Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 142 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 139Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 4256 Old 02-07-2017, 02:41 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
20

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
look normal to me.

try down mixng to 2.0
not normal ac3 allows only 3 channel without bitstream. What is down mixing?
JohnDorian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 4256 Old 02-07-2017, 04:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I was following the guide in the OP when I noticed my version of madvr doesn't have "image doubling." Anyone know whats up with that?
psnblahblah is offline  
post #4233 of 4256 Old 02-07-2017, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian View Post
not normal ac3 allows only 3 channel without bitstream. What is down mixing?
AC3 support up to 5.1 bit streaming has nothing todo with this.

down mixing is a process to change the channels down to 2.0 for example.
it is pretty normal that the C channel is used only for long periods of time. for some at least for me unknown reason the speaking of persons is usually only on the C channel with is totally dump IMHO but that how it works.

what type of connection are you using?
mightyhuhn is online now  
 
post #4234 of 4256 Old 02-07-2017, 06:00 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
AC3 support up to 5.1 bit streaming has nothing todo with this.

down mixing is a process to change the channels down to 2.0 for example.
it is pretty normal that the C channel is used only for long periods of time. for some at least for me unknown reason the speaking of persons is usually only on the C channel with is totally dump IMHO but that how it works.

what type of connection are you using?
analog wires from motherboard directly to the subwoofer. I don't know but without bitstream it doesn't work with ac3. And i don't know unfortunately how to enable down mixing...
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4235 of 4256 Old 02-07-2017, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
lav audio -> mixing - enable mixing.
you can't bitstream with an analog connection.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4236 of 4256 Old 02-08-2017, 08:42 AM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
lav audio -> mixing - enable mixing.
you can't bitstream with an analog connection.
maybe but without it doesn't work... So its only 4.1-7.1 and mono-stereo. Which should i pick?

Last edited by JohnDorian; 02-08-2017 at 09:41 AM. Reason: Mistakes
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4237 of 4256 Old 02-08-2017, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
i would select the same as your setup.

2.0 or 2.1 is the "same".
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4238 of 4256 Old 02-08-2017, 02:37 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
i would select the same as your setup.

2.0 or 2.1 is the "same".
there is no 2.0 or 2.1... Maybe i should try legacy or smth?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1.png
Views:	52
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	1952913   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2.png
Views:	44
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	1952921  
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4239 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
stereo is 2.0
JohnDorian likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4240 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 11:01 AM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cool Turk

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
stereo is 2.0
Daum ty. I can't imagine how but it works. With "speaker fill" feature enabled. Perhaps thats why. I'm stressed out by those tests but with "stereo" rear sound is more clear. Im not sound specialist but all those manipulations its not how that supposed to be, am i right? Because now all channels are at same volume lvl. And players shows only 2 channels.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1.png
Views:	36
Size:	8.8 KB
ID:	1954473  

Last edited by JohnDorian; 02-09-2017 at 11:13 AM.
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4241 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
sorry i don't know what type of system you are using and how it is cabled.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4242 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 01:50 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
sorry i don't know what type of system you are using and how it is cabled.
Spa 2600
Audio input for data
3 x 3.5 mm jack
Cable length
2 x 5m and 3 x 1.5 m
Connector
3.5 mm stereo
Power
AC 220 V 50 Hz

Last edited by JohnDorian; 02-09-2017 at 01:54 PM.
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4243 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
are you using 3 correctly connected jacks connection or not ?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4244 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 03:46 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
are you using 3 correctly connected jacks connection or not ?
yep
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4245 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
set the mixing to 5.1 and test it with this file: https://www2.iis.fraunhofer.de/AAC/multichannel.html
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4246 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 06:46 PM
Member
 
JohnDorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
set the mixing to 5.1 and test it with this file: https://www2.iis.fraunhofer.de/AAC/multichannel.html
I tried first one. Works perfectly.
JohnDorian is offline  
post #4247 of 4256 Old 02-09-2017, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
MPC doesn't work for me!

I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong but I'm not able to get smooth playback in MPC-HC or MPC-BE.

I aim to play 30-50gig h264/5 videos in MKV container with DTS, DD sound tracks. My CPU is new i5 7500 with integrated Intel 630 graphic connected to a display via DP 4k@60Hz.

What I've tried so far:
MPC-HC out-of-the-box - CPU 100% video is vey choppy. Unusable.

MPC-HC with EVR and LAV with DXVA on - CPU 10-30% video is not smooth and this is especially noticeable in panning scenes. Sound is not affected and video is watchable but not "fluid". I think that the technical term for this issue is video judder.

MPC-HC following OP guide - madVR and LAV, disabled bitstreaming. It's slightly worse than with EVR the video is more jerky in panning scenes.

I've installed ReClock but for some reason it isn't listed in MPC-HC audio filter list!?

If I didn't play all my videos in Win10 default player "TV & Movies" I would think that something is wrong with my hardware, files etc, but all those files play perfectly smooth in Win10 default player. Also if I resize the player window or switching from window mode to full screen and vice versa - the win10 player does that transition very smoothly while MPC needs a few seconds to resize, sync and continue. Why is that?

Any idea what I can try setting wise that could help my video judder issue?
eremic is offline  
post #4248 of 4256 Old 02-17-2017, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping someone could elaborate on the below from the guide:

Mixer
This is mostly for people having volume issues with multichannel audio. The low volume occurs when Windows downmixes your audio, and to avoid this, you can do a downmix within MPC-HC instead. To access the mixing options of MPC-HC, go to options, internal filters, click Audio Decoder at the bottom, then go to the mixing tab.



Select your speaker configuration and check the option in the upper right called “Don’t mix stereo sources” to leave mono and stereo audio untouched by the mixer. Don’t touch any of the sliders.


I am having trouble with very low volume with downmixed audio - when I enable mixing and raise the volume from .71 to 1.0 for the center and surrounds it increases the volume to an acceptable level - is this appropriate or will there be an imbalance in the channels with the center and surrounds being louder than they should be?
thanks to all
gerall is online now  
post #4249 of 4256 Old 03-06-2017, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
cursedbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Read everything I could

Looking for some help. I have a vizio p65 and a pioneer sc-95 run off a nvidia 1070 through hdmi. I have a 7.2.2 setup with two in the ceiling. I have a BD player with multiple reference source material and have the tv and amp all dialed in. My video from the pc is excellent using the lav filters. My audio is the issue. Files encoded correctly for Atmos play well as do true hd files and show on my amp as playing. But AC3 and anything related do not. It shows as pcm and isn't decoding true. The filter its calling up is the ac3 filter and somewhere in there something is off. My rear fill is is low and flat and it doesn't decode correct. My rears are missing in most ways and the amp is not reading the ac3/dts properly. I cant call it but something is off and I cant find any info on it. Can anyone help? Thanks.
cursedbat is offline  
post #4250 of 4256 Old 03-06-2017, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
make sure widnows is set to 7.1 and why it AC3 filter even installed?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4251 of 4256 Old 03-07-2017, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
cursedbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure. I’m still working this stuff out I was out of the game for a while. The entire software setup was done this last month. My whole goal is to just get the audio to pass untouched to the receiver. Mpc hc will use the LAV filters for True HD and Atmos and Dolby plus. The file shows this on my amp. But when I go to play an AAC it won’t show on my amp as this format just PCM. If that’s what it’s supposed to do that’s fine but I don’t know is the problem. But here is what I have…

On output I have everything checked both source and transform. I have tried checking and unchecking to see if it made a difference and it switches to ffdshow for some but doesn’t resolve the issues.
Enable audio switcher is unchecked.
System default for Audio renderer in all places.
Audio renderer Exclusive mode and bitstreaming checked
I use no external filters

Last edited by cursedbat; 03-07-2017 at 05:18 AM.
cursedbat is offline  
post #4252 of 4256 Old 03-07-2017, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
lavfilter doesn't support the bitstreaming of AAC.

i don't know a software that supports bitstreaming of AAC.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4253 of 4256 Old Yesterday, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 732 Post(s)
Liked: 250
madVr is a renderer ffdshow a decoder with a ton of outdated filter.

they are not really doing the same thing so they can't be compared.
ffdshow is dead for years now and mostly replaced by lavfilter.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4254 of 4256 Old Today, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[QUOTE=gerall;50846425]I was hoping someone could elaborate on the below from the guide:

Mixer
This is mostly for people having volume issues with multichannel audio. The low volume occurs when Windows downmixes your audio, and to avoid this, you can do a downmix within MPC-HC instead. To access the mixing options of MPC-HC, go to options, internal filters, click Audio Decoder at the bottom, then go to the mixing tab.



Select your speaker configuration and check the option in the upper right called “Don’t mix stereo sources” to leave mono and stereo audio untouched by the mixer. Don’t touch any of the sliders.


I am having trouble with very low volume with downmixed audio - when I enable mixing and raise the volume from .71 to 1.0 for the center and surrounds it increases the volume to an acceptable level - is this appropriate or will there be an imbalance in the channels with the center and surrounds being louder than they should be?
thanks to all


thoughts would be appreciated - concerned with the effect of raising from .71 to 1. thanks!
gerall is online now  
post #4255 of 4256 Old Today, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 73
A more suitable solution that won't cause clipping is to rightclick the speaker icon in the system tray next to the clock and choose playback devices. Highlight your active device and then click the Properties button. Under the Enhancements TAB choose to enable Loudness Equalization.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #4256 of 4256 Old Today, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post
A more suitable solution that won't cause clipping is to rightclick the speaker icon in the system tray next to the clock and choose playback devices. Highlight your active device and then click the Properties button. Under the Enhancements TAB choose to enable Loudness Equalization.
Thanks, Shark. Tried that and everytime I use equalization or normalization it seems compressed. And when I increase the mixer sliders from .71 to 1 it does not clip. Was hoping someone could very briefly explain the function of the mixer and why the levels are set at .71, etc. thanks again
gerall is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off