Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 3190 Old 08-14-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Maybe un-install reclock. I don't use it and never have. The audio on my system is synced perfectly.

Sammy2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 3190 Old 08-14-2012, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanej View Post

I'm having a slight out of sync problem using this config + a Onkyo 7409 HTiB, it gets worse when I'm on 23hz mode, maybe some changes to reclock will do it?

hmm, maybe, undo everything in the second part of the reclock config. (media adaptation and slave reference clock)

there are basically 2 ways to configure reclock. The way in the OP is more about preserving audio fidelity, but this way, the default way, is more about keeping things smooth.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #1173 of 3190 Old 08-21-2012, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi All,

First of all, thank you for the great guide and friendly forum atmosphere.

I do have a HTPC working nicely with the video settings using this guide, but I do have two questions related to audio birstreaming (for DD-AC3 and DTS - vanilla).

Right now my Intel i3 setup is capable of sending good sounding PCM to my receiver. The receiver can handle the PCM signals over HDMI, but does not have advanced codecs. It just has DTS and DD. By the way, my understanding is the my particular processor (Dell Vostro 260S) has Intel HD 2000. It does send audio and video over HDMI to the Denon receiver, and I do have playback working properly (no stutters or glitches).

So question one....I assume that if I were to get audio bitstreaming to work, it appears that I would not check off DTS as this would also impact DTS HD-MA. Or can I separate the two with the audio filters? By the way, I do have the Arcsoft DTS dll for HD DTS, as I have TMT 2.0.

Second, I must be getting something slightly wrong as I can't seem to get the PC to bitstream either DD or DTS to the receiver. It seems to decode even though I have checked the bristreaming off in the setup menus. Is there a special step in FFDShow/Shark codecs to get this setting to stick. or is the problem somewhere in the MPC-HD setup itself? Do I uncheck some kind of audio setting or audio filter in MPC-HD?

The good news is that everything sounds good "as is"; but it would be nice to have the receiver do the decoding so I get a bit more control over the output.

Thanks for the pointers.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #1174 of 3190 Old 08-21-2012, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
so your receiver accepts 6 channel pcm but not dts-hd?

well, if you have the arcsoft dll, that is a reference quality dts decoder afaik, so you should have no qualms over sending plain dts as multichannel pcm.

When you play the file in question that isnt bitstreaming, go to play>filters, and that will show everything that is in use.
I would make sure lav audio is in use, and that it is set to bitstream what you want.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #1175 of 3190 Old 08-21-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 63
My PC has just a 2.0 stereo setup. I notice that when playing back 5.1 source, even though downmix to 2.0, I'm not getting the LFE. Any of you guys experience it?

I'm using the stock MPC-HC. No additional or extra filters.
Skylinestar is offline  
post #1176 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Cristian1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
caz i am not interested in sound trickz, it is possible to not use reclock from this amazin tutorial ? thx
Cristian1980 is offline  
post #1177 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
quik01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This was a pretty great post, I got everything going and am pretty damn happy with it. Better picture quality and no more useless codecs floating around my system. A few things are bugging me though, for some reason when selecting quicksync for my hardware acceleration I was getting a black screen on MPC and the videos wouldn't play. I switched to CUVID then completely uninstalled Virtu and everything worked fine. Not a big deal just thought it was weird.

For those wondering about reclock I didn't install it and just stuck with madflac and LAV audio dec, they seem to work fine.

What I really don't understand is this. My speaker config in Win7 is set to 5.1 and whenever I play a movie or song in stereo it doesn't let me to switch my surround sound decoder on my receiver. I can't select PL, PLII etc, it's just locked in Straight mode, 2ch PCM. So that sucks but If I go and change the speaker config in Win7 to stereo then go and play a stereo source I can select PL and it works. WTH? The only reason this bothers me is because I'm trying to get my stereo sources expanded to surround. ffdshow had an option for it and I'm thinking I might switch back unless someone can help.
quik01 is offline  
post #1178 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
Perza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings!

I have a problem using MPC-HC+madVR (no other codecs installed). I'm using madVR's frequency change and it's working nicely except for 24 fps movies. So if I'm watching a 23,976 fps or 25 fps movies, madVR switches my LCD TV to 23,976 hz or 50 hz. No problems, no droped frames, jitter-free. But when I start a 24 fps movie, the desktop switches to 23,976 hz and here comes jitter. I noticed one more thing, if I enable "D3D fullscreen" in MPC-HC's "Output", the desktop switches to 25 hz (and here comes jitter again). So "D3D fullscreen" on->25hz, off->23,976 hz.
Here is my madVR display mode settings:


Relevant specs: LCD LG->HDMI->Radeon 4850 + Catalyst 11.12 on Win 8 RTM

Any suggestions? Thank you for your help
Perza is offline  
post #1179 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
ATI doesn't suppor custom refresh rates, does it?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1180 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
Perza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think so...
Here is the list of my refresh rates:

Perza is offline  
post #1181 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Can you customize create a 23.976 refresh rate?

What refresh rates does you projector support?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1182 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Perza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't create a custom refresh rate...At least I don't think it's supported in Catalyst...But I don't have a problem with 23,976 fps movies nor 25 fps, madVR switches desktop for them correctly. The only problem is that 24 fps movies don't switch to 24hz display. I don't know what refresh rates my LG LCD TV supports...How can I find that out? Is it possible it doesn't support 24 hz?

23,976 fps movie->switches do 23,976 hz: no problems



25 fps movie->switches to 50 hz: no problems



24 fps movie-> NOT switching to 24 hz but 23,976->droped frames

Perza is offline  
post #1183 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
what movies are straight 24 and 25's?

My perpetual home theater build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nebrunner is offline  
post #1184 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristian1980 View Post

caz i am not interested in sound trickz, it is possible to not use reclock from this amazin tutorial ? thx

the way I configure it, it is just being used for wasapi exclusive mode, which bypasses the windows mixer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by quik01 View Post

For those wondering about reclock I didn't install it and just stuck with madflac and LAV audio dec, they seem to work fine.
What I really don't understand is this. My speaker config in Win7 is set to 5.1 and whenever I play a movie or song in stereo it doesn't let me to switch my surround sound decoder on my receiver. I can't select PL, PLII etc, it's just locked in Straight mode, 2ch PCM. So that sucks but If I go and change the speaker config in Win7 to stereo then go and play a stereo source I can select PL and it works. WTH? The only reason this bothers me is because I'm trying to get my stereo sources expanded to surround. ffdshow had an option for it and I'm thinking I might switch back unless someone can help.

windows converts all uncompressed audio to a single format. This means one bit depth, one amount of channels, and one sampling rate.

With wasapi exclusive mode, you bypass windows and go straight to the hardware with uncompressed audio.

So I'd recommend you set up reclock to do this
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #1185 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebrunner View Post

what movies are straight 24 and 25's?

european ones are 24.

any movies with interlacing are 25 I think.

I think you are gonna have to use reclock and that 24>25 option in madvr. Though, it won't work well with my reclock instructions, you have to recheck time stretching and undo/ignore all of part 2 of the reclock config. (the inline part).
And if you are reclocking the audio, that means you can't be bitstreaming, which is why I try to avoid playing around with the refresh rates atm
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #1186 of 3190 Old 08-22-2012, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
quik01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

the way I configure it, it is just being used for wasapi exclusive mode, which bypasses the windows mixer.
windows converts all uncompressed audio to a single format. This means one bit depth, one amount of channels, and one sampling rate.
With wasapi exclusive mode, you bypass windows and go straight to the hardware with uncompressed audio.
So I'd recommend you set up reclock to do this

Thanks Mindbomb that's exactly what I needed to know, everything is to my liking now, as long as I play it through MPC =D.
quik01 is offline  
post #1187 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Perza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

I think you are gonna have to use reclock and that 24>25 option in madvr. Though, it won't work well with my reclock instructions, you have to recheck time stretching and undo/ignore all of part 2 of the reclock config. (the inline part).
Actually in madVR there is an option "treat 25p movies as 24p" which is the opposite of what I need smile.gif I guess no smooth 24fps movies for me...
Perza is offline  
post #1188 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 04:57 AM
Member
 
MakaKam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Perza: why don't you disable madvr's "switch to matching display mode" and set 24Hz manually in CCC or create a shortcut for it and you're good to go. That's the way I watch 24p films whenever I stumble upon one and I get no dropped frames.
MakaKam is offline  
post #1189 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
That sounds like a PITA. I like automatic otherwise you have to exit WMC and go into system display settings and change it each time. I'm constantly switching from LiveTV at 60fps to Blu-ray rips at 24fps. Having to manually switch would basically make my system unusable as I rarely use a keyboard/mouse with it but control it with a Harmony H900.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1190 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perza View Post

Actually in madVR there is an option "treat 25p movies as 24p" which is the opposite of what I need smile.gif I guess no smooth 24fps movies for me...

What is the refresh rate of you HDTV? There's no reason you shouldn't have smooth 24fps playback with a 24/60/120(240/480/600)fps or a 25/50 European HDTV. If worse comes to worse you can re-mux them at the higher frame rate or speed up the playback in MPC-HC.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1191 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nebrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: omaha,NE,USA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have been using mediabrowser with the internal video player for the past few months, this morning I enabled MPC-HC launching from mediabrowser and used your guide to set up MPC-HC to use madvr. Thanks for the guide. I followed it exactly and aside from a couple screens that are out of date due to updated software, everything was perfect. There is one thing that Damelon brought up here back in July that was never addressed, and I did run into it as well, although I don't know if it really matters - the section on reclog config# 2 is out of date, those settings are greyed out and unable to be set. Everything seems to work just fine without them though.

I do have a question, probably a dumb one. We are using madvr, but adding in LAV video and selecting that as our external filter in MPC-HC. When I was in that window adding in the LAV audio and video and setting them to prefer, I saw that there is also a selection to add madvr as the filter. Is the LAV selection superior to madvr?

My perpetual home theater build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nebrunner is offline  
post #1192 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Perza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakaKam View Post

@Perza: why don't you disable madvr's "switch to matching display mode" and set 24Hz manually in CCC or create a shortcut for it and you're good to go. That's the way I watch 24p films whenever I stumble upon one and I get no dropped frames.

Hm, just tried that...something's not working right. When I manually choose 23hz from the drop down menu in catalyst control center, the desktop changes to 23,976hz. That's alright. But when I choose 24hz, the desktop changes to 25hz. The selection in the drop down menu also changes to 25hz. Any ideas guys?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What is the refresh rate of you HDTV? There's no reason you shouldn't have smooth 24fps playback with a 24/60/120(240/480/600)fps or a 25/50 European HDTV. If worse comes to worse you can re-mux them at the higher frame rate or speed up the playback in MPC-HC.

The default refresh rate I'm normally using is 60hz. These are the supported modes in properties:



I have no idea why 24hz actually switches to 25hz...
Perza is offline  
post #1193 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Verify with the user manual and/or specs that your HDTV actually supports all those.

Use 1080p23 and 1080p60 in MPC-HC/MadVR. Do not specify 1080p24 so it doesn't switch to 25fps on you. Just a thought.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1194 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 11:47 AM
Member
 
MakaKam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's strange.. if it's listed in the drop down menu it should be supported but well, maybe it isn't.
MakaKam is offline  
post #1195 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perza View Post

Actually in madVR there is an option "treat 25p movies as 24p" which is the opposite of what I need smile.gif I guess no smooth 24fps movies for me...
What happens if you just have 1080p24 in your list? Does it switch to it correctly then?

Even the films which are 23.976 are really 24.000 native, it’s just that for NTSC markets, they are slowed down to maintain legacy compatibility with 59.940Hz displays using 3:2.
You may want to consider using 1080p24, 1080p50 in madVR and then using ReClock to fix those other films. (without ReClock you are either going to have dropped/delayed frames, or drifting audio sync anyway)

If it is only films that you are watching, you should also be using ReClock to slow your 1080i50/1080p25 content to 1080p24 as well. (does not apply to TV–based content though)
Chronoptimist is offline  
post #1196 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakaKam View Post

That's strange.. if it's listed in the drop down menu it should be supported but well, maybe it isn't.

That's the refresh rates supported by the video card. There's a check box to hid all not supported by your display, or you can look at the specs for your display from the manufacturer too.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1197 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sounds like he is overseas and his tv is 50hz.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #1198 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Yup. But I thought that the Blu-rays were 25fps in Europe?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1199 of 3190 Old 08-23-2012, 03:58 PM
Member
 
MakaKam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You don't get it: blu rays in Europe are 24p as well (there are 25 but I haven't seen many) and saying 24p I mean 23,976. Some films in Europe are 24Hz which is 24Hz not 23,976 and this is the case here.
MakaKam is offline  
post #1200 of 3190 Old 08-24-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perza View Post

Actually in madVR there is an option "treat 25p movies as 24p" which is the opposite of what I need smile.gif I guess no smooth 24fps movies for me...

ah, yes, you are right.

try the stuff that other people are suggesting.

you might also want to try not bitstreaming the audio, and using reclock with media adaptation set to auto and slave audio unchecked.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off