Ceton InfiniTV4 cannot record NFL games - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
PinballMark75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Garnet Valley, PA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Provider is Verizon FIOS Philadelphia. I get the error:

RECORDING CANCELED
"NFL Football" cannot be recorded.
Restrictions set by the broadcaster and/or originator of the content prohibit recording of the program.

System details:
Serial number: 00-00-22-00-00-80-11-f9
Firmware version: 1.0.9.5
Hardware revision 4336
Windows 7

This is pretty frustrating. It records for a few minutes, then tries another tuner; sometimes I get a few more minutes, sometimes not. Does anyone have a solution for this? I did receive a prompt response from Ceton with a less than helpful solution:
---------------------------------

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your patience.

Unfortunately, this is most likely not in error. The NFL can and does restrict recording games because they want to broadcast it again at a later date. The NFL and cable company can restrict any broadcast from being recorded, Microsoft & Ceton are required to comply with their restriction flags.

However, It is possible that your cable provider has accidentally issued the wrong flag.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thank you,
Ceton Support
---------------------------------
It is such a great product in every other way. My neighbor has the same FIOS service I d and has no trouble recording with the DVR box so I doubt it has anything to do with the Verizon service.

Thanks for any ideas,
Mark
PinballMark75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wow thats lame, I record football over OTA all the time. Never heard of this but it doesn't surprise me at all.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
If its the HD channel that the NFL is on I wouldn't be surprised because its possible that the flag would have been set to 'Copy Never' which mean the Ceton would not be able to record it at all. Ceton's response to you was correct as far as the flag is concerned.

If there is a non-HD version of that same channel or if available OTA try to see if you can record it that way. There was a thread somewhere where that was mentioned.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 02:19 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
For ever HD channel you have, you also have the non-HD digital channel. In my area, 504 would be the HD channel and 4 would be the non-HD digital channel. Just record that one.

As an aside, on Verizon FiOS they have no restrictions on them, but there was a bug in the previous firmware/drivers which made them appear to be restricted in error. Open your Ceton Diagnostic tool, wait while it checks your firware and driver level, and then see if you have any updates available.
cybrsage is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
But who wants to record the non hd version, that defeats the purpose.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I wonder if you have the cable co.'s DVR if there is this same restriction.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-25-2011, 08:16 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

But who wants to record the non hd version, that defeats the purpose.

True, but if the choice is between recording nothing and recording the standard def version...
cybrsage is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-26-2011, 04:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 126
I'm also on FIOS and I have two InfiniTV4 cards in my HTPC. However, I also have four ATSC tuners that I use for recording OTA programs, such as NFL games. While FIOS may not have the copy once flag imposed on most channels, I still use OTA for recording NFL games to avoid any such conflicts. If the OP is close enough to receive his NFL broadcasts via OTA then an ATSC tuner and an antenna would seem to be the best solution for his situation.
captain_video is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-26-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by PinballMark75 View Post

Firmware version: 1.0.9.5
Hardware revision 4336

Looks old. There was a fix for this issue with HW 4790 (in part). See last post @ http://experts.windows.com/frms/wind...x?PageIndex=12
vladd is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-26-2011, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I don't watch or record NFL games with the Ceton unless they are cable network specific. I know not everybody has the luxury but I too have a couple of HD Homeruns which complement the Ceton perfecctly.

Local OTA broadcasts are often superior to the Comcast delivered version of same. Not only will OTA often look better, sometimes lots better. It is just a a selection in the guide and if I want something even better it is only couple of remote clicks away from WMC to J River Media Center.

With OTA I can use J River Media Center which give me madVR rendering which can be vastly better than WMC live TV. In many cases the difference between the cable delivered version in WMC and OTA through JR MC and madVR is night and day. I watched 3 games yesterday including the Sunday night game and the Ceton and WMC was never involved. Of course the Monday night game is an ESPN affair and the Ceton and WMC will deliver it. Even then I will compare the HP Media Smart Windows Media Center Extender to WMC direct and that almost alway provides a better rendering then WMC.

Complicated, yes but on a big screen you go for the best sources and rendering where you can especially on 3 plus hour or even all day affair like football on a Sunday.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-26-2011, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
lovemyram4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From Ceton change log-HW v4447: Fixes for recording football games

There's also the possibility that the NFL game was actually flagged copy never.

lovemyram4x4 is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-27-2011, 10:21 AM
Member
 
BadgerDiscer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

But who wants to record the non hd version, that defeats the purpose.

Amen to that, brother!
BadgerDiscer is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-27-2011, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

I wonder if you have the cable co.'s DVR if there is this same restriction.

Based on what the OP said about his neighbor's situation, I believe a cable box will make the recording.

With that in mind, I believe a possible work-around to prevent future occurences might be to record the game with a Cable Box instead of a HTPC and use something like Hauppauge (http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-1212...pr_product_top) to pull it off a cable box and to the PC in H.264 for your burning/WMC pleasure.

At least that's how I understand it... I could be wrong, and have no hands-on experience yet with this solution. I'm considering purchasing both an HTPC and a Hauppauge PVR for these very reasons/purposes, and that's how I currently understand it.
psuKinger is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off