Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 16 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 3399 Old 11-29-2011, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDestroyer8418 View Post

With those setting do we still need WMVideo Decoder DMO set to Prefer what about ffdshow Raw can we remove that from the Filter list? Do we even need ffdshow installed anymore, maybe just for DVD playback?

ffdshow raw for deinterlacing isn't needed anymore.
madvr supports broader gpu deinterlacing now.
and if that gives problems for whatever reason, lav video can now do cpu deinterlacing.

wmvideo decoder dmo is probably the best solution now. Maybe that will change in the future, they are adding interlaced vc-1 decoding to libavcodec (the software vc-1 decoder lav uses). When that happens, we can probably stop using the microsoft decoder.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 3399 Old 11-30-2011, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Wicked Klown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in a few days I'll be switching from a 61" DLP to a 106" screen with a Epson 8350. I have a bunch of DVDs I'll be playing and was wondering what the best upscaling would be in madVR. Say I go with Lanczos, do I pick 3 taps, 4 taps or 8 taps.
Wicked Klown is offline  
post #453 of 3399 Old 11-30-2011, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked Klown View Post

Here in a few days I'll be switching from a 61" DLP to a 106" screen with a Epson 8350. I have a bunch of DVDs I'll be playing and was wondering what the best upscaling would be in madVR. Say I go with Lanczos, do I pick 3 taps, 4 taps or 8 taps.


when watching old movies i like to hide the film grain and the artifacts ,
in this case i like most bilinear for chroma/ bicubic50 for the luma.

most people here like more sharp images using
softcubic for chroma & lanczos3 or spline4 for luma.
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #454 of 3399 Old 11-30-2011, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
BDestroyer8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

ffdshow raw for deinterlacing isn't needed anymore.
madvr supports broader gpu deinterlacing now.
and if that gives problems for whatever reason, lav video can now do cpu deinterlacing.

wmvideo decoder dmo is probably the best solution now. Maybe that will change in the future, they are adding interlaced vc-1 decoding to libavcodec (the software vc-1 decoder lav uses). When that happens, we can probably stop using the microsoft decoder.

I was able to use Disc 5 Planet Earth UK and everything seems to be ok with madVR. Interlaced VC-1 is this mostly from TV recordings only?

Thanks again.
BDestroyer8418 is offline  
post #455 of 3399 Old 11-30-2011, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey I got another question. I am using madvr with LAV. WHen I launch mpc-hc I want it to launch in exclusive mode. I have it set in mpc to launch it full screen but its still windowed mode. What am I missing here?


EDIT** Nevermind, when I was doing "quick open file" through MPC it wouldn't work right but clicking on a movie puts me in exclusive mode.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #456 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone got an opinion on this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

I got my 6570 installed, everything is great with madvr and lav. Only issue is when I set madvr to change the refresh rate to 1080p23 when watching blu ray. The movie is letterboxed with black bars on the sides and top and bottom. And the picture is very jumpy.

I did not have this issue in the past with nvidia but I would set it manually back then.

I am using an Onkyo AVR and the tv is a Panny TC-P50ST30. The tv is in 60hz mode but it looked better then this in the past when sending it 24p. Do I need to adjust something in catalyst? I added 1080p23 in the custom resolutions but it didn't seem to do anything.

Also I got the same behavior when I set xbmc to change the refresh rate automatically.

whiteboy714 is offline  
post #457 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Anyone got an opinion on this?

Did you set your card to 23? I had to first enable 1080p24 in the ATI settings, then you go to screen resolution>advanced settings>monitor and change it to 23 hz from 24.
clubwerks is offline  
post #458 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Anyone got an opinion on this?

Yes you'll also have to set 'overscan' individually for each refresh rate you plan to use. This will remove the black bars from around your movie.
steelman1991 is online now  
post #459 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by clubwerks View Post

Did you set your card to 23? I had to first enable 1080p24 in the ATI settings, then you go to screen resolution>advanced settings>monitor and change it to 23 hz from 24.

I want it to happen automagically,
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

Yes you'll also have to set 'overscan' individually for each refresh rate you plan to use. This will remove the black bars from around your movie.

Hey hey I did not know this thanks will try it now.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #460 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 83
@whiteboy714 - setting MadVR to exclusive (which I see you have done) should also help with the 'jumpy picture' issue
steelman1991 is online now  
post #461 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

I want it to happen automagically,


Hey hey I did not know this thanks will try it now.

Sweet that totally worked!! Its nice and smooth now to a whole new experience thanks a lot!
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

@whiteboy714 - setting MadVR to exclusive (which I see you have done) should also help with the 'jumpy picture' issue

Thanks a lot for helping out man, its seems the overscan thing fixed it.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #462 of 3399 Old 12-01-2011, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey what do you guys do for stuff that is 25fps? (in the states).

I see a setting in madvr to treat it as 24p but it requires reclock. Without that setting it seems to have changed to 23.976 which is dropping a frame every second and not looking good.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #463 of 3399 Old 12-02-2011, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

Hey what do you guys do for stuff that is 25fps? (in the states).

I see a setting in madvr to treat it as 24p but it requires reclock. Without that setting it seems to have changed to 23.976 which is dropping a frame every second and not looking good.

Got the 25fps thing sorted.

Also having an issue on my bedroom htpc with vivid. Running it with a gt240. Installed Lava, cuvid and madvr. When I play an avi MPc-hc chokes and displays nothing. These are HD avi's. If I select the regular lav video decoder it works fine. This didn't happen when it was paired with an i3 550. Now its with an and athlon II x2. Not sure if that matters. Not sure what the deal is but I was hoping to use CUVID. The settings are pretty much stock.

EDIT* I just disabled CUVID for xvid. Not the best fix but good enough.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #464 of 3399 Old 12-02-2011, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
nwo4life022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is anyone else experiencing freezing issues with media player classic with the settings listed on front page? When i scan through a video, media player classic will freeze the video on occasion and i have to end process on it. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
nwo4life022 is offline  
post #465 of 3399 Old 12-03-2011, 06:50 AM
Member
 
rmmeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help? I am trying to play an interlaced VC-1 file in MPC-HC. I have Sharks codec installed and it plays fine in Windows Media Center (according to Graphedit it is using ffdshow Video Decoder). I have madVR, LAV Splitter, LAV Audio decoder, WMVideo Decoder DMO and LAV Video Decoder in the External Filters list. When it uses the WMVideo Decoder DMO filter, the video stutters. When I switch to deinterlacing using LAV Video Decoder I get no sound or video but the CPU seems to be doing something from looking at CPU usage. When I try madVR deinterlacing I get sound but no video.

Any suggestions on what I can try?
rmmeli is offline  
post #466 of 3399 Old 12-03-2011, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm a little confused about black levels. Here's what I've got.

Win7
ATI 5570
MPC-HC
LAV Splitter
LAV Audio
LAV Video

All with the latest drivers. Hardware is PC -> Pioneer VSX-1021K -> LE LE8500

For this video path should I have 0-255 or 16-235 in CCC, MadVR, LAV Video?

My other playback route is PDVD11 for BD. I've the same question 0-255 or 16-235 in CCC?

Thanks.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #467 of 3399 Old 12-03-2011, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

I'm a little confused about black levels. Here's what I've got.

Win7
ATI 5570
MPC-HC
LAV Splitter
LAV Audio
LAV Video

All with the latest drivers. Hardware is PC -> Pioneer VSX-1021K -> LE LE8500

For this video path should I have 0-255 or 16-235 in CCC, MadVR, LAV Video?

My other playback route is PDVD11 for BD. I've the same question 0-255 or 16-235 in CCC?

Thanks.

My TV, Mits wd65c9, supports PC input. Actually many TVs do, they just don't tell you. If you pick "PC" as the input type out of the menu, then it becomes like a PC display. So, everything I read on the subject, which was substantial, told me to set the CCC to RGB 4:4:4. Then enable dynamic range and set the levels to 0-255 in CCC. Finally, I set the level to 0-255 in madVR. If your TV doesn't support PC output levels, set it to 16-235.
clubwerks is offline  
post #468 of 3399 Old 12-03-2011, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
there is a test pattern you can run to see if you have the right levels.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rmmeli View Post

Can anyone help? I am trying to play an interlaced VC-1 file in MPC-HC. I have Sharks codec installed and it plays fine in Windows Media Center (according to Graphedit it is using ffdshow Video Decoder). I have madVR, LAV Splitter, LAV Audio decoder, WMVideo Decoder DMO and LAV Video Decoder in the External Filters list. When it uses the WMVideo Decoder DMO filter, the video stutters. When I switch to deinterlacing using LAV Video Decoder I get no sound or video but the CPU seems to be doing something from looking at CPU usage. When I try madVR deinterlacing I get sound but no video.

Any suggestions on what I can try?

make sure lav splitter is in use? uncheck matroska in internal filters, block haali in external if present. Other splitters don't play well with this decoder. Also, it might have broken with a recent update, might wanna contact nev about it if this is the case.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #469 of 3399 Old 12-04-2011, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

there is a test pattern you can run to see if you have the right levels.

I haven't tried the test patterns yet in MPC-HC. I have used a BD that has a test pattern in it within PDVD11 and it seems that setting everything to 0-255 and selecting pixel format YCbCr 4:4:4 is giving me the correct level which is totall counter-intuitive to what I thought. I tried RGB 4:4:4 but it seems way to dark and I'm getting crushed blacks I think. YCbCr 4:4:4 looks good so I guess I'll go with it.

16-235 in either MadVR or CCC definitely makes the picture looked washed out.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #470 of 3399 Old 12-04-2011, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ricabullah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mentioned somewhere here to open a new thread on bitstream/bitexact.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1376533

Chronical Tester
ricabullah is offline  
post #471 of 3399 Old 12-05-2011, 01:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

I haven't tried the test patterns yet in MPC-HC. I have used a BD that has a test pattern in it within PDVD11 and it seems that setting everything to 0-255 and selecting pixel format YCbCr 4:4:4 is giving me the correct level which is totall counter-intuitive to what I thought. I tried RGB 4:4:4 but it seems way to dark and I'm getting crushed blacks I think. YCbCr 4:4:4 looks good so I guess I'll go with it.

16-235 in either MadVR or CCC definitely makes the picture looked washed out.

Have a look at this thread in doom9 http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...madvr&page=558 post #11159 onward - recommendation is 'Dynamic Range' in ATI CCC be set to 16-235, pixel format to RGB 4:4:4
steelman1991 is online now  
post #472 of 3399 Old 12-05-2011, 01:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
there is not really YCbCr 4:4:4 output in any pc

i dont know how PVD works but Dsfilters have to do everything in rgb
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #473 of 3399 Old 12-05-2011, 06:41 AM
Member
 
rmmeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

make sure lav splitter is in use? uncheck matroska in internal filters, block haali in external if present. Other splitters don't play well with this decoder. Also, it might have broken with a recent update, might wanna contact nev about it if this is the case.

I think the problem is in madVR. I changed to EVR Custom Pres and everything works fine.
rmmeli is offline  
post #474 of 3399 Old 12-05-2011, 08:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There's definitely a visible difference between YCbCr 4:4:4 and RGB 4:4:4. Using test patterns in PDVD and MPC-HC using Madvr the following settings are giving almost the exact same results.

CCC RGB 4:4:4 with Dynamic Range 16-235 in both CCC and MadVR
and
CCC YCbCr 4:4:4 with Dynamic Range 0-255 in both CCC and MadVR

So, I'm not really sure what to choose. I've got it set using the RGB 4:4:4 above the Doom thread and will spend some time with it and see how it looks.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #475 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 12:37 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
MadVR's output is RGB (0-255 or 16-235). You can play with levels to find which one provides best picture with your display, but it will be RGB anyway, not YCbCr.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #476 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Blackwaltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, im very new to the HTPC world and a lot of this is a bit overwhelming but I am doing my best to keep up. I am looking to repurpose an old xps630i computer with a q6600 core 2 quad 2.4Ghz and an amd 6850, are these sufficient specs for use of the guide on the first page? Should I consider overclocking my cpu? From what I understand I have to go the route of Lav + yadif as a deinterlacer because I have an amd card, which would be heavy on the cpu.
Thanks
Blackwaltz is offline  
post #477 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 02:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony_Montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwaltz View Post

Hi, im very new to the HTPC world and a lot of this is a bit overwhelming but I am doing my best to keep up. I am looking to repurpose an old xps630i computer with a q6600 core 2 quad 2.4Ghz and an amd 6850, are these sufficient specs for use of the guide on the first page? Should I consider overclocking my cpu? From what I understand I have to go the route of Lav + yadif as a deinterlacer because I have an amd card, which would be heavy on the cpu.
Thanks

nope,

your cpu is good enough
and you gpu is an overkill.

for ati users i think the best to do is to use madvr for h264 & mpeg2
decoder,too

Open lav video settings, then go to formats tab and uncheck mpeg2 & h264

the go to madvr settings and enable decoding and deinterlacing
Tony_Montana is offline  
post #478 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 06:30 AM
Member
 
Cow000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Is this setup better than k lite codec pack for playing bluray's ? (i set ffdshow for both audio/video)


Thx
Cow000 is offline  
post #479 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

MadVR's output is RGB (0-255 or 16-235). You can play with levels to find which one provides best picture with your display, but it will be RGB anyway, not YCbCr.

I understood YCbCr to be a representation/translation of RGB into a different color space. I would imagine that since AMD has an option to set this then it does do some sort of translation. There is a noticeable difference in output between the settings in CCC. So, I'm guessing here, what happens is the video drive translated RGB from MadVR to YCbCr before output.

I would imagine that if the display is expecting YCbCr then it might be best to have the video card output it that way. Of course, I have no idea what my AVR or TV expect.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #480 of 3399 Old 12-06-2011, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 56
madvr is outputting rgb, so i would think you want your card to not convert the output again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow000 View Post

Is this setup better than k lite codec pack for playing bluray's ? (i set ffdshow for both audio/video)

Yea, I think so.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off