HTPC 5.1 Audio Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2011, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me! I am really struggling with this one. I built an HTPC and am unable to get 5.1 over HDMI to my receiver.

I have:
Windows 7 Media Center - OS
NVidia GT 430 - GPU (HDMI out)
ASRock H55M/USB 3 - Mobo
Onkyo TX-SR605 - Receiver

In the NVidia settings the resolution is set to include audio out. The sound settings include the receiver but only offer 2 channels. Haali media splitter shows 5.1 channels of audio but the receiver is only outputting 2.0.

I can't see what I'm missing. Can you help?

Cheers
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2011, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump, hoping someone has come across this issue perhaps with the same components?
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-07-2011, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 49
so you are going from your computer to your receiver to your tv, right?
that is how it is suppossed to be hooked up.

other than that, make sure you have updated drivers for your nvidia card.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
Old 09-07-2011, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
jagojago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Install Realtek audio driver
jagojago is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Actually, if you go to control panel-device manager-sound video and game controllers and delete all the audio devices 7MC will figure out all the audio devices you need and install them. I would not recommend installing Realtec. I removed it and let 7MC figure it out.

I would suggest you right click the speaker icon on your task bar and see what playback devices you have and how they are configured.

I would also double check the AVR and make sure it is set to correct input and double check the display and make sure it is set to the correct input.

Are all you devices HDCP compliant. If Microsoft PlayReady decides you do not have digital rights management you won't get any sound...of course you won't get any video either.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jonnythan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_McSkintos View Post
Please help me! I am really struggling with this one. I built an HTPC and am unable to get 5.1 over HDMI to my receiver.

I have:
Windows 7 Media Center - OS
NVidia GT 430 - GPU (HDMI out)
ASRock H55M/USB 3 - Mobo
Onkyo TX-SR605 - Receiver

In the NVidia settings the resolution is set to include audio out. The sound settings include the receiver but only offer 2 channels. Haali media splitter shows 5.1 channels of audio but the receiver is only outputting 2.0.

I can't see what I'm missing. Can you help?

Cheers
You sort of have two options, AFAIK.

1) You can set up your filter/codec pack to use passthrough. This will take any multichannel content and send it straight through to your receiver. Right now the filter is decoding the content and passing it through the Windows audio system which is set up for 2.0 sound.

2) You can set up Windows to use multichannel sound. To do this, go to Sound in the control panel, click on your HDMI device, then hit Configure.
jonnythan is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you all, for your responses.

Quote:
You can set up your filter/codec pack to use passthrough.

Any advice on which filter/codec pack would be a good one to use?

Quote:
You can set up Windows to use multichannel sound. To do this, go to Sound in the control panel, click on your HDMI device, then hit Configure.

I don't see an HDMI device only my receiver name with a TV icon. It says I only have 2 channel audio. Speaker Config only allows stereo.

Quote:
Are all you devices HDCP compliant.

Yes, they all are. I am getting 2.0 sound and channels from 7MC.

Quote:
so you are going from your computer to your receiver to your tv, right?
that is how it is suppossed to be hooked up.

other than that, make sure you have updated drivers for your nvidia card.

Yes. 7MC ---> Onkyo ----> Sharp TV all via HDMI

NVidia drivers are the latest and I have tried 2 different cards (GT430 and GT9800)
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Are you playing live TV with 7MC or a movie with 7MC, commercial software or with MPC-HC? Do you get the same results with different players?
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Did you run the sound setup wizard in 7MC and select the correct number of speakers?

bryansj is online now  
Old 09-08-2011, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does your AVR bitstream, (HDMI 1.3 and above)? If so try passing the audio through to the AVR. I right click to playing media, go to settings-audio and select the type of audio I want.

Is your setup using your TV's speakers?

How many speakers do you have?
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Are you playing live TV with 7MC or a movie with 7MC, commercial software or with MPC-HC? Do you get the same results with different players?

Playing live TV, playing Videos via MediaBrowser (WMP) and also tried via KMPlayer and VLC. Same results.
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Does your AVR bitstream, (HDMI 1.3 and above)? If so try passing the audio through to the AVR. I right click to playing media, go to settings-audio and select the type of audio I want.

Is your setup using your TV's speakers?

How many speakers do you have?

Yes, it is 1.3 or above. I do just want to pass the audio through to the AVR but can't seem to make that happen, windows gets in the way.

I am not using my TV speakers - I have 5.1 speakers via the Onkyo AVR
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does your AVR post the format it is playing? Does it say PCM or Dolby Digital or Stereo?
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Did you right click the speaker icon on your desktop, go to the playback tab, click on your AVR, click on configure and set up your mains, surrounds, and center speakers and test them and hear each speaker sound.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Does your AVR post the format it is playing? Does it say PCM or Dolby Digital or Stereo?

Yes it does. I am not looking at it right now but I know I have seen DTS and PCM and HDMI
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Did you right click the speaker icon on your desktop, go to the playback tab, click on your AVR, click on configure and set up your mains, surrounds, and center speakers and test them and hear each speaker sound.

Yes but the audio channels say I only have stereo, I cannot setup my surrounds. There is no option.
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
So you clicked on the speaker icon, then your avr under playback devices, clicked on configure and you were not permitted to set up 5 speakers.

If so, you are beyond my technical skills, but there are many who know more than me.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

So you clicked on the speaker icon, then your avr under playback devices, clicked on configure and you were not permitted to set up 5 speakers.

If so, you are beyond my technical skills, but there are many who know more than me.

Yes that is correct. Thank you so much for your help.

It seems to me that either windows or my hardware is getting in the way. I just can't seem to get the multi-channel audio out to my AVR via HDMI (or any other method)...
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Did you run the sound setup wizard in 7MC and select the correct number of speakers?

I actually don't think I did but would this affect the output if playing from VLC or KMPlayer etc?
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The only other thing I could think of was that perhaps your AVR is telling you computer that only two speakers are attached. So, recheck your AVR speaker setup.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Billy_McSkintos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

The only other thing I could think of was that perhaps your AVR is telling you computer that only two speakers are attached. So, recheck your AVR speaker setup.

I thought the same and did check. I can get audio through the other speakers if you use some of the the dolby settings etc on my AVR, but that is just using electronics to recreate 5.1 from a 2.0 signal.
Billy_McSkintos is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Download and install the latest Nvidia drivers from the nvidia.com website. If you can't see the supported bitstreaming options under the Sound device control panel then you've got some installation issues.

Also, you can go into your BIOS and disable the onboard audio (Realtek). That is not needed when using HDMI output for audio. Your HDMI audio is tied to your Nvidia card and drivers only.

bryansj is online now  
Old 09-10-2011, 01:12 AM
Member
 
KoNP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had an almost identical issue with my HTPC doing audio over HDMI - it refused to output in anything but 2-channel PCM regardless of what the PC settings were. Then I remembered that HDMI is bidirectional, that is, devices at both ends can communicate to one another. So I checked the settings on my amp. It was set to use both the Amp AND the TV speakers. And TVs can only support 2-channel over PCM (mostly), so basically the TV was telling the AMP what signal to request from the PC. Changing that setting to AMP ONLY and rebooting the PC fixed the issue completely. Now it does bitstream passthrough without a hassle.

Check that you don't have a similar setting on your amplifier and if you do, change it to AMP ONLY, and your problem should disappear.
KoNP is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 07:06 PM
Member
 
vinha916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_McSkintos View Post

I thought the same and did check. I can get audio through the other speakers if you use some of the the dolby settings etc on my AVR, but that is just using electronics to recreate 5.1 from a 2.0 signal.

go to VLC player audio, change it to Ac2 over SPIF
vinha916 is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
clubwerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He's using HDMI, why would have do that?

And, for those suggesting he configure the proper amount of speaker, it doesn't make any difference. It's pass through audio, exactly what it sounds like, pass through whatever is present in the stream.

It sounds like he either doesn't have the correct drivers installed or his configuration is not setup to pass through digital audio.
clubwerks is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off