Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 3202 Old 11-01-2011, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmmeli View Post

I do not have an ifo. All my dvd's are ripped to video ts folders.

yea, the ifo files are in the video ts folder.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 3202 Old 11-01-2011, 04:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i have a question for ATi users,
in CCC - Display COlor (digital flat-panel) settings
there is a COlor Temperature Control option:
Use EDID , you have this box checked or unchecked?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #333 of 3202 Old 11-01-2011, 05:00 PM
Member
 
rmmeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

yea, the ifo files are in the video ts folder.

I am using Media Browser to launch MPC-HC. How does it decide what to pass to MPC-HC?
rmmeli is offline  
post #334 of 3202 Old 11-02-2011, 12:26 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_Montana View Post

in CCC - Display COlor (digital flat-panel) settings
there is a COlor Temperature Control option:
Use EDID , you have this box checked or unchecked?

Uncheked. I tried to enable it and found picture too warm, couldn't fix it with other settings in CCC and TV. Also tried to make a pixel shader based on EDID values and found picture same warm too.
Maybe those values are just wrong. I mean they are common for all TVs for that model, but TV's matrices etc are bit different actually.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #335 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 06:46 AM
Newbie
 
hvda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OSD feedback to user on a MPC-HC "Subtitle On/Off" command ?

Actually I'am doing some tests to find out how MPC-HC is behaving when uniquely controlled with a Remote Control (robustness, behaviour when pressing "unexpected" buttons on the remote control, focus-behaviour, Wife Acceptance Factor,etc).

I would like to know if it is possible to get an OSD confirmation when Subtitles are toggled On/Off with the "W" keyboard key (or whatever Remote Control button that has been adequately configured - I use LM Remote KeyMap for that purpose).
I verified that the "Next Subtitle" (and "Next Audio") commands trigger OSD, so that the user gets proper feedback when he presses the assigned Remote Control buttons, but no user feedback seems to come when a "Subtitle On/Off" command is sent to MPC-HC.

I'am actually testing with MPC-HC Build 1.5.2.3456 on a Vista Home - 32 bit environment PC.

Read with great interest your MPC-HC setup guide; thanks for the effort.
hvda is offline  
post #336 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Just a heads up, but the new MadVR now does hardware deinterlacing through DXVA2 (similair to what VMR or EVR does) on cards that support it. So now there is one less step that is needed and you can remove ffdshow YADIF deinterlacer from the list of filters. (this is more centered for those of us using ATI/AMD cards as if you had Nvidia you could use LAV CUVID decoder to do hardware deinterlacing for a while now)

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings
Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings
HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT660 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60
fairchild99 is offline  
post #337 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 08:31 AM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having issues with madflac volume when watching content via hdmi. Is there a way to troubleshoot and find out why it's low compared to when I'm playing it on my pc?
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #338 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 08:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

I'm having issues with madflac volume when watching content via hdmi. Is there a way to troubleshoot and find out why it's low compared to when I'm playing it on my pc?

Try WASAPI exclusive mode (by ReClock).
renethx is offline  
post #339 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 08:51 AM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Try WASAPI exclusive mode (by ReClock).

I currently only utilize the tv speakers, I haven't been able to invest in a surround sound setup yet. Will using ReClock benefit me even without Surround Sound?
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #340 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 09:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Low volume problem with madFlac is often fixed by using WASAPI exclusive mode.
renethx is offline  
post #341 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 09:07 AM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Low volume problem with madFlac is often fixed by using WASAPI exclusive mode.

Thank you, I will start the setup now. I appreciate the help renethx.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #342 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 09:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Hmm, madVR DXVA2 deinterlacing is not optimized for Intel HD Graphics, heavy stuttering (Intel QS/libavcodec+DXVA2 deinterlacing+madVR). Intel QS+yadif+madVR works beautifully for all AVC/VC-1/MPEG-2 interlaced contents.
renethx is offline  
post #343 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
i think its an issue of memory bandwidth.

the same reason it was previously recommended that you get an nvidia card with gddr5 for cuvid.

anyway, can you try with software decoding?
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #344 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 11:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
renethx is offline  
post #345 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
oh, i thought you were using ffdshow quicksync
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #346 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 12:32 PM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Low volume problem with madFlac is often fixed by using WASAPI exclusive mode.

Renethx, I've been having issues with reclock. I followed the http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...20#post1534720 but I get this error when trying to watch mkv's with flac.

The audio format is not supported by the hardware / driver:
48000 samples/sec
24 bit PCM
6 channels

I am using madvr, madflac, lav, and mpc-hc. Is there anyway I can get this to work? I've been trying everything and reading all over and finally decided to post the question. Thank you for your help.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #347 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
you have to select 32 bit padded as the output format.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #348 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:11 PM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

you have to select 32 bit padded as the output format.

Where do I select that? The only two options for 32bit are 32 bit and 32 bit ieee float. 24 bit has a padded 32 bit option. I tried all three in reclock just to be sure, but neither option works.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #349 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

The audio format is not supported by the hardware / driver:
48000 samples/sec
24 bit PCM
6 channels

Two possible reasons when you met this caution:

You made a decoder or renderer configuration mistake or
Your HW is not sufficient.

Yours is the second one, sorry:

Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

I currently only utilize the tv speakers, I haven't been able to invest in a surround sound setup yet. Will using ReClock benefit me even without Surround Sound?


Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #350 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:32 PM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

Two possible reasons when you met this caution:

You made a decoder or renderer configuration mistake or
Your HW is not sufficient.

Yours is the second one, sorry:


OKay, I'm glad that was explained. So should I delete reclock and go back to directsound or are there settings in in reclock so that I can at least hear the audio? I'm guessing I can't use the wasapi exclusive mode.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #351 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

Where do I select that? The only two options for 32bit are 32 bit and 32 bit ieee float. 24 bit has a padded 32 bit option. I tried all three in reclock just to be sure, but neither option works.

i mean 24 bit padded to 32 bit.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #352 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

OKay, I'm glad that was explained. So should I delete reclock and go back to directsound or are there settings in in reclock so that I can at least hear the audio? I'm guessing I can't use the wasapi exclusive mode.

If i were you i would forget using ReClock for audio reasons and go back to ordinary Direct Show route.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #353 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:47 PM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

If i were you i would forget using ReClock for audio reasons and go back to ordinary Direct Show route.

Thank you ricabullah, and everyone else that helped me today. I'll start back using reclock, I'll just turn up the volume really high on the flac movies.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #354 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoSplash View Post

Thank you ricabullah, and everyone else that helped me today. I'll start back using reclock, I'll just turn up the volume really high on the flac movies.

Dude, whatever you do, you wouldn't get bitexact surround sound over wasapi exclusive via ReClock unless you have an AVR and speakers, sorry.
(Using onboard analog audio outputs with PC surround speakers might be an alternative fix which i wouldn't advise at all.)

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #355 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 04:01 PM
Member
 
InfernoSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

Dude, whatever you do, you wouldn't get bitexact surround sound over wasapi exclusive via ReClock unless you have an AVR and speakers, sorry.

oops, I meant to say that I'll start back using direct sound. I will try reclock when I purchase an avr with speakers. Until then, I'll just use the default settings and listen through my tv speakers. Thank you again and sorry for the confusion.
InfernoSplash is offline  
post #356 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, take care.

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #357 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 11:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
hello rica and mindrop!

which is the correct Reclock output mode?

WaveOut or Wasapi?
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #358 of 3202 Old 11-06-2011, 11:56 PM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WASAPI of course. 24 bit padded to 32.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #359 of 3202 Old 11-07-2011, 12:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricabullah View Post

I use Waveout for pcm or flac for the compatibility with other splitters.
I used "format: same as input (default) in ReClock config. No 32 bit or 24 bit padded to 32.

Please heve a look at my latest post on pcm/flac bitexact streaming on doom9forum:

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...&postcount=196

rica, for me this is very confusing. WaveOut means that ReClock chooses *WASAPI shared mode* so that LPCM audio streams are subject to resampling by Windows Audio Engine. ReClock tells "Audio: WaveOut (bit exact)", but this simply means ReClock does not resample. Windows Audio Engine still does. But if this is what you intend, that's OK.
renethx is offline  
post #360 of 3202 Old 11-07-2011, 12:56 PM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah, and "24 padded to 32" means speed adaptation is enabled. If one prefers "bit exact", "same as input" is only choise of course. But I suspect some people use ReClock for the purpose it was designed though.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off