Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 118 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 57Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 3532 Old 07-04-2015, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
are you sure both videos have the same frame rate?

you can post a screen from the OSD (control+j) if you like.
The video lag & aliasing with increasing "presentation glitches" only occurred in window mode. Once I run the video in fullscreen, everything is perfect (presentation glitches=0).
Skylinestar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 3532 Old 07-04-2015, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 101
What's the best setting for "image doubling"?
super-xbr sharpness 100? neuron with biggest number?

Last edited by Skylinestar; 07-04-2015 at 06:39 AM.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #3513 of 3532 Old 07-04-2015, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 169
nnedi3 is better with more neuron unlike other scaler higher is better in this case.

some people don't like nnedi3 in general so the best is what looks best to your eyes.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3514 of 3532 Old 07-05-2015, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
What's the best setting for "image doubling"?
super-xbr sharpness 100? neuron with biggest number?
technically nnedi3 with the highest neuron number. But the performance is very low and it doesn't work well on AMD hardware. Super xbr sharpness is basically preference, seems like a lot of ppl like the 100 value.
jhughy2010 likes this.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3515 of 3532 Old 07-08-2015, 12:38 AM
Member
 
bran82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I'm using latest madVR and MPC-HC. Playing more or less only 720p/1080p videos (no anime) on my 3440*1440 screen.

I do however feel I ain't getting as much sharpness as I want? Using nnedi3 (used for 1.5x and above) 128 neurons and jinc atm.


What would your suggestion be for the scenario above? Graphics card is 980 GTX Ti, so there is some grunt available.
bran82 is offline  
post #3516 of 3532 Old 07-08-2015, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 64
check if nnedi3 is actually being used with ctrl+j. you might have to go down to 1.2x scaling factor for 1080p videos, depending on aspect ratio. You can try lanczos 4 with antiringing if you want more sharpness than jinc, but it has more aliasing too. And you can try super xbr with maximum sharpness too instead of nnedi3.
jhughy2010 likes this.

Last edited by MlNDBOMB; 07-08-2015 at 07:29 AM.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #3517 of 3532 Old 07-09-2015, 02:41 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post
check if nnedi3 is actually being used with ctrl+j. you might have to go down to 1.2x scaling factor for 1080p videos, depending on aspect ratio. You can try lanczos 4 with antiringing if you want more sharpness than jinc, but it has more aliasing too. And you can try super xbr with maximum sharpness too instead of nnedi3.
I use mpc hc - is it possible to play Blu-ray discs and what is the most trouble free way to do this? I used make mkv but would like to just pop in a disc and play it like a dvd. Thank you
gerall is offline  
post #3518 of 3532 Old 07-09-2015, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
I use mpc hc - is it possible to play Blu-ray discs and what is the most trouble free way to do this? I used make mkv but would like to just pop in a disc and play it like a dvd. Thank you
MPC-HC doesn't decode BD. You'll need something like PowerDVD or Total Media Theater.

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3519 of 3532 Old 07-10-2015, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
MPC-HC doesn't decode BD. You'll need something like PowerDVD or Total Media Theater.
MPC-HC will play blu ray discs if you have Sly Soft's decrypter AnyDVD HD
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #3520 of 3532 Old 07-10-2015, 08:43 AM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
MPC-HC will play blu ray discs if you have Sly Soft's decrypter AnyDVD HD
Thank you. Does this require an internet connection to play blu-rays?
gerall is offline  
post #3521 of 3532 Old 07-10-2015, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Thank you. Does this require an internet connection to play blu-rays?
You will need to purchase AnyDVD. I got a lifetime license quite a number of years ago. AnyDVD is regularly updated via the internet but the software resides on your computer. I believe the decryption takes place on your computer and not over the internet.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #3522 of 3532 Old 07-10-2015, 10:31 AM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
You will need to purchase AnyDVD. I got a lifetime license quite a number of years ago. AnyDVD is regularly updated via the internet but the software resides on your computer. I believe the decryption takes place on your computer and not over the internet.
Thank you very much. So all I do is download and install and it works perfectly with MPC HC - just play the Blu-ray like any other DVD?
gerall is offline  
post #3523 of 3532 Old 07-10-2015, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Thank you very much. So all I do is download and install and it works perfectly with MPC HC - just play the Blu-ray like any other DVD?
Yes, anyDVD HD stays resident and will automatically scan discs and remove encryption when inserted into you optical drive. The scanning process will show on your monitor. When the scanning finishes you can go to Files in MPC-HC and open disk.

Extra Benefit that you did not ask about: Also, you may install virtual CloneDrive a free program from Slysoft.com if you also want to play files you have ripped to .iso. Install Virtual CloneDrive and assign a drive letter and play .iso files. MPC.HC will locate your movie as a disc on that virtual drive.

Last edited by Postmoderndesign; 07-12-2015 at 11:41 AM.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #3524 of 3532 Old 07-14-2015, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Thank you very much. So all I do is download and install and it works perfectly with MPC HC - just play the Blu-ray like any other DVD?
Menus will not work. It just plays the main title. I think it gives you the option of selecting another title on the disk, I have not used that.
Roussi is offline  
post #3525 of 3532 Old 07-15-2015, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post
Menus will not work. It just plays the main title. I think it gives you the option of selecting another title on the disk, I have not used that.
Yes, MPC-HC just plays the main title. Some people like that. If you don't try PowerDVD to get menus which I find helpful on discs which contain a number of TV episodes.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #3526 of 3532 Old 07-20-2015, 03:16 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post
Yes, MPC-HC just plays the main title. Some people like that. If you don't try PowerDVD to get menus which I find helpful on discs which contain a number of TV episodes.
Thank you. Are there any quality or usability differences between powerdvd or mpc-hc with any dvd hd for Blu-ray playback?
gerall is offline  
post #3527 of 3532 Old 07-20-2015, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Thank you. Are there any quality or usability differences between powerdvd or mpc-hc with any dvd hd for Blu-ray playback?
For Blu-ray on a 1080 display they look and sound the same to me. For DVD I prefer MPC-HC but then I have an older version of PowerDVD -11.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #3528 of 3532 Old 07-21-2015, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post
Thank you. Are there any quality or usability differences between powerdvd or mpc-hc with any dvd hd for Blu-ray playback?
MPC-HC really stands out for ripped media (like Blu Ray MKV files). Especially when coupled with madVR. I have found that the only way to reliably switch to 24Hz with ripped media is to use MPC-HC/madVR. Furthermore, MPC-HC works seamlessly with Emby, Kodi, etc. PowerDVD not so much (unless playing ISO files and/or 3D I think).

Gear: Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center).
PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby), Fire TV Stick, Chromecast
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U (HCFR calibrated)
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #3529 of 3532 Old 07-21-2015, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I have found that the only way to reliably switch to 24Hz with ripped media is to use MPC-HC/madVR.
+1

A big reason why I used that combo. Most of my content watching is Blu-Ray so MadVR really doesn't do much for me, but the refresh rate switching and ease of use in a CIH setup are why I still have it.
jhughy2010 likes this.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #3530 of 3532 Old 07-29-2015, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Spdif problem

hello
i have this problem with my spdif out.
i download movies in MicroHD format and if audio is AC3 multichannel my home cinema is decoding the DTS or Dolby.
But if the mkv file has AAC 48KHz 6 channel AAC(LC) is decoding like PCM 2 channel and it has strangeDistortion.
this is the output :

SPLITTER
if audio is AC3 : Dolby AC3 48000Hz 6ch 512kbps -> Audio: S/PDIF 48000Hz stereo 1536kbps
if audio is AAC :Audio: AAC 48000Hz 6ch -> Audio: IEEE Float 48000Hz 6ch 9216kbps

Thank you
jim788e is offline  
post #3531 of 3532 Old 07-30-2015, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 169
spdif can't bitstream 5.1 aac so it is not possible to get this codec as 5.1 to the receiver using spdif.

you have to realtime reencode it or use hdmi or analog to get 5.1 to the receiver. spdif is a very bad choice anyway.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3532 of 3532 Old Today, 03:27 AM
Senior Member
 
ttnuagmada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was hoping someone could give me a quick suggestion on quality settings I should be using for 1080p content on a 1080p television. I've used MadVR for a long time and im familiar with smooth motion and whatnot , but it seems they've added a ton of scalers and whatnot in recent versions, and im not sure what i should be aiming for here. HTPC is pretty powerful (2500K and Nvidia 780)
ttnuagmada is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off