Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 142Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2016, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by thu View Post
I've seen some video card recommendations for upscaling HD to 4k with max MadVR settings. Are there any cards available now that can handle upscaling SD to 4k with high to max MadVR settings? Or will that need the new Polaris cards coming up?
The GTX 1080 should be able to run madVR with high settings. I don't know that for certain, but I know you'll get close.

And remember, 1080p -> 2160p puts more strain on madVR than SD -> 2160p.
Onkyoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2016, 07:03 PM
thu
Member
 
thu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
The GTX 1080 should be able to run madVR with high settings. I don't know that for certain, but I know you'll get close.

And remember, 1080p -> 2160p puts more strain on madVR than SD -> 2160p.
Thanks Onkyoman. SD to HD looks so good with max MadVR settings. I wasn't sure if the current cards could handle 4k or not. My mistake was thinking SD to 4k would be tougher on the card and MadVR than HD to 4k. I had no idea it was the other way around. I'll definitely give the 1080 a try then. Just getting high MadVR settings should be enough for most of my sources.
thu is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 03:44 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I just watched a movie and decided to look at the stats in the end.



What surprised me was that there were 41 dropped frames. I only noticed one obvious glitch in the presentation, so I don't know if this is something that's worth investigating, but I'm still interested to hear any ideas on how to fix this.

I have a few ideas of my own. I'm no expert, but I noticed that the display has a rate of 23.97075 Hz and the movie is 23.976 Hz. That's a difference of 0.00525 Hz. The frame drop occurs roughly every 3.25 minutes which is 3min 15s, and that's 195 seconds. If we take 1 frame and divide it by 0.00525, we get 190 frames which is ~3.2 minutes. This means that the display and the movie rate get out of sync for an entire frame roughly every 190 seconds, and this seems to result in a dropped frame to compensate. Am I right or is there something else at play here?

My PC is connected to my AVR (Onkyo TX-SR606) via a 15m HDMI cable out of my GTX970 GPU. The TV is Sony 65X850C. I use MPC-HC with the latest version of madVR.

BTW, I don't notice this problem if I play the movie on my computer where the display rate is 59.95 Hz. Could the problem lie in the AVR which doesn't support higher frequencies, so there's no headroom or something? Or is there some culprit setting on the TV?

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Last edited by Iggy SLO; 10-30-2016 at 08:43 AM.
Iggy SLO is offline  
 
Old 10-30-2016, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,653
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I don't believe you have a problem that needs correcting. Your rendering time is fine. Dropped frames are not unusual when a movie starts. Continue to monitor and look for an actual video problem.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha

Last edited by Postmoderndesign; 10-30-2016 at 09:34 AM.
Postmoderndesign is online now  
Old 10-30-2016, 08:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
And remember, 1080p -> 2160p puts more strain on madVR than SD -> 2160p.
without doubling yes with doubling no.

people are usually using doubling algorithm for UHD scaling so i would say no.

480->960->1820 ->2160 takes a lot more than 1080->2160 with the same settings.
@Iggy SLO

you have an composition rate mismatch is that windows 7?
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
@Iggy SLO

you have an composition rate mismatch is that windows 7?
Yep, Windows 7. What is going on here, could you maybe elaborate?

And what does composition rate even tell you?
Iggy SLO is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
it is the rate the desktop is "running on" so it should match the refreshrate.
it is pretty broken on windows 7 and can result in all kinds of problems.

the only ways to fix this is overlay mode or FSE (i'm pretty sure this is a major reason FSE is on by default) and of cause by using a not broken OS.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
it is the rate the desktop is "running on" so it should match the refreshrate.
it is pretty broken on windows 7 and can result in all kinds of problems.
I see. Is Windows 10 any better in this regard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the only ways to fix this is overlay mode or FSE (i'm pretty sure this is a major reason FSE is on by default) and of cause by using a not broken OS.
FSE = fullscreen exclusive?

Are you talking about enabling these two settings?



If so, what does windows overlay do? I don't see anything obvious whereas setting the exclusive mode changes the bottom timeline graphic.
Iggy SLO is offline  
Old 10-30-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,653
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Are you using reclock with MPC-HC?

I have a 60Hz display and reclock caused problems long ago and I can see no reason to use it. But it may work for you.

I use 7 media center a lot and it is my reason for not going to windows 10.

If you are not seeing dropped frames ignore the control-J composition stats. In my opinion don't worry about the stats unless you are seeing a video issue that bothers you.

I do enable full screen exclusive. You know you can change anything in MadVR and if you do not like the result change it back.
Iggy SLO likes this.

Anál nathrach, orth’ bháis’s bethad, do chél dénmha
Postmoderndesign is online now  
Old 10-30-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy SLO View Post
I see. Is Windows 10 any better in this regard?
windows 8 fixed this issue.

Quote:
FSE = fullscreen exclusive?
yes

Quote:
Are you talking about enabling these two settings?
yes not together but still yes.

Quote:
If so, what does windows overlay do? I don't see anything obvious whereas setting the exclusive mode changes the bottom timeline graphic.
only works with nvidia/intel and needs a player restart. it is rendering on a overlay this bypasses the desktop composition and is most likely the best mode if 3D isn't needed. screenshots doesn't work with it even print screen doesn't work.
Iggy SLO likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-01-2016, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Anybody else getting lots of crashes lately? Last 2 months have been a little ridiculous. Loaded latest MadVR - no change. Would reinstalling MPC fix this?
Is this the fact MPC has basically zero support/maintenance anymore?
Wishing for stability fixes in a big way here.
I wonder if MS snuck in an update that broke some things? Win8.1 FYI.

HTPC | 12TB NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II,RC64II,CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
what is crashing?
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 09:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 331
1 out of 3 times MPC-HC locks up, crashes to desktop etc. if I hit chapter skip it locks up sometimes. 2 out of 3 times it plays the same movie(s) flawless throughout the entire movie. Really annoying.
The fact that it DOES work sometimes makes any sort of troubleshooting difficult.

HTPC | 12TB NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II,RC64II,CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 11:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Why is catmull rom reccomended over Jinc for downscaling in madvr?
Jabberwockxeno is offline  
Old 11-03-2016, 11:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabberwockxeno View Post
Why is catmull rom reccomended over Jinc for downscaling in madvr?
Additionally, my display doesn't have a 24hz mode, but it does have a 48hz mode.

Should I still follow the section under "Display Modes" where it's explained how to make madvr automatically set the display mode to match the frame rate of the video, just subsitute 24hz for 48hz, since I assume as a direct multiple of 24 it'll still be better then 60?
Jabberwockxeno is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 01:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
1 out of 3 times MPC-HC locks up, crashes to desktop etc. if I hit chapter skip it locks up sometimes. 2 out of 3 times it plays the same movie(s) flawless throughout the entire movie. Really annoying.
The fact that it DOES work sometimes makes any sort of troubleshooting difficult.
"never" heard of a problem like this.
try your luck in the event viewer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabberwockxeno View Post
Why is catmull rom reccomended over Jinc for downscaling in madvr?
the guide is older than jinc downscaling.

it doesn't look like jinc downscaling is really used a lot. downscaling is pretty unimportant to me so hmmm.
try bicubic 125 or 150 they are mostly added for downscaling or SSIM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabberwockxeno View Post
Additionally, my display doesn't have a 24hz mode, but it does have a 48hz mode.

Should I still follow the section under "Display Modes" where it's explained how to make madvr automatically set the display mode to match the frame rate of the video, just subsitute 24hz for 48hz, since I assume as a direct multiple of 24 it'll still be better then 60?
it is more important to know what windows is able to send. if 48 HZ is an option you can send this for 24p content.
BTW. most "24" content is 23p (24000/1001) so 23 hz or 47 hz should be used.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
it is more important to know what windows is able to send. if 48 HZ is an option you can send this for 24p content.
BTW. most "24" content is 23p (24000/1001) so 23 hz or 47 hz should be used.
I'm not seeing a 24 or 24.47hz option, only 60 and 48. In that case, is it worth setting up madvr to use 48 when playing 24/23 content? I'd guess that's at least a little better then 60, correct?
Jabberwockxeno is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
what type of device are you using?

so either 48 hz or 60 hz with smoothmotion.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-04-2016, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
what type of device are you using?

so either 48 hz or 60 hz with smoothmotion.
It's an MSI GE72 2qd apache pro laptop.

also, regarding the image doubling, doing that causes frame drops and the footage to appear choppy.
Jabberwockxeno is offline  
Old 11-05-2016, 01:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
your settings are most likely to much for your GPU.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-11-2016, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post
Anybody else getting lots of crashes lately? Last 2 months have been a little ridiculous. Loaded latest MadVR - no change. Would reinstalling MPC fix this?
Is this the fact MPC has basically zero support/maintenance anymore?
Wishing for stability fixes in a big way here.
I wonder if MS snuck in an update that broke some things? Win8.1 FYI.
Do you have an AMD GPU? I think there is an issue with their latest drivers and madvr. Under rendering, general, enable Direct 3D 11 for presentation. Worked for me.
ricemanva23 is offline  
Old 11-12-2016, 03:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 451 Post(s)
Liked: 331
^^ Thanks, but using a nV 1060. I'll see if I can get a new driver / experiment with that setting.

HTPC | 12TB NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II,RC64II,CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
Old 11-13-2016, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 7
@mightyhuhn : One more thing that's loosely tied to my previous inquiry about the frame rate and dropped frames. So, the mpc-hc/madVR diagnostic shows that my display has a rate of 23.97095 Hz, which in turn leads to (unnoticable) dropped frames roughly every 3.5 minutes because the movies are usually 23.976 Hz.

What would happen if I'd play a 48 fps (or other type of high frame rate) movie? I can't easily check this because I'm pretty sure that my AVR (TX-SR606) doesn't support that jazz. I might rack up some will and bring the PC to my living room and hook it directly to the TV just to check this out, but do you or anyone else have an answer to this?

TL;DR: Dropped frames because of movie fps > display Hz (see my previous post). Any way of increasing the TV's frame rate (Sony 65X850C) or what would happen if I wanted to watch a high fps movie?

Btw, just watched TLotR: TTT and I decided to check the stats again:



There was only one noticeable error in the entire playback (I guess that's that one glitch).

Last edited by Iggy SLO; 11-13-2016 at 02:20 PM.
Iggy SLO is offline  
Old 11-14-2016, 04:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
the presentation glitch is most likely from entering fullscreen. FSE and presentation glitches are very unlikely.

the 23.9700 comes nearly for sure from nvidia been nvidia. you can read more about it here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=173571
for some reasons a lot of people have issues understanding this topic.

i understand the dropped frames but i don't understand the high number of repeated frames.

48 Hz is usually not supported by TVs and it is not sold anyway. most of these files are terrible interpolated movie.

you can use 60 HZ plus smooth motion this has nothing to do with soap opera effect just to make that clear. and your TV does support 60hz.
Iggy SLO likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-14-2016, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can not use Nvidia Video card

Hi! I've config like this topic setup guide but I can not use my Nvidia GT520M to render video. Try to set MPC with High performance on nvidia control panel (run app with nvidia) but I can not choose it, only can choose intergrate card (Intel HD3000). It happen like when I cannot set for Powerdvd 16 with GT520M. Is it my GT520M not support MPC and Powerdvd 16?
Five month ago I've used MPC and It've still can play video with using Nivdia for rendering video? Do you think my new nvidia driver is the problem for this case? How to fix it now?
Henry7588 is offline  
Old 11-14-2016, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
this sounds like an optimus system. these systems are well known to make problems.

the next problem is the GPU. the 520m has no real processing power. give EVR a try.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-14-2016, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
this sounds like an optimus system. these systems are well known to make problems.

the next problem is the GPU. the 520m has no real processing power. give EVR a try.
I don't think so because I can use Gt520M render video with Splash.
Henry7588 is offline  
Old 11-15-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 260
the hd 3000 has up to 129 Gflops
the gt520m has 155 Gflops
the HD 4000 is know to work with up to 332 Gflops
mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 11-16-2016, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the presentation glitch is most likely from entering fullscreen. FSE and presentation glitches are very unlikely.

the 23.9700 comes nearly for sure from nvidia been nvidia. you can read more about it here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=173571
for some reasons a lot of people have issues understanding this topic.

i understand the dropped frames but i don't understand the high number of repeated frames, so that's probably it when it comes to repeats.

48 Hz is usually not supported by TVs and it is not sold anyway. most of these files are terrible interpolated movie.

you can use 60 HZ plus smooth motion this has nothing to do with soap opera effect just to make that clear. and your TV does support 60hz.
I noticed that the repeated frames always increase when I continue video playback from pause, so pausing and continuing is probably the culprit when it comes to frame repeats.

Anyway, thank you for that doom9 guide. It's very interesting, but I decided not to mess with these advanced settings just yet.

What I did now was disable madVR's "switch to matching display mode..." in the 'display modes' settings. Diagnostic now shows a display rate of 49.999 Hz for every 23.976 Hz movie and there are now zero dropped or delayed frames.
I just tested it by playing about 15 minutes of SW Episode 3 where there's very intense action in the opening. What's interesting though is that the diagnostic shows 1 frame repeat every 0.98 seconds, but I don't notice it at all.

But overall I'm much happier with the results right now, so I'll probably keep the switcher to display mode disabled for now. What are even the benefits of using it? I use madVR because it gives me a much smoother playback than mpc-hc alone, but I forgot why I even used "switch to matching display mode..." in the first place.

Last edited by Iggy SLO; 11-16-2016 at 04:22 AM.
Iggy SLO is offline  
Old 11-16-2016, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I don't understand about display mode on page 1 config guide. When we set display mode for tv like 1080p23 that's mean madvr will make the movie with 23.976 fps switch to 60hz for like refresh rate of tv (60hz) or madvr will make the TV down to 23,976 fps to fit with movie refresh rate? Why when i set 1080p23, Ctrl J I just see display about 60hz not 23hz. Which refresh rate is right when I config video mode 1080p23, about 23hz or 60hz?
Henry7588 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off