Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 3161 Old 02-08-2012, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

madvr .80 supports hardware deinterlacing, so you can deinterlace through the renderer.
you arent forced to deinterlace through the decoder anymore.

Thanks..mine is at 0.77
I wasnt aware of this change
so I'll need to update.
devoz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 3161 Old 02-09-2012, 03:26 PM
Member
 
huge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I correct that:

(A) I probably shouldn't mess with MadVR because my system (Win7 x64 on AMD Athlon X2 BE2300 1.9GHz with 3G DDR2 ram, with AMD HD6450 video card) is too slow to handle it well?

(B) I probably wouldn't benefit much from it anyway because my display is an Infocus IN72 projector, which is only 480p.


I've been focused on audio so far, and now have bitstreaming working well with LAV filters, but now I'm changing gears to focus on video, and realizing how much I don't know...
huge is offline  
post #723 of 3161 Old 02-09-2012, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
idk, i think you can use madvr, at least for progressive content, with bilinear scaling and aero disabled.

Also, you can overclock the graphics card for more performance, that might help.

1080i is where i imagine things get tricky though.

at any rate, it is worth a try, if it doesnt work out, just put the renderer back to evr custom pres.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #724 of 3161 Old 02-10-2012, 12:40 PM
Member
 
huge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

idk, i think you can use madvr, at least for progressive content, with bilinear scaling and aero disabled.

Also, you can overclock the graphics card for more performance, that might help.

1080i is where i imagine things get tricky though.

at any rate, it is worth a try, if it doesnt work out, just put the renderer back to evr custom pres.

Thanks for the reply, Mindbomb! THIS THREAD, while not completely clear, makes me think that my CPU/GPU combo is not up to the task of handling MadVR. But I'll probably take your advice and just try it.

What about my second question - ie am I less likely to notice any benefit from MadVR because in the end I'm displaying everything on a 480p projector?

And then ... I think I have to just expose my massive ignorance and say that while I do know a little about the distinction between progressive and interlaced video, I know absolutely nothing about what that means in terms of video formats/containers, so I actually have no idea if most of the content I watch on HTPC is progressive or not. Can someone clarify that for me, or point me to a "Progressive vs Interlaced video explanation for absolute and total noobs" guide? (I did look around in an attempt to avoid admitting this, but couldn't educate myself)
huge is offline  
post #725 of 3161 Old 02-11-2012, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
redbandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is kinda off topic but how do get mkv files to play on media player 12 with out messing up MPC
redbandit is offline  
post #726 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 12:51 AM
Newbie
 
Remicade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a difference between Enable Pre-resize pixel shaders and Post ?
Remicade is offline  
post #727 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 04:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remicade View Post

There is a difference between Enable Pre-resize pixel shaders and Post ?

Yes, generally you want to use pre-resize for functions such as the YV12 chroma upsampling shader (not sure which others), and you want to use the post-resise for things like sharpening (otherwise you oversharpen the image since in essence it would be sharpening the original size of the video then when you resize it would be sharpening again through the resizing done by the renderer)

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is online now  
post #728 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 05:46 AM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

madvr .80 supports hardware deinterlacing, so you can deinterlace through the renderer.
you arent forced to deinterlace through the decoder anymore.

does it support vector adaptive deinterlacing in amd ccc using a saphhire 5670
i was using ccc 12.1 when using evr cp, vector adaptive kept falling back to bob. i uninstalled 12.1 and installed 11.4 ccc and vector adaptive setting now sticks using evr cp
funnyfuka is offline  
post #729 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remicade View Post

There is a difference between Enable Pre-resize pixel shaders and Post ?

those shaders dont work with madvr btw

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuka View Post

does it support vector adaptive deinterlacing in amd ccc using a saphhire 5670
i was using ccc 12.1 when using evr cp, vector adaptive kept falling back to bob. i uninstalled 12.1 and installed 11.4 ccc and vector adaptive setting now sticks using evr cp

It should. Keep in mind that doing dxva2 copyback, madvr, and vector adaptive deinterlacing can be much tougher on your graphics card than just doing vector adaptive.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #730 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 08:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
I wrote a long post on this subject:

AMD Llano APU under madVR

Take a look if you are interested.

renethx is offline  
post #731 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 11:50 AM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
dxva2 copyback, madvr, and vector adaptive deinterlacing sure does rake the ass outta my sapphire 5670 playing 1080i. i was using afterburner to check gpu usage and it was hovering around 79 to 80% usuage it wasnt droping any frames.
i changed deinterlacing in ccc to bob and the same 1080i file gpu usage was about 74% so it seems thats it using the the ccc deinterling settings
is there any benfit to having deinterlacing on in madvr when its on in ccc. will it result in better video quality.
funnyfuka is offline  
post #732 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
i cant imagine a situation where you would need to turn it off.

the only way the driver's deinterlacing can be used is if deinterlacing is on in madvr.

well, either that or you use hardware deinterlacing with cuda, or hardware deinterlacing with quicksync (not available yet), in lav video
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #733 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 12:31 PM
Member
 
funnyfuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

i cant imagine a situation where you would need to turn it off.

the only way the driver's deinterlacing can be used is if deinterlacing is on in madvr.

well, either that or you use hardware deinterlacing with cuda, or hardware deinterlacing with quicksync (not available yet), in lav video

ok, thats something i didnt know, im fairly new to this and learning from you guys all the time
funnyfuka is offline  
post #734 of 3161 Old 02-12-2012, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
MadVR question, I recently had my monitor calibrated. Should I set gamma to 2.2? On my calibration report the average gamma was 2.13

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #735 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 04:22 AM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In dark room I prefer 2.4. 2.2 is too bright.

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #736 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 05:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by funnyfuka View Post

i changed deinterlacing in ccc to bob and the same 1080i file gpu usage was about 74% so it seems thats it using the the ccc deinterling settings

Once "deinterlacing on" in madVR, every video post-processor in CCC (Video > Color & Quality) will work whatever decoder you use. You can check this, for example, by setting "Edge enhancement" to 100% and enabling/disabling it (the effect is immediate without pressing the Apply button). So madshi recommends: "Using DXVA2 deinterlacing means that potentially all the nasty GPU algorithms like noise reduction and edge enhancement are introduced to madVR. So make sure you have all this stuff turned off in your GPU driver's control panel" (madVR v0.78 release notes). Of course you have to turn on the following three:

- Advanced Video Color > Dynamic Range Limited (16-235) (so that BTB and WTW are not cut off by DXVA2 deinterlacing)
- Use automatic deinterlacing
- Pulldown detection
renethx is offline  
post #737 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

In dark room I prefer 2.4. 2.2 is too bright.

So it doesn't matter which one we pick? Preference? I thought I had to pick the one closest to what my calibration report said

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #738 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

I thought I had to pick the one closest to what my calibration report said

i would assume you should do that too.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #739 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I simply have mine set to "disable calibration controls for this display" on my 42" calibrated plasma. Either way works identically from what I've seen.

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings

Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings

HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT150 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60

fairchild99 is online now  
post #740 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 10:06 PM
Qaq
Senior Member
 
Qaq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

I thought I had to pick the one closest to what my calibration report said

Have you calibrated it in dark room?

Burned by the Audio Inquisition
Qaq is offline  
post #741 of 3161 Old 02-13-2012, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qaq View Post

Have you calibrated it in dark room?

The TV was calibrated during the day with an Xrite I believe. Would that change any of the settings?

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #742 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am having a problem with PowerDVD 11 and I am wondering if anything in this setup could be affect PDVD 11?

Specifically, I am showing on my HTPC that my dual core E4500 CPU has one of the cores at 100% during playback (about 55% overall for both) and GPU-Z shows the CPU at 0% which makes me think hardware acceleration isn't working. The end result is I get video corruption, skipping, and pauses when playing BD .iso in PDVD 11.

Could I have done something with LAV setup to affect PDVD 11 playback of VC-1?
JMGNYC is offline  
post #743 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

I am having a problem with PowerDVD 11 and I am wondering if anything in this setup could be affect PDVD 11?

Specifically, I am showing on my HTPC that my dual core E4500 CPU has one of the cores at 100% during playback (about 55% overall for both) and GPU-Z shows the CPU at 0% which makes me think hardware acceleration isn't working. The end result is I get video corruption, skipping, and pauses when playing BD .iso in PDVD 11.

Could I have done something with LAV setup to affect PDVD 11 playback of VC-1?

PDVD11 uses its own video playback pipeline/codecs for BD, that won't be affected by any other player (even not by another version of PDVD).

GPU-Z tells nothing about the activity of GPU's hardware decoder, "GPU Load" is the activity of the shader units.

What graphics card are you using? Does video corruption occur to every BD or just one BD (then which one)?
renethx is offline  
post #744 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

PDVD11 uses its own video playback pipeline/codecs for BD, that won't be affected by any other player (even not by another version of PDVD).

GPU-Z tells nothing about the activity of GPU's hardware decoder, "GPU Load" is the activity of the shader units.

What graphics card are you using? Does video corruption occur to every BD or just one BD (then which one)?

Thanks for the reply renethx.

I guess I was misunderstanding what GPU-Z was telling me.

I've got an ATI 5570 1GB RAM. Win7 64bit and an E4500 CPU.

I'm currently use 11.4 ATI driver. I have tried the newer drivers and they make the problem much worse. 12.1 was unwatchable compared to 11.4 where the glitches are only occassional.

It happens to some extent on all blu-rays. Some are worse than others for sure.

PDVD is sending HD audio to my receiver (or so my receiver says and I believe it) but I noticed in the PDVD Show Information window it says output is compressed.

Fially, I tested with PDVD on my desktop with a nVidia 9600M and a T6500 CPU and CPU usage is only about 25% and there's no playback problems. It of course doesn't do HD audio being a desktop.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #745 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 10:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Perhaps clean installing Windows on a reformatted partition, installing 12.1 driver, then PowerDVD 11 with latest patch will fix the problem.
renethx is offline  
post #746 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Perhaps clean installing Windows on a reformatted partition, installing 12.1 driver, then PowerDVD 11 with latest patch will fix the problem.

Eeek, I always hated clean installs! I think I'll try playing around with a few more things and see if I can figure out how to use GraphEdit before I do that. If I do do a clean install, I also think I'll switch to 32-bit Win 7.

BTW, how can you tell if hardware acceleration is being used?
JMGNYC is offline  
post #747 of 3161 Old 02-14-2012, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried the TMT5 trial and it exhibits the same behaviour. In any case this doesn't belong in this thread so I'll start a new one.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #748 of 3161 Old 02-16-2012, 01:17 PM
Member
 
MakaKam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I've been using mpc-hc+madvr+reclock combo for some time. Since I bitstream I have reclock speed correction disabled. When watching movies I change the refresh rate to 23 (I own radeon 6570) and in madvr osd I can see that there's 1 frame drop every 25-29 minutes. I decided to try lpcm with reclock correction and then madvr states that there's one frame drop every 5 minutes. Isn't it supposed to be better this way?
MakaKam is offline  
post #749 of 3161 Old 02-17-2012, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMGNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMGNYC View Post

A general question....

Playing a 1080p VC-1 video (.mkv container) at about 25.5mbps bit rate (BD rip) takes up about 70% CPU. Audio is TrueHD. Skip forward/Chapter forward is very, very, very slow. There are some dropped frames.

I take it the 70% CPU is what is causing the problems. I also take it that hardware acceleration would help that.

So, should I hold out for GPU hardware acceleration for my graphics card for VC-1, get a nVidia card, or get a new CPU?

I've been thinking of moving my BDs to .mkv from .iso as PDVD is annoying me but that just doesn't seem possible at the moment.

Just as an FYI, setting "Enable VC-1 Timestamp Correct" to OFF (rather than the default intermidiary state) in LAV Splitter properties has mostly corrected this problem. It's still not as responsive as with h.264 video but is a huge improvement.
JMGNYC is offline  
post #750 of 3161 Old 02-17-2012, 10:16 AM
Member
 
SleepWalker2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakaKam View Post

Ok, I've been using mpc-hc+madvr+reclock combo for some time. Since I bitstream I have reclock speed correction disabled. When watching movies I change the refresh rate to 23 (I own radeon 6570) and in madvr osd I can see that there's 1 frame drop every 25-29 minutes. I decided to try lpcm with reclock correction and then madvr states that there's one frame drop every 5 minutes. Isn't it supposed to be better this way?

I have a setup very similar to your, my card is a 6850. I would be curious to know why you are using reclock? What does it adds to the setup from this thread?

btw, when I press ctrl-J in mpc-hc it shows 1 drop every 5 to 10 hours.
SleepWalker2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off