Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 28 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide

Home Theater Computers

MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
02:22 AM Liked: 52
post #811 of 3326
03-03-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
oh wait, you guys, i had the smart subtitle selection setup wrong, i should have wrote
eng:eng|f;engff;*:eng
Peakki's Avatar Peakki
03:10 AM Liked: 10
post #812 of 3326
03-03-2012 | Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 2009
Hi!
I've Win7 x64 Ultimate, HD4890OC with the latest Ati drivers.
Everything has been set according to the first post in this thread.

But I'm missing subtitles with .mkv and .mp4 etc files!
I've tried to rename them according to movie file, putting to subfolder (subs) and played with the settings.
I tried fin:fin as also fin:fin||f;finff;*:fin, don't actually know how to set it right...

W and S keys seem to have no function, at least during playback.

Are .srt and .sub subtitles supported?

Any tips are welcome!
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar Luis Gabriel Gerena
08:22 AM Liked: 19
post #813 of 3326
03-03-2012 | Posts: 2,724
Joined: Aug 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

sapphire makes a 6670 1gb gddr5 that is passively cooled for $100.

that should be fine for this for the most part. Might have problems with 1080p60.

also asus makes a passive gt 430 that is cheaper if you want to go the nvidia route, but I'm not sure if it is fast enough for some extreme cases. You might have to play around with scaling or deinterlacing, or overclock.

Well one thing I noticed..if I uncheck the option to go to exclusive mode when going to full screen then there are no hiccups, the movie runs smoothly all the way. I wonder what that option does and what am I missing..
Any ideas?
MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
02:01 PM Liked: 52
post #814 of 3326
03-03-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peakki View Post

Hi!
I've Win7 x64 Ultimate, HD4890OC with the latest Ati drivers.
Everything has been set according to the first post in this thread.

But I'm missing subtitles with .mkv and .mp4 etc files!
I've tried to rename them according to movie file, putting to subfolder (subs) and played with the settings.
I tried fin:fin as also fin:fin||f;finff;*:fin, don't actually know how to set it right...

W and S keys seem to have no function, at least during playback.

Are .srt and .sub subtitles supported?

Any tips are welcome!

Options>playback> check autoload subtitles.

other than that, use up to date lav filters, madvr, and mpc hc.
lordx2's Avatar lordx2
01:21 PM Liked: 10
post #815 of 3326
03-04-2012 | Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2010
MadVR now utilizes the GPU - and supports subtitles.

What is the benefit to installing/using LAV filters?
MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
11:36 PM Liked: 52
post #816 of 3326
03-04-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
the short answer:
they do different things.
chheber's Avatar chheber
08:24 AM Liked: 10
post #817 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2009
I use MPCHC (1.6.0.4014) on my HTPC and just started using the LAV filters (0.48). It seems if you use LAV (or any external filter?) MPCHC can't "remeber file poistion" anymore? If so it makes the HTPC useless IMO.
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar Luis Gabriel Gerena
08:31 AM Liked: 19
post #818 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 2,724
Joined: Aug 2000
I have two questions about audio.

1) Has anyone been able to get 7.1 audio using analog output? I can set it to 7 channels and doing the THX test within the X-FI configuration panel works fine but the movies only play using 5.1 instead.
2) Is using reclock going to degrade the sound quality of DolbyHD and DTS HD soundtracks?

Thanks!
Sammy2's Avatar Sammy2
08:32 AM Liked: 192
post #819 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 9,857
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chheber View Post

I use MPCHC (1.6.0.4014) on my HTPC and just started using the LAV filters (0.48). It seems if you use LAV (or any external filter?) MPCHC can't "remeber file poistion" anymore? If so it makes the HTPC useless IMO.

What do you mean by this? I find my HTPC very usefull with LAV and MPC-HC.
chheber's Avatar chheber
08:40 AM Liked: 10
post #820 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2009
It's a setting in MPCHC and is self-explanatory isn't it? Anyway, it makes it so you can resume video at the timestamp you closed it.

edit:
Seems the reason was the way I "exited" MPCHC with EventGhost, by killing the process. I changed it to ALT+X and it now remembers the position fine while using LAV. I don't remember why I setup the process way 2-3 years ago.
Sammy2's Avatar Sammy2
08:57 AM Liked: 192
post #821 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 9,857
Joined: Mar 2011
I hardly see that as making my HTPC useless...
IrishRally's Avatar IrishRally
10:39 PM Liked: 10
post #822 of 3326
03-05-2012 | Posts: 17
Joined: Dec 2009
Thanks for this guide. I've used the guide to set up MPC-HC on my htpc to yield results I'm very happy with.

I have a new computer now and would like to transfer over the exact MPC-HC setup so I don't have to go through all the hassle again. Am I better off just starting over?
Sammy2's Avatar Sammy2
08:36 AM Liked: 192
post #823 of 3326
03-07-2012 | Posts: 9,857
Joined: Mar 2011
Question on MPC-HC speed up and slow down keys..

Do these only adjust the video frame rate or is it both video and audio?

The reason I ask is because it seems that sometimes the two get out of sync. It was especially bad last night with my rip of J. Edgar. Maybe it was a bad rip, but I had to keep stopping the movie to adjust the audio offset. By the end of the movie I had it at 8000ms!
Sammy2's Avatar Sammy2
07:16 PM Liked: 192
post #824 of 3326
03-07-2012 | Posts: 9,857
Joined: Mar 2011
Although I think I have a solution does anybody know the answer to this?
lordx2's Avatar lordx2
05:45 PM Liked: 10
post #825 of 3326
03-08-2012 | Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2010
So can anyone explain to me what LAV filters actually DO? And why they are superior to simply using FFDSHOW?
pokekevin's Avatar pokekevin
05:54 PM Liked: 101
post #826 of 3326
03-08-2012 | Posts: 5,077
Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Gabriel Gerena View Post

I have two questions about audio.

1) Has anyone been able to get 7.1 audio using analog output? I can set it to 7 channels and doing the THX test within the X-FI configuration panel works fine but the movies only play using 5.1 instead.
2) Is using reclock going to degrade the sound quality of DolbyHD and DTS HD soundtracks?

Thanks!

Aren't most tracks 5.1? Do you have your pre/pro / receiver set to use pl2x?
MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
11:14 PM Liked: 52
post #827 of 3326
03-08-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordx2 View Post

So can anyone explain to me what LAV filters actually DO? And why they are superior to simply using FFDSHOW?

Smart subtitle selection in lav splitter. I didn't think much of this when it first was added, but I cannot live without it now.

more hardware acceleration modes in lav video (nvida cuda, intel quicksync, renderer independent dxva)

dts-hd decoding possible in lav audio

up to 32 float output with intelligent output selection in lav audio

less bugs and problems in general i think

and all of the lav filters are fairly simple to configure.
MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
11:30 PM Liked: 52
post #828 of 3326
03-08-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Gabriel Gerena View Post

I have two questions about audio.

1) Has anyone been able to get 7.1 audio using analog output? I can set it to 7 channels and doing the THX test within the X-FI configuration panel works fine but the movies only play using 5.1 instead.
2) Is using reclock going to degrade the sound quality of DolbyHD and DTS HD soundtracks?

Thanks!

it should be possible. make sure the movie you are watching has 7.1 sound. If it is dts-hd audio, you need that dll from the arcsoft player.
Also, make sure your sound card and windows is configured for 7.1.
And even if the movie doesn't have 7.1, you actually should be able to do an upmix with cmss with that sound card.

if you are bitstreaming them, no. If you aren't, it kinda depends on how much of a purist you are. One man's audio enhancement could be unnecessary processing for someone else. That's assuming you are using reclock to reclock audio. You can also use it simply for wasapi output. If you are doing that, then no, not really. As long as you have reclocking disabled and 24 bit output selected.
DeathPoobar's Avatar DeathPoobar
03:06 AM Liked: 10
post #829 of 3326
03-09-2012 | Posts: 82
Joined: Jun 2010
I'm glad you added the DVD workaround. However, I've found that some of my titles (both iso and folder format) will cause MPC to freeze. Not sure it's because of the player or FFDshow.

As this is advanced setup guide, I'd like to see some more options in MPC explained e.g. best settings for keys, refresh rate switching etc. I'm also having trouble with navigating menus in MPC and recall that there is another filter/plug-in you can use as a remedy.
Sammy2's Avatar Sammy2
06:36 AM Liked: 192
post #830 of 3326
03-09-2012 | Posts: 9,857
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Question on MPC-HC speed up and slow down keys..

Do these only adjust the video frame rate or is it both video and audio?

The reason I ask is because it seems that sometimes the two get out of sync. It was especially bad last night with my rip of J. Edgar. Maybe it was a bad rip, but I had to keep stopping the movie to adjust the audio offset. By the end of the movie I had it at 8000ms!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Although I think I have a solution does anybody know the answer to this?

Anyone?
a1sy's Avatar a1sy
01:48 PM Liked: 11
post #831 of 3326
03-10-2012 | Posts: 418
Joined: Dec 2006
I am trying to install MPC and doing probably something stupid:
I install MPC-HC per 1st page guide , downloaded MadVR and installed it.
When open options in MPC, MadVR is grey out. How to make it enabled?
Thanks
pippipseed's Avatar pippipseed
02:49 PM Liked: 10
post #832 of 3326
03-10-2012 | Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1sy View Post

I am trying to install MPC and doing probably something stupid:
I install MPC-HC per 1st page guide , downloaded MadVR and installed it.
When open options in MPC, MadVR is grey out. How to make it enabled?
Thanks


might be one of two :

Madvr not registered properly "run install.bat as admin"
You installed the x64 version of MPC-HC , madvr works only with 32 bit version

There might be another cause, but that's all I can guess
a1sy's Avatar a1sy
03:58 PM Liked: 11
post #833 of 3326
03-10-2012 | Posts: 418
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippipseed View Post

might be one of two :

Madvr not registered properly "run install.bat as admin"
You installed the x64 version of MPC-HC , madvr works only with 32 bit version

There might be another cause, but that's all I can guess

Yes, I am running Win 7 64 bit. So it's not supported?
MlNDBOMB's Avatar MlNDBOMB
04:17 PM Liked: 52
post #834 of 3326
03-10-2012 | Posts: 853
Joined: Oct 2010
install mpc hc 32 bit.
a1sy's Avatar a1sy
06:57 PM Liked: 11
post #835 of 3326
03-10-2012 | Posts: 418
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

install mpc hc 32 bit.

I will try 32bit ver. Thank you
skingery's Avatar skingery
10:30 PM Liked: 10
post #836 of 3326
03-11-2012 | Posts: 74
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1sy View Post

I will try 32bit ver. Thank you

Also be sure you don't move MadVR after you install it.
smokarz's Avatar smokarz
09:24 AM Liked: 73
post #837 of 3326
03-12-2012 | Posts: 3,289
Joined: Feb 2007
Hey guys, I've always wanted to use MPC-HC as my default 'everything' player in my HTPC but I just couldn't managed to get them right in the past, but I like to revisit option again.

I've had issues particularly with audio bitstreaming in the past, when LAV wasn't around (or was not the reccomended option). Also, MPC-HC seemed to put out a bit dimmer image compared to TMT5 (and Win7 Media Player).

Here's my setup, and I would really appreciate suggestions/reccomendations on how to optimize my system with MPC-HC as the default player.

HTPC: Win7 64bit, Athlon II X4 630, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon 5670, 64GB SSD for OS, 4TB for media storage

AVR: Integra DHC 9.9 pre/pro, Emotiva UPA-7 amp

Display: Epson 8100 projector, 90" Gray paint screen

HTPC > AVR > Projector all via HDMI

I have also heard that I need to change a few things in ATI Catalyst Control Panel in order for the HTPC to output the proper image?

Basically, what I like to do is have my HTPC output a 'natural' image without any processing, ehancing, etc, that is not necessary. I am calibrating my Epson 8100 PJ with a meter so I don't want the HTPC to be doing anything that would interfere with this process.

Thanks much everyone!
maxleung's Avatar maxleung
09:44 AM Liked: 13
post #838 of 3326
03-12-2012 | Posts: 3,504
Joined: Mar 2003
A dimmer image may be because MPC-HC (or your renderer) is not configured to output PC levels instead of video levels.

For example, video levels is 16-235 range (when doing standard conversion to RGB), which will seem dimmer or washed out on a display calibrated for 0-255 (PC) levels.

I don't remember what TMT5 uses - it's probably doing 0-255 expansion.

Myself, I use LAV filters + MadVR with levels expansion to 0-255 (to be consistent with the desktop). The image is extremely good.
smokarz's Avatar smokarz
10:27 AM Liked: 73
post #839 of 3326
03-12-2012 | Posts: 3,289
Joined: Feb 2007
Thanks.

I took readings for a 100% IRE windows pattern from the AVSHD 709 disc, both with MPC-HC and TMT5 and noticed that TMT5 is about 1 foot lambert brighter, so I went ahead and calibrated my pj with TMT5.

What graphic card do you user? Did you adjust your graphic card driver settings?
maxleung's Avatar maxleung
11:04 AM Liked: 13
post #840 of 3326
03-12-2012 | Posts: 3,504
Joined: Mar 2003
I don't remember if my nvidia card is set to pass video levels or not (application controlled or not) - but that doesn't matter as I use MadVR as the renderer with levels expansion (0-255) selected. If you don't use madvr you could tell MPC-HC to do levels expansion and you will get the same brightness as TMT5. You will have to experiment with this.

MadVR requires a somewhat beefy videocard, or at least one that has good shaders and onboard video decoding.

Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3