Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 146 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4351 of 4367 Old 09-08-2017, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sorry double post, I can't edit
why no active hardware accelerator?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hardware.JPG (44.7 KB, 58 views)
Rippner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4352 of 4367 Old 09-09-2017, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
there could be a lot of reason for this.

the file is using a codec that can't be accelerated by the card.
4K on AMD was a huge issue back in the time so it could be blocked to prevent system crashes.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4353 of 4367 Old 09-10-2017, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
hello! I have mpc-hc + madvr (madvr output+dxva2 copy-back), but ****ty fps on a 4k movie
Bit rate: 52.9 Mb/s - Frame rate: 23.976 (24000/1001)
mpc use all cpu and gpu only 20/50%
fps drop from 24 to 15 or less
with powerdvd it play smooth but madvr is madvr
I have an i5 3450 + 7950 3gb + 8gb ram+paging

what can I do? .-. change hardware?
anyone?
Rippner is offline  
 
post #4354 of 4367 Old 09-10-2017, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
something wrong with my answer.

with old AMD cards you are playing with fire if it comes down to UHD decoding.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4355 of 4367 Old 09-11-2017, 05:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
oh, thanks and sorry, I thought your previous answer was just about hardware accelerator
so I can't do nothing with this hardware, understood
Rippner is offline  
post #4356 of 4367 Old 09-12-2017, 02:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Poland/Europe
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I have a chance to get an older Dell Precision T7500 graphics workstation in following configuration for quite cheap:

Dual CPU Xeon X5570 - 8 cores 2.93ghz
32GB ddr3 Ecc registered 1333 memory (I can easily upgrade to 64gb if it helps, ecc RAM is very cheap)
256gb ssd Samsung for OS
3 x 3tb Western Electric Green HDD
Windows 10 64gb
AMD 7750 1gb graphic card.


Is this unit appropriate and fast enough for MPC-HC and Madvr with "high end" settings? If so, should I use software or hardware docoding?
I know this graphic card is not the best one but I could spend some money on a better one like GTX 970 4gb, or somethig better if you can suggest.

At the moment I use a smaller Dell T3500 and I absolutely loved it. Unfortunately with one X5570, 24gb ddr3 and AMD 7750 it was to slow.

I watch mostly 1080p and 720p, ocassionally some SD DVSs. For Bluray I use Powerdvd16, otherwise MPC-HC with MAdvr which mops the floor with Powerdvd16 in terms of picture quality.
I want to get the best possible picture out of this unit.
What do you guys think?
derik736 is offline  
post #4357 of 4367 Old 09-12-2017, 03:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 265
CPU is not important the important part is the GPU. or with other words it doesn't change anything.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #4358 of 4367 Old 09-14-2017, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
hello! I have mpc-hc + madvr (madvr output+dxva2 copy-back), but ****ty fps on a 4k movie
Bit rate: 52.9 Mb/s - Frame rate: 23.976 (24000/1001)
mpc use all cpu and gpu only 20/50%
fps drop from 24 to 15 or less
with powerdvd it play smooth but madvr is madvr
I have an i5 3450 + 7950 3gb + 8gb ram+paging

what can I do? .-. change hardware?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
something wrong with my answer.
with old AMD cards you are playing with fire if it comes down to UHD decoding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
oh, thanks and sorry, I thought your previous answer was just about hardware accelerator
so I can't do nothing with this hardware, understood
ehm I quote myself because something strange happened!
I've formatted my PC and now I can see the same video at 60fps with mpc-hc 64bit + madvr o.o
how is it possible?
Rippner is offline  
post #4359 of 4367 Old 09-14-2017, 09:56 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
ehm I quote myself because something strange happened!
I've formatted my PC and now I can see the same video at 60fps with mpc-hc 64bit + madvr o.o
how is it possible?
What video is it ? Can you post the video details via MediaInfo or the madVR OSD ?
long_pn is offline  
post #4360 of 4367 Old 09-15-2017, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2 different video
update: I watched all first video (59mb bitrate), still not good performance. most of the time 60fps but drop to 18/24... well I need a new gpu
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.PNG
Views:	45
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	2283106   Click image for larger version

Name:	1 2.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	638.8 KB
ID:	2283108   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.PNG
Views:	35
Size:	111.3 KB
ID:	2283110   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 2.PNG
Views:	37
Size:	205.3 KB
ID:	2283112  

Last edited by Rippner; 09-15-2017 at 04:05 PM.
Rippner is offline  
post #4361 of 4367 Old 09-15-2017, 06:25 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
2 different video
update: I watched all first video (59mb bitrate), still not good performance. most of the time 60fps but drop to 18/24... well I need a new gpu
I have a haswell i5 (similar to yours) and it can cope with 4K hevc hdr video up to 24/30fps, no way 50/60 fps. Luckily, most of movies are 24/30 fps. So it serves well until I get a 4K display.
long_pn is offline  
post #4362 of 4367 Old 09-19-2017, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do all these settings may cause conflict if i have enabled movie mode ( with callibration settings ) on my TV too? Should i leave the custom settings and normal mode?
lazostat is offline  
post #4363 of 4367 Old 10-05-2017, 05:33 AM
Newbie
 
jastonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I just bought a used 50" 4k TV, Samsung UE50JU6400 (cant post url because of 0 points (( xxx.reevoo.com/p/samsung-ue50ju6400 ), and I was wondering if there is a fresh guide on setting up mpc-hc to play 4k content optimally. My PC is a i7-4770 // 16GB Ram // GTX 980

(PS. Where should I look for help on setting up my TV?)
jastonas is offline  
post #4364 of 4367 Old Yesterday, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Park City
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jastonas View Post
Hi, I just bought a used 50" 4k TV, Samsung UE50JU6400 (cant post url because of 0 points (( xxx.reevoo.com/p/samsung-ue50ju6400 ), and I was wondering if there is a fresh guide on setting up mpc-hc to play 4k content optimally. My PC is a i7-4770 // 16GB Ram // GTX 980

(PS. Where should I look for help on setting up my TV?)
I would just use the sharks codecs. they work well and easy to set up.

my HTPC is not quite powerful enough to play 4k h.265 stuff. only Pentium CPU, but I do have GTX 1050 2gb graphics card, I figured that would be enough GPU, doesn't seem to get it. everything else works well. may try experimenting a bit.
mingus is offline  
post #4365 of 4367 Old Yesterday, 10:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
any reason why my post never made it to the topic ?
Geoffxx is offline  
post #4366 of 4367 Old Yesterday, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
sorry never mind, got a little confused lol
Geoffxx is offline  
post #4367 of 4367 Old Today, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 479 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post
I would just use the sharks codecs. they work well and easy to set up.

my HTPC is not quite powerful enough to play 4k h.265 stuff. only Pentium CPU, but I do have GTX 1050 2gb graphics card, I figured that would be enough GPU, doesn't seem to get it. everything else works well. may try experimenting a bit.
IMO, my GTX 1060 6GB is the bare minimum card for 4K. 3GB isn’t enough and I can bury my 1060 with moderate settings pretty easily. That’s said, using profiles, 1 for 480 DVD and 1 for 1080 BD, I’ve got it looking pretty dialed.

MadVR makes most of my 1080 BDs look better than most of my 4K UHD BDs, minus HDR of course.

HTPC | 12TB NAS | Harmony Elite | DENON X4200W | Sony XBR75X940D
Philips BDP7501 | Klipsch RF7II,RC64II,CDT5650CII | SVS SB2000 x2
Brahmzy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off