Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 145 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 4345 Old 06-15-2017, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 501
USB-C to HDMI 2.0 adapter that do not support HDR10 pass-thru:

Anker Do not support HDR10 pass-thru. No plans to add the support.
Club3D Do not support HDR10 pass-thru. Working on firmware update to add support, but ran into technical difficulties, so no HDR support for the near future.

I am still searching for an adapter that does. Looking into Cable Matters and UpTab. The UpTab one is interesting, as the MFR claims HDMI2.0a while no other MFRs claim the "a". (HDMI2.0a was created to support HDR10, while b for DV) I am not sure this is what was intended, or the MFR just failed to recognize the "a" is for HDR10. The chip is Parade PS176, which was also used in Club3D adapter. I have yet seen users mentioning about HDR10 support anywhere.

Last edited by acefr; 06-15-2017 at 03:13 PM.
acefr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 4345 Old 06-15-2017, 06:24 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by acefr View Post
USB-C to HDMI 2.0 adapter that do not support HDR10 pass-thru:

Anker Do not support HDR10 pass-thru. No plans to add the support.
Club3D Do not support HDR10 pass-thru. Working on firmware update to add support, but ran into technical difficulties, so no HDR support for the near future.

I am still searching for an adapter that does. Looking into Cable Matters and UpTab. The UpTab one is interesting, as the MFR claims HDMI2.0a while no other MFRs claim the "a". (HDMI2.0a was created to support HDR10, while b for DV) I am not sure this is what was intended, or the MFR just failed to recognize the "a" is for HDR10. The chip is Parade PS176, which was also used in Club3D adapter. I have yet seen users mentioning about HDR10 support anywhere.
I'm too interested in those adapters because my HTPC mainboard has DP1.2 port which enables 4k@60Hz. It's not clear to me if the issue of HDMI 2.0 adapter that do not support HDR10 pass-thru relates to bandwidth limits, or the conversion chip or something else. And there may be a typo with "a" or "b" following HDMI2.0 sometime as well.
long_pn is online now  
post #4323 of 4345 Old 06-15-2017, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by long_pn View Post
I'm too interested in those adapters because my HTPC mainboard has DP1.2 port which enables 4k@60Hz. It's not clear to me if the issue of HDMI 2.0 adapter that do not support HDR10 pass-thru relates to bandwidth limits, or the conversion chip or something else. And there may be a typo with "a" or "b" following HDMI2.0 sometime as well.
It is the LSPCON chip inside that does not properly pass thru the HDR10 meta data. Maybe a firmware update will fix it, or maybe not. All Intel Graphic will have the same issue as they need a LSPCON chip no matter it is desktop or laptop since Kaby Lake processor does not support native HDMI2.0 (a or b). At least on the desktop you can get a discrete HDMI2.0 graphic card to avoid the LSPCON issue.
acefr is offline  
 
post #4324 of 4345 Old 06-28-2017, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm looking for advice on how to correctly play 25p material with MadVR and Reclock.

When I start playback of a 25p source, MadVR tells my Samsung tv to switch the refresh rate to 25p (probably 100hz in actuality). However, my MadVR playback stats show that I'm having frame drops every 1 second or so.

And when I open the Reclock window during playback, it looks like Reclock thinks the source is actually 23.976 fps.

I can manually change the source framerate in Reclock to 25p. This causes a message to appear in the Reclock Media Adaptation section saying "Cannot sync this CINEMA video to your hardware. Please set your monitor refresh rate near to a multiple of 24 Hz." When I then uncheck the PAL Speeddown (force to 24fps) option, the message changes to "PAL adaptation: media speed changed to 25.000 fps. Audio resampled at 48000 Hz". But I still get frame repeats every 1-2 seconds.

The best workaround I've found is to select the MadVR option for "Treat 25p sources as 24p", so MadVR slows the video down to 24p and sets my tv to 24p. Then I have to manually open the Reclock window during playback and set the source framerate to 25fps and chek the PAL SpeedDown option. This gets me to 1 frame drop every 2 minutes or so.

But this needs to be done manually every time I start a new 25p video. And still gets me nowhere close to the perfectly smooth playback I get with 24p content.

Any advice on how to set up MadVR and Reclock to handle 25p content correctly and automatically?
oso101 is offline  
post #4325 of 4345 Old 07-02-2017, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm looking for optimal settings of madVR for playing 1080p movies.
I'm using a Lenovo Ideapad laptop i7 6700hq, GTX950M, ssd , 8gb ram conected to Samsung Tv 55JU7500.

So far I used MadVR default settings with MPC-HC but I can't see a improvement image quality compared with EVR render (screenshots comparison).

Last edited by ccryd; 07-02-2017 at 11:36 PM.
ccryd is offline  
post #4326 of 4345 Old 07-03-2017, 04:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 263
try super XBR maybe even ngu low but a 950m is maybe not up to the task if the output resolution is UHD.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4327 of 4345 Old 07-03-2017, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
iTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for sharing. just setup my mpc and works very good.
iTTT is offline  
post #4328 of 4345 Old 07-16-2017, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 7
v1.7.13 is released and farewell

Pretty bummed out that this seems to be the end of development for this wonderful player. Are there any others like it? I heard some stuff about MPC-BE or something like that, but not really sure what the difference is.
Iggy SLO is offline  
post #4329 of 4345 Old 07-16-2017, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Yes ^^

Really sucks!!!

HTPC | 12TB NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II,RC64II,CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
post #4330 of 4345 Old 07-17-2017, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 263
MPC-HC will still be updated by clsid.
it is just unlikely we will see major new features.

the decoding side is pretty save too because MPC-HC uses lavfilter which is updated as usual.

MPC-BE is a fork from MPC-HC even up to this day they still share a lot of code and profited from each other.
MPC-BE is major difference is it uses it's own FFmpeg based decoder which is at least to my eyes clearly inferior to lavfilter so it is a little bit of work to switch from the internal decoder to lavfilter.
Iggy SLO likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4331 of 4345 Old 07-22-2017, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whenever i play movies with MPC-HC i have low sound. From both speakers and headphones. 9/10 movies happen this. On contrary with BS Player the sound is very high, maybe at level of distortion.

Maybe it happens cause the movies have DTS sound? Most movies are Bluray x264
lazostat is offline  
post #4332 of 4345 Old 07-22-2017, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 263
depends on the down mixing and if the player allows for more than 100% volume something that should never be used.
DTS has nothing todo with it it is just an audio codec. it is possible to encode audio louder by using the dreaded DRC.

mixing could be an issue you can try the mixing in lav audio. alternatively you can install AC3 filter and use the DRC function.

what so ever BDs are generally "lower" in volume at the same audio setting as audio CD the reason for that is simply CD are DRC to death so they are "louder" while BD audio is using a higher dynamic range to get better audio quality.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4333 of 4345 Old 07-23-2017, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
depends on the down mixing and if the player allows for more than 100% volume something that should never be used.
DTS has nothing todo with it it is just an audio codec. it is possible to encode audio louder by using the dreaded DRC.

mixing could be an issue you can try the mixing in lav audio. alternatively you can install AC3 filter and use the DRC function.

what so ever BDs are generally "lower" in volume at the same audio setting as audio CD the reason for that is simply CD are DRC to death so they are "louder" while BD audio is using a higher dynamic range to get better audio quality.
I guess depends on the settings mentioned on the 1st page, which i made. As i said BS Player and other players have higher sound on the same movies. But if its for better quality, i give up!
lazostat is offline  
post #4334 of 4345 Old 07-26-2017, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Im trying to use reclock but there's no sound


can somebody helps me please
Khaled1323 is offline  
post #4335 of 4345 Old 07-26-2017, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 263
your error massage is very clear change the output format to 24 bit or 16 bit and try again.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4336 of 4345 Old 08-03-2017, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
budmannxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by oso101 View Post
I'm looking for advice on how to correctly play 25p material with MadVR and Reclock.

When I start playback of a 25p source, MadVR tells my Samsung tv to switch the refresh rate to 25p (probably 100hz in actuality). However, my MadVR playback stats show that I'm having frame drops every 1 second or so.

And when I open the Reclock window during playback, it looks like Reclock thinks the source is actually 23.976 fps.

I can manually change the source framerate in Reclock to 25p. This causes a message to appear in the Reclock Media Adaptation section saying "Cannot sync this CINEMA video to your hardware. Please set your monitor refresh rate near to a multiple of 24 Hz." When I then uncheck the PAL Speeddown (force to 24fps) option, the message changes to "PAL adaptation: media speed changed to 25.000 fps. Audio resampled at 48000 Hz". But I still get frame repeats every 1-2 seconds.

The best workaround I've found is to select the MadVR option for "Treat 25p sources as 24p", so MadVR slows the video down to 24p and sets my tv to 24p. Then I have to manually open the Reclock window during playback and set the source framerate to 25fps and chek the PAL SpeedDown option. This gets me to 1 frame drop every 2 minutes or so.

But this needs to be done manually every time I start a new 25p video. And still gets me nowhere close to the perfectly smooth playback I get with 24p content.

Any advice on how to set up MadVR and Reclock to handle 25p content correctly and automatically?
Did you ever figure this out? Im experiencing this as well. I had not touched my setup in a while, but I'm in the process of updating everything to latest versions (MPC-HC, ReClock, and madVR, all 32-bit of course)
budmannxx is offline  
post #4337 of 4345 Old 08-05-2017, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a problem with the audio:
when the audio is not mono or stereo I hear the voices on low level and the rest very loud, what should I do?
I tried changing "enable mixing" (and nothing more) on the image:
but I can't hear any difference.
I'm on a simple tv with no other speakers; I never used any blu ray.
trhp is offline  
post #4338 of 4345 Old 08-07-2017, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone happen to have some MadVR Profiles for 1080p, 720p and TV content they wanna share?
Like, nice zip ready for extraction.

Looking for the best quality for movies and tv series, but also a profile thats super light weight (like VLC is) for whenever I wanna game and watch something at the same time, MPC cant seem to do that without stuttering.
Been reading guides and what not but nothing really improves the image much in anything, some make it look almost cartoony/clay like, for older content.

Specs: 980ti, 4790k, 16gb 2400, viewing on a 1440p monitor.
MisterSlowly is offline  
post #4339 of 4345 Old 08-09-2017, 05:40 PM
Member
 
scarface717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys has been past a few years since this tutorial popped up. Right now I changed my TV. Now I Have the LG OLED 55b7 with Onkyo HT-S3800, I'm trying to change my HTPC for a better one with better hardware. Now :

Can you recommend me another option instead of this one? (Another Software, another set-up) I ALWAYS download the movies and tv shows in .mkv files, I don't have BR Player, I don't like too much the BR Player but I think i'll need to purchase one for enjoy my new tv as full.

Thank you very much!
scarface717 is offline  
post #4340 of 4345 Old 08-10-2017, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface717 View Post
Guys has been past a few years since this tutorial popped up. Right now I changed my TV. Now I Have the LG OLED 55b7 with Onkyo HT-S3800, I'm trying to change my HTPC for a better one with better hardware. Now :

Can you recommend me another option instead of this one? (Another Software, another set-up) I ALWAYS download the movies and tv shows in .mkv files, I don't have BR Player, I don't like too much the BR Player but I think i'll need to purchase one for enjoy my new tv as full.

Thank you very much!
Why post this in the MPC-HC thread.

In any case, what is it that you don't like about MPC-HC?
onyxbfly and scarface717 like this.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #4341 of 4345 Old 08-12-2017, 03:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

Lenovo Z50-70
INTEL CORE i5 4210U
8GB RAM
INTEL HD GRAPHICS/ Geforce GT 840m

LG 4k UHD TV.

I want to play movies from my laptop through HDMI cable to my TV.

What`s the best can I do? I`m trying like 5hours different players, settings and no result.

Please help me.

Thank you!
Grigas is offline  
post #4342 of 4345 Old 08-12-2017, 04:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone tell me why i have lower volume compared to vlc and bs player? I play the same video.

Furthermore, if i play a movie with dts sound with wmpc-hc the volume is even lower.. I can't enjoy it. I dont have 5.1 speakers.

Maybe i shouldnt have changed the Bitstreaming and Mixer Settings On the first post?

I connect the pc to tv through hdmi on graphic card. I use the tv speaker.

Last edited by lazostat; 08-12-2017 at 04:53 AM.
lazostat is offline  
post #4343 of 4345 Old 08-12-2017, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do i use the Ac3 or the lav audio codecs? I am so confused!


**EDIT**

It seems Ac3 was enabled by default. I disabled it. Now the sound seems ok.. Wtf? When did i installed AC3? I was with this situation since 2+ years!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wmpc.jpg (405.9 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by lazostat; 08-12-2017 at 05:22 AM.
lazostat is offline  
post #4344 of 4345 Old 08-14-2017, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grigas View Post
Hello,

Lenovo Z50-70
INTEL CORE i5 4210U
8GB RAM
INTEL HD GRAPHICS/ Geforce GT 840m

LG 4k UHD TV.

I want to play movies from my laptop through HDMI cable to my TV.

What`s the best can I do? I`m trying like 5hours different players, settings and no result.

Please help me.

Thank you!
You should easily do up to 1080p@60Hz from that laptop. If you need help, you have to provide more details - start with defining "movies" and "no results". MPC-HC or VLC should have no problem playing a non-protected 1080p video to the TV.
Roussi is offline  
post #4345 of 4345 Old 08-15-2017, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
kensingtonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I know this is off-topic but I cannot find forum anywhere for pot player and I can't get the Settings just right. Any input from you videophiles would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to get the perfect settings for HDR content as well as good upscale settings. I'd also like to know if there are settings that can remedy poor quality 720p/1080p content. Not sure if this is a result of low bit rates but i know it's not size related because I've downloaded 720p movies that are only 5gb in size and they look stunning! What causes such poor quality in a video file? Ann example would be in a darker scene it might be blocky and pixelated:-(. Could the tv be the cause? I have an LG65B7 if that helps (although on my vizio p65 i had similar looking content as well if I recall correctly). Any helpful hints on settings or what to avoid when downloading would be greatly appreciated:-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kensingtonwick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off