Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 131Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 4179 Old 01-17-2016, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is Madvr necessary for only 1080p content on a 1080p display?, or is just good just for upscaling. Will it make a noticeable different on 1080p content on a 1080p display? Is it worth it?
bbq123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 4179 Old 01-17-2016, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbq123 View Post
Is Madvr necessary for only 1080p content on a 1080p display?, or is just good just for upscaling. Will it make a noticeable different on 1080p content on a 1080p display? Is it worth it?
This is a nice question..

I used to see hi-quality 1080p movies on my TV (10-20GB). Will All these settings improve the image?
lazostat is offline  
post #3873 of 4179 Old 01-18-2016, 01:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbq123 View Post
Is Madvr necessary for only 1080p content on a 1080p display?, or is just good just for upscaling. Will it make a noticeable different on 1080p content on a 1080p display? Is it worth it?
yes it does.

on a good setup with proper TV settings it make easily a visible difference.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3874 of 4179 Old 01-19-2016, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vaggeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just upgraded to the newest MPC-HC and MADVR and when I try to play a video file on the Dolby TrueHD audio track, the movie won't play. Any other audio type works fine but TrueHD doesn't.

Has anyone else experienced this? It was fine before the upgrade.

Go Broncos!
Vaggeto is offline  
post #3875 of 4179 Old 01-19-2016, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbq123 View Post
Is Madvr necessary for only 1080p content on a 1080p display?, or is just good just for upscaling. Will it make a noticeable different on 1080p content on a 1080p display? Is it worth it?
FHD in to FHD out, MadVR isn't going to make a huge difference. It'll do better chroma upscaling than non-MadVR playback systems, but many TVs aren't 4:4:4 anyways.
kitti is offline  
post #3876 of 4179 Old 01-19-2016, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitti View Post
FHD in to FHD out, MadVR isn't going to make a huge difference. It'll do better chroma upscaling than non-MadVR playback systems, but many TVs aren't 4:4:4 anyways.
True, but at the least the colors will be as accurate as possible and madVR now offers high-quality image sharpening that can be applied to native sources.

I flip back and forth between Kodi DVDPlayer, which features DXVA scaling and madVR all the time. madVR definitely produces a better image, even if image sharpening provides most of the edge.

This argument is like the difference between almost any Blu-ray player and an Oppo or Pioneer Elite. If you want the best picture quality, you would squeeze all you can with available tech.
VBB and kitti like this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #3877 of 4179 Old 01-19-2016, 08:57 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
What Onkyoman said. But for me, the most enticing feature of madVR is its ability to use 3D LUTs.
|Tch0rT| and BlueChris like this.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3878 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaggeto View Post
I just upgraded to the newest MPC-HC and MADVR and when I try to play a video file on the Dolby TrueHD audio track, the movie won't play. Any other audio type works fine but TrueHD doesn't.

Has anyone else experienced this? It was fine before the upgrade.
This is a reported problem with MPC-HC and I do not know if it has been remedied.

If you are bitstreaming audio would be dependent on your AVR.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is online now  
post #3879 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
colklink14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Artifacts

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
What Onkyoman said. But for me, the most enticing feature of madVR is its ability to use 3D LUTs.
Henry,


I have seen you around at the M-forums as well, and respect the knowledge & experiences you have given to these communities.


A couple of questions,


I have a m43, it is set to rgb, also my pc/AMD260x card is set to full rgb. I am using MPC/madvr and getting small checkerboard squares randomly popping up. Any ides?? I have the artifact removal settings on med/high, and have tried every combination of scaler, cache, you name it


Also, knowing I have a M43 can you explain the differences between rgb full, and limited, ybcr 442 and 444.
What would you suggest I use??
Thank you in advance,
colklink14 is offline  
post #3880 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 12:33 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by colklink14 View Post
I have a m43, it is set to rgb, also my pc/AMD260x card is set to full rgb. I am using MPC/madvr and getting small checkerboard squares randomly popping up. Any ides?? I have the artifact removal settings on med/high, and have tried every combination of scaler, cache, you name it


Also, knowing I have a M43 can you explain the differences between rgb full, and limited, ybcr 442 and 444.
What would you suggest I use??
Thank you in advance,
These checkerboard squares, do they mainly show in dark scenes? I'm guessing this is on lower bit-rate material, since that is where I see this as well. madVR basically makes this more obvious, especially if you use a 3D LUT. On my 1080p Sharp it was really annoying. The M70 is much better in that respect. I can only see these artifacts close up and/or from an angle. Not much you can do about it. madVR doesn't really have an artifact remover, only a debanding tool. That's probably why it's not helping in your situation. See if you get those artifacts with a high-quality source like a Blu-ray disc.


It's best to set your video card to 3840x2160 @ 30Hz, RGB full, 8-bit. You'll get proper levels in both madVR and desktop. YCbCr 4:4:4 is basically the same as RGB limited, and YCbCr 4:2:2/4:2:0 does chroma-subsampling, which is OK for video, but not so great for desktop use.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3881 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 01:53 PM
Newbie
 
colklink14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
These checkerboard squares, do they mainly show in dark scenes? I'm guessing this is on lower bit-rate material, since that is where I see this as well. madVR basically makes this more obvious, especially if you use a 3D LUT. On my 1080p Sharp it was really annoying. The M70 is much better in that respect. I can only see these artifacts close up and/or from an angle. Not much you can do about it. madVR doesn't really have an artifact remover, only a debanding tool. That's probably why it's not helping in your situation. See if you get those artifacts with a high-quality source like a Blu-ray disc.


It's best to set your video card to 3840x2160 @ 30Hz, RGB full, 8-bit. You'll get proper levels in both madVR and desktop. YCbCr 4:4:4 is basically the same as RGB limited, and YCbCr 4:2:2/4:2:0 does chroma-subsampling, which is OK for video, but not so great for desktop use.
you make it sound so easy,

Thanks
colklink14 is offline  
post #3882 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
BMELVIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by colklink14 View Post
you make it sound so easy,

Thanks
I have the new JVC which will accept 4k/60 , and a NVidia GTX 970 and I-7 processor. Wouldn't I get a better picture if I unscaled the 1080P movies to 4K/60 instead of 4k/30? or should I select 4k/24 for my output since the movie is native at1080P/24?
BMELVIN is offline  
post #3883 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 04:10 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMELVIN View Post
I have the new JVC which will accept 4k/60 , and a NVidia GTX 970 and I-7 processor. Wouldn't I get a better picture if I unscaled the 1080P movies to 4K/60 instead of 4k/30? or should I select 4k/24 for my output since the movie is native at1080P/24?
You need to make sure that your projector accepts 4K @ 60Hz RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4. If it does, then yes, by all means use that as your desktop resolution. Let the player and/or renderer handle frame rate switching to 24/25/30Hz, etc. I don't recommend playback at 60Hz. Use the content's native frame rate for the best experience.


The reason I told colklink14 to set his Vizio M to 4K @ 30Hz is because the TV doesn't support RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4 at 60Hz.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3884 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
BMELVIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Setting color space

Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
You need to make sure that your projector accepts 4K @ 60Hz RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4. If it does, then yes, by all means use that as your desktop resolution. Let the player and/or renderer handle frame rate switching to 24/25/30Hz, etc. I don't recommend playback at 60Hz. Use the content's native frame rate for the best experience.


The reason I told colklink14 to set his Vizio M to 4K @ 30Hz is because the TV doesn't support RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4 at 60Hz.
So what option do I go with for selecting the best color space in the NVidida control panel for mu GTX 970 I have it set up now - Color depth 32 bit - Output color 8bpc and Color format YCbCr 444 Is this correct - My projector will accept all of the above
BMELVIN is offline  
post #3885 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 05:00 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMELVIN View Post
So what option do I go with for selecting the best color space in the NVidida control panel for mu GTX 970 I have it set up now - Color depth 32 bit - Output color 8bpc and Color format YCbCr 444 Is this correct - My projector will accept all of the above
I prefer RGB full over YCbCr. Either one is fine, but I would go with RGB full, 8-bit. Make sure that your JVC can handle 0-255, though. If so, you can set your entire video chain to 0-255 - video card, display, and madVR.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3886 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 05:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,579
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Did this thread loose it's sticky status recently?

Yes, as of today at 02:18 PM it was shoehorned into the main link thread..


Last edited by Sammy2; 01-20-2016 at 06:01 PM.
Sammy2 is offline  
post #3887 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
BMELVIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I prefer RGB full over YCbCr. Either one is fine, but I would go with RGB full, 8-bit. Make sure that your JVC can handle 0-255, though. If so, you can set your entire video chain to 0-255 - video card, display, and madVR.
Ok and for the bit depth selection 8, 10 or 12 ? - Reminder also looking at up converting my 1080p movies to 4k/23 Thanks
BMELVIN is offline  
post #3888 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 07:04 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMELVIN View Post
Ok and for the bit depth selection 8, 10 or 12 ? - Reminder also looking at up converting my 1080p movies to 4k/23 Thanks
If your JVC allows you to pick 10-bit at 3840x2160 while also doing RGB or YCbCr 4:4:4, then go for it. You would be limited to 30Hz and below, though. It gets a little more complicated once you go above the standard 8-bit. You can never be entirely certain that your display actually outputs a 10-bit picture. Most displays dither, most video cards dither (by default), madVR dithers... Doesn't hurt to test, though. Put up some ramps and see if you notice any anomalies.


What do you mean by upconverting 1080p movies to 4K/23? If you set Windows to native 4K res, your media player/renderer will take care of the upscaling.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3889 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 08:12 PM
Member
 
gidgiddonihah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Audio is out of sync with the video when I enable reclock in MPC-HC. Any suggestions?

Sent from my LG-D850 using Tapatalk
gidgiddonihah is offline  
post #3890 of 4179 Old 01-20-2016, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Did this thread loose it's sticky status recently?

Yes, as of today at 02:18 PM it was shoehorned into the main link thread..
What is the thinking of AVS about the future? Did AVS have the wrong sticky's? Does AVS have an opinion about streaming winning out over the HTPC?

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is online now  
post #3891 of 4179 Old 01-21-2016, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Did this thread loose it's sticky status recently?

Yes, as of today at 02:18 PM it was shoehorned into the main link thread..
Looks like the main AVS folks collapsed all of the sticky's into one main thread:

"Sticky" Threads for the Home Theater Computers forum

Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is offline  
post #3892 of 4179 Old 01-21-2016, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzy G.L.X. View Post
Looks like the main AVS folks collapsed all of the sticky's into one main thread:

"Sticky" Threads for the Home Theater Computers forum
I asked about AVS's reasoning because I am about to embark on renovating my house and I am trying to decide whether to run cable, Cat5E, Cat6, Cat6A, Cat7 or fiber optical cable while the wall are open and while HDCP2.2 and HDMI 2.0 and HVEC are rolling out. Home theater would be a major use of this network. I am not sure the HTPC computer with storage and display is what the future will look like. I am not even sure that using home electrical wiring or wifi will make cables obsolete. It is an uncertain time to be making plans.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is online now  
post #3893 of 4179 Old 01-21-2016, 02:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I dont understand one thing.

I connect my Tv via hdmi with my Pc. I have MadVR installed. When i am on duplicate desktop and i play a movie then press ctrl+j the display is on both monitors 23,97000Hz. ( As shown in the stats of mpc-hc ) I dont understand how is this possible, from the moment my pc monitor doesnt support 24Hz mode. Only 60/75Hz.

When i play the movie only on pc monitor the display info comes back at normal 60Hz.
lazostat is offline  
post #3894 of 4179 Old 01-22-2016, 01:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 225
which windows version?

and is the display at 23p or the composition rate?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #3895 of 4179 Old 01-30-2016, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Has there been any updated guides written for late 2015 and 2016 with all the new software updates on this stuff? I'm using a 980ti GPU, CPU O.C. to 5ghz(it's my gaming rig as well) and most guides I've come across people were using 4-- cards or built in Intel or AMD GPUs. I see things on my software that isn't the same as most of the guides I've found.

There seems to be so many options out there now-a-days I can't keep up with all of them. You have MPC-HC with or without madvr, Kodi with or without madvr, kodi dsplayer, LAV filters built in or not built in, use or not use external audio filters like reClock(i'm going all analog no HDMI) and etc.etc.etc.

I do like to tinker and try and squeeze ever bit I can out of my hometheater but wow there are a ton of choices out there. I'm starting to think I should purchase J River Media Center and be done with it. lol

Jeff

Mediocrity will always appeal to the masses, while excellence is most often over looked and only appreciated by a select few.

Last edited by SirJMon; 01-30-2016 at 04:41 PM.
SirJMon is offline  
post #3896 of 4179 Old 01-30-2016, 06:10 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJMon View Post
Has there been any updated guides written for late 2015 and 2016 with all the new software updates on this stuff? I'm using a 980ti GPU, CPU O.C. to 5ghz(it's my gaming rig as well) and most guides I've come across people were using 4-- cards or built in Intel or AMD GPUs. I see things on my software that isn't the same as most of the guides I've found.

There seems to be so many options out there now-a-days I can't keep up with all of them. You have MPC-HC with or without madvr, Kodi with or without madvr, kodi dsplayer, LAV filters built in or not built in, use or not use external audio filters like reClock(i'm going all analog no HDMI) and etc.etc.etc.

I do like to tinker and try and squeeze ever bit I can out of my hometheater but wow there are a ton of choices out there. I'm starting to think I should purchase J River Media Center and be done with it. lol
I recommend reading Asmodian's excellent thread here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171787

Also, Warner's (Onkyoman here on AVS) guide here is top notch and frequently updated: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=209596

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3897 of 4179 Old 01-30-2016, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
I recommend reading Asmodian's excellent thread here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171787

Also, Warner's (Onkyoman here on AVS) guide here is top notch and frequently updated: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=209596

Thanks for the links. I have read the Kodi link and was hoping there was a better solution. I really like the playback quality I get from MPC-HC/madvr combo over the internal media player of Kodi but I love the Kodi interface, which I would lose if I use an external player like mpc-hc.

I know that there is a open source DSplayer that can be used for Kodi and allows you to use madvr and LAV filters but according to this thread here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=222576 the devs that created it have stopped development on it. I do not want to configure a media system that is relying on an open source player that isn't being developed anymore.

I really like Kodi but I did much prefer the video quality of the mpc-hc/madvr combo over Kodi's internal player. I am also concerned about audio. I am in love with my old Pre-amp (Anthem AVM30) but it does not have HDMI and I am not about to stop using it. So I want to pass lossless audio into my sound card(sound blaster zxr) and come out of that analog into my AVM30's 5.1 analog inputs. I'm not sure what is the best way to go about that.

Jeff

Mediocrity will always appeal to the masses, while excellence is most often over looked and only appreciated by a select few.
SirJMon is offline  
post #3898 of 4179 Old 01-30-2016, 07:20 PM
VBB
AVS Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,148
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJMon View Post
Thanks for the links. I have read the Kodi link and was hoping there was a better solution. I really like the playback quality I get from MPC-HC/madvr combo over the internal media player of Kodi but I love the Kodi interface, which I would lose if I use an external player like mpc-hc.

I know that there is a open source DSplayer that can be used for Kodi and allows you to use madvr and LAV filters but according to this thread here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=222576 the devs that created it have stopped development on it. I do not want to configure a media system that is relying on an open source player that isn't being developed anymore.

I really like Kodi but I did much prefer the video quality of the mpc-hc/madvr combo over Kodi's internal player. I am also concerned about audio. I am in love with my old Pre-amp (Anthem AVM30) but it does not have HDMI and I am not about to stop using it. So I want to pass lossless audio into my sound card(sound blaster zxr) and come out of that analog into my AVM30's 5.1 analog inputs. I'm not sure what is the best way to go about that.
So why don't you use Kodi as the front-end and MPC-HC as the player? It's the best of both worlds.

Henry
Vizio M70-C3
Onkyo HT-RC360
Synology DS1813+ & DX513 x2
X-Rite i1Display Pro, ArgyllCMS, DisplayCAL, madVR, HCFR
HTPC running Kodi with MPC-HC + madVR, Plex for remote streaming
VBB is online now  
post #3899 of 4179 Old 01-30-2016, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
So why don't you use Kodi as the front-end and MPC-HC as the player? It's the best of both worlds.
I have thought about that but the drawback is once I start watching a movie, I lose the Kodi interface while the movie is going and the resume function. At this point I'm starting to lean towards either the free option in Kodi/external mpc-hc combo or just buying JRiver.

Arg, so many choices but none outside of the DSPlayer that integrates into Kodi is exactly what I'm looking for.

Jeff

Mediocrity will always appeal to the masses, while excellence is most often over looked and only appreciated by a select few.
SirJMon is offline  
post #3900 of 4179 Old 01-31-2016, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJMon View Post
I have thought about that but the drawback is once I start watching a movie, I lose the Kodi interface while the movie is going and the resume function. At this point I'm starting to lean towards either the free option in Kodi/external mpc-hc combo or just buying JRiver.

Arg, so many choices but none outside of the DSPlayer that integrates into Kodi is exactly what I'm looking for.
Why you need really the kodi interface when you watch a movie? If you have a remote then you program it throw mpc-hc settings and almost all the buttons can react like kodi. Also the resume fuction if you enable resume in mpc-hc settings then when you continue a movie mpc-hc remembers the position and resumes.
Except if you want to download subtitles on the fly like me but it's not biggy because every movie i put in my library i put it with the subtitles.
Tell me your problem to try to find a solution.
VBB and SirJMon like this.
BlueChris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off