Advanced MPC-HC Setup Guide - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Your advice is terrible and demonstrates a lack of understanding of SSDs and flash memory.

For a 256GB SSD with 3000 erase cycle flash, you can write a total of more than 700TB of sequential writes before it reaches its rated EOL. Even then the SSD is unlikely to be worn out, since the manufacturers are conservative with their specifications, and some people have tested SSDs with thousands of TeraBytes of writes.

If the OP likes playing back movies from an SSD, then by all means he should continue to get his enjoyment out of his SSD. Even if he rips a 25GB blu-ray to the SSD every day, the SSD will last for more than 80 years with that workload.
jim2100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2100 View Post

You should not avoid using an SSD because you are afraid of wearing it out prematurely.
True, but using an HDD instead of an SSD for movie rips is still good advice for other reasons.
Quote:
So apparently he is getting a benefit out of it
There is no real world benefit to it unless the HDD is seriously fragmented. At the most there will be a few milliseconds difference when you skip to a different point in the movie.
Quote:
If the OP likes playing back movies from an SSD, then by all means he should continue to get his enjoyment out of his SSD
Anyone can do anything they want (within reason) if it brings them enjoyment but that does not mean it's bad advice to tell them not to. To use an HDD for storing movie rips is good advice, agree with it or not. He is welcome to ignore that advice and use an SSD.
vladd is offline  
post #1533 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

There is no real world benefit to it unless the HDD is seriously fragmented. At the most there will be a few milliseconds difference when you skip to a different point in the movie.

I agree that the difference in seeking is small. But if he likes to play back movies from his SSD anyway, then there is no reason for him not to do it. Who are you to say? I mean, if you want to be logical, there is no logical benefit from watching most movies at all. It would be more logical to avoid watching movies and do some work instead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Anyone can do anything they want (within reason) if it brings them enjoyment but that does not mean it's bad advice to tell them not to. To use an HDD for storing movie rips is good advice, agree with it or not.

It is terrible advice to (intentionally or unintentionally) scare someone into not doing something they enjoy doing because of an unwarranted fear of prematurely wearing out an SSD. It is like saying that you should not watch any movies since you will wear out your eyeballs.
jim2100 is offline  
post #1534 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
It costs more to store movies on an SSD at the present time with no gain in speed or usability over a HDD. So if the OP wants to do that, more power to the OP. I am not saying to do otherwise.

To put a 20TB library on SSD's it would cost $12,000 or so for SSD's. Does that sound practical?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1535 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

To put a 20TB library on SSD's it would cost $12,000 or so for SSD's. Does that sound practical?

Now you are inventing straw men. No one suggested that. But if someone wanted to do it for fun and had the money? Sure, it would work fine.
jim2100 is offline  
post #1536 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I thought the whole point of HTPC was to have your library available at a couple clicks on the remote, so how is that inventing "straw men"?

Sammy2 is online now  
post #1537 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I thought the whole point of HTPC was to have your library available at a couple clicks on the remote, so how is that inventing "straw men"?

You should not be asking useless questions like that, you will wear out your keyboard. rolleyes.gif
jim2100 is offline  
post #1538 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 309
It's worth conceding that using the argument of wear might have been a poor choice

Couldn't it also be concluded that the statement (Love the fast seek times) should be invalidated as well?

I shutter to think of the day where everyone points to their HDD as a problem that it's not the cause of
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #1539 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:25 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ripped blu-rays to hd with dvdfab - checked lossless audio. I'm playing with mpc hc -stock settings - using the 2 channel analog outputs of my asus soundcard. Am I receiving lossless audio? Or do I need to install additional software to perform the decoding? thanks!
gerall is offline  
post #1540 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerall View Post

I ripped blu-rays to hd with dvdfab - checked lossless audio. I'm playing with mpc hc -stock settings - using the 2 channel analog outputs of my asus soundcard. Am I receiving lossless audio? Or do I need to install additional software to perform the decoding? thanks!
I haven't tested the MPC decoders in a while but I don't think they will decode lossless audio. You would need to set up external decoders and use the LAV Audio Decoder. To decode DTS-HD, LAV needs to use a dll from ArcSoft's TMT software but I can't remember the filename offhand.
vladd is offline  
post #1541 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

Couldn't it also be concluded that the statement (Love the fast seek times) should be invalidated as well?

If you want to invalidate it, first you need to clarify the statement, then define your terms precisely, and then you need to run the experiment and measure the times.

Me, I'm happy to let the guy continue to enjoy playing back movies from his SSD, whether there is an objective difference or not.

But this is AVS, so if you want to run the experiment, by all means go ahead.
jim2100 is offline  
post #1542 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 01:07 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

I haven't tested the MPC decoders in a while but I don't think they will decode lossless audio. You would need to set up external decoders and use the LAV Audio Decoder. To decode DTS-HD, LAV needs to use a dll from ArcSoft's TMT software but I can't remember the filename offhand.
Thank you. That would explain why the Star Wars blu-ray sounded better when played directly with power dvd. I am a novice - is there another player that would decode lossless audio for rips but be more user friendly? TMT?
gerall is offline  
post #1543 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
TMT, PowerDVD and WinDVD require a protected path for lossless decoding without downsampling to 48khz/16bit. That said, most movies are 48khz/16bit or 48khz/24bit and it's unlikely that you will be able to hear the difference. They will still sound better than the core audio that is being decoded by MPC-HC's internal decoders.

The only ASUS card that supports protected audio is the Xonar and it requires TMT.

Any other DirectShow application (NextPVR, JRiver Media Center, etc) can be used but, like MPC-HC, will require you to set up the LAV filters.
vladd is offline  
post #1544 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 01:27 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only ASUS card that supports protected audio is the Xonar and it requires TMT.
Any other DirectShow application (NextPVR, JRiver Media Center, etc) can be used but, like MPC-HC, will require you to set up the LAV filters.[/quote] thanks. I am using the Xonar essence stx card. Looks like the most user friendly high quality way to do this would be to purchase tmt, whcih would allow me to play both rips and discs directly with full lossless audio - agree?
gerall is offline  
post #1545 of 3209 Old 12-21-2012, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 124
You can just use LAV Audio and get the required dts decoder dll from any copy of ArcSoft TMT you have (or even from the TMT trial)
Its the easiest way to get full lossless audio in all situations.
Nevcairiel is online now  
post #1546 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

I am getting one dropped frame every four to six minutes.

I thought I would update this post. The motherboard, Asus P8 Z77-V Pro comes with Lucidlogic Virtu MVP which allows the graphics processor in the i5 HD 4000 to work in combination with my Nividia Asus GT 440 1GB GDDR5. I set up Virtu MVP in the BIOS in D mode. I connected the monitor and the plasma TV to the GT 440. Now I am getting one dropout every 20 minutes rather that every 4 to 6 minutes using the I5 HD4000 alone and using MPC-HC and upscaling MadVR with jinc and anti-ringing checked for both set ups.

Also in my subjective opinion my only 3D movie, Journey to the Center of the Earth, anaglyph Blu ray played with PowerDVD 11 displays with better color, more frame alignment and less eye fatigue on my non 3D plasma.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1547 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 11:25 AM
Member
 
sumrtym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok, this is probably a really stupid question, but what's one more of those? rolleyes.gif

I'm planning on an i3-3225 ivy bridge using the integrated graphics. My speaker system is connected via optical and has a DD and DTS decoder built into it. If I use Lav to decode the HD audio streams, would it be sent then over the optical and work for the 5.1 system to play the HD audio without needing any extra equipment, or no? Windows 8 if that makes any difference.
sumrtym is offline  
post #1548 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Moschella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, can this program be used to send 1080i to my display?
I have tried a few things but no luck. I disabled deinterlacing in MadVR, set my display to 1080i30, but get a black screen when I try to play a MKV file with 1080i30 content.

Any ideas?

John Moschella
John Moschella is offline  
post #1549 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I don't have Windows 8, so my answer really is from experience with Windows 7. In the LAV audio filter under SPDIF/HDMI check bitsteam Dolby Digital and DTS. If your speaker system can decode DD and DTS it should work. Otherwise, try the audio filter with nothing checked.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1550 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 01:25 PM
Member
 
sumrtym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

I don't have Windows 8, so my answer really is from experience with Windows 7. In the LAV audio filter under SPDIF/HDMI check bitsteam Dolby Digital and DTS. If your speaker system can decode DD and DTS it should work. Otherwise, try the audio filter with nothing checked.
I don't foresee a problem passing DD or DTS, I was wondering if the CPU can decode the high def formats and pass them to a speaker system that can't natively decode them.
sumrtym is offline  
post #1551 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Decoding audio is very cheap, and any modern CPU can do it.
I have never seen CPU usage as an argument for bitstreaming before, guess something new every day!
Nevcairiel is online now  
post #1552 of 3209 Old 12-22-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My best guess is the I3 will do the decoding via LAV audio and in Windows 7 one needs to configure audio output for the number attached speakers. But, I would suggest you google "Windows 8 and mpc-hc" and see if you can find someone with actual experience.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #1553 of 3209 Old 12-24-2012, 06:33 AM
Newbie
 
DeKosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
Followed the guide and it seems to be working alright.
The thing is though that it is pretty slow on forwarding in the movie when you click on the timeline.. it takes a few second for the video to jump to the spot and play.
That wasn't the thing before.

My setupt is i5 3,6GHz, 8GB RAM, Radeon HD7850 2GB and have tried on both Win 7 and Win 8 and its the same.

Anyone have any ideas?
DeKosta is offline  
post #1554 of 3209 Old 12-26-2012, 03:03 PM
Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

TMT, PowerDVD and WinDVD require a protected path for lossless decoding without downsampling to 48khz/16bit. That said, most movies are 48khz/16bit or 48khz/24bit and it's unlikely that you will be able to hear the difference. They will still sound better than the core audio that is being decoded by MPC-HC's internal decoders.
The only ASUS card that supports protected audio is the Xonar and it requires TMT.
Any other DirectShow application (NextPVR, JRiver Media Center, etc) can be used but, like MPC-HC, will require you to set up the LAV filters.
What player would you recommend for simply playing non-ripped bluray discs directly? Is windvd capable of decoding dts -MA? I'm not bitstreaming - i need it decoded to pcm (and downmixed to 2 channel) and sent to my asus zonar soundcard. thank you!
gerall is offline  
post #1555 of 3209 Old 12-26-2012, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I would recommend downloading the trials for for all three of them and testing them. All three commercial players will decode all HD audio formats (TrueHD/DTS-MA) and output PCM. If you are only using two channels, the downsampling is really not going to matter to you so it just boils down to your player preference. The PQ/AQ on all three will be similar for you so it's just a matter of which interface/features you like the most.

You can also use the dtsdecoder.dll from the TMT trial with LAV to test playback in MPC.
vladd is offline  
post #1556 of 3209 Old 12-26-2012, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
woody777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great guide... easy to follow... detailed, but not overkill.

I've been doing some back and forth this evening... watching a blu ray MKV rip in MPC-HC using this guide and in WMC using Shark007.

My wife and I both agree... WMC looks significantly better.

The colors in MPC-HC look very drab by comparison. The detail is lacking. My wife described it as a "gray sheen over everything."

It could simply be personal preference, but people rave about using the software listed in this guide and bag on Microsoft and WMC.

Am I doing something wrong?
woody777 is offline  
post #1557 of 3209 Old 12-28-2012, 12:54 AM
Member
 
regal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mp4a: MPEG-4 AAC LC 48000Hz 113 kb/s tot , stereo (2/0), audio decodes fine in WMP but following this guide exactly there is no audio with MPC-HC. I thought the Lav would decode any audio? Gspot can play also but it can't tell me which filter it's using.

My goal in setting up this HTPC with MPC-HC is to be able to decode any audio as I am not relying on any external decoders. So far failing with HDCD and odd bit-rate vbr lame.

Any ideas on how to fix this ?
regal is offline  
post #1558 of 3209 Old 12-28-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Do you have AAC checked on the formats tab in the LAV audio filter setup?
JDLIVE is offline  
post #1559 of 3209 Old 12-28-2012, 10:31 AM
Member
 
regal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post

Do you have AAC checked on the formats tab in the LAV audio filter setup?

yes
regal is offline  
post #1560 of 3209 Old 12-28-2012, 11:30 AM
Member
 
regal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what concern's me, missing mpeg-1 packet:

regal is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off