Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 141 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4201 of 4367 Old 01-02-2017, 02:48 PM
Member
 
famasfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
and if this is a copy paste of your display mode than it can't work you are missing a , after 1080i29 and you should remove 1080i29 madVR isn't supporting interlaced output it is outputting RGB and you have to deinterlance before you can't get an proper RGB image just remove it to be save.
Yeah, I came back to say that I had noticed a typo in the display mode options, everything seems to be working fine now

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
i'm accurately shocked that this worked in the past.

madVR is always using the high resolution available with a matching refreshrate and that is 2160p23 for 23p content the rest 720p23, 1080p23 is ignored.
Not sure what you are saying here.

Native desktop resolution is 2160 at 60hz. Playing a 1080p movie will automatically change the resolution, refresh rate and switch my TV into the calibrated cinema mode.

Are you suggesting this should not be the desired behaviour, and that optimally madvr should upscale the 1080 image into 2160?
famasfilms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4202 of 4367 Old 01-02-2017, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
of cause you should let madVR upscale.

but i don't see a reason why madVR is changing to 1080p.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4203 of 4367 Old 01-03-2017, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
of cause you should let madVR upscale.

but i don't see a reason why madVR is changing to 1080p.
I have a question regarding the "enable mixing" audio option. I was having a problem with low volume on downmixed blu-rays - I am running a 2 channel system. I checked the "enable mixing" option and increased the volume of the center and surround channels from the stock .71 level to the maximum 1.0 Can anyone explain what this option does and is it harmful to my speakers? It seems to have solved the low volume problem without any perceived clipping. Thanks
gerall is offline  
 
post #4204 of 4367 Old 01-03-2017, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyon here can config mpc to play 3d bluray iso? Please help!
Henry7588 is offline  
post #4205 of 4367 Old 01-04-2017, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry7588 View Post
Anyon here can config mpc to play 3d bluray iso? Please help!

I cannot find the posts/links, but the essence is you have to install separately the latest nightly build of the LAV filters, with the 3D option checked, and set them as external filters in MPC. Use latest MadVR, don't remember if it needs a special setting - I think not, but look for one.


... oh, here they are:
https://www.avforums.com/threads/guide-playing-frame-packed-3d-with-madvr.2030649/

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-home-theater-computers/2215490-madvr-player-support-thread.html#post41414489
Henry7588 likes this.
Roussi is offline  
post #4206 of 4367 Old 01-19-2017, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Due to some unfortunate circumstances* I had to reinstall MPC-HC and madVR and for some reason I have no sound when I enable bitstreaming in the audio decoder settings. I didn't even try out how it is on the receiver, but the sound should be present on the PC regardless. I uninstalled and installed everything a couple of times now with the same results every time.

When I enable bitstreaming I get the "Media Player Classic could not render some of the pins in the graph" error. Tried the advised solutions with no luck.

Am I missing something obvious? I have all the screenshots of my previous settings and I set everything up the same as before and for some reason it doesn't work. K-Lite Codec Pack install doesn't solve anything either.

*Or fortunate, depends on how you look at it. Had the Titan X (Pascal) for a day yesterday to try out HEVC 2160p60 and now that I've gone back to the 970 I didn't have the same performance as before, hence the reinstall and headache. And yes, I did reinstall the nvidia drivers as well.

Edit: It works as it should with the receiver (GPU out via HDMI). I have a soundcard for my PC speakers and I only get sound with bitstreaming disabled.

Edit2: I now also noticed that the video stutters like crazy when the playback device is set to PC speakers.

Last edited by Iggy SLO; 01-19-2017 at 12:09 PM.
Iggy SLO is offline  
post #4207 of 4367 Old 01-22-2017, 11:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Can anyone help me with getting this effect? I wanna try it on some 4:3 content.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ss+(2015-08-11+at+12.43.25).jpg
Views:	77
Size:	119.3 KB
ID:	1913553   Click image for larger version

Name:	dc017944f9+(00001).jpg
Views:	89
Size:	133.2 KB
ID:	1913561  
psnblahblah is offline  
post #4208 of 4367 Old 01-23-2017, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Settings for MADvr to get 2160/24p from HTPC

Can someone help me figure out how to keep my resolution at 4k/24p when playing a Blu-ray movie via Pot Player or JRiver MC 21 using MadVR- The HTPC is set at 4k/24p with my GTX 970 card but as soon as I play the 1080p movie via Hard Drive it automatically converts down to 1080/24p, then when I exit out of the software player it goes back to the 4k/24p which is how I have it set - I know there has to be somewhere I can make the changes to keep the 4k resolution when playing the 1080p movie

Last edited by CmiBobby; 01-23-2017 at 04:14 PM. Reason: Spelling correction
CmiBobby is offline  
post #4209 of 4367 Old 01-23-2017, 11:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
what settings are you using under display modes?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4210 of 4367 Old 01-24-2017, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Disply modes

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
what settings are you using under display modes?
Display modes I have listed are : 1080/60p, 1080/24p, 2160/24p, 2160/60p
CmiBobby is offline  
post #4211 of 4367 Old 01-24-2017, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
change them to
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60

and make sure any other display refreshrate tool isn't used. MPC-HC has one too which is disabled by default.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4212 of 4367 Old 01-24-2017, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Section to change Display settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
change them to
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60

and make sure any other display refreshrate tool isn't used. MPC-HC has one too which is disabled by default.
OK thanks a lot now where exactly is this located in MadVR section settings to change the Display?
CmiBobby is offline  
post #4213 of 4367 Old 01-24-2017, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmiBobby View Post
OK thanks a lot now where exactly is this located in MadVR section settings to change the Display?
So it is displayed as 2160p24 and not 2160/24p? I put eh p inform of the
CmiBobby is offline  
post #4214 of 4367 Old 01-24-2017, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
devices -> "your device name" -> display modes

should be part of this guide.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4215 of 4367 Old 02-05-2017, 01:44 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey fellas. Why i can't play "dts-hd ma" sounds tracks?(Audio: DTS 48000Hz 6ch 9216kbps [A: Original DTS-HD MA [eng] (dts-hd ma, 48000 Hz, 5.1)])
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4216 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 01:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
lavfilter can decode it.
there is nothing more i can say to this issue.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4217 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 08:27 AM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
lavfilter can decode it.
there is nothing more i can say to this issue.
How i can initiate that?
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4218 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
by using lavfilter with default settings.
no special settings needed.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4219 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,600
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Is it no longer necessary to go into the LAV settings and enable these codecs?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #4220 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
maybe years ago? DCADEC is part of lav filter for some time now before that we needed arcsoft dts decoder but still no option in lavfilter.

you need to enable bitstreaming for well bitstreaming but bitstreaming =! decoding and not needed to play DTS content.
bitstreaming is worse anyway only really useful for ATMOS and stuff like that but that's a different topic.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4221 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,600
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 264
To tell you the truth, I'm now using Emby Theater which includes LAV and madVR and I get all the lossless audio bitstreamed to my AVR 2312ci. Are you saying it is better to decode to PCM on the HTPC, I've often considered using re-clock and actually have recently toggled it on in ET but it still shows the HD Audio as dts-Master or Dolby TrueHD on my AVR so something must not be working correctly there...

Sammy2 is online now  
post #4222 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
it's not like bitstreaming is bad.
is more like sync is guessing work and yeah you can't use reclocks reclock feature with it.
there should be a way in emby to access lav audio so you can disable bit streaming (which should be off by default).
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4223 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 03:40 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mpc-hc

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
maybe years ago? DCADEC is part of lav filter for some time now before that we needed arcsoft dts decoder but still no option in lavfilter.

you need to enable bitstreaming for well bitstreaming but bitstreaming =! decoding and not needed to play DTS content.
bitstreaming is worse anyway only really useful for ATMOS and stuff like that but that's a different topic.
Well it don't works for me...
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4224 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
are getting any error?
do other audio formats work?
what filter list is used.
mpc hc -> filter -> copy filter list.

sorry it's hard to help some with a problem like "it doesn't work"
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4225 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 05:05 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
are getting any error?
do other audio formats work?
what filter list is used.
mpc hc -> filter -> copy filter list.

sorry it's hard to help some with a problem like "it doesn't work"
. I play any videos with AC3 codecs in perfect 5.1 with "enabled speaker fill" in sound-devices. BUT i have no sound in DTS or DTS-HD MA(whatever that is i don't know) and video has like 1.5 speed.
Filters currently loaded:
- Internal Audio Renderer
- madVR
- Audio Switcher
- LAV Video Decoder (internal)
- Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder
- LAV Splitter Source (internal)
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4226 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
try to block the "Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder" under external filter.

and make sure lavfilter is not setup to bitstream. you most likely enable bitstreaming but your devices doesn't support it so lavfilter/mpc-hc is falling back to the microsoft decoder.
JohnDorian likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4227 of 4367 Old 02-06-2017, 06:05 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
try to block the "Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder" under external filter.

and make sure lavfilter is not setup to bitstream. you most likely enable bitstreaming but your devices doesn't support it so lavfilter/mpc-hc is falling back to the microsoft decoder.
Ok i FIXED. It works in films without bitstreaming in 5.1. BUT somehow in my AC3 tv series without bitstreaming i have only 1 channel.

Last edited by JohnDorian; 02-06-2017 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Mistake
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4228 of 4367 Old 02-07-2017, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
switch back to the default audio render (system default) and check the status page in lav audio while playing these files and make a screen of it.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4229 of 4367 Old 02-07-2017, 09:18 AM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
5.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
switch back to the default audio render (system default) and check the status page in lav audio while playing these files and make a screen of it.
so u can see in ac3 without bitstreaming works only C and sometimes L+R but side channels are totally out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_3.png
Views:	51
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	1950169   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1111111113.png
Views:	37
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	1950177   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_22222223.png
Views:	37
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	1950185  
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4230 of 4367 Old 02-07-2017, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
look normal to me.

try down mixng to 2.0
mightyhuhn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off