Intel QuickSync Decoder - HW accelerated FFDShow decoder with video processing - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 295 Old 05-21-2013, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
genro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Eric,

Thanks for all your work on the Quicksync decoder. I was wondering if you knew if either the IB chips g1610 or g2020 work with it? I know they supposedly have quicksync disabled, but I've read different things saying that they may work (possibly depending on what driver is used). Any idea?

Thanks!
genro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 295 Old 05-22-2013, 03:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All SandyBridge (and newer) models are supported with standard or OEM drivers.
The term QuickSync includes encoding which is supported on i3 or better models. My decoder doesn't use encoding so no problem smile.gif

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #273 of 295 Old 05-23-2013, 06:44 PM
Member
 
netant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericgur View Post

QuickSync MFT filters ship with the driver install. You can use those.

hello, I cleaned one of my machine and did a install of windows 8 pro. I installed latest driver from Intel website and did not find the MFT you described. The only MFT installed by Intel driver is a h264 encoder, however I am looking for a MPEG2 decoder filter.

The machine has an Intel Celeron G530 CPU
netant is offline  
post #274 of 295 Old 05-24-2013, 03:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The MFTs are named "Intel Hardware XXXXX MFT", only the encoder has the QuickSync logo. They are all part of QuickSync.

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #275 of 295 Old 05-24-2013, 07:57 AM
Member
 
netant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericgur View Post

The MFTs are named "Intel Hardware XXXXX MFT", only the encoder has the QuickSync logo. They are all part of QuickSync.

Hm... still can't find the decoder MFT... only a h264 encoder is present.



On the other hand, I think this is expected since Intel sure doesn't want to pay mpeg2 licensing fee on millions of devices.
netant is offline  
post #276 of 295 Old 05-25-2013, 12:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try unzipping the driver. If in the root of the zip you see MediaSDK, then it should be OK. else copy the directory Graphics/MediaSDK to MediaSDK.
Then run setup.exe.
Let me know if this worked for you. It looks like there's a problem with the installer.

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #277 of 295 Old 05-25-2013, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.43 is out with the following changes:
* Direct3D11 playback (decode + video processing) on Windows 8. Due to performance degradation in D3D11, it will be used only when needed.
* Optimized D3D11 decode - 50% faster than before.
* FFDShow: r4512

Downloads
* For the latest cutting edge FFDShow builds download my builds Intel QuickSync Decoder SourceForge home page
* FFDShow-tryout site
* LAV Splitter builds

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #278 of 295 Old 06-01-2013, 02:46 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This is awesome, thank you ericgur!
With my main rig using MPC-HC (madVR+LAV) I compared the power draw of my system QSync vs DXVA2 (native) on a 4K UHD (timescape video, from renethx's 4shared folder), around 20w less.
With DXVA2 around 150-155w from the wall, with QS around 130-135w.
With madVR I was using CRom(AR+LL) and smooth motion was turned, queue's as 12/12 and 10 frames in advance and the usual general settings.

I have the HD4000 in my rig set up as a headless, don't have Virtu and have my monitor attached to the HD5750. Also the HD4000 is at stock settings, didn't touch any clock or voltage settings.

E: I'm gonna go and try this with my HTPC (Pentium G2120) now to see how it works. Just downloading the drivers first and then gonna go and enable the IGP from the BIOS.

Well this is rather weird.
I have Game of Thrones bluray on my rig, backed with makemkv so it's quite high bitrate. I used the E01 the beginning sequence with the theme song.
With DXVA2 native decoding in LAV I was seeing around 57w draw. Rendering time was in the 28ms range (have to downscale 1080p -> 1360x768) and the madVR scaling algorithm was CRom(AR+LL)
Now when I switched to QS decoding the power draw increased to 60w and the rendering time halved.
Is this odd or is this just how it's supposed to work? 3watts here or there but it's just interesting.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #279 of 295 Old 06-02-2013, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
QS decoder takes a little more power than DXVA2 native (with EVR) as QS decoder uses DXVA2 indirectly. MadVR is not a true DXVA2 renderer if I remember correctly, it may perform some work that requires copying back to the CPU.
MadVR doesn't need to copy back the frame in order to perform its scaling (and other) algorithms, so this may QS+MadVR is better. I'll try to replicate on my system.

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #280 of 295 Old 06-18-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Huh, this seems very interesting from today's Intel HD4000 driver update...
Quote:
Support for features like Intel® Quick Sync Video and OpenCL* in systems with discrete graphics on Windows 8
-Now, one can use both Intel Quick Sync Video and OpenCL even when Intel® HD Graphics is not the primary display adapter
-This requires Intel Graphics driver to be installed and will work only on Windows 8 platforms

Not a big deal, but for what it's worth, I wasn't able to get this to work. The Intel drivers don't install because the system apparently doesn't meet minimum specifications for it. I don't know why, but when I have a DXVA card anyway it's not that big a deal, I was just curious to see if I could make it work.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #281 of 295 Old 06-19-2013, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What system do you have?
You need to install the latest drivers from Intel's download center

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #282 of 295 Old 06-19-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,214
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericgur View Post

What system do you have?
You need to install the latest drivers from Intel's download center

Yeah, the latest Intel drivers don't install, instead telling me that they're not compatible with my system. I have a i7-4770S, on a Asrock Z87E-ITX, with 16GB RAM and a GTX780. Like I said though, not a huge deal, but it was just something I was curious about trying.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #283 of 295 Old 06-20-2013, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Yeah, the latest Intel drivers don't install, instead telling me that they're not compatible with my system. I have a i7-4770S, on a Asrock Z87E-ITX, with 16GB RAM and a GTX780. Like I said though, not a huge deal, but it was just something I was curious about trying.

Check the motherboard vendor's site for GPU drivers.
babgvant is offline  
post #284 of 295 Old 06-20-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhoff80 View Post

Yeah, the latest Intel drivers don't install, instead telling me that they're not compatible with my system. I have a i7-4770S, on a Asrock Z87E-ITX, with 16GB RAM and a GTX780. Like I said though, not a huge deal, but it was just something I was curious about trying.

There appear to be new GPU drivers available from ASRock for the Intel HD Graphics with your board as of a few days ago.
LexInVA is offline  
post #285 of 295 Old 06-22-2013, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.44 is out with the following changes:
* Improved D3D11 compatibility with 15.31 Intel drivers.
* H264 playback now properly supports fragmented packets (some live TV splitters), better error handling. Code was rewritten and now it's BSD licensed all the rest of IQSD code.
* FFDShow: r4519

Downloads
* For the latest cutting edge FFDShow builds download my builds Intel QuickSync Decoder SourceForge home page
* FFDShow-tryout site
* LAV Splitter builds

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #286 of 295 Old 01-20-2014, 03:23 AM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Eric hi.

It's been a long time since your latest update and I had some time to test again QuickSync decoder with both Sandy and Haswell processors using latest Intel drivers for Win 8.1
I tested the implementation of QuickSync decoder inside LAV Video (external filter) and MPC-HC (internal filter), both latest versions.

I found out a lot of problems using Haswell and less or equal problems with Sandy.
The problems mainly are a lot of artifacts after seeking in progressive or interlaced H.264 and VC-1 files, especially AVCHD files

Examples:

Heavy artifacts after seeking

http://www.sendspace.com/file/9t7s3d

http://www.sendspace.com/file/kpy0a0

ftp://helpedia.com/pub/multimedia/x264/testvideos/2011%20-%2002%20-%20H.264%20CPU%20DXVA%20codec%20comparison%20-%20Core2Duo%20vs%20UVD%202.2/6.Cat-1080p60fpsRef4-25Mbps.m2ts

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/530/hd-dvd-demo-1080p-vc-1-ddplus-5-1/mirrors

http://www.sendspace.com/file/72ype8

http://www.sendspace.com/file/9p8xa0


Green images- image distortion

http://www.sendspace.com/file/p5f4j3



Looses video sync (stops decoding for a few seconds) after seeking

http://www.sendspace.com/file/xbzbp4


Can you take a look ?

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #287 of 295 Old 01-25-2014, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll take a look.

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #288 of 295 Old 01-26-2014, 02:29 PM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
OK then.

BTW, I disabled some pre-configured VPP operations, enabled by default from Intel's drivers - and the performance got a serious lift.

Now I can play in EVR (but not EVR-CP) all of my 4K@120 fps that I couldn't decode before in realtime.

Also I can play the Ducks@50 fps file with yours QS decoder in realtime without dropping frames, but in EVR again (not EVR-CP).
With DXVA native the performance of Ducks file comes close to 100fps.

So, I believe that Ivy and Haswell could have exactly the same decoding engine, regarding performance, but...there is one difference.

During the benchmark tests the GPU load had a huge increase and for some clips it went up to 100%, clearly a sign of a bottleneck.

So it seems that although decoding is done in QuickSync. the GPU speed, the EUs, play a significant role when you push the decoder to the edge - probably for displaying the frames using renderer, scaling and other operations.

That's why, if you see the Excel of my signature using Chrome (IE has difficulties), for the first time I have included renderless results just to check the decoder performance itself, without renderer.

The potential of Ivy/ Haswell decoder is enormous and for low bandwidth, low resolution clips a HD 4000 (16 EUs) could be a lot faster than mine (10 EUs), just like Haswell GT2 (20 EUs).
For heavy GPU load limited clips, the difference could be even double using the same decoder!

There are 1080p clips that can be decoded up to 1200 fps! using decoder only (with unlimited GPU performance), but you may probably need a GT3 or GT3e to see such figures.

Waiting for your thoughts.

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #289 of 295 Old 05-05-2014, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
sexygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Eric,

 

Just wondering if you have had a chance to look into video corruption on AVC encoded mp4s? We over at Hyperspin (An emulation front-end) are having the same issue with video in our program which is written in action script, the mp4's play fine with discrete chips from AMD/Nvidia just not with Haswell/Ivy/Sandy. I'm guessing it's related to the same problems described above, so if you can fix that maybe it will fix the problem we have too.

 

Thanks,

Sexygirl.

sexygirl is offline  
post #290 of 295 Old 05-06-2014, 05:12 AM
Member
 
NikosD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Can you upload a sample ?

LG BD670 - Pioneer VSX-920 - SONY KDS-55A2000
Win 8.1 Pro x64 - Core i7-4790 - iGPU HD 4600 - v.3960
DXVA Benchmarks
NikosD is offline  
post #291 of 295 Old 05-06-2014, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On occasion I also encounter corruption. Please share a clip (<100MB please).

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #292 of 295 Old 05-06-2014, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
sexygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yes, here are some photos, is there any reason to upload video? The videos play like the half green pic all the way through. I should say also that the files play fine on the Intel chipsets outside of Hyperspin, and they are AVC1 encoded mp4s. Unfortunately the original programmer has gone awol and the program wasn't open source so if it's an internal problem we can't fix it.

 

Also, I should say I am not a sexy girl, just a normal looking dude. I just honestly wasn't sure that my message would get answered and so wasn't taking the sign up seriously, is there a way I can change the user name apart from creating a new account? Anyway, sorry about that, but there probably are some sexy girls that use Hyperspin that would be very grateful to see these videos play on Intel igpus. Some one else wrote that message on the N64 one.

 

I have been in touch with the Intel forums about the issue in case they can fix it in the drivers but so far I have been told "If there is news we will post it" but that's about it.

 

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 75

 

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 75

 

I hope this helps!

sexygirl is offline  
post #293 of 295 Old 05-07-2014, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ericgur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't upload a video I can't reproduce and can't help.

Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
ericgur is offline  
post #294 of 295 Old 05-07-2014, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
sexygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

OK No probs, here is a link to a video pack of one of the mp4 files that we use: http://emumovies.com/forums/index.php/files/file/74-neo-geo-pocket-color-video-snaps/

 

And here is a link to Hyperspin itself: http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/forum/downloads.php?do=file&id=5689

 

All you need to do is download and install it and then copy the videos to the folder \hyperspin\media\neo geo pocket color\video, run the program and press down a few times till you get to to the neo geo pocket color wheel and press enter and you will see all the videos. Come to think of it, you may not even need the video pack as the video snaps for every wheel on the main menu should be mp4s by now anyway. Thanks.

sexygirl is offline  
post #295 of 295 Old 05-11-2014, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericgur View Post

All SandyBridge (and newer) models are supported with standard or OEM drivers.
The term QuickSync includes encoding which is supported on i3 or better models. My decoder doesn't use encoding so no problem smile.gif



I just noticed that my i5 laptop uses Quicksync encoding when I use video processing in one of my video programs. I am not sure if Quicksync was there before I upgraded from Windows 8.0 to Windows 8.1 last month ago.
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off