video playback is slower, and after a few seconds the audio continuously stops and starts to let the video catch up slightly. The average render+present time is about 7ms, but the max render time over 5s is around 85ms. The decode, upload, render, and present queues stay close to 1-3, 1-2, 1-2, and 0-1. I get about 3 to 5 dropped frames per second.

My CPU is a Q6600 2.4GHz and my GPU is a GTX260.
MindsMirror is offline  
post #3363 of 3384 Unread 04-02-2015, 09:58 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Your pc m8 cannot cope with that because it's in its limit with 24p and for 60p is almost triple work, i myself with a i7 4790k and a 970 i lower the settings to see 60p

Last edited by BlueChris; 04-02-2015 at 10:01 PM.
BlueChris is online now  
post #3364 of 3384 Unread 04-03-2015, 12:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
To be honest, I wasn't sure if that comment was serious or not. I know my hardware is old, but I would have thought it is capable of playing 1080p60 video. I can play 720p60 videos perfectly, so I would also think your far more powerful hardware could easily handle just over twice that resolution.

I thought about it a bit more, and I guess since the decode queue is almost empty, it must be causing a bottleneck. I went back to the video decoder settings and turned hardware acceleration from NVIDIA CUVID to none and that fixed the problem. So I guess it's my graphics card that can't handle that high bit rate stream?
MindsMirror is offline  
post #3365 of 3384 Unread 04-03-2015, 01:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
yes looks like your hardware acceleration can't keep up. usually GPUs doesn't really care about mbit/s. 40 mbit shouldn't be a problem but they care a lot about FPS and resolution.

BTW. even an intel HD 4000 works totally fine with madVR you don't need super powerful hardware to use this renderer.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3366 of 3384 Unread 04-03-2015, 07:36 AM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I was serious is just English is not my native language so i am misunderstood some times. I have also none and not cuvid in my settings but i said something wrong or i forgot it and that is that i upscale everything to 4k thats why i got problems with 1080p60 videos upscaled to 2160p60... if i dont upscale im ok with 60p
BlueChris is online now  
post #3367 of 3384 Unread 04-06-2015, 05:16 PM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would someone say that this setup rivals blu-ray and other media players or just on par? It does give a distinct look to the videos that i dont see anywhere else or is it just me?
dioxholster is offline  
post #3368 of 3384 Unread 04-06-2015, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxholster View Post
would someone say that this setup rivals blu-ray and other media players or just on par? It does give a distinct look to the videos that i dont see anywhere else or is it just me?
I think it's sharper than my stand alone player. (Sony BDP BX59)

Could be because of the advanced codecs and chroma up-sampling algorithms.

Also, the ability to use a 3D LUT calibration makes a big difference to my setup. My Gamma has always been somewhat off before using 3D LUT calibration.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #3369 of 3384 Unread 04-07-2015, 12:26 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxholster View Post
would someone say that this setup rivals blu-ray and other media players or just on par? It does give a distinct look to the videos that i dont see anywhere else or is it just me?
I don't have an oppo player that has great pic quality but i sence i have very good picture
BlueChris is online now  
post #3370 of 3384 Unread 04-08-2015, 03:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxholster View Post
would someone say that this setup rivals blu-ray and other media players or just on par? It does give a distinct look to the videos that i dont see anywhere else or is it just me?
the decoded picture from the decoder is the same with any BD player or lavfilter.

the differences are in the needed post processing.

in a normal BP player playback chain you have to change the chroma from 4:2:0 to 4:2:2. HDMI can send 4:2:0. so chroma needs to be upscaled and dithered if they do anything else they are not showing the creators intend and this is objectively bad. output 4:4:4 or RGB is an option too. but this is unlikely because most TV down scale everything they get to 4:2:2. except in gaming or PC mode and it most cases limited to 60 HZ too. so sending 4:2:2 is the save way to deal with this using a BD player.

the whole thing changes with a PC you get RGB at some point so you need to output the best RGB to the GPU possible that's why you need madVR.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3371 of 3384 Unread 04-08-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the decoded picture from the decoder is the same with any BD player or lavfilter.

the differences are in the needed post processing.

in a normal BP player playback chain you have to change the chroma from 4:2:0 to 4:2:2. HDMI can send 4:2:0. so chroma needs to be upscaled and dithered if they do anything else they are not showing the creators intend and this is objectively bad. output 4:4:4 or RGB is an option too. but this is unlikely because most TV down scale everything they get to 4:2:2. except in gaming or PC mode and it most cases limited to 60 HZ too. so sending 4:2:2 is the save way to deal with this using a BD player.

the whole thing changes with a PC you get RGB at some point so you need to output the best RGB to the GPU possible that's why you need madVR.
Are you saying that TV's receiving a signal from a PC whilst in PC mode won't downscale to 4:2:2?

Also, is madVR necessary if all my rips are full bitrate BD?

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (MB3), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #3372 of 3384 Unread 04-08-2015, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Are you saying that TV's receiving a signal from a PC whilst in PC mode won't downscale to 4:2:2?
some doesn't do that i can't say that for all TV samsung is known to support 4:4:4 only at 60 hz. on the other hand 1080p sonys are know to do it at any refreshrate with PC or orginal PC mode.
Quote:
Also, is madVR necessary if all my rips are full bitrate BD?
if you care for correct colors/chroma scaling/dithering/~insert more here~ than yes madVR is necessary but VLC produces a "picture" too.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3373 of 3384 Unread 04-08-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
some doesn't do that i can't say that for all TV samsung is known to support 4:4:4 only at 60 hz. on the other hand 1080p sonys are know to do it at any refreshrate with PC or orginal PC mode.

if you care for correct colors/chroma scaling/dithering/~insert more here~ than yes madVR is necessary but VLC produces a "picture" too.
How do I figure out if my TV is producing displaying 4:4:4?

Is madVR settings "out of the box" producing correct colors, chroma scalling, etc, when used for BD? I have madVR but only manipulated the settings for 24p.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (MB3), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #3374 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 12:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
How do I figure out if my TV is producing displaying 4:4:4?

Is madVR settings "out of the box" producing correct colors, chroma scalling, etc, when used for BD? I have madVR but only manipulated the settings for 24p.
you can use this picture http://madshi.net/madVR/ChromaRes.png you have to watch this picture unscaled.

madVR does a correct YCbCr -> RGB conversation and does high bit deep chroma scaling and dithers the results. 24p has nothing to do with this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3375 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you can use this picture http://madshi.net/madVR/ChromaRes.png you have to watch this picture unscaled.

madVR does a correct YCbCr -> RGB conversation and does high bit deep chroma scaling and dithers the results. 24p has nothing to do with this.
Ok I'll try that... my laptop is saying 4:2:2

I am now wondering what my HTPC will say

As far as madVR is concerned... are the default settings adequate? I am using madVR but I haven't done anything to adjust the settings besides adjusting them for 24Hz playback.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (MB3), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #3376 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok I'll try that... my laptop is saying 4:2:2
a aptop with 4:2:2 that's very very strange are you sure the image was unscaled?

Quote:
I am now wondering what my HTPC will say
without gaming or PC mode for nearly for sure 4:2:2

Quote:
As far as madVR is concerned... are the default settings adequate? I am using madVR but I haven't done anything to adjust the settings besides adjusting them for 24Hz playback.
the output of madVR is RGB so you doesn't have to change anything.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3377 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
a aptop with 4:2:2 that's very very strange are you sure the image was unscaled?


without gaming or PC mode for nearly for sure 4:2:2


the output of madVR is RGB so you doesn't have to change anything.
I left clicked the image and it zoomed in revealing 4:4:4 is that correct?

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (MB3), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #3378 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I left clicked the image and it zoomed in revealing 4:4:4 is that correct?
technical yes you just need a 1:1 pixel mapping.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3379 of 3384 Unread 04-09-2015, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
technical yes you just need a 1:1 pixel mapping.
Ok so my Sharp SQ Q+ TV displays 4:2:2

Anyway to get 4:4:4?

I have Intel igpu... in the GPU properties should I enable YCbCR?

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (MB3), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #3380 of 3384 Unread Yesterday, 01:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok so my Sharp SQ Q+ TV displays 4:2:2

Anyway to get 4:4:4?
i guess it is impossible on such a screen you know they play around with extra sub pixels so they have to do some math things and these are usaully a lot faster on 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 less pixel to calculate new pixel from...
try gaming mode or PC mode but i'm not a sharp professional at all.
Quote:
I have Intel igpu... in the GPU properties should I enable YCbCR?
i just tried my HD 4400 with my crappy TV that supports 4:4:4 and the YCbCr settings doesn't matter for this case i got 4:4:4 anyway but not using it is technically better.

they even have a working limited range and full range switch now. well met intel well met.
jhughy2010 likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3381 of 3384 Unread Yesterday, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rexb610's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, question. I have mp4 file that says it has 5.1 audio. However, when I play it using MPC-HC my receiver won't show 5.1 like the other file formats ie. .mkv, .mts etc.

Is there a setting i'm missing inside MPC-HC to make it 5.1 audio?

Thanks in advance!
rexb610 is offline  
post #3382 of 3384 Unread Yesterday, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 81
What format is the audio? Given the container its likely to be AAC (just a guess), which is unlikely to bitstream to your receiver (few, if any have the ability), but will decode in the pc and send to the receiver as PCM (on some receivers that displays as 'multi-channel' or something similar).
steelman1991 is online now  
post #3383 of 3384 Unread Today, 01:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 149
if your receiver is connected using SPDIF sending 5.1 PCM is not possible and lav is most likely limited to 5.1 DTS or AC3 stuff like aac/flac 5.1 need a realtime AC3/dts reencode.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3384 of 3384 Unread Today, 12:37 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone here with a 970 and latest drivers? My problem is that i cannot save the full rgb setting and also this ability to change that in nvidia control panel apears only when madvr plays a movie. .then i can change the setting but if nothing is played the options don't exist. ..it's crazy
I don't know what to do. . I rolled back drivers everything.
BlueChris is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off